The Walking Dead : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 31, 2010
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
The Walking Dead Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 2564 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Based on a comic book series of the same name by Robert Kirkman, a small group of survivors, led by officer Rick Grimes (Andrew Lincoln), must fight a world full of zombies.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Fantasy, Horror, Suspense, Science Fiction

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Walking Dead
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Dec 7, 2010
    100
    This dark gem of a show about a zombie apocalypse gleams with hellfire incandescence.
  2. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Oct 22, 2010
    100
    What makes The Walking Dead so much more than a horror show is that it plays with theatrical grandeur, on a canvas that feels real, looks cinematic and has an orchestral score to match. For all its set pieces, however, Walking is most breathtaking in its small moments, in which the pain and glory of being human are conveyed with only the flick of a filmmaking wrist.
  3. Whereas most entries in the musty genre are simply inclined to go for cheap shrieks and lofty body counts, this saga defies expectations with a more humanistic approach.
  4. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    The Walking Dead may depend more on suspense, desolate atmosphere, and creative storytelling than fine acting. The show takes a nightmare generally told in movies and opens it up for the medium of TV. I'm optimistic that Darabont & Co. will continue to find ways to make the characters interestingly human as they dodge death's slow, ruthless pursuit.
  5. Reviewed by: Jesse Hicks
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    The show, adapted from Robert Kirkman's comic book series, quickly moves past its familiar premise. It's about what happens after the apocalypse, in the struggle to remain human after society's collapse.
  6. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    On the whole, I'd say The Walking Dead worth a look, no matter what your genre preferences, but horror aficionados are more likely to enjoy this intense, blood-spattered tale, which, like all AMC dramas, is about as aesthetically well-crafted as a TV show can be.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Dec 7, 2010
    60
    Darabont and his cast excel at conjuring up a taut social study, but let the horror scenes fall oddly flat.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 418
  1. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    People who negative most think Jersey Shore is a well produced... otherwise they need glasses and hearing aids.

    This show is the BEST thing
    People who negative most think Jersey Shore is a well produced... otherwise they need glasses and hearing aids.

    This show is the BEST thing on Network TV, if you think otherwise good for you, but coming here to leave 0's when you prob saw one episode without watching the rest does nothing for people who want to watch it from the beginning you scumbags.
    Expand
  2. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I know there is only a handful of you, but you people with poor reviews just amaze me! This was a TV show about Zombies!!! Not Shakespeare or a crappy Transformers movie with non stop stupid action!! If you don't like this show, you will never like anything! This was an absolute joy to watch! I know it was only one episode, but I loved the fact that they DID build on characters and they DID make you care for them. I didn't want the dad and son to be left behind! It did make you think as to what YOU would do if you were in the same situation of blowing your own wife's head (even though she is a zombie). I really don't know if I could! The few times they did pull at the heart strings, it did work!! Even the horse part made me upset! I have never written a review for a T.V. show before. But this one was so good that I had to say something. If you like Zombie movies, give this one a try. You will not be disappointed. Expand
  3. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    Bloody brilliant. Amazingly paced, extremely well-acted, and wholly consuming. "The Walking Dead" will have me nailed to my couch for the nextBloody brilliant. Amazingly paced, extremely well-acted, and wholly consuming. "The Walking Dead" will have me nailed to my couch for the next five episodes. Hands-down the best show or movie to feature zombies in a long, long time. Expand
  4. Dec 23, 2012
    9
    The walking dead is an interesting take on the lives of survivors and what happens when rules and regulations they have clinged on toThe walking dead is an interesting take on the lives of survivors and what happens when rules and regulations they have clinged on to disappear as a strange virus/disease/whatever takes over, raising the dead and turning them into hungry abominations. The Walking Dead is more about the psychological aspects and how humans deal with these issues. While the zombies are a threat, they are not the main focus of the show.

    I think the show is really great, though the special effects are really poor in the first Season and most of the second. By the third season, it's obvious the budget has greatly improved. There are some lulls, and there seems to be a bit of filler, but the series does a good job of following the comics and such (Or vice versa?).

    Perhaps the biggest complaint I have is how big a crackshot each of the survivors seem to be. Give them a gun, and they're scoring headshots left and right. The show addresses this a bit, but it's obvious you need to "Accept it as is" to keep the story moving on, as it's only a minor complaint.

    All in all, it is an entertaining adventure and seeing the survivor's minds decay faster than the dead around them is what you can expect if you go into it.

    If you like zombies, drama and post-apocalyptic worlds, this series is for you.
    Expand
  5. Apr 28, 2014
    8
    A pretty good start to a show. This show is pretty good nothing to spectacular but still an entertaining watch. I have only watched the firstA pretty good start to a show. This show is pretty good nothing to spectacular but still an entertaining watch. I have only watched the first season and some of season 2 and I can say that this season is way better than season 2. There is a lot of gore and violence which I enjoy so I am entertained buy that. Some episodes are slow and boring but all in all a pretty good show. Expand
  6. May 14, 2012
    7
    Yes yes we at the internet love zombies but the show needs more of them. The first season was great but with the exception of the first andYes yes we at the internet love zombies but the show needs more of them. The first season was great but with the exception of the first and last two episodes of season two it was terrible. except the episodes I mentioned each episodes is just people walking around saying "what do you think about so and so" then that person goes to another person and they say "what do you think about so and so" then they kill a single zombie and the show is over. If they continue as they ended the season this should could be really great. Expand
  7. Dec 21, 2016
    0
    Season 1 was okay- at least things happened. Every season after the first loses that momentum.
    This show is not for thinkers. If you're a
    Season 1 was okay- at least things happened. Every season after the first loses that momentum.
    This show is not for thinkers. If you're a thinker you wont be able to get over how they've been living in a zombie apocalypse for what now, years? Yet every character still acts like its their first week and the main protagonist, Rick, is a total plank. Every time someone dies- they have about ten minutes of long silences peppered with tearful blubbering.
    Expand

See all 418 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall TV Preview: 30 Notable Shows

    Fall TV Preview: 30 Notable Shows Image
    Published: September 7, 2016
    Here are the 30 most noteworthy TV shows (both new and returning series) set to launch this fall.
  2. Ranked: Best/Worst TV Shows Based on Comic Books

    Ranked: Best/Worst TV Shows Based on Comic Books Image
    Published: June 18, 2015
    Find rankings for all TV series based on comics and graphic novels from the past 30 years.
  3. Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Finale

    Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Finale Image
    Published: April 1, 2013
    Critics found last night's episode of The Walking Dead a bit of a disappointment compared to previous season finales. Find out why--and give us your own take--inside.
  4. Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Midseason Finale

    Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Midseason Finale Image
    Published: December 3, 2012
    It has been a strong season for The Walking Dead so far, but did last night's midseason finale continue the show's winning ways? Find out what critics are saying.
  5. Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 2 Finale

    Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 2 Finale Image
    Published: March 19, 2012
    What did critics think about last night's season-ending episode of "The Walking Dead"? Find out inside.
  6. The Walking Dead: Critics Re-Evaluate Season 2

    The Walking Dead: Critics Re-Evaluate Season 2 Image
    Published: November 28, 2011
    Last night's episode of "The Walking Dead" marked the midpoint of the show's second season. Do critics still feel as highly about the series now as they did at the beginning of the season? We sample their latest opinions inside.
  7. 2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2011
    It's time for our annual look at the best and worst of the past television season. Find out which first-year broadcast and cable shows impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.
  8. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  9. Fall 2010 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows

    Fall 2010 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows Image
    Published: November 2, 2010
    Now that all of the season's major new series have debuted, we reveal the fall television season's winners and losers.