The Walking Dead : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 31, 2010
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
The Walking Dead Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 2489 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Based on a comic book series of the same name by Robert Kirkman, a small group of survivors, led by officer Rick Grimes (Andrew Lincoln), must fight a world full of zombies.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Fantasy, Horror, Suspense, Science Fiction

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Dec 7, 2010
    100
    This dark gem of a show about a zombie apocalypse gleams with hellfire incandescence.
  2. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Oct 22, 2010
    100
    What makes The Walking Dead so much more than a horror show is that it plays with theatrical grandeur, on a canvas that feels real, looks cinematic and has an orchestral score to match. For all its set pieces, however, Walking is most breathtaking in its small moments, in which the pain and glory of being human are conveyed with only the flick of a filmmaking wrist.
  3. Whereas most entries in the musty genre are simply inclined to go for cheap shrieks and lofty body counts, this saga defies expectations with a more humanistic approach.
  4. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    The Walking Dead may depend more on suspense, desolate atmosphere, and creative storytelling than fine acting. The show takes a nightmare generally told in movies and opens it up for the medium of TV. I'm optimistic that Darabont & Co. will continue to find ways to make the characters interestingly human as they dodge death's slow, ruthless pursuit.
  5. Reviewed by: Jesse Hicks
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    The show, adapted from Robert Kirkman's comic book series, quickly moves past its familiar premise. It's about what happens after the apocalypse, in the struggle to remain human after society's collapse.
  6. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    On the whole, I'd say The Walking Dead worth a look, no matter what your genre preferences, but horror aficionados are more likely to enjoy this intense, blood-spattered tale, which, like all AMC dramas, is about as aesthetically well-crafted as a TV show can be.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Dec 7, 2010
    60
    Darabont and his cast excel at conjuring up a taut social study, but let the horror scenes fall oddly flat.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 419
  1. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    This show is truly intense in every standard. Thrills, suspense, drama, etc. It may not be so much a scary show, but you have to admit, it'sThis show is truly intense in every standard. Thrills, suspense, drama, etc. It may not be so much a scary show, but you have to admit, it's one hell of a show. The zombies may be what makes the show suspensefull, but watching the people have to fight amongst each other not only shows great drama, but even thrills. Especially in season 3. I mean, watching the Governor being his bad, villanous self is what really brings in the thrills. I can't to see how season 3 will end. Overall, it's a tremendous zombie show. Truly TV's greatest thrilller. Expand
  2. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    This is definitely one of the best new shows out there right now. I've seen a lot of zombie apocalypse movies and haven't been impressed, butThis is definitely one of the best new shows out there right now. I've seen a lot of zombie apocalypse movies and haven't been impressed, but this is something that leaves me wanting more. The plot is solid, the characters are well played, and the scenes of horror are intense enough to experience the characters' despair yourself. Expand
  3. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    Bloody brilliant. Amazingly paced, extremely well-acted, and wholly consuming. "The Walking Dead" will have me nailed to my couch for the nextBloody brilliant. Amazingly paced, extremely well-acted, and wholly consuming. "The Walking Dead" will have me nailed to my couch for the next five episodes. Hands-down the best show or movie to feature zombies in a long, long time. Expand
  4. Mar 13, 2013
    9
    Rarely does a show start off with such a bang. The Pilot is near-perfect showcase of the potential greatness of this show. While theRarely does a show start off with such a bang. The Pilot is near-perfect showcase of the potential greatness of this show. While the subsequent episodes aren't as good, the final episode is an emotional rollercoaster and wraps the season up nicely. 8.5/10 Expand
  5. Nov 30, 2014
    8
    The score reflects the entire series not just individual season.

    Fantastic show. It took its time building up but it is definitely worth
    The score reflects the entire series not just individual season.

    Fantastic show. It took its time building up but it is definitely worth watching. Great story and it keeps getting better with every episode and now I can't wait for it to air. Some of the stuff is pretty f***** up.
    Expand
  6. Apr 17, 2013
    7
    Pretty good. I personally think it's a bit overhyped. But it's still good. One thing I will say though is how BS some of the action sequencesPretty good. I personally think it's a bit overhyped. But it's still good. One thing I will say though is how BS some of the action sequences are. There needs to be more attention to detail. When the actor's are shooting .44s AKs and 12 gauges there is no recoil. Just a flash and a body falls down in the distance.. Really? Most of the actors do their part pretty well. But you never really care about any of them. Sure you don't like that they die but you really don't care honestly. The last thing I'll say about it is how FREAKING TERRIBLE the character Rick Grimes is. The actor tries WAYYYYYYYYY too hard to be dramatic in every way possible to EVERYTHING. Way too over-dramatic. I swear to god the next time I hear "LUUUUUUUUOOOOOOORRAAAAAAY!!!!!!" with him lisping and drooling from the mouth trying to be dramatic I'm going to tear my ears off my head. And the way he acts Mr. Tuff "I'm the leader and I'm going to broaden my shoulders and act like I know what I'm doing".. That's Rick Grimes in a nutshell. And he's going to annoy the hell outta especially since he's the main character. Expand
  7. Dec 21, 2016
    0
    Season 1 was okay- at least things happened. Every season after the first loses that momentum.
    This show is not for thinkers. If you're a
    Season 1 was okay- at least things happened. Every season after the first loses that momentum.
    This show is not for thinkers. If you're a thinker you wont be able to get over how they've been living in a zombie apocalypse for what now, years? Yet every character still acts like its their first week and the main protagonist, Rick, is a total plank. Every time someone dies- they have about ten minutes of long silences peppered with tearful blubbering.
    Expand

See all 419 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall TV Preview: 30 Notable Shows

    Fall TV Preview: 30 Notable Shows Image
    Published: September 7, 2016
    Here are the 30 most noteworthy TV shows (both new and returning series) set to launch this fall.
  2. Ranked: Best/Worst TV Shows Based on Comic Books

    Ranked: Best/Worst TV Shows Based on Comic Books Image
    Published: June 18, 2015
    Find rankings for all TV series based on comics and graphic novels from the past 30 years.
  3. Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Finale

    Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Finale Image
    Published: April 1, 2013
    Critics found last night's episode of The Walking Dead a bit of a disappointment compared to previous season finales. Find out why--and give us your own take--inside.
  4. Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Midseason Finale

    Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Midseason Finale Image
    Published: December 3, 2012
    It has been a strong season for The Walking Dead so far, but did last night's midseason finale continue the show's winning ways? Find out what critics are saying.
  5. Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 2 Finale

    Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 2 Finale Image
    Published: March 19, 2012
    What did critics think about last night's season-ending episode of "The Walking Dead"? Find out inside.
  6. The Walking Dead: Critics Re-Evaluate Season 2

    The Walking Dead: Critics Re-Evaluate Season 2 Image
    Published: November 28, 2011
    Last night's episode of "The Walking Dead" marked the midpoint of the show's second season. Do critics still feel as highly about the series now as they did at the beginning of the season? We sample their latest opinions inside.
  7. 2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2011
    It's time for our annual look at the best and worst of the past television season. Find out which first-year broadcast and cable shows impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.
  8. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  9. Fall 2010 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows

    Fall 2010 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows Image
    Published: November 2, 2010
    Now that all of the season's major new series have debuted, we reveal the fall television season's winners and losers.