The Walking Dead : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 31, 2010
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
The Walking Dead Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 2302 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Based on a comic book series of the same name by Robert Kirkman, a small group of survivors, led by officer Rick Grimes (Andrew Lincoln), must fight a world full of zombies.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Fantasy, Horror, Suspense, Science Fiction

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Dec 7, 2010
    100
    This dark gem of a show about a zombie apocalypse gleams with hellfire incandescence.
  2. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Oct 22, 2010
    100
    What makes The Walking Dead so much more than a horror show is that it plays with theatrical grandeur, on a canvas that feels real, looks cinematic and has an orchestral score to match. For all its set pieces, however, Walking is most breathtaking in its small moments, in which the pain and glory of being human are conveyed with only the flick of a filmmaking wrist.
  3. Whereas most entries in the musty genre are simply inclined to go for cheap shrieks and lofty body counts, this saga defies expectations with a more humanistic approach.
  4. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    The Walking Dead may depend more on suspense, desolate atmosphere, and creative storytelling than fine acting. The show takes a nightmare generally told in movies and opens it up for the medium of TV. I'm optimistic that Darabont & Co. will continue to find ways to make the characters interestingly human as they dodge death's slow, ruthless pursuit.
  5. Reviewed by: Jesse Hicks
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    The show, adapted from Robert Kirkman's comic book series, quickly moves past its familiar premise. It's about what happens after the apocalypse, in the struggle to remain human after society's collapse.
  6. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    On the whole, I'd say The Walking Dead worth a look, no matter what your genre preferences, but horror aficionados are more likely to enjoy this intense, blood-spattered tale, which, like all AMC dramas, is about as aesthetically well-crafted as a TV show can be.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Dec 7, 2010
    60
    Darabont and his cast excel at conjuring up a taut social study, but let the horror scenes fall oddly flat.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 397
  1. Nov 7, 2012
    10
    La mejor serie que he visto en mucho tiempo, fiel a los comics en muchos casos, escrita totalmente por Robert Kirkman, con drama, muertes queLa mejor serie que he visto en mucho tiempo, fiel a los comics en muchos casos, escrita totalmente por Robert Kirkman, con drama, muertes que lo hacen una serie inesperada, inclusion de nuevos personajes como Daryl, una trama que se pueded seguir facilmente en ciertos puntos, una obra maestra. Expand
  2. May 6, 2016
    10
    This show thrusts you into a post-apocalypse world with exciting, ever-changing storylines and a memorable cast; and when I mean thrust, IThis show thrusts you into a post-apocalypse world with exciting, ever-changing storylines and a memorable cast; and when I mean thrust, I truly mean thrust - I feel like I'm part of the tv show, and I believe that is the best thing you can say about a tv show. When you feel like you're part of it, when you feel fear when the survivors do, when you can relate to them, and when you can truly feel for them. The zombies in this show, or should I say walkers, are aesthetically amazing, and extremely terrifying at times. However, what forms the backbone of this show is the real enemy - the moral compass of the survivors. The characters have to do horrible things in order to survive, which really fleshes out their character development, which there is a whole lot of. The villains in the show are remarkable, and every season sheds a new light with interesting characters and storylines like trees, that branch into more and more possibilities for the future of the survivors. This show is one of the best shows of all time. Expand
  3. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    Bloody brilliant. Amazingly paced, extremely well-acted, and wholly consuming. "The Walking Dead" will have me nailed to my couch for the nextBloody brilliant. Amazingly paced, extremely well-acted, and wholly consuming. "The Walking Dead" will have me nailed to my couch for the next five episodes. Hands-down the best show or movie to feature zombies in a long, long time. Expand
  4. Jan 13, 2013
    9
    Absolutely breath-taking. I have only been watching the show since the end of season two, and I got addicted to watching it. The realism of itAbsolutely breath-taking. I have only been watching the show since the end of season two, and I got addicted to watching it. The realism of it needs to go up a little bit, the actors are not too good. I just didn't see any improvement in their acting, especially when tears are shed. That is something that definitely needs put into work for the next season. This is my favorite show on AMC, and probably my fifth favorite show all together. I highly recommend watching it if you're into dramas and science-fiction. Especially if you love hearing about zombies as a topic (no pun intended). Highly recommended. Expand
  5. Oct 12, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When it comes to watching horror movies or TV shows, there are many options out there. The genres of horror stories have changed dramatically over the years. They range from post-zombie apocalypse to gory spooky stuff. American filmmakers have turned the idea of horror shows into a joke. One popular show among high school and college students is The Walking Dead. Thankfully, the producers of the hit show, The Walking Dead, know what they are doing. After viewing a few episodes, a person will understand this. Bravo to the producers for how deranged, well acted and written the show is. The characters are well developed and it is based on things people might actually do if they were ever in situations like the ones in the first season.
    The pilot of The Walking Dead was great. This was a well-assembled show that creates great suspense and a scary fell to people. In this show, the series protagonist is Sheriff’s Deputy Rick Grimes. Shane Walsh is Rick’s best friend, Lori is Rick’s wife, Carl is Lori and Rick’s son, Andrea is a civil rights attorney, Amy is Andrea’s sister, Dale is the one who forms the group of survivors and owns an RV, and Glen is the one that’s sent on missions that are sometimes dangerous.
    In the beginning, Rick Grimes is left in a coma after a gunshot wound. He awakens to a post-zombie apocalyptic world. He calls these infectious zombies “walkers”. He discovers that the military is wrecked and have lost the battle. While he is on the look for this missing wife and son, he meets fellow survivors, Morgan Jones and his son Duane. They explain the whole situation to him. It has been rumored that the CDC is a quarantined safe-zone. Rick then believes that his wife and son could be there. He later learns that walkers overran it. Rick meets Glenn Rhee and becomes part of their group. Walkers attack them in a department store, which forces them to move.
    Rick’s wife Lori and son Carl are safe a few miles outside of Atlanta. Lori and Carl are with Shane Walsh, Rick’s former partner/best friend. Lori and Shane are now lovers because they believed Rick was dead. Rick reunites with Lori and Carl after escaping Atlanta. Rick does not know about Lori and Shane though. He becomes partners with Shane and is the leader of the group. Part of the group then goes back to the city with Rick to get weapons and to rescue Merle. Rick finds that Merle has escaped when the group arrives back to the building were Merle is. When they return to camp, they find that walkers overrun it. Andrea’s sister, Amy, is killed. Jim was injured during this period so the group plans to go back to Atlanta and try to get help from the CDC. When this is all over, one family sets off alone in hopes of finding their relatives. Jim tells the group that he wants to be abandoned on the road because of his infection from the zombie bite. The members left in the group then head towards the CDC.
    Once the group arrives at the CDC, they find only one staff member to be alive, Dr. Edwin Jenner. Dr. Jenner explains his study on this catastrophic zombie apocalypse. He then explains to the group that this building will self-destruct to keep the deadly diseases from escaping. Carol was able to save the group by a grenade that blows out a window. Dr. Jenner, Andrea, and Jacqui decide to stay as they have lost hope. Andrea goes back on her word because Dale refused to leave Andrea behind. They barely make it out of the building before it self-destructed. Jenner and Jacqui are killed. This all happens in the first season of The Walking Dead.
    Each episode leaves the viewers stunned. The show is interesting and thrilling as they leave one anxiously waiting to see what happens next. Some moments were upsettingly perfect. The characters are well developed and the idea of the post-zombie apocalypse is fascinating. The actions of the people in this TV show closely resemble what people would do in the real world as well. The audience that this show brings are people whom like zombie and gory scenes. In the end, the show gets plenty of viewers and is different from any other type of horror TV show.
    Expand
  6. Oct 27, 2012
    7
    First season was superb compared to season two. There was little too much drama going on and the story proceeded very slowly. I recommendFirst season was superb compared to season two. There was little too much drama going on and the story proceeded very slowly. I recommend reading the comic books which are far more better then the TV show. Expand
  7. Oct 26, 2014
    0
    I don't understand why so many people like this show, I mean after watching the first and second season, I have to say, I've never seen such aI don't understand why so many people like this show, I mean after watching the first and second season, I have to say, I've never seen such a boring show like this. Come on! Horror??? Really not! Expand

See all 397 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best/Worst TV Shows Based on Comic Books

    Ranked: Best/Worst TV Shows Based on Comic Books Image
    Published: June 18, 2015
    Find rankings for all TV series based on comics and graphic novels from the past 30 years.
  2. Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Finale

    Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Finale Image
    Published: April 1, 2013
    Critics found last night's episode of The Walking Dead a bit of a disappointment compared to previous season finales. Find out why--and give us your own take--inside.
  3. Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Midseason Finale

    Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Midseason Finale Image
    Published: December 3, 2012
    It has been a strong season for The Walking Dead so far, but did last night's midseason finale continue the show's winning ways? Find out what critics are saying.
  4. Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 2 Finale

    Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 2 Finale Image
    Published: March 19, 2012
    What did critics think about last night's season-ending episode of "The Walking Dead"? Find out inside.
  5. The Walking Dead: Critics Re-Evaluate Season 2

    The Walking Dead: Critics Re-Evaluate Season 2 Image
    Published: November 28, 2011
    Last night's episode of "The Walking Dead" marked the midpoint of the show's second season. Do critics still feel as highly about the series now as they did at the beginning of the season? We sample their latest opinions inside.
  6. 2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2011
    It's time for our annual look at the best and worst of the past television season. Find out which first-year broadcast and cable shows impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.
  7. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  8. Fall 2010 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows

    Fall 2010 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows Image
    Published: November 2, 2010
    Now that all of the season's major new series have debuted, we reveal the fall television season's winners and losers.