• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 31, 2010
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
The Walking Dead Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 2652 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Based on a comic book series of the same name by Robert Kirkman, a small group of survivors, led by officer Rick Grimes (Andrew Lincoln), must fight a world full of zombies.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Fantasy, Horror, Suspense, Science Fiction

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Walking Dead
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Dec 7, 2010
    100
    This dark gem of a show about a zombie apocalypse gleams with hellfire incandescence.
  2. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Oct 22, 2010
    100
    What makes The Walking Dead so much more than a horror show is that it plays with theatrical grandeur, on a canvas that feels real, looks cinematic and has an orchestral score to match. For all its set pieces, however, Walking is most breathtaking in its small moments, in which the pain and glory of being human are conveyed with only the flick of a filmmaking wrist.
  3. Whereas most entries in the musty genre are simply inclined to go for cheap shrieks and lofty body counts, this saga defies expectations with a more humanistic approach.
  4. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    The Walking Dead may depend more on suspense, desolate atmosphere, and creative storytelling than fine acting. The show takes a nightmare generally told in movies and opens it up for the medium of TV. I'm optimistic that Darabont & Co. will continue to find ways to make the characters interestingly human as they dodge death's slow, ruthless pursuit.
  5. Reviewed by: Jesse Hicks
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    The show, adapted from Robert Kirkman's comic book series, quickly moves past its familiar premise. It's about what happens after the apocalypse, in the struggle to remain human after society's collapse.
  6. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    On the whole, I'd say The Walking Dead worth a look, no matter what your genre preferences, but horror aficionados are more likely to enjoy this intense, blood-spattered tale, which, like all AMC dramas, is about as aesthetically well-crafted as a TV show can be.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Dec 7, 2010
    60
    Darabont and his cast excel at conjuring up a taut social study, but let the horror scenes fall oddly flat.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 51 out of 426
  1. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The first season of The Walking Dead is a fantastic introduction to a new world overrun by zombies. In the first episode of the season we are really given the scope and magnitude of the infection. Frank Darabont made a fantastic choice in developing this idea from the comic page to the small screen. With producers like this show has, how could it possibly fail!

    From the streets of Atlanta to the offices of the CDC, we don't just encounter zombies but we get a refreshing taste of drama! The character interactions in this series is fantastically portrayed and the acting gives it a realism you rarely get from other programs!

    If you haven't watched this series, you haven't lived! (So to speak...)
    Expand
  2. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    Great show, even if you don't like zombies, it has a compelling story, great character development and has action in it. It is a great showGreat show, even if you don't like zombies, it has a compelling story, great character development and has action in it. It is a great show that doesn't overwhelm you senseless killing. It does a great job proportioning every aspect of an a fantastic show. Everyone who does not like it just likes complaining. Someone was complaining that the men go hunt while the woman wash clothes, right, well only one man was actually hunting and the girls were washing clothes, how do you know that the men and the women do not switch that role every day? Clearly, someone is way to offended by a small glimpse into how people would live in a community that had been hit by zombies.. nothing to get offended about.... To everyone else, I would strongly suggest this show. It is the only show that I follow, I usually like t.v. shows but this is the first one I am sure to watch. It is an the best show I have ever seen by far. Expand
  3. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    Bloody brilliant. Amazingly paced, extremely well-acted, and wholly consuming. "The Walking Dead" will have me nailed to my couch for the nextBloody brilliant. Amazingly paced, extremely well-acted, and wholly consuming. "The Walking Dead" will have me nailed to my couch for the next five episodes. Hands-down the best show or movie to feature zombies in a long, long time. Expand
  4. Sep 19, 2012
    9
    A diamond in the rough; one of the few shows that uses fantasy amazingly as a background to explore the complex human nature and theirA diamond in the rough; one of the few shows that uses fantasy amazingly as a background to explore the complex human nature and their reactions to horrifying and post-apocalyptic events, whilst still maintaining a dose of suspense and gory head-smashing action that will leave you on the edge of your seat.
    With never-ending drama, deaths, emotions, friendships and intense adventures, The Walking Dead really is a show for everyone's taste.
    Expand
  5. Jul 4, 2014
    8
    One of my favourite TV series alongside Breaking Bad, this world of walkers has been beautifully created and the characters have actualOne of my favourite TV series alongside Breaking Bad, this world of walkers has been beautifully created and the characters have actual personality rather than some TV series. Being based off of the comics, although it is good to see their pages come to life, for those who read them before watching the TV series already knew what was going to happen. Expand
  6. Oct 21, 2012
    7
    The comic (and the episodic game, for that matter) are better. 100%. Any fan of the show should check out the comic and is missing out if theyThe comic (and the episodic game, for that matter) are better. 100%. Any fan of the show should check out the comic and is missing out if they haven't. That said, I do LIKE the show (so far, after seeing Season 1). There are some really interesting new ideas, like what happens in the Season finale and how some of the stuff plays out differently. Not all the changes are for the best though. The pacing is really off, especially the first episode (which is weaker than the rest of the Season, overall), Shane really isn't interesting enough to become a main character, that I definitely found regrettable. And even that which they took from the comics... well, some of the hammy acting actually makes the unfortunate awkward idiosyncracies of Kirkman's writing show, rather than highlighting how strong it can be at times. But despite these complaints, the show is enjoyable. A zombie apocalypse is rife with the kind of ongoing human drama that can sustain a series and I'm surprised that it hasn't been done before. So, despite its flaws (and it is flawed), the show ends up being really unique and worth a watch, although I would recommend the comic universe as the superior "Walking Dead" media. Expand
  7. Feb 28, 2018
    0
    Freaking Hollywood politics and messages are so over the top. I am disappointed and finished.
    The writers went left so extremely with this,
    Freaking Hollywood politics and messages are so over the top. I am disappointed and finished.
    The writers went left so extremely with this, I am done. Just like football and Oscars, screw you hollywood, I am out!
    Expand

See all 426 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall TV Preview: 30 Notable Shows

    Fall TV Preview: 30 Notable Shows Image
    Published: September 7, 2016
    Here are the 30 most noteworthy TV shows (both new and returning series) set to launch this fall.
  2. Ranked: Best/Worst TV Shows Based on Comic Books

    Ranked: Best/Worst TV Shows Based on Comic Books Image
    Published: June 18, 2015
    Find rankings for all TV series based on comics and graphic novels from the past 30 years.
  3. Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Finale

    Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Finale Image
    Published: April 1, 2013
    Critics found last night's episode of The Walking Dead a bit of a disappointment compared to previous season finales. Find out why--and give us your own take--inside.
  4. Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Midseason Finale

    Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Midseason Finale Image
    Published: December 3, 2012
    It has been a strong season for The Walking Dead so far, but did last night's midseason finale continue the show's winning ways? Find out what critics are saying.
  5. Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 2 Finale

    Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 2 Finale Image
    Published: March 19, 2012
    What did critics think about last night's season-ending episode of "The Walking Dead"? Find out inside.
  6. The Walking Dead: Critics Re-Evaluate Season 2

    The Walking Dead: Critics Re-Evaluate Season 2 Image
    Published: November 28, 2011
    Last night's episode of "The Walking Dead" marked the midpoint of the show's second season. Do critics still feel as highly about the series now as they did at the beginning of the season? We sample their latest opinions inside.
  7. 2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2011
    It's time for our annual look at the best and worst of the past television season. Find out which first-year broadcast and cable shows impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.
  8. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  9. Fall 2010 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows

    Fall 2010 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows Image
    Published: November 2, 2010
    Now that all of the season's major new series have debuted, we reveal the fall television season's winners and losers.