• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 31, 2010
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
The Walking Dead Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1997 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Based on a comic book series of the same name by Robert Kirkman, a small group of survivors, led by officer Rick Grimes (Andrew Lincoln), must fight a world full of zombies.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Fantasy, Horror, Suspense, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Dec 7, 2010
    100
    This dark gem of a show about a zombie apocalypse gleams with hellfire incandescence.
  2. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Oct 22, 2010
    100
    What makes The Walking Dead so much more than a horror show is that it plays with theatrical grandeur, on a canvas that feels real, looks cinematic and has an orchestral score to match. For all its set pieces, however, Walking is most breathtaking in its small moments, in which the pain and glory of being human are conveyed with only the flick of a filmmaking wrist.
  3. Whereas most entries in the musty genre are simply inclined to go for cheap shrieks and lofty body counts, this saga defies expectations with a more humanistic approach.
  4. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    The Walking Dead may depend more on suspense, desolate atmosphere, and creative storytelling than fine acting. The show takes a nightmare generally told in movies and opens it up for the medium of TV. I'm optimistic that Darabont & Co. will continue to find ways to make the characters interestingly human as they dodge death's slow, ruthless pursuit.
  5. Reviewed by: Jesse Hicks
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    The show, adapted from Robert Kirkman's comic book series, quickly moves past its familiar premise. It's about what happens after the apocalypse, in the struggle to remain human after society's collapse.
  6. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    On the whole, I'd say The Walking Dead worth a look, no matter what your genre preferences, but horror aficionados are more likely to enjoy this intense, blood-spattered tale, which, like all AMC dramas, is about as aesthetically well-crafted as a TV show can be.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Dec 7, 2010
    60
    Darabont and his cast excel at conjuring up a taut social study, but let the horror scenes fall oddly flat.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 380
  1. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    Easily one of the best shows on TV at the moment. The show delivers massively intense scenes with each episode. The danger surrounding ourEasily one of the best shows on TV at the moment. The show delivers massively intense scenes with each episode. The danger surrounding our characters in everything they do keeps you on the edge of your seat. The acting is fantastic. The make-up and effects department are probably the best I've ever seen.
    The one downside to the show is the writing of certain characters, specifically females, however the majority of characters are brilliant. The Walking Dead not only refers to its realistic zombies AKA Walkers, but the minds and soul of our characters and how the world around them effects their declining morality.
    Expand
  2. Feb 20, 2015
    10
    If TWD had been only one season long, it would have been a classic. Less episodes and a budget you can see where it went. Before the days ofIf TWD had been only one season long, it would have been a classic. Less episodes and a budget you can see where it went. Before the days of TWD becoming a soap opera with no sense of direction, Season One was great. Recomended. Expand
  3. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    Bloody brilliant. Amazingly paced, extremely well-acted, and wholly consuming. "The Walking Dead" will have me nailed to my couch for the nextBloody brilliant. Amazingly paced, extremely well-acted, and wholly consuming. "The Walking Dead" will have me nailed to my couch for the next five episodes. Hands-down the best show or movie to feature zombies in a long, long time. Expand
  4. Sep 19, 2012
    9
    A diamond in the rough; one of the few shows that uses fantasy amazingly as a background to explore the complex human nature and theirA diamond in the rough; one of the few shows that uses fantasy amazingly as a background to explore the complex human nature and their reactions to horrifying and post-apocalyptic events, whilst still maintaining a dose of suspense and gory head-smashing action that will leave you on the edge of your seat.
    With never-ending drama, deaths, emotions, friendships and intense adventures, The Walking Dead really is a show for everyone's taste.
    Expand
  5. Apr 28, 2014
    8
    A pretty good start to a show. This show is pretty good nothing to spectacular but still an entertaining watch. I have only watched the firstA pretty good start to a show. This show is pretty good nothing to spectacular but still an entertaining watch. I have only watched the first season and some of season 2 and I can say that this season is way better than season 2. There is a lot of gore and violence which I enjoy so I am entertained buy that. Some episodes are slow and boring but all in all a pretty good show. Expand
  6. Mar 15, 2012
    7
    I originally rated this show a 10/10. That was on the first season. I downgraded it to a 7/10 after the disappointing second season. WhatI originally rated this show a 10/10. That was on the first season. I downgraded it to a 7/10 after the disappointing second season. What happened? The show started with a bang. It was suspenseful, compelling and well-crafted. The short season helped the show to keep it snappy. Then the second season comes out, the setting changes to a farm, and everything goes downhill from there. Let me put it this way: If you watch Breaking Bad, imagine if every character in the show was Skyler White. The characters became whiny, sanctimonious and not very bright. A longer season didn't benefit the show, as every episode has filler of people whining nonstop until something happens. The show has turned into a cliched horror movie, with characters so stupid you root for the zombies to finish them off. I have read the comics, and it's not like that, so I hope the show gets better and I'm willing to improve my score if it does. Expand
  7. Mar 5, 2014
    0
    How the Walking Dead got an 84 is baffling to me. The show is bland and dumb. You dont give a flying **** about any of the characters. And theHow the Walking Dead got an 84 is baffling to me. The show is bland and dumb. You dont give a flying **** about any of the characters. And the plot line is just stupid. I think people like this show just because it has zombies in it. I've asked many people what they like about this show, and I have not heard one that was not "Cuz it's badass," or "Zombies man, totally rad." The first season was ok, but after that they stopped developing a plot. The past three seasons have just been the group finding a new place to stay for the season (i.e. the farm, the prison), gaining and loosing characters, and then finally have a big confrontation at the end of the season (i.e. the war, the raid on the farm). I could go on for hours about all of the dumb stuff in this show, but you get the point. Just go watch Breaking Bad, or something else Expand

See all 380 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Finale

    Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Finale Image
    Published: April 1, 2013
    Critics found last night's episode of The Walking Dead a bit of a disappointment compared to previous season finales. Find out why--and give us your own take--inside.
  2. Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Midseason Finale

    Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Midseason Finale Image
    Published: December 3, 2012
    It has been a strong season for The Walking Dead so far, but did last night's midseason finale continue the show's winning ways? Find out what critics are saying.
  3. Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 2 Finale

    Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 2 Finale Image
    Published: March 19, 2012
    What did critics think about last night's season-ending episode of "The Walking Dead"? Find out inside.
  4. The Walking Dead: Critics Re-Evaluate Season 2

    The Walking Dead: Critics Re-Evaluate Season 2 Image
    Published: November 28, 2011
    Last night's episode of "The Walking Dead" marked the midpoint of the show's second season. Do critics still feel as highly about the series now as they did at the beginning of the season? We sample their latest opinions inside.
  5. 2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2011
    It's time for our annual look at the best and worst of the past television season. Find out which first-year broadcast and cable shows impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.
  6. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  7. Fall 2010 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows

    Fall 2010 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows Image
    Published: November 2, 2010
    Now that all of the season's major new series have debuted, we reveal the fall television season's winners and losers.