• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 31, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
The Walking Dead Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 1687 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on a comic book series of the same name by Robert Kirkman, a small group of survivors, led by officer Rick Grimes (Andrew Lincoln), must fight a world full of zombies.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Fantasy, Horror, Suspense, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 7, 2010
    100
    A zombie-apocalypse fantasy set in Atlanta, this is the scariest series U've ever seen. [8 Nov 2010, p.39]
  2. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Oct 22, 2010
    100
    What makes The Walking Dead so much more than a horror show is that it plays with theatrical grandeur, on a canvas that feels real, looks cinematic and has an orchestral score to match. For all its set pieces, however, Walking is most breathtaking in its small moments, in which the pain and glory of being human are conveyed with only the flick of a filmmaking wrist.
  3. Whereas most entries in the musty genre are simply inclined to go for cheap shrieks and lofty body counts, this saga defies expectations with a more humanistic approach.
  4. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    The Walking Dead may depend more on suspense, desolate atmosphere, and creative storytelling than fine acting. The show takes a nightmare generally told in movies and opens it up for the medium of TV. I'm optimistic that Darabont & Co. will continue to find ways to make the characters interestingly human as they dodge death's slow, ruthless pursuit.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    The Walking Dead, like any good horror tale, still believes in the importance of monsters, perfectly balancing the struggle of basic human decency with those palsied four-in-the-morning moments when we are convinced that everyone around us is trying to eat us alive
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    Although we've seen no shortage of zombies and post-apocalyptic stories, producer-writer-director Frank Darabont has deftly tackled the seemingly perilous task of adapting a comicbook about zombies into a viable episodic series.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Dec 7, 2010
    60
    Darabont and his cast excel at conjuring up a taut social study, but let the horror scenes fall oddly flat.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 346
  1. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    Simply put amazing, outstanding a must watch series for anybody my mum loves it lol also check out this awesome walking dead blog!
    http://amcthewalkingdeadblog.blogspot.co.uk/
    Expand
  2. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    This show has been a long time coming. Being that it is based off the great Graphic Novel series of the same name, it holds water that it will continue to be fantastic. I had high hopes going in and was still completely blown away. The production value and directing, special effects and acting, and sheer scope of possibilities this has to offer is astounding. They don't pull any punches here, ie: it's as bloody and gory as any zombie flick worth noting. So if you are interested in a series that has the time to really connect you to the characters ( and by the looks of it, they plan to ), and are any kind of a zombie flick fan, this is what you've been waiting for. I for one, truly cannot wait to see more. Expand
  3. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    Bloody brilliant. Amazingly paced, extremely well-acted, and wholly consuming. "The Walking Dead" will have me nailed to my couch for the next five episodes. Hands-down the best show or movie to feature zombies in a long, long time. Expand
  4. Sep 19, 2012
    9
    A diamond in the rough; one of the few shows that uses fantasy amazingly as a background to explore the complex human nature and their reactions to horrifying and post-apocalyptic events, whilst still maintaining a dose of suspense and gory head-smashing action that will leave you on the edge of your seat.
    With never-ending drama, deaths, emotions, friendships and intense adventures, The Walking Dead really is a show for everyone's taste.
    Expand
  5. Nov 24, 2013
    8
    The Walking Dead is a great show and an even better graphic novel. The first and second seasons of the show are by far the best. The current (fourth) season of the show leaves me feeling like I am always being hung over a cliff waiting for the next big thing to happen, but it just never comes. I really hope that the show continues to progress through the story and doesn't flicker out in the fifth season, but judging by how the story is progressing now, that just may be the case. That being said: This is one of the best television series that I have ever watched and like I said earlier, an even better graphic novel (hint hint pick them up) Expand
  6. Nov 3, 2011
    7
    It's not fun Zombie (Zombieland), it's more like 1968's Planet of the Apes in tone and kinda depressing. That's not a cut on the show, but a compliment. It says a lot about the world we live in. Expand
  7. May 11, 2014
    0
    This isn't the worst thing on TV, but it's pretty awful. Everything is just at the bottom of its game: the writing, the acting, the special effects (apart from the make up). They don't need 16 episodes to tell a story where something happens maybe every 6 episodes and the rest is just filler. And in case you were wondering whether they're building to some great action set-piece or brilliantly scripted finale, no they're not. They've done this to me twice. Expand

See all 346 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Finale

    Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Finale Image
    Published: April 1, 2013
    Critics found last night's episode of The Walking Dead a bit of a disappointment compared to previous season finales. Find out why--and give us your own take--inside.
  2. Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Midseason Finale

    Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Midseason Finale Image
    Published: December 3, 2012
    It has been a strong season for The Walking Dead so far, but did last night's midseason finale continue the show's winning ways? Find out what critics are saying.
  3. Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 2 Finale

    Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 2 Finale Image
    Published: March 19, 2012
    What did critics think about last night's season-ending episode of "The Walking Dead"? Find out inside.
  4. The Walking Dead: Critics Re-Evaluate Season 2

    The Walking Dead: Critics Re-Evaluate Season 2 Image
    Published: November 28, 2011
    Last night's episode of "The Walking Dead" marked the midpoint of the show's second season. Do critics still feel as highly about the series now as they did at the beginning of the season? We sample their latest opinions inside.
  5. 2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2011
    It's time for our annual look at the best and worst of the past television season. Find out which first-year broadcast and cable shows impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.
  6. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  7. Fall 2010 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows

    Fall 2010 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows Image
    Published: November 2, 2010
    Now that all of the season's major new series have debuted, we reveal the fall television season's winners and losers.