• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 31, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
The Walking Dead Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 1633 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on a comic book series of the same name by Robert Kirkman, a small group of survivors, led by officer Rick Grimes (Andrew Lincoln), must fight a world full of zombies.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Fantasy, Horror, Suspense, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 7, 2010
    100
    A zombie-apocalypse fantasy set in Atlanta, this is the scariest series U've ever seen. [8 Nov 2010, p.39]
  2. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Oct 22, 2010
    100
    What makes The Walking Dead so much more than a horror show is that it plays with theatrical grandeur, on a canvas that feels real, looks cinematic and has an orchestral score to match. For all its set pieces, however, Walking is most breathtaking in its small moments, in which the pain and glory of being human are conveyed with only the flick of a filmmaking wrist.
  3. Whereas most entries in the musty genre are simply inclined to go for cheap shrieks and lofty body counts, this saga defies expectations with a more humanistic approach.
  4. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    The Walking Dead may depend more on suspense, desolate atmosphere, and creative storytelling than fine acting. The show takes a nightmare generally told in movies and opens it up for the medium of TV. I'm optimistic that Darabont & Co. will continue to find ways to make the characters interestingly human as they dodge death's slow, ruthless pursuit.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    The Walking Dead, like any good horror tale, still believes in the importance of monsters, perfectly balancing the struggle of basic human decency with those palsied four-in-the-morning moments when we are convinced that everyone around us is trying to eat us alive
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    Although we've seen no shortage of zombies and post-apocalyptic stories, producer-writer-director Frank Darabont has deftly tackled the seemingly perilous task of adapting a comicbook about zombies into a viable episodic series.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Dec 7, 2010
    60
    Darabont and his cast excel at conjuring up a taut social study, but let the horror scenes fall oddly flat.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 338
  1. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. AMAZING! Everything I would expect but more! The suspense through the first season was awesome and the writers painted an amazing picture of the zombie apocalypse and how bad things were. Every character has it's own personality which makes you wonder as the show goes on how they will clash with other members of there camp. Every character can be related to in some aspect which makes it that more exciting to watch cause you think you know what the survivors will do next. The story always leads to new hope and also leads to great losses as well. Expand
  2. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    I come home from on Halloween night and like it was destiny I turn on the tv to find The Walking Dead just starting. From that point on I couldn't take my eyes off the tv for the next hour and a half. It was amazing! It had it all. Blood, drama, horror, and great acting from all parts. The best part it had a cliffhanger at the end. I'm so watching every episode from this point on! You should certainly watch this show. Expand
  3. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    Bloody brilliant. Amazingly paced, extremely well-acted, and wholly consuming. "The Walking Dead" will have me nailed to my couch for the next five episodes. Hands-down the best show or movie to feature zombies in a long, long time. Expand
  4. Sep 28, 2012
    9
    This is easily one of the best shows on TV. People who don't like this usually complain that zombies are not in it enough. This show is not about the zombies. If you read the comics, or watched the show you get that The Walking Dead refers to the people who are alive more than the zombies themselves. They are doing nothing, but postponing their inevitable demise. This is a show about people in a post apocalyptic world, and it does such and excellent job of showing the changes that occur in people when something like this happen. If you are not a fan of gore, then it might be hard to watch, but if you are willing to close your eyes every now and then to miss a head being smashed in, then by all means watch it. This is a MUST watch. Expand
  5. Nov 25, 2013
    8
    season is by far the best season because it is so eventful compered to the rest of the series. it leaves you on the edge of your seat wondering what will happen next. out of the 'bigger' shows on TV such as game of thrones, breaking bad and such this shows first season in my opinion is by far the best. its so disappointing that the writers made the show so slow in the second and third season, and now the fourth is reviving the paste just a little bit. so if you want to watch a good show this one is a great one to watch because even though it becomes painfully slow it pays of at the end of each season making you want to continue watching all that much more. I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did Expand
  6. Mar 15, 2012
    7
    I originally rated this show a 10/10. That was on the first season. I downgraded it to a 7/10 after the disappointing second season. What happened? The show started with a bang. It was suspenseful, compelling and well-crafted. The short season helped the show to keep it snappy. Then the second season comes out, the setting changes to a farm, and everything goes downhill from there. Let me put it this way: If you watch Breaking Bad, imagine if every character in the show was Skyler White. The characters became whiny, sanctimonious and not very bright. A longer season didn't benefit the show, as every episode has filler of people whining nonstop until something happens. The show has turned into a cliched horror movie, with characters so stupid you root for the zombies to finish them off. I have read the comics, and it's not like that, so I hope the show gets better and I'm willing to improve my score if it does. Expand
  7. May 11, 2014
    0
    This isn't the worst thing on TV, but it's pretty awful. Everything is just at the bottom of its game: the writing, the acting, the special effects (apart from the make up). They don't need 16 episodes to tell a story where something happens maybe every 6 episodes and the rest is just filler. And in case you were wondering whether they're building to some great action set-piece or brilliantly scripted finale, no they're not. They've done this to me twice. Expand

See all 338 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Finale

    Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Finale Image
    Published: April 1, 2013
    Critics found last night's episode of The Walking Dead a bit of a disappointment compared to previous season finales. Find out why--and give us your own take--inside.
  2. Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Midseason Finale

    Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Midseason Finale Image
    Published: December 3, 2012
    It has been a strong season for The Walking Dead so far, but did last night's midseason finale continue the show's winning ways? Find out what critics are saying.
  3. Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 2 Finale

    Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 2 Finale Image
    Published: March 19, 2012
    What did critics think about last night's season-ending episode of "The Walking Dead"? Find out inside.
  4. The Walking Dead: Critics Re-Evaluate Season 2

    The Walking Dead: Critics Re-Evaluate Season 2 Image
    Published: November 28, 2011
    Last night's episode of "The Walking Dead" marked the midpoint of the show's second season. Do critics still feel as highly about the series now as they did at the beginning of the season? We sample their latest opinions inside.
  5. 2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2011
    It's time for our annual look at the best and worst of the past television season. Find out which first-year broadcast and cable shows impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.
  6. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  7. Fall 2010 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows

    Fall 2010 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows Image
    Published: November 2, 2010
    Now that all of the season's major new series have debuted, we reveal the fall television season's winners and losers.