• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 11, 2005
Season #: 1, 2
User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 86
  2. Negative: 50 out of 86

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. richardw
    May 8, 2007
    0
    This show is what would happen to "funny" if it wasn't funny, and instead was an embarrasing contemptous cliche at anything of the like. Truly one of the most awful and offesive sitcoms ever.
  2. JasonH.
    Mar 1, 2008
    0
    Thank god this trash is finally off the air. Amen!
  3. SallyQ.
    Mar 29, 2008
    0
    Trashy, NO INTELLIGENCE, corny, cocky, too new joisy. Even worse than 'yes dear'.
  4. DavidA
    Nov 29, 2005
    0
    I feel seriously obligated to write about how awful this one is. All it took was opening sequence from the pilot to prove to me that there is no talent whatsoever involved in this. How shows like this get greenlighted is just beyond me.
  5. FattA.
    Sep 15, 2007
    0
    OMG I want 2 hit all of u people this show is terrible, deff. the worst show ever!! the only people who like it are racists, and assholes!
  6. RalphM.
    Dec 17, 2007
    0
    Finally this trash gets cancelled. All the hatemongers and generally weak-minded indivduals who liked this show will have to get their fix somewhere else.
  7. StevenS
    Oct 2, 2006
    0
    Total crap!! Every characters manages to get your absolute hate of each and everyone of them, story's are crap and predictable as hell, and its strangely depressing (like all other sitcoms). Cheesy and bland, like a cheese sandwhich, or a flattened cardboard box with childrens drawings over them. Boring, cheesy, cliched, cliched, cliched, cliched, cliched, like nothing before (like Total crap!! Every characters manages to get your absolute hate of each and everyone of them, story's are crap and predictable as hell, and its strangely depressing (like all other sitcoms). Cheesy and bland, like a cheese sandwhich, or a flattened cardboard box with childrens drawings over them. Boring, cheesy, cliched, cliched, cliched, cliched, cliched, like nothing before (like all other sitcoms). This show looks like its the type to curse each and everyone of the cast and crew. Expand
  8. chuckupski
    Mar 5, 2006
    0
    Worst Show EVAR!
  9. DaveK
    Jan 12, 2007
    1
    Hilary is hot, and this show is not.
  10. Matt
    Feb 8, 2007
    0
    Television at it worst, predictable, cliched and entirely unfunny. Absolutley amazing that shows like this carry on when shows like Arrested Development fail to find an audience.
  11. RegisP
    Oct 13, 2005
    2
    Another pathetic attempt by FOX to fill out their Sunday night lineup. Bad jokes, bad acting, just plain bad.
  12. JOeS
    Nov 6, 2005
    0
    This show sucks. Im a supporter of crude humor, but when you mix young kids with sex...and plus a father that i would like to punch in the face....it makes a half hour of pure crap.
  13. GabrielL.
    Nov 9, 2005
    0
    As much as I would like to give this show a proper review, all I can say is that it SUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCKS!
  14. thecar
    Oct 21, 2005
    0
    horrible. Fox continues throwing crap at the wall waiting for something to stick. contrived, cliched, recycled, unfunny.........
  15. PatrickM
    Oct 31, 2005
    2
    You have Michael Rapaport in this train wreck. Did you expect originality? Of course not. His stand up is pretty much exactly like this show: worn out and not funny. I'm really surprised that this survived the hiatus due to the baseball. You would think this would have been in the canceled pile like pretty much half of Fox's creations. The kid wears a dress and the dad is a You have Michael Rapaport in this train wreck. Did you expect originality? Of course not. His stand up is pretty much exactly like this show: worn out and not funny. I'm really surprised that this survived the hiatus due to the baseball. You would think this would have been in the canceled pile like pretty much half of Fox's creations. The kid wears a dress and the dad is a homophobe. He doesnt like his daughter dating thug mansion. Whew!! what creativity Rapaport has pulsing through him. Expand
  16. JohnnyW
    Oct 7, 2005
    0
    Confuses making the audience uncomfortable with being an edgy sitcom. Abounds with ridiculous sexist, racist homophobic "humor," which would be overlooked if the show was actually funny. The ultimate waste of a good time slot, which could be given to the far superior "Arrested Development." Had the worst laugh track I've ever heard. Why'd they have to put this between The Confuses making the audience uncomfortable with being an edgy sitcom. Abounds with ridiculous sexist, racist homophobic "humor," which would be overlooked if the show was actually funny. The ultimate waste of a good time slot, which could be given to the far superior "Arrested Development." Had the worst laugh track I've ever heard. Why'd they have to put this between The Simpsons and Family Guy? Avoid this like the plague. Expand
  17. Derek
    Apr 30, 2006
    0
    Total crap. No wonder the rest of the world hates Americans. The fact that there are actually people who like this speaks volumes. Countdown to cancellation starts... now.
  18. RyD
    Jul 26, 2006
    0
    unbelievable....picked up for another season. such garbage is hated by critics and most of america. the only reason its still on is because its in such a clutch time slot. that and there are enough idiots to keep watching it.
  19. dennyk
    Sep 10, 2006
    0
    total garbage made for morons.
  20. TylerC
    Sep 17, 2006
    0
    Shows like this make me want to burn my TV.
  21. KellyS
    Sep 20, 2006
    0
    It's as bad as your mind will allow it to be.
  22. PeterH
    Sep 20, 2006
    0
    I cannot believe what some people will give a 10 on here. This show has bad acting, bad jokes, and a bad setup. Everything is cheap, and horrible forced. Simply trying to follow in "married with children" fad dribble this tries, but it fails at almost every opportunity. Assuming failure is something there looking for which is what seems so. Abominable show. Anyone who likes this show I cannot believe what some people will give a 10 on here. This show has bad acting, bad jokes, and a bad setup. Everything is cheap, and horrible forced. Simply trying to follow in "married with children" fad dribble this tries, but it fails at almost every opportunity. Assuming failure is something there looking for which is what seems so. Abominable show. Anyone who likes this show might want to question their level of intelligence. Expand
  23. EricC
    Mar 29, 2007
    0
    The creators of this crap must have seen the success of guys like Mencia and decided to try being offensive, but funny. Instead, they made a show that is offensively unfunny. In fact, it is the most unfunny show I have ever watched. Really. I mean, my god, this show is just, from top to bottom, all around, a crap fest. What kind of brain dead white trash can find a single enjoyable moment The creators of this crap must have seen the success of guys like Mencia and decided to try being offensive, but funny. Instead, they made a show that is offensively unfunny. In fact, it is the most unfunny show I have ever watched. Really. I mean, my god, this show is just, from top to bottom, all around, a crap fest. What kind of brain dead white trash can find a single enjoyable moment in this shows existence? If this show were a person, I would nail it to the floor by its feet and make it watch itself, while I just go to town on it with rusty needles and dull saws. Expand
  24. ToddR.
    Sep 15, 2007
    0
    Matt L. It's people as low a lifeform as you who could possibly find this funny. As your comment literally proves everyones opinion about why this show is so awful.
  25. BonehoC
    Oct 11, 2005
    0
    I simply cannot stand this show. All of the character are extremely unlikeable and it doesn't help the fact that every word that comes out of someone's is extremely offensive on so many parts. 3/4's of the show wouldn't get past any of the censors on some other channels. Sick.
  26. someguy
    Nov 16, 2005
    0
    baaaaaaaaaaaaaaad. did anyone else find it egregious that the show, with it's title, premiered on 9/11?
  27. RWebster
    Nov 24, 2005
    0
    Terrible. That Fox replaced Arrested Developement with this...is so...I just..I have given up on TV.
  28. BrentM
    Dec 18, 2005
    1
    wow, im watching this show right now simply because its between simpsons and family. Im amazed that they would put such a horrible show between two of the absolute best. It just sharpens the massive contrast. I first noticed the really lame jokes; then i noticed the insanely horrible acting of the dad. Then, i noticed the same of the wife. K the episode just ended, WHY DOES THE DAD FLAIL wow, im watching this show right now simply because its between simpsons and family. Im amazed that they would put such a horrible show between two of the absolute best. It just sharpens the massive contrast. I first noticed the really lame jokes; then i noticed the insanely horrible acting of the dad. Then, i noticed the same of the wife. K the episode just ended, WHY DOES THE DAD FLAIL HIS ARMS AROUND SO LISTLESSLY ALL THE TIME!?!? its like they're dead weight or something. FFS, someone cancel this already. Expand
  29. LeifS
    Nov 19, 2006
    3
    Yeah... It's pretty aweful. Gotta give some points for putting the teenage daughter Hilary on the show, shes F-ing HOT. That should be the only reason to watch it.
  30. SamuelS
    Dec 23, 2006
    0
    First off this show is NOTHING like family guy, the simpsons, or american dad. Those shows are genuinely smart comedy that involves some amount of pseudo-reference pop culture jokes to the totally implausible over-the-top jokes. War at Home is nothing but a bunch of contrived "married with children" attempted cliches which aren't even somewhat smart, funny, or original. They are First off this show is NOTHING like family guy, the simpsons, or american dad. Those shows are genuinely smart comedy that involves some amount of pseudo-reference pop culture jokes to the totally implausible over-the-top jokes. War at Home is nothing but a bunch of contrived "married with children" attempted cliches which aren't even somewhat smart, funny, or original. They are instead loads of recycled garbage sitcom cliches anyone could have thought to include in a random sitcom. Nothing is new, interesting, or thoughtful. That is why War at Home gets a 0. It doesn't just get a 0 rating, it has truly earned it. Expand
  31. TedR
    Dec 23, 2006
    1
    I just saw this yesterday, and my goodness what a stinkathon. I can't believe how little they tried to even make something new. Although I will give them a 1 because I agree: Hilary is hot.
  32. JessicaA
    Dec 23, 2006
    0
    This show has nothing to do with the average american in my opinion. What kind of people act like this on a daily basis? This reminds me of alot of recent bad films I've seen turned into a full time sitcom. I guess most people who will watch this will be perverts who want Hilary. XP
  33. AnaK
    Apr 17, 2006
    1
    Wow. Tv is dying. Its painful to watch it. People give tens real easily. Its hard to believe that this is what replaced arrested development, one of the smartest, funniest shows ever. The humor is dry and unwitty at best. The acting is very low quality, the show is not a representation of pressing issues or a typical american family. The show is a representation of bad tv. The issues are Wow. Tv is dying. Its painful to watch it. People give tens real easily. Its hard to believe that this is what replaced arrested development, one of the smartest, funniest shows ever. The humor is dry and unwitty at best. The acting is very low quality, the show is not a representation of pressing issues or a typical american family. The show is a representation of bad tv. The issues are not important, its a comedy for goodness sake, it never delivers a good laugh. The acting of the parents is worse then that of the kids. I gave it a 1 for the reason that i felt sorry for it. I have to say if you want to watch a comedy that is smart, funny, and fun to watch, this isn't what your looking for. Expand
  34. johnf
    Jun 25, 2006
    1
    Worst show on tv by far!
  35. KevinG
    Sep 22, 2006
    0
    This show is genetically forced crap thrown at your face a million miles a second.
  36. JamesC
    Sep 25, 2006
    0
    This show puts the bomb in abominable.
  37. RyanS
    Sep 25, 2006
    0
    The fact some people find this show funny, and worthwhile says something about humans in general.
  38. ShawnF
    Sep 25, 2006
    0
    This show takes jokes that aren't funny and rams them down your throat. All the edgy situations are selflessly engineered, and so poorly stereotypical so that it's nothing but another generic timeslot hog.
  39. GavinC
    Nov 12, 2005
    0
    Truly wretched. Sleazy and stupid, all at the same time.
  40. KC
    Nov 13, 2005
    0
    I've never, ever been offended by a TV show before (heck, my current favorite is Family Guy), but The War at Home's Dave is like a modern day Archie Bunker without the irony. His family are all vapid cardboard cutouts except Larry, the only one who manages to be heart-warming...and he gets mocked as a nerd and Dave thinks he's gay with a "fat cow" girlfriend, just because I've never, ever been offended by a TV show before (heck, my current favorite is Family Guy), but The War at Home's Dave is like a modern day Archie Bunker without the irony. His family are all vapid cardboard cutouts except Larry, the only one who manages to be heart-warming...and he gets mocked as a nerd and Dave thinks he's gay with a "fat cow" girlfriend, just because he's actually, you know, a normal, non-offensive character with some common sense and even, dare I say it, a little intelligence. The show poorly disguises the writers' own prejudices, and goes straight for the two targets that it's still PC to mock - gays and fat people. This is a horrible show and incredibly offensive. I wouldn't think of advocating censorship, but I truly do hope it fails to get renewed for a second season. And that someone loses the film reels, preferably in a vat of acid somewhere. I really do wish that I'd never watched it, myself. Expand
  41. DanW
    Nov 25, 2005
    0
    I was going to give it a 1 until I realized, hey, zero's an option! I'd love to meet the writers. I'm guessing most of 'em are really into Reba.
  42. Unagiboy
    Nov 29, 2005
    1
    Ugh. Unfunny and painful to watch.
Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 21
  2. Negative: 14 out of 21
  1. 10
    Has absolutely nothing going for it.
  2. What this show does prove is that you can be racy and still somehow tediously tame.
  3. There’s nothing especially novel on “The War at Home,” except the way the familiar elements -- punch lines, fantasy sequences, sassy kids, talk-to-the-camera confessionals, bleeped profanity -- come together.