• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: May 14, 2012
  • Season #: 1
The Weight of the Nation Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The four-part documentary looks at the causes and possible solutions to stop the growing numbers of obese Americans.
  • Genre(s): Health & Lifestyle
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    May 14, 2012
    100
    Weight pulls no punches, spares neither the multibillion-dollar food and advertising industries nor public officials for not only failing to fix the problem but actually making it worse, and essentially writes a prescription for the nation's health and economic future that we ignore to our peril.
  2. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    May 14, 2012
    80
    The value of the series, then, is its, well, weight, its relentless attempt to remind us of what we know, to connect many important dots and clear away the emotional and cultural fog that often blurs discussions about obesity, and to offer hope in the form of personal stories, regional projects and past success.
  3. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    May 14, 2012
    80
    A medically sound, educational effort.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    May 14, 2012
    80
    [The Weight of the Nation is] a little flabby. Still, this multimedia endeavor delivers a powerful and important message.
  5. Reviewed by: Cynthia Fuchs
    May 14, 2012
    80
    Weight of the Nation encourages viewers to feel responsible for their own lives and to make informed choices.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    May 14, 2012
    67
    In its personal vignettes, Weight illuminates, but too often the segments are a numbing array of statistics from well-meaning talking heads.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. Sep 13, 2012
    10
    Having visited the U.S many times over almost 30 years I can attest to the fact that the US is easily the most obese nation on the planet. 9Having visited the U.S many times over almost 30 years I can attest to the fact that the US is easily the most obese nation on the planet. 9 of the 10 heaviest people ever weighed are american.
    This should be mandatory watching given around 66% of U.S citizens are either overweight or obese.
    The information and solutions provided are helpful and inspiring. The complete lack of understanding of most parents on what to eat themselves and how to feed their children astounded me.
    Expand
  2. lcb
    Oct 5, 2012
    2
    This series is informative but over kill. Most of what is shown has been featured over and over again on TV and in print. Nothing really newThis series is informative but over kill. Most of what is shown has been featured over and over again on TV and in print. Nothing really new is offered. People who care already know most of this stuff and either follow the suggestions or don't. And then there are those who aren't interested and are unlikely to watch this and certainly not change their habits because of it. It was really, really boring. Expand
  3. May 18, 2012
    1
    This mini-series is painful to watch. If you can never get tired of hearing "eating junk and not exercising makes you fat" for 8 hours, thisThis mini-series is painful to watch. If you can never get tired of hearing "eating junk and not exercising makes you fat" for 8 hours, this is the show for you. It is like a film they showed us in middle school but much much longer. Most of the reviews seem to give the tediousness of the show a pass because it is an important message. Sorry. I want to be entertained and not drilled on a message I already know. Collapse