The West Wing : Season 6

  • Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 22, 1999
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
The West Wing Image

No score yet - based on 2 Critics

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

Summary: The West Wing provides a glimpse into presidential politics in the nation's capital as it tells the stories of the members of a fictional presidential administration. These interesting characters have humor and dedication that touches the heart while the politics that they discuss touch on everyday life. The first six seasons focused on the administration of President Josiah 'Jed' Bartlet (Martin Sheen). The seventh and final season transitioned to the 2006 Presidential Election between Democrat Congressman Mathew Vincente Santos of Houston, Texas (Jimmy Smits) and Republican Senator Arnold Vinick of California (Alan Alda). Broadcast History: Seasons 1-6: NBC, Wednesdays, 9:00pm EST Season 7: NBC, Sundays, 8:00pm EST Theme Music: The theme tune is an original composition by W.G. Snuffy Walden. There is a CD available of his work, which includes not only a suite from The West Wing, but also his music from Felicity, Once and Again, & thirtysomething, plus other non-TV compositions. Walden can be contacted at his official website Awards: As of October 24, 2008: The show and its stars have won 26 Primetime Emmys, 1 ADG Award, 2 ALMA Awards, 2 Artios Awards, 2 ASC Awards, 1 Banff Rockie Award, 2 CAS Award, 1 Christopher Award, 2 DGA Awards, 1 Eddie Award, 2 Family Television Awards, 2 Golden Globe Awards, 4 Golden Laurel Awards, 5 Golden Satellite Awards, 3 Humanitas Awards, 2 Imagen Awards, 2 Peabody Awards, 1 Prism Award, 6 SAG Awards, 2 Shine Awards, 4 Television Critics Association Awards, 3 TV Guide Awards, 3 Viewers for Quality Television Awards, 2 WGA Awards and 2 Wilbur Awards. The show has been nominated for a total of 93 Primetime Emmys and holds the record for the most Emmys won in a single season for a single show which is 9 (for its first season). The show also was named 1 of the 10 AFI TV Programs of the Year, received 1 Special Recognition from GLAAD Media Awards and 4 Commendations from the Prism Awards. Syndication: Airs all the time on Bravo (which is also part of the NBC Universal empire) and in some local areas during the "midnight hours." DVD Releases: All seven seasons have been released in all regions. There was complete series box set released in November 2006.

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On


Network: NBC
Genre(s): Drama
Creators: Aaron Sorkin
Seasons: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Cast Credit
Mary McCormack Kate Harper
Mary McCormack Kate Harper (Episodes 111-, Recurring Previously)
Alan Alda Senator Arnold Vinick (Episodes 123-)
John Spencer Leo McGarry
Jimmy Smits Matthew Santos (Episodes 114-)
Jimmy Smits Matthew Santos (Episodes 114-)
Martin Sheen President Jed Bartlet
Dule Hill Charlie Young
Allison Janney Claudia Jean "C.J." Cregg
Richard Schiff Toby Ziegler
Bradley Whitford Josh Lyman
Janel Moloney Donna Moss
Janel Moloney Donna Moss (Episodes 23-, Recurring Previously)
Stockard Channing Abbey Bartlet
Stockard Channing Abbey Bartlet (Episodes 45-, Recurring Previously)
Joshua Malina Will Bailey (Episodes 78-, Recurring Previously)
Joshua Malina Will Bailey (Episodes 78-, Recurring Previously)