The Wire : Season 1

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 2, 2002
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Apr 28, 2013
    60
    The language is supposed to be realistic and maybe it is realistic, but it often feels self-conscious, like an overly thick Southern accent. That's too bad, because when Mr. Simon and Edward Burns, who are credited with the writing of the first five episodes, pull back a bit, they sometimes achieve a rough eloquence.
  2. New York Post
    Reviewed by: Adam Buckman
    Apr 29, 2013
    50
    The Wire looks and feels like an ordinary show from some other network that snuck on to the air while the HBO execs' backs were turned. [31 May 2002, p.122]
  3. Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
    Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Apr 29, 2013
    50
    The Wire gives so little, it almost begs to be abandoned; then a scene or a smidgen of character development offers a hook that might keep viewers interested. But TV shows, no matter how complex or thought-provoking, shouldn't require that much work. [1 June 2002, p.B-6]
  4. New York Daily News
    Reviewed by: David Bianculli
    Apr 29, 2013
    40
    After watching five hours of preview tapes, I'm interested to see how The Wire turns out. But without characters to care for, much less root for, I'm not exactly burning with curiosity -- the way I am with most of HBO's other series...When it comes down to The Wire, this show falls short.
User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 564 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 62
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 62
  3. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    Why can't I say just say "best TV show ever" rather than having to type out 150 characters to just say "The Wire is the best TV show ever"?Why can't I say just say "best TV show ever" rather than having to type out 150 characters to just say "The Wire is the best TV show ever"? And, by the way, did I mention that The Wire is the best TV show ever. (Hope this is 150 characters!). :) Full Review »
  2. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    It's too bad this show didn't get more acclaim. Many of the actors were pulled from the streets of Baltimore which is just one aspect thatIt's too bad this show didn't get more acclaim. Many of the actors were pulled from the streets of Baltimore which is just one aspect that lends complete credibility to this show. The writing was impeccable and the actors unreal. I would recommend this show to anyone interested in a gritty-as-hell, true to life, intelligent, sometimes funny, sometimes heartbreaking, always captivating drama. What up MARYLAND!!!? Full Review »
  3. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    I don't know how to state this better than the last reviewer. Quite simply, this is the best thing I've ever seen on television. I amI don't know how to state this better than the last reviewer. Quite simply, this is the best thing I've ever seen on television. I am currently watching all the episodes for the third time in about 3 years. I never tire of it. Something new is apparent each time I have seen it. The music, the acting (acting? It doesn't seem like acting!) You will laugh, you will cry, you will be outraged, .... just great stuff. I liked Homicide and NYPD Blue, but they are Hollywood drivel compared to The Wire. I wish there were more seasons to come. On the other hand.... it might dilute the sheer power of these 5 seasons. I am expecting the 5th season in 2 days. In the meantime I have to go cold turkey... no Wire. I will savor the last season one episode a day.... in the past I've done marathon sessions. . Full Review »