• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 2, 2002
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
The Wire Image
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.6

Universal acclaim- based on 768 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: One of the most heralded and unique dramas on television, David Simon's Baltimore-set crime show turns its focus on that city's public school system (and education in general) for its 13-episode fourth season.
  • Genre(s): Drama

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. If you stick with it, you will be rewarded with some of the most compelling, provocative drama ever produced for television.
  2. 100
    David Simon and his writers... aren't out to change the world; the slippery slope of civilization is already in place on The Wire and Simon is just out to document how each and every person survives. Or doesn't, as this season quite devastatingly proves.
  3. 100
    To me, what allows “The Wire” to surpass “The Sopranos” in the pantheon of greatest American TV shows is its ambition and its anger.
  4. 100
    One of the finest TV shows ever made.
  5. 100
    If you have only one hour a week for television, give it to "The Wire."
  6. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    100
    A critic for this paper once declared "The Wire" "the greatest dramatic series ever produced for television" and as the fourth season gets under way Sunday night, there's no reason to quibble with that assessment.
  7. It just might be the kids, the ones who grow up too soon in the hard world of "The Wire," who steal opening night.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 2 out of 262
  1. HeatherA
    Jan 15, 2007
    10
    I have watched every season of The Wire since it first started and each one is better than the last. Being from Baltimore County I can really I have watched every season of The Wire since it first started and each one is better than the last. Being from Baltimore County I can really appreciate how well the story line and casting is. It is a rediculous that this show keeps getting passed over-extremely disapointing. Expand
  2. GeorgeE
    Dec 11, 2006
    10
    the wire is the best show i have ever seen in my life, i almost shed a tear during last nights final episode.
  3. Oct 22, 2010
    10
    Season 4 of the Wire is the best season of any television series. Period. While the Wire has always been a great TV show, with moreSeason 4 of the Wire is the best season of any television series. Period. While the Wire has always been a great TV show, with more authenticity, in-depth writing, complex characters, superb acting and gripping storytelling in one episode than most shows produce over their entire span. The first three seasons are all amazing, and the storylines from the previous seasons continue to grow in the fourth season, but they cannot in any way prepare you for the sublime and heartbreaking new storyline following four youth, the school system, and the corner. I can't use enough superlatives to describe this season: Perfect! Riveting! Flawless! The apex of art, entertainment and social commentary on TV (and perhaps any medium)!!!!

    If you find the first few episodes disorienting, don't worry, it will all make sense â
    Expand
  4. David
    May 30, 2007
    10
    let's hope that some day this show will reach the mass audience it deserves.
  5. RobertC.
    Aug 18, 2008
    10
    I've been following this show since season one. It is quite simply the most satisfying television experience I've ever had. Simply I've been following this show since season one. It is quite simply the most satisfying television experience I've ever had. Simply flawless. Expand
  6. HarryD
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    After finishing season 4 I feel like I just got out of a fight. I'm coming down from the adrenaline, slightly depressed, but somehow After finishing season 4 I feel like I just got out of a fight. I'm coming down from the adrenaline, slightly depressed, but somehow better off for it. Expand
  7. lollol
    Feb 24, 2007
    0
    The acting is horrible.

See all 262 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best Summer TV Series of All Time

    Ranked: The Best Summer TV Series of All Time Image
    Published: June 8, 2011
    While summer is traditionally a time of reruns and discarded shows, TV occasionally gives us a summer gem. We pick out 20 of the best summer television debuts of all time, from "Seinfeld" to "The Wire."
  2. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.