• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 21, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
The X Factor Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 67 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The American version of the British singing reality competition show features creator Simon Cowell, Paula Abdul, L.A. Reid, and Nicole Scherzinger as judges. The competition is open to solo and group artists with no age limit, and the contestants compete for a $5 million music contract with Cowell's Syco Music. Expand
  • Genre(s): Reality
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 28, 2011
    75
    The talent is good, and on the long road to announcing a top 16, the show expertly milking every drop of pathos. [24 Oct 2011, p.39]
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 21, 2011
    75
    The X Factor is a hugely entertaining endeavor full of malarkey, good performances (and bad), and enough momentum to keep you engaged from the first overblown second to the last.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Sep 21, 2011
    75
    Simon. He's the gold standard, the judge against whom all others are judged, and his presence is enough to make Factor a factor.
  4. Reviewed by: Daynah Burnett
    Sep 21, 2011
    70
    The X Factor is one reality competition show that delivers that experience to its home audience also. At least on this show, when Paula's moved to tears, so are you.
  5. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Sep 21, 2011
    70
    While The X Factor may not on the surface offer anything that can't be found on "Idol," "America's Got Talent" and "The Voice" or their many cable imitators, it does have a level of showmanship that makes me want to believe again, whether it's in 13-year-olds who sing like established stars three times their age or in recovering addicts whose lives just may be about to change forever.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 21, 2011
    67
    The X Factor is "America's Got Talent" with lockjaw, "The Voice" with a smoker's hack and "American Idol" on steroids. It is a garish, crass spectacle, and just might produce America's next superstar.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 22, 2011
    60
    And so it goes. The same mix of sob stories, as anxious relatives looking on from the wings. And if there's not quite a Susan Boyle or Paul Potts moment (though one in particular comes reasonably close), the tears flow freely, and one or two genuinely stirring performances emerge.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 20
  2. Negative: 9 out of 20
  1. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    I loved it. I thought the crowds in the audition was a great idea and added a lot of energy. I love the diversity from young to old and single and groups. I thought the Judges were good and LA will give Simon a run for his money. I liked that they showed more quality auditions and less of the crap ones. Expand
  2. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    Honestly this is a good show, might be a repetition/copy of American Idol although the show's good. Good panel of judges. Entertains us all, so why hate on the show? No reason to hate. Expand
  3. Mar 19, 2012
    7
    I'm from Ireland so if I had to pick from the UK version or the US version, I'd have to go with the UK version. But I still like the show and I would watch the second series if they make one. Expand
  4. Jan 16, 2014
    4
    Both the original UK and US versions of The X-Factor have involved a number of talented artists and some of the cover versions sung of the show have been very good. Unfortunately, as with most other modern TV talent shows, its primary objective is to make money not produce artists that will go on to create original music in the future, something that pretty much sums up the state of modern pop music.

    If there is nothing else on I'll occasionally tune in as there is usually a good performance or two to be seen but I detest what this sort of thing stands for.
    Expand
  5. Jun 22, 2013
    3
    This is the cookie-cutter singing show, with too many contestant backstories, emotional content, and low quality of singing compared to other singing shows such as The Voice and American Idol. However, I did enjoy the judges and their critiques this season. Collapse
  6. Sep 24, 2011
    1
    Nice show if you want to see just how cool the judges are! Is it possible to show Simon on camera anymore? And does he make a lot of money; look at my car! The audience doesn't help...the back stories are too many...the performances not too many...and how can the judges complain about the talent when everybody is picked by other show employees before they go to the stage! It makes me miss Ryan and Idol even more! Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    OK, so I thought I would give the X Factor a chance because I somewhat like American Idol. I only made it through about a half of one episode. It was so contrived and couldn't stand it...had to shut it off! Expand

See all 20 User Reviews