• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 3, 2014
  • Season #: 1
Those Who Kill Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pittsburgh homicide detective Catherine Jensen (Chloë Sevigny) seeks help from forensic psychologist Thomas Schaeffer (James D'Arcy) to track a serial killer and solve a case from her past in this adaption of a Danish series. [Began airing on Lifetime Movie Network TV 30 Mar 2014]
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 22
  2. Negative: 4 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Mar 3, 2014
    100
    Disturbing. Magnetic. Hold your breath. Watch.
  2. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Feb 28, 2014
    80
    Suffering is never easy to watch, and when a series revolves around a woman in near-constant mental anguish, things can creep close to tiresome. Such is Ms. Sevigny's performance, though--at once veiled and yet open to view as she has not often been in other roles—that you can't stop looking.
  3. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Feb 27, 2014
    75
    As has been the case in so many films and TV shows, Sevigny is the most compelling reason to watch Those Who Kill, but if the scripts remain as carefully crafted as that of Monday's pilot, Sevigny will have found a vehicle worthy of her singular skills.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Feb 27, 2014
    50
    The pilot of Those Who Kill features the kind of cinematic production values that we've come to expect from cable and the two leads are undeniably engaging, but the writing here is paper-thin, the kind of scripted crime drama that we've seen too many times for it to feel fresh again.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Mar 3, 2014
    50
    As a psychological thriller, it's not terrible--certainly better than Fox's dreadful monotonous "The Following"--but Those Who Kill suffers from character/relationship incoherence.
  6. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Mar 3, 2014
    50
    The world has so many series about dark humans doing dark things that it becomes all the more difficult to stand out, and Those Who Kill is so generic it doesn’t even seem interested in trying.
  7. Reviewed by: Tom Long
    Feb 28, 2014
    25
    Only trouble is--aside from the torture porn nature of the show--the story itself is a series of question marks that takes a plunge into the ridiculous in its climactic scene.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 17
  2. Negative: 4 out of 17
  1. Mar 19, 2014
    10
    As usual the professional critics have gotten it wrong. This is an unusually captivating series. Scarey, different, and holds your interest until the very end, and can't wait for the next episode. My daughter and son-in-law, who are hard to please, have set up to record this show. So, what the heck - cancel it. Just like Southland, which NBC cancelled, then TNT. Seems like they just want to keep spoon feeding the same old tired unbelievable stuff. Isn't there anyone out there to stand up for US?? Collapse
  2. Jun 3, 2014
    10
    This was an amazing show. Always kept me dying to see the next episode. It was a nice change from your average serial killer shows with the use of the psychologist. I am extremely upset by its cancellation! I desperately want to know if Katherine killed her step father. There's so much left unanswered! Please bring this great show back! Expand
  3. Apr 29, 2014
    10
    i love love this show. informative, suspenseful, realistic, actors are sensational. best show on tv. can't wait till next episode. please don't cancel. Expand
  4. Mar 25, 2014
    8
    I really liked this show. I thought the first two episodes were captivating and I wanted more. I hope A&E gets this series up and running very soon. The characters were very, very interesting to me, and I sure wanted to find out where the story was going. Bring it back A&E! Expand
  5. Mar 12, 2014
    6
    I'm not a fan of serial killer shows. They're always the same. A nutter kills women, always using the same method, and along comes a profiler speaking psycho babble about motives and predictions of future events. The twist of late is to have the "good guys" as whacked out as the "bad guys." Chloe Sevigny brings her usual facial map of easily read emotion; mostly quietly fuming with a large twist of barely controlled hysteria. Now she throws in cold hearted killer from time to time. I'd prefer a drawn out chase to the hectic pace of this one. It takes months if not years to catch killers. Expand
  6. Mar 15, 2014
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The pilot of this show was not that bad (I'd give it a 6.) and it made me look forward to the second episode, where I'd hoped that they would tidy up the writing and continue building the story of Catherine and her past and Thomas and whatever his deal is. The second episode was disappointing and is the reason I kicked the show down to a solid 3.

    The quality of the writing is so-so, the story seems drawn in all directions (and in the second episode it feels as if the story is hardly moving forward at all!) Watching the second episode felt as if the writers has no control what so ever and no clue as to how to write a decent episode.

    The story contains too many strange elements that they could have edited out because they ended up spending valuable air time showing us scenes that feels like a waste of time: Such as Catherine cutting her arm next to a crime scene (IN the rain!) and the married dad she gives a one time offer of a booty call and the booty call it self. Sure the former adds dramatic effect, but we see her cutting herself at the start of the episode, we get, and the latter scene offers some explicit content sans nudity, but they are both a waste of time. They could use another way to make her damaged sides shine through. There are also several scenes in the episode that does nothing positive to build the image of Catherine as a character. The first episodes are critical in showing the audience the first traits of her personality and in letting the audience getting to know her, but in the second episode contains too many negative personality traits and makes her seem cold, damaged, and selfish/unprofessional(by breaking into a warehouse to look at evidence in a murder case she is NOT working on, just because she is bored with being placed on desk duty.) There are other examples as to why the second episode was a disappointment, but I'm feel incredibly bored just writing about it!.

    If/when they relaunch the show. I'm not so sure I'll be watching.
    Expand
  7. May 5, 2014
    1
    Those Who Kill picks the perfect actor to play the lead in a cast of excessively dramatic characters with no substance to be dramatic about. Unoriginal, unrealistic, uninteresting. The final scene is embarrassing. I created a metacritic account just to warn people how awful this show is. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews