• Network: Syfy
  • Series Premiere Date: Dec 2, 2007
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 98 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 98
  2. Negative: 26 out of 98

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JF
    Dec 5, 2007
    2
    How can you reimagine something when you clearly have no imagination? Heck even the score is recycled from Stargate SG-1. If you want a reimagined Oz read "Wicked" -- this piece of junk has put the Sci Fi Channel back 10 years.
  2. DarrenK.
    Dec 20, 2007
    2
    Wow that was bad. Poorly acted and poor story line.
  3. Aaron
    Dec 3, 2007
    8
    My wife and I loved part 1 and can't wait to watch part 2 tonight. The acting is pretty good except for a couple of characters, the fantasy world is well designed and the plot is engaging. If you want a good fantasy adventure this show is definately worth watching. I'm not sure if people were expecting the actual Wizard of Oz or the Lord of the Rings but if you watch expecting My wife and I loved part 1 and can't wait to watch part 2 tonight. The acting is pretty good except for a couple of characters, the fantasy world is well designed and the plot is engaging. If you want a good fantasy adventure this show is definately worth watching. I'm not sure if people were expecting the actual Wizard of Oz or the Lord of the Rings but if you watch expecting neither you'll be pleasantly surprised. Expand
  4. LadyOrange
    Dec 3, 2007
    7
    There seems to be a growing number of bad reviews for this which i suppose doesn't surprise me much as people are always to jump on the back of a remake. There is no story i have seen in quite some time that was not recycled in some ways. I thought so far they did a good job not losing the story and it's themes while making it friendly to a new generation and of course the kind There seems to be a growing number of bad reviews for this which i suppose doesn't surprise me much as people are always to jump on the back of a remake. There is no story i have seen in quite some time that was not recycled in some ways. I thought so far they did a good job not losing the story and it's themes while making it friendly to a new generation and of course the kind of crowd your getting tunning into the SciFi Channel anyways. I think a few people comparing it only to the movie need to read the book(s) as and perhaps they would understand some of the material they didn't get a bit better. The acting, is alas, a bit lacking. Some of the dialog is predictable, cheesy and just doesn't seem to translate in a clean way to the person watching it. All in all though by the end i was interested and excited to see the next one so i suppose we'll have to see where it goes from there... Expand
  5. JosephA.
    Dec 2, 2007
    6
    By the end I liked it and am looking forward to the second installment. If the whole series grows on me like the first episode has, then it should wind up being a very good fantasy adventure. story.
  6. TeeM.
    Dec 2, 2007
    0
    Good Lord this was awful! I love Zoe D. and that's why we wanted to see it in the first place, but if within 15 minutes we recognized this miniseries as a flop, why oh why couldn't people who have FAR more experience making TV couldn't see it? Oh, could it be that they never actuallly WATCH TV??? Apparently, so. Because it would only take a few minutes (sans whiskey) to Good Lord this was awful! I love Zoe D. and that's why we wanted to see it in the first place, but if within 15 minutes we recognized this miniseries as a flop, why oh why couldn't people who have FAR more experience making TV couldn't see it? Oh, could it be that they never actuallly WATCH TV??? Apparently, so. Because it would only take a few minutes (sans whiskey) to recognize this shite as shite. It stinks!! Expand
  7. TonyU.
    Dec 2, 2007
    2
    Richard Dreyfus must have really needed a paycheck. It would be helpful if some of the actors could deliver a line as well. What a waste.
  8. MiguelS.
    Dec 2, 2007
    2
    Flying monkeys flew out of the Sorceress's titties! It went downhill from there, so to speak. This isn't remotely like the Wizard of Oz, it just references it in some way every 15 seconds.
  9. lb
    Dec 3, 2007
    4
    The idea of a "re-visioned" "OZ" is very compelling since the original series of books by l. Frank Baum are dripping with imaginary images and interesting themes. That said, I was not impressed with the latest attempt to bring back a childhood classic in "Tin Man". Zooey Deshanel's acting has much to be desired; ok, so she can open her eyes really WIDE and come off as clueless. The idea of a "re-visioned" "OZ" is very compelling since the original series of books by l. Frank Baum are dripping with imaginary images and interesting themes. That said, I was not impressed with the latest attempt to bring back a childhood classic in "Tin Man". Zooey Deshanel's acting has much to be desired; ok, so she can open her eyes really WIDE and come off as clueless. Richard Dreyfuss...man oh man. He is the "King of the Over Actors" and presently very deperate for a script...any script. The impossibly handsom Neal McDonough is perhaps the most compelling as the title role of "Tin Man" which we learn is a term used for Police Officer. I suppose the small details throughout the movie bugged me most: tornado near house doesn't destroy house, yet debris somehow ends up in "OZ", "Tin Man" fights bad guys and literally throws his cowboy hate at them like James Bond's nemesis "Odd Job", to no effect. The flying monkeys aren't nearly as creepy as the monkeys in the '39 film! My kids pointed out that the monkeys in the classic film were creepier because they were dressed up as porters. "Tin man" has a lot of potential, but I could not help feeling like I was watching a soap opera. So far "Tin Man" feels really flat. Expand
  10. WillC.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    Okay, let's give them a break. It's not a remake, but a re-invention of a great story with some really intriguing characters. While Azkadelia falls short of providing the menacing presence I had hoped for (I keep comparing her to Jadis in Narnia and am, admittedly, disappointed), the rest of the cast has won me over and I can't wait to see how it ends. So at the end of the Okay, let's give them a break. It's not a remake, but a re-invention of a great story with some really intriguing characters. While Azkadelia falls short of providing the menacing presence I had hoped for (I keep comparing her to Jadis in Narnia and am, admittedly, disappointed), the rest of the cast has won me over and I can't wait to see how it ends. So at the end of the day, isn't that "mission accomplished" for a made-for-tv movie? I really have loved it and will proudly commit to one more night. Expand
  11. AngM
    Dec 4, 2007
    7
    This is not the Wizard of Oz but because it's been promoted as a "re-telling" the producers set the bar very high for expectations and automatically bring the viewer to look for the common threads in the storyline--there are very few "common threads". So, once you stop comparing and just watch the show as these 4 individuals in a surreal, magical, parallel universe fighting an evil This is not the Wizard of Oz but because it's been promoted as a "re-telling" the producers set the bar very high for expectations and automatically bring the viewer to look for the common threads in the storyline--there are very few "common threads". So, once you stop comparing and just watch the show as these 4 individuals in a surreal, magical, parallel universe fighting an evil sorceress you can then enjoy it for what it is...an entertaining, fantasy Sci Fi picture. I'm enjoying it but have to admit that I'm hoping for a "didn't see it coming" type of ending instead of DG waking up in her bed and realizing this is only a dream....guess I'll find out tonight Expand
  12. MichaelE.
    Dec 5, 2007
    6
    To call it "good" would be absurd, but there's a certain guilty pleasure to be found here even if it bears the same relationship to its source material as 1993's "Super Mario Bros." does to its. . And man does Kathleen Robertson look good in that bodice!
  13. Brad
    Dec 5, 2007
    9
    Great story telling, imaginative, excellent
  14. TaraB.
    Dec 8, 2007
    5
    I was really looking forward to this because it looked so unique in the ads. It wasn't. I thought Deschanel was too old and miscast. Her voice droning on with barely any inflection was annoying. With the exception of Cumming and the actor playing the Tin Man, the acting was terribly flat or just plain terrible (see: Evil Sister). The idea of who the Tin Man was was clever and could I was really looking forward to this because it looked so unique in the ads. It wasn't. I thought Deschanel was too old and miscast. Her voice droning on with barely any inflection was annoying. With the exception of Cumming and the actor playing the Tin Man, the acting was terribly flat or just plain terrible (see: Evil Sister). The idea of who the Tin Man was was clever and could have lent the story a creepy edge - which is what I thought they were going for from the ads. Unfortunately, they failed miserably. I want to bill the producer for the time I spent watching it. -- And that lion thing was HORRIBLE! Expand
  15. JoeC
    Dec 9, 2007
    7
    Let's start with the problems : There are fits of awkward dialogue occur every now and then and there are some absurd plot holes that even if you're suspending belief are still pretty immense. Still the rate at which these occur is about on par with six hours of watching other sci-fi/fantasy fare. The special effects do look a bit rough throughout. the pros: the story by itself Let's start with the problems : There are fits of awkward dialogue occur every now and then and there are some absurd plot holes that even if you're suspending belief are still pretty immense. Still the rate at which these occur is about on par with six hours of watching other sci-fi/fantasy fare. The special effects do look a bit rough throughout. the pros: the story by itself is a fun sci-fi/fantasy take on the Oz story, the acting is more than capable for a yarn of this caliber and the sets and costumes are interesting overall summary : for six hours, you could do a lot worse, just don't go in expecting too much, Expand
  16. WillS.
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    I honestly enjoyed it. The characters were endearing and entertaining. Up until the last minute where it ended rather abruptly I was fully with them. The end didn't change my perspective, and I fully hope that it becomes a series.
  17. NickB
    Jan 16, 2008
    6
    If this hadn't been an Oz remake, I might have just found it to be average adventure sci-fi TV fare. But as an Oz remake, I kept being taken "out of the scene" by what felt like fan-boy fanfic moments. This was an interesting yet painful reimagining of some very entertaining books that felt like they were forced in to a modern day adventure plot-formula Star-Wars-esque mold, and I If this hadn't been an Oz remake, I might have just found it to be average adventure sci-fi TV fare. But as an Oz remake, I kept being taken "out of the scene" by what felt like fan-boy fanfic moments. This was an interesting yet painful reimagining of some very entertaining books that felt like they were forced in to a modern day adventure plot-formula Star-Wars-esque mold, and I just didn't feel that it fit all that well. This could have been much, much more interesting, if it had properly embraced the source material and avoided the pulp-noir Gaiman-esque influences, as well. But ymmv, and younger friends of mine seemed to enjoy it more. Expand
  18. MichaelV.
    Feb 5, 2008
    8
    Really cool and nice plot and story. Definitely could have shaved about 1 1/2 hours from that... it took me like 1 month to watch the whole thing =D!
  19. brucem
    Dec 7, 2009
    7
    I liked the characters although the ending was convoluted and wanting also Zooey seems out of it and the tin man character over acts the violence just did not fit
  20. RyanI
    Aug 1, 2009
    9
    I'm too young to remember the 1939 movie fondly. I have watched it once or twice and found it pretty boring and uninteresting. This that in mind, I have to say I found Tin Man a much better version of the story. The acting isn't the best, I found the acting of DG to be pretty lacking early in the series.However Glitch and Cain are pretty good. The story itself is really where I'm too young to remember the 1939 movie fondly. I have watched it once or twice and found it pretty boring and uninteresting. This that in mind, I have to say I found Tin Man a much better version of the story. The acting isn't the best, I found the acting of DG to be pretty lacking early in the series.However Glitch and Cain are pretty good. The story itself is really where the story shines. It is very interesting and the writers put alot of thought into it. Tin Man is well worth a watch. Just remember that it's not a remake, it's a re imaging. Expand
  21. AM
    Dec 10, 2007
    7
    Interesting re-telling; nice references back to the original. The DG actress is bad, the other sister was great.
  22. JeffS.
    Dec 11, 2007
    5
    They had a good idea but failed to execute. The "Got to get to the special item before the bad guy does" has been done so many times before this that left Tin Man with the difficult task of character development in this scenario crucial to keep it interesting. Unfortunately, the acting was monotone and without much emotion. Although DG is a beautiful girl, that beauty was spoiled by her They had a good idea but failed to execute. The "Got to get to the special item before the bad guy does" has been done so many times before this that left Tin Man with the difficult task of character development in this scenario crucial to keep it interesting. Unfortunately, the acting was monotone and without much emotion. Although DG is a beautiful girl, that beauty was spoiled by her placid ho hum emotional state throughout the film. Rarely a smile or frown or any indication that the circumstances were dire. The dialog had a lot to do with this as writing could have been much better. Visually, the movie was appealing but I wouldn't watch it again because once you get used to the scenery the boredom takes over. The anticlimactic ending just added to the disappointment. Expand
  23. Steve
    Dec 10, 2007
    5
    I was really looking forward to this one, and it did let me down a bit. Just too long and it had a dialogue and flow like computer games from the 1990s (MYST, anyone?). Semi-lame adaptation of the old elements, in that some things were lazily altered. Calling Oz the O.Z.? Of course Dorothy Gale is now D.G. Sort of laughable that they did it twice to two different things. It'd have I was really looking forward to this one, and it did let me down a bit. Just too long and it had a dialogue and flow like computer games from the 1990s (MYST, anyone?). Semi-lame adaptation of the old elements, in that some things were lazily altered. Calling Oz the O.Z.? Of course Dorothy Gale is now D.G. Sort of laughable that they did it twice to two different things. It'd have been a lot cooler had the sister been truly evil and not mind-controlled. We're starting to get away from Shakespearean responsibilities, and now letting our evil-doers off the hook. That needs to stop, especially with such classic tales as Wizard. Had the potential to be fantastic. Just didn't quite deliver. 4 points go to the performance of the Scarecrow. 1 point for effects. Negative 5 for laziness. Expand
  24. JackB
    Dec 13, 2007
    9
    "The Wizard of Oz" was for little kids that grew up during the Great Depression. "Tinman" is for post-Matrix adults who can't help but pause whenever someone mentions "deja vu". My only question is, why call it "Tinman" if you're not going to make it about him? We all love Zooey Deschanel, but imagine how much harder edged it could have been if it had really been about Neal "The Wizard of Oz" was for little kids that grew up during the Great Depression. "Tinman" is for post-Matrix adults who can't help but pause whenever someone mentions "deja vu". My only question is, why call it "Tinman" if you're not going to make it about him? We all love Zooey Deschanel, but imagine how much harder edged it could have been if it had really been about Neal McDonough's character? Expand
  25. JHenley
    Dec 3, 2007
    2
    Definitely did not live up to my expectations. Watching the flash program on the website repeat for 2 hours would be a more entertaining use of your time. Poor script, mediocre acting from a cast that is capable of much more, and low-budget special effects that are at times painful to watch.
  26. MikeM.
    Dec 3, 2007
    8
    Folks, You are taking this to seriously. Have you watched the original lately. Not good. However...THIS ISN'T supposed to be. Ya gotta lighten up and enjoy.
  27. KenG.
    Dec 3, 2007
    3
    I thought this might be a fun adaptationof the story, but so far I feel no connection with the characters whatsoever. In the original Wizard of Oz you cared what happened to Dorothy and her friends but there's nothing likeable about DG and this crew.
  28. RobertS.
    Dec 3, 2007
    0
    What a pointless production! Contrived, heavy handed and silly, totally lacking any redeeming quality, to be watched by those intent on boring themselves into oblivion!
  29. DesireeH
    Dec 3, 2007
    1
    I watched over half of the show and it was sooo boring. It was fun to find the parallels and symbolism within, but my husband and I looked at each other like "what the heck?" during the opening sequence. I will watch the rest tonight on DVR and see if it goes anywhere.
  30. BobS.
    Dec 4, 2007
    1
    Good Lord! Poor script, poor casting, no resemblance to the Wonderful Wizard of OZ in the least! What were these guys thinking?! At least Richard Dreyfus gets off easy as his character dies half-way into the 6 hour mess - unless he is somehow revived in the final 2 hour installment. The only saving grace is the special effects. Other than that - Putrid!
  31. NatalieE
    Dec 4, 2007
    8
    This movie goes to all age groups but it applies to people that actually enjoy it. Maybe they did spin it off a bit odd but I thought it was very entertaining and brought life back to the old classic Dorothy and the Wizard of Oz. I do believe though it was outrageously long but the cliff hangers were nice. I liked the ending because it was a bit cheesy on how it was all good in the end This movie goes to all age groups but it applies to people that actually enjoy it. Maybe they did spin it off a bit odd but I thought it was very entertaining and brought life back to the old classic Dorothy and the Wizard of Oz. I do believe though it was outrageously long but the cliff hangers were nice. I liked the ending because it was a bit cheesy on how it was all good in the end and everyone lived. I guess it really depends on your sense of liking to the production and to the ideas some people like it some don't. Expand
  32. NanoMatrix
    Dec 4, 2007
    3
    CGI and Special effects are not making up the difference between a real story and this production. It appears the writers were already on strike when this was written. Parts of this are truly embarrassing to watch.
  33. NormO.
    Dec 5, 2007
    8
    I enjoyed this revision of the Baum story. Of course I had no disilliusion about comparing to the original film and it never pretended to be such. I think it could be edited to, say, a 2 1/2 hr movie very well. Its updated characters and story can be seen as a darker, modern retelling. The cast was fine and Zooey was perfect for her part.
  34. JohnR
    Dec 5, 2007
    9
    This is a captivating rewrite. It is worth watching again. Those looking for a Wizard of Oz musical will be disappointed. This isn't a musical. But it is a story about a girl finding her ways through a strange land of magic and an evil sorceress chasing after her. The sorceress in this story was very well done. She makes evil a fashion statement. I like it. :)
  35. CharlesC
    Dec 5, 2007
    3
    An excellent opportunity to make an adult adaptation lost its way. What a mess. This surely will join the Flash Gordon remake as one of television's worst efforts to remake a classic.
  36. Jefframonw
    Dec 6, 2007
    2
    For all it's apparent money and resources, Sci-Fi's original programming uniformly sucks. Everytime I see an ad for a new show or original movie they are promoting, I get a sick feeling in my stomach. It's no surprise that "Tin Man" is the latest in their unrelenting line of pro form a schlock. Let's pray they don't get the rights to The Dark Tower. That would be For all it's apparent money and resources, Sci-Fi's original programming uniformly sucks. Everytime I see an ad for a new show or original movie they are promoting, I get a sick feeling in my stomach. It's no surprise that "Tin Man" is the latest in their unrelenting line of pro form a schlock. Let's pray they don't get the rights to The Dark Tower. That would be a real shame. Such a waste that network's programming is. Expand
  37. NicholasJ.
    Dec 6, 2007
    1
    Just terrible, and if you have seen the film The Wizard of Oz, you will find this twist Horrible.
  38. BiffP.
    Dec 6, 2007
    4
    Not great/Not horrible. Way too long. If they'd done this in 2-3 hours vice 6 it may have even been watchable. As is, I'd recommend a TIVO so you can get through the commercials and slow parts.
  39. JoeM
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    What you think of this miniseries has a relationship with your outlook. If you watch it expecting to see a Judy Garland-esque portrayal of Dorothy, you will be sadly disappointed. This is not written for kids, "Wizard of Oz" was. If you watch it with an open-mind, and not putting Sci-fi in 'a box', then I think you will like it. There are several allusions to "Wizard of Oz" What you think of this miniseries has a relationship with your outlook. If you watch it expecting to see a Judy Garland-esque portrayal of Dorothy, you will be sadly disappointed. This is not written for kids, "Wizard of Oz" was. If you watch it with an open-mind, and not putting Sci-fi in 'a box', then I think you will like it. There are several allusions to "Wizard of Oz" which made it even more enjoyable. Open your mind and clear your thoughts and you will be pleasantly surprised. This is an adult sci-fi. Expand
  40. digitalaaron
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    If you watch Tin Man assuming you will see a brick road with a shade of yellow you will be disappointed. It was an interesting take on a timeless classic.
  41. TS
    Nov 1, 2008
    10
    Best remake/remix of an old story EVER. As a fan of the original, I actually prefer this version.
  42. FloR
    Feb 26, 2008
    10
    Was I the only one who paid attention when the Sci Fi channel stressed "reimagining" and NOT remake. I thought it was smart and brilliant. It held a very clever twist to a tale that has perhaps passed its luster. If you don't have a stick up your backside about being an Oz purist, as they call it, just sit back and enjoy the show. It really is quite interesting. I hope for a series Was I the only one who paid attention when the Sci Fi channel stressed "reimagining" and NOT remake. I thought it was smart and brilliant. It held a very clever twist to a tale that has perhaps passed its luster. If you don't have a stick up your backside about being an Oz purist, as they call it, just sit back and enjoy the show. It really is quite interesting. I hope for a series or sequel. Expand
  43. AgnesT
    Feb 7, 2008
    8
    The Tin Man is a great rendition of
  44. DeshawnW
    May 12, 2009
    7
    I found this to be a very bold and imaginative re-telling of the original Wizard of Oz story. Kudos to Sci Fi for having the courage to highlight the plight of mentally disabled people everywhere by replacing the traditional character of Dorothy with the lovable but obviously mildly retarded character of DG, aptly played by Zooey Deschanel.
  45. BrentM
    Dec 10, 2007
    9
    Good adaptation with some very good acting. I liked the tie-ins to the original Wizard of Oz and the story line was engaging. It could have been shorter, but with all the reality garbage on most network stations, this was a welcome respite. It seems like most of the negative reviews were written by pompous a**es.
  46. PamelaP.
    Dec 23, 2007
    10
    Great show! It had the exciting darkness of the book, 'The Wonderful Wizard of Oz', but kept the charm of the movie, 'The Wizard of Oz'. Well Done!
  47. Mark
    Dec 3, 2007
    9
    Very Good movie. I really enjoyed it.
  48. LindyE.
    Dec 3, 2007
    8
    I expected a fantasy and got a real crazy ride I look forward to this series growing on me like the first part has!!
  49. Cass
    Dec 3, 2007
    1
    Hated it! As a huge fan of the original Wizard of Oz, I was really excited about Tin Man and had high hopes for it. What a disappointment!
  50. RickN
    Dec 3, 2007
    8
    This is an interesting look at an old story. Anyone expecting a rehash of the original is likely to be disappointed, but if you can watch a new style and pick up the sometimes subtle references then you may find it rather enjoyable (this is based on the first episode).
  51. MichaelG.
    Dec 3, 2007
    2
    Beautiful sets, horrible acting. Zooey Deschanel (Dorthy) delivers lines like nails on chalkboard. Anyone involved should have shut down production, but for some reason they continued filming while this actress butchered the flick.
  52. Ruth
    Dec 4, 2007
    1
    What a disaster! I'm not familiar with her other work, but Zooey Deschanel gives the most wooden, disaffected performance I've ever seen. The wicked queen was equally bad. I simply couldn't watch any more after part 1.
  53. CurtC.
    Dec 4, 2007
    4
    Is there someone at Sci Fi to whom I can call and complain?
  54. Roy
    Dec 4, 2007
    7
    While this miniseries is nothing like the 1939 classic, it does come closer to the actual book in some respects, I feel a lot of people that say this skins are basing their opinion on the 1939 movie which in reality goes farther from L Baum;s novel but then again most people are familiar with Judy Garlland's film than with the novel itself.
  55. JaredC.
    Dec 4, 2007
    2
    Supremely unentertaining. Not worth your time.
  56. GradyP.
    Dec 4, 2007
    8
    I don't understand why most everyone hates Tin Man. It's by no means perfect, but it's one of the more memorable and high-quality things on TV this year, IMO. And most seem to have a problem because it's not a proper adaptation of The Wizard of Oz. However, it's not really meant to be. And even so, all the references to Oz will still make you think "Oh, I don't understand why most everyone hates Tin Man. It's by no means perfect, but it's one of the more memorable and high-quality things on TV this year, IMO. And most seem to have a problem because it's not a proper adaptation of The Wizard of Oz. However, it's not really meant to be. And even so, all the references to Oz will still make you think "Oh, that's clever". It's definitely a lot more satisfying than most of the summer blockbusters this year, which it could've been passed off as and have been a lot more worth seeing than, oh, I don't know, Pirates. Also, just worth noting that the actress that plays Azkadellia puts on a fantastic show. She's hauntingly bitchy, and seems to have the facial features and voices of Madonna & Lauren Graham (of Gilmore Girls fame) rolled into one, and that's a good time right there. Expand
  57. BillyH.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    It's not the Wizard of OZ. It's a re-imagining, a different story, based very loosely on elements from the original. I found it very compelling, cute, funny, and enjoyed the subtle but evident elements from the original story. Those of you comparing it the original missed the point of it.
  58. Peter,N.VA
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    It's incredible to me how many viewers apparently didn't :get" it! It was not a re-telling of the "Wizard of Oz;" it was a sci-fi fantasy with tongue-in-cheek parallels and references to it. Sooe of the reviewers are slower than they claim that this plot was. "Tin Man" is reminiscent of Sci Fi's "Flash Gordon" series in that it's about the characters: personal It's incredible to me how many viewers apparently didn't :get" it! It was not a re-telling of the "Wizard of Oz;" it was a sci-fi fantasy with tongue-in-cheek parallels and references to it. Sooe of the reviewers are slower than they claim that this plot was. "Tin Man" is reminiscent of Sci Fi's "Flash Gordon" series in that it's about the characters: personal relationships set in a visually stunning backdrop of a dark, often threatening theme. ` I "got it," and I loved it! Expand
  59. KrisA.
    Dec 5, 2007
    0
    Forget the fact that this is just horrible but then they show it over.... repeatedly..ad nauseam. Every night, pre empting everything else. It was bad the first time. Now the network is just alienating many if its fans. Annoying!!
  60. AnthonyS.
    Dec 5, 2007
    0
    The biggest waste of 3 nights of TV. Would not recommend this for a DVD rental either.
  61. MisterMac
    Jan 17, 2008
    10
    I think that the original WoO was a fairy tale type of story (no insult intended), this is a more realistic and specific adaptation of the story. The part where Azkadeelia is trying to force DG to remember by charming was an impressive scene. She was pretending to be caring to DG, but when she turned her back her face contorted just slightly to show frustration, but she never lost cool. I think that the original WoO was a fairy tale type of story (no insult intended), this is a more realistic and specific adaptation of the story. The part where Azkadeelia is trying to force DG to remember by charming was an impressive scene. She was pretending to be caring to DG, but when she turned her back her face contorted just slightly to show frustration, but she never lost cool. The actress did a perfect job, but its a shame the sister was no longer evil, because her menacing good looks are unacceptable for a loving sister. Expand
  62. PeteZ
    Apr 13, 2008
    1
    Sketchy. This series is a joke. I can't believe I even watched it. It is by far the sketchiest movie I have ever seen in my life. Personally I found most of the characters in the series to be creepy and the acting was terrible. Especially the dorothy character. How did she get the role to play dorothy she doesn't even know how to show emotion. Although I will give the writer Sketchy. This series is a joke. I can't believe I even watched it. It is by far the sketchiest movie I have ever seen in my life. Personally I found most of the characters in the series to be creepy and the acting was terrible. Especially the dorothy character. How did she get the role to play dorothy she doesn't even know how to show emotion. Although I will give the writer some credit because he came up with a creative story but I don't think he got the message by that he wanted. it reminded me of the creepy Willy Wonka remake. I couldn't even finish watching it because it was so bad. it would make a really good book but the story line is too sophisticated to make a series out of. It gets way too confusing. Definitely a movie I will never forget. Two thumbs down. Expand
  63. NealeB
    Dec 16, 2009
    1
    I must say I find this show inspiring, only in that I'm now inspired to take up writing myself, because certainly I couldn't possibly write anything worse than this foetid piece of steaming manure. Touted as a re-imaganing of "The Wizard of OZ", this is in fact a no-imaganing by this show's producers and writers in a shameless attempt to cash in on a classic. The story line I must say I find this show inspiring, only in that I'm now inspired to take up writing myself, because certainly I couldn't possibly write anything worse than this foetid piece of steaming manure. Touted as a re-imaganing of "The Wizard of OZ", this is in fact a no-imaganing by this show's producers and writers in a shameless attempt to cash in on a classic. The story line does not even raise itself to the level of infantile, the characters lack any dimension whatsoever and the acting, particularly by Zooey Deschanel, is quite simply appalling. Unfortunately, this show's producers still labour under the illusion that if you give viewers enough CGI razzamatazz they won't notice the complete lack of substance in every other aspect of the production. All I can hope for is that whoever produced this abysmal excuse for entertainment is promptly taken by a twister to a universe so far removed from ours that there will never be anything else produced by them in this universe and inflicted upon the viewing public under the guise of entertainment. Expand
  64. HeatherC.
    Dec 21, 2007
    4
    I had so much expected from it. But it failed to deliver. The plot was a bit too contrived and everyone looked too serious. And Rawr was just freaky. The dialouge was contrived and the plot was too cheesy for me. But brilliant special effects and a nice twist on the classic tale. Too bad it just didn't live up to my expectations.
  65. TomC.
    Dec 24, 2007
    9
    I have to say that I thought it was fantastic the storey-lone was nicely played out and the acting was good. The characters were well portrayed and the effects were decent. People were expecting this to be a cut and dry sequel to the Wizard of Oz, and I think if you expected that you would be dissappointed but I thought for the story they did it was fantastic.
  66. MaryM
    Dec 27, 2007
    1
    This was so disappointing! I was really looking forward to seeing a different take on the Oz story and the previews looked interesting. What a disaster! The acting was so bad I could not believe it had made it through to print. The Dorothy actress was so bad, you could make a drinking game out of her facial expressions. One slam for her confused look, maybe a double for surprise. So bad! This was so disappointing! I was really looking forward to seeing a different take on the Oz story and the previews looked interesting. What a disaster! The acting was so bad I could not believe it had made it through to print. The Dorothy actress was so bad, you could make a drinking game out of her facial expressions. One slam for her confused look, maybe a double for surprise. So bad! I couldn't make it through the entire thing, but I did feel sorry for the scarecrow. He's a wonderful actor and was trying his best to make the most of the mess around him. I do have to add an additional rotten tomato to the actress who played the "wicked witch". She too was terrible and gave new meaning to over acting. What a bore! After all the hype SciFi gave it in commercials, I will never fall for their ads again. Expand
  67. LisaW.
    Dec 29, 2007
    10
    I enjoyed the variations of the WOZ theme. The characters were allowed to shed some powerlessness. WOZ fans understand that Oz is really about trials in life, every journey is different. I really hope that these producers plan some stories for all the principle characters. Who knows ,more plot development could take us on a wider scene of the O.Z.. s yellow brick trek.
  68. Feb 22, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Several years ago, the SyFy channel decided to take a crack at re-inventing the classic Wizard of Oz, a noble task, that many have tried and failed. I didn't know what to expect, but I assumed it would be some variation of the classic tale, hoping it would be more the like books and less like the films. Tin Man is defiantly not for kids and takes a unique approach to the classic story. In this version, OZ is not the friendly loveable place with strange characters and happy times for all. It's a dark story, about a dark place, where presently there is a lot of pain and misery. The big twist in the story is that this OZ is centuries past the one visited by Dorothy Gale. In the Outer Zone (O.Z.), Dorothy Gale is a revered as the start of the royal families bloodline, but she has been dead for centuries! That being said, quite ingeniously, the future residents of the O.Z. parallel the old story, but not because they have to, they are in a sense mocking the original story in subtle ways. There's D.G. (Zooey Deschanel), the girl from the other side, who was forced into the O.Z., with no memory of ever having been there before. She soon meets Glitch, (Alan Cummings) a man who had part of his brain removed for disobeying the Queen. As they try to figure out what is happening around them, they run into a man (Neal McDonough) being punished in a Tin Man suit. This man was a Cop or Tin Man in the O.Z. who was deemed a threat, and put into this horrible form of torture. Finally, they come to the rescue of a native healer, named Raw (Raoul Trujillo), who has become trapped by carnivores and is about to become dinner. Together they go to see the wise man, to find out how to proceed in helping D.G. The Wise Man (Richard Dreyfuss) turns out to be a drugged out magician doing parlor tricks! There are a million other parallels to the original story that make the journey through the O.Z. that much more enjoyable. Zooey Deschanel is the star and even though people often mistake her unique style of acting for inexperience, she was the perfect choice to play D.G. The other standout is veteran character actor, Neal McDonough, who gives a gut wrenching and strong performance as the tortured former cop, in search of his family. The rest of the supporting cast was equally as impressive, taking you through the full range of emotions. As I said before, this is certainly not the OZ you grew up with and it's certainly not what I expected. Everything from the special effects, to the story, and even the modernization, was extremely impressive. It really is a shame that this was only a three part mini-series, but this would have made for one hell of a regular series. Some of the parallels are obvious, but there were plenty of times where I legitimately forgot that I was watching The Wizard of Oz. Leave the musical for the kid, this is what Frank Baum had in mind when he started this series, and it's most defiantly meant for mature audiences only. Expand
  69. Aug 31, 2014
    8
    The main concept was borrowed from 'Wizard of the Oz', but a modernized with the three episode tale. The director is not a stranger to me, because I liked his previous television mini series 'Neverland'. That was another reason why ended up watching this one. As far my observations, this director is very creative because he just takes the original concept as an inspiration and improvisesThe main concept was borrowed from 'Wizard of the Oz', but a modernized with the three episode tale. The director is not a stranger to me, because I liked his previous television mini series 'Neverland'. That was another reason why ended up watching this one. As far my observations, this director is very creative because he just takes the original concept as an inspiration and improvises it. Those were really the good work to build something around the original idea and somewhere he overlaps between the two to make a connection. In an understandable way to say, his TV mini series all were kind of unofficial prequels or sequels to the original classic fantasy tales.

    DG is a small town waitress that she's not happy to spend her rest of the life there. She always dreamt to escape it in search of a cheerful life. Like a wish come true, one night a storm take her to a land called OZ. It is a paradise, but affected by a magical spell cast by the evil force. She meets the people who suffered from the evil queen's outrage. Later she comes to know the reason she was brought there and her involvement in the ongoing issues in OZ. The present and the past both were simultaneously narrated about what happened and is happening and what should be done to stop the bad things. So the Dg's journey commences accompanied by a few men who help her to travel safe.

    ‘‘I'd shoot you in the heart if I thought you had one.’’

    The film had lots of upgrading items, like it was set in the modern world still the main character hop into the magical world called OZ. Here the OZ is abbreviated from 'Outer Zone'. All the three episodes were so good, each of them had twists at the end. The story was unexpectedly good, the fan of the original tale will definitely love it. The concept of protagonist and antagonist was built on a reasonable plan that will probably satisfy most of us at the end. It can be viewed by all ages. No silly costumes for the characters like from the storybooks. As it was a television product the quality was normal standard.

    Of course the technology and other options were easily fetchable, but the filmmaker used all the computer related resources in a limit. It's not like that they can't offer it, but to keep everything simple. I loved everyone's performances. In fact, Kathleen Robertson, who was in a negative role impressed a lot than the Zooey Deschanel. No one had the tough stunts in the movie, but felt that Zooey Deschanel had not comfortable with them. The guest appearance of the original tale was a surprise. Overall, it is the movie, a must see by the 'Wizard of the Oz' fans. A few things you must remember before giving it a try. It was kind of an sci-fi-fantasy, but the story and twists were the highlights.
    Expand
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 20
  2. Negative: 5 out of 20
  1. 25
    The execution of "Tin Man" is flat, flatter, flattest. The dialogue is utilitarian, except when it's "Dungeons and Dragons" cliche.
  2. 70
    Tin Man’s heart is in the right place, even if the execution of the story evokes, from time to time, creakiness of the metal man’s limbs.
  3. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    58
    Unfortunately, Robertson's heaving bodice is her most expressive aspect; this miniseries needed a villain with a wicked sense of humor, but she and the rest of Tin Man are dour and punitive.