• Network: Bravo
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 8, 2006
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 54
  2. Negative: 14 out of 54

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 25, 2012
    2
    A very poor start to an inconsistent series of cooking competitions with weird critiques, high drama and a lot of cooking talent......................
  2. GaylordFriend
    Apr 13, 2008
    0
    What a miserable and worthless pile of garbage. I walked into the room while my 10 and 12 year old children were watching this pathetic excuse for a tv show and had to listen to some ridiculous want to be using vulgar language because he is too stupid to express his thoughts with real words. without having my kids not watch tv at all, which is probably the best idea at this point, how do What a miserable and worthless pile of garbage. I walked into the room while my 10 and 12 year old children were watching this pathetic excuse for a tv show and had to listen to some ridiculous want to be using vulgar language because he is too stupid to express his thoughts with real words. without having my kids not watch tv at all, which is probably the best idea at this point, how do I best filter this crap? Expand
  3. akaw
    Jan 31, 2007
    2
    Bleah. Only saw two eps, and that's enough. The judges suck and the chefs are screwed over and/or raked through the coals. Plenty of things in Real Life where decisions and competence-under-pressure are important, but food should be *enjoyable* and this ain't it. Oh, and Iron Chef is cool.
  4. sumitb
    Jan 24, 2007
    0
    judges suck.Marcel sucks
  5. EdwardS
    Apr 25, 2006
    0
    There isn't one contestant left who is in any way bearable. After Andrea left, that was it. Their egos transcend their skills. There is no camaraderie, no cooperation. All back-stabbing and criticizing and bad-mouthing. I watched The Next Food Network Star on Food Network and those people were fun, had a great time together, cared about each other, helped each other. I hated to see There isn't one contestant left who is in any way bearable. After Andrea left, that was it. Their egos transcend their skills. There is no camaraderie, no cooperation. All back-stabbing and criticizing and bad-mouthing. I watched The Next Food Network Star on Food Network and those people were fun, had a great time together, cared about each other, helped each other. I hated to see any of them leave. In Top Chef, I want them all to pack their knives and go home. The worst are Tiffani, Steven, and Harold but the others are close seconds. Expand
  6. PaulE
    Apr 22, 2006
    1
    I loved Project Runway because it was really fun. The only time anyone on this show looks like they are having a good time is if they've been asked to leave--then they relax and look visibly relieved. Most of the contestants seem annoyed by the contest and each other, the judges have no sense of humor and the host, whatshername, has no discernable personality. Most of her lines are I loved Project Runway because it was really fun. The only time anyone on this show looks like they are having a good time is if they've been asked to leave--then they relax and look visibly relieved. Most of the contestants seem annoyed by the contest and each other, the judges have no sense of humor and the host, whatshername, has no discernable personality. Most of her lines are obviously recorded later and layered over a hackneyed editing style. Project Runway was so much better. This is pretty unwatchable. So we've stopped watching. Expand
  7. FrankP
    Apr 21, 2006
    2
    You need to get some talent, very little knowledge of real foods. It seems like they are painting not cooking food. What about an Italian flare, something you find on most menus. This show does nothing for a true professional. I do not see any love of food on this show. Work on talent and personality.
  8. chuyc
    Apr 6, 2006
    4
    i think this show sucks. i agree with one of the other reviewers that all of the chefs seem egotistical and arrogant. they fucking suck. i've watched a coupla shows already but can't stomach another round. ugh my concern is that in TV land there seems to be this subculture building up about food that it should be this artsy-fartsy thing and everything has to be precious and for i think this show sucks. i agree with one of the other reviewers that all of the chefs seem egotistical and arrogant. they fucking suck. i've watched a coupla shows already but can't stomach another round. ugh my concern is that in TV land there seems to be this subculture building up about food that it should be this artsy-fartsy thing and everything has to be precious and for the elite only. i watch food network a lot and it seems that for the most part the cooks on the show really want to teach people how to cook decent tasting food but there are a few wankers on that show that pose this celebrity cheff crap -- bobby flay, that fat italian guy who has to tell stories about his food everytime he cooks -- pretentious and annoying which is exactly like the losers on this stupid top chef's show. Expand
  9. theresaz
    Mar 22, 2006
    2
    Do people that prepare food for a living real feel they are entitiled to this much ego? What have these people done to rate this much arrogance? They are not even at the top in their own fields! and their fields are something that is very pleasurable, but not something that is going to change the world. Why do they thing they rate? I was hoping to see some creative people competition Do people that prepare food for a living real feel they are entitiled to this much ego? What have these people done to rate this much arrogance? They are not even at the top in their own fields! and their fields are something that is very pleasurable, but not something that is going to change the world. Why do they thing they rate? I was hoping to see some creative people competition brought the best ideas out in, disappointed in the ideas and the attitudes. Expand
  10. MaryL
    Mar 17, 2006
    1
    This show is NOT Project Runway quality at all! The host is LAME--stiff and boring.
  11. cheftasty
    Mar 15, 2006
    4
    Lousy "casting" cuz so few of these people have any talent as chefs, whereas Project Runway's group seems truly skilled. The format for the show has great potential. Chef Hubert and Fleur de Lys, Tom Collichio--both great and respected veterans of the industry. Who was responsible for picking the contestents? Obviously, not chefs. I'd love this show it had all real kitchen Lousy "casting" cuz so few of these people have any talent as chefs, whereas Project Runway's group seems truly skilled. The format for the show has great potential. Chef Hubert and Fleur de Lys, Tom Collichio--both great and respected veterans of the industry. Who was responsible for picking the contestents? Obviously, not chefs. I'd love this show it had all real kitchen talent--and come on--San Francisco and the Bay Area must have one of the richest talent pools in the food industry! Expand
  12. JoeAverage
    Mar 15, 2006
    3
    Let's start off with the line test. I have never scene a kitchen so clean they must have remodeled for the show. Finger in the sauce? Very, very common, we chefs and cooks are always washing our hands but sometimes we short cut and forget to use a spoon for tasting. Did the chef throw out the sauce? A very legitimate question, and then attacking the person asking the question was a Let's start off with the line test. I have never scene a kitchen so clean they must have remodeled for the show. Finger in the sauce? Very, very common, we chefs and cooks are always washing our hands but sometimes we short cut and forget to use a spoon for tasting. Did the chef throw out the sauce? A very legitimate question, and then attacking the person asking the question was a move worthy of Karl Rove. It just goes to show that the sauce was not thrown out. Then letting Ken the finger in the sauce guy go instead of Ms. Missed cooked vegetables and the Model that over cooks her chicken is just wrong. Chefs are crazy, and well a**holes this show does well to show that, but this show is turning out to be amateur hour and only Ken and a few others could actually handle being sandbagged on a real kitchen line. Expand
  13. millvalleychef
    Mar 11, 2006
    4
    not believable whatsoever. more like bad acting that reality. fleur de lys business must be a little slow?
  14. DGH
    Mar 10, 2006
    1
    The self-righteous anger of some of the cooks -- although especially Tiffani from Las Vegas -- is such a turnoff. If I were Ken, the Irish guy sent packing on episode 1, I'd be relieved to be away from all of them. Completely insufferable. Won't be watching any more.
  15. [Anonymous]
    Mar 9, 2006
    2
    dull and played. they are all stero-types -- arrogant line cook and snooty sommelier... blah, blah, blah.
  16. davea.
    Mar 9, 2006
    4
    The level of hostility and competitiveness far outweighs any other aspect of the show. It is a most unpleasant show. The tone is set by the unwaveringly hostile attitude of the ringleaders. Unlike the show on which it is based, Project Runway, in which Tim Gunn and the panel of judges seem on the whole to be very nice people who at times are stern, the judges on Top Chef lack any social The level of hostility and competitiveness far outweighs any other aspect of the show. It is a most unpleasant show. The tone is set by the unwaveringly hostile attitude of the ringleaders. Unlike the show on which it is based, Project Runway, in which Tim Gunn and the panel of judges seem on the whole to be very nice people who at times are stern, the judges on Top Chef lack any social grace that I can discern, and are simply brutish authoritarians. Perhaps that is the way in the kitchen, but I am not interested in spending my time with these people. Similarly, while the contestants in Project Runway were competitive, on balance the show was about how different artists respond to different challenges in a competitive environment. It was about how they dealt with the combination of stress and creativity. In contrast, in Top Chef, it seems to be primarily about testosterone and proving who is the best. There are several interesting and nice people in the competition, but they are overshadowed and overwhelmed by all the nasty egotists. All in all, this show is not worth anyone's time. Expand
  17. RickL
    Mar 9, 2006
    3
    This is a very poor "kitchen" version of Project Runway. The emphasis is too heavy on the "chefs" critiquing each other, rather than the experts commenting on the food and the processes. It is obviously sqeezing the drama from the obnoxiousness of the culinary toddlers, throwing sand in the kitchen sandbox. Much of the appeal of Project Runway was the dynamic between Heidi Klum and the This is a very poor "kitchen" version of Project Runway. The emphasis is too heavy on the "chefs" critiquing each other, rather than the experts commenting on the food and the processes. It is obviously sqeezing the drama from the obnoxiousness of the culinary toddlers, throwing sand in the kitchen sandbox. Much of the appeal of Project Runway was the dynamic between Heidi Klum and the designers. No such magic is evident in this incarnation. Expand
  18. KaitlinM
    Mar 8, 2006
    2
    The host, whoever she is, is boring, not assertive, no personality---everything Heidi had but at least shes extraordinarliy beautiful (only made more beautiful by her pregnancy on the show) and already a well-known figure. The judges were not in the least bit intimidating, and the food... well it''s just food. The only part of the food that we can judge from home is the The host, whoever she is, is boring, not assertive, no personality---everything Heidi had but at least shes extraordinarliy beautiful (only made more beautiful by her pregnancy on the show) and already a well-known figure. The judges were not in the least bit intimidating, and the food... well it''s just food. The only part of the food that we can judge from home is the presentation, and apparently that is not enough b.c the worst presentation won the challenge and the best presentation went home. Also--- the irish guy was irritating and rude-- but so is Santino. Keep him around for a few episodes to keep us all watching. Terrible show. I'll be watching food networks "Next Food Network Star" show on March 19th instead of this. Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. The series has a familiar format, but the opening episode suggests it may have some real spark to it.
  2. 40
    "Top Chef," though it appears to have a stable of good talent in the kitchen, so far doesn't really have much else going for it in the way of personalities.
  3. "Top Chef" seems like a no-brainer, an extension both of the interactivity of TV cooking and the art-and-craft side of reality shows, in which people are actually making things as opposed to just asses of themselves.