• Network: Bravo
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 31, 2007
Season #: 1, 2
User Score
4.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 28
  2. Negative: 11 out of 28

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. domor
    Feb 1, 2007
    4
    What a horrible show. It's like Project Runway meets Top Chef meets "Hey, Judy, let's put on a show!" Not only is Todd Oldham a stiff board of a host, but the fact that Alexis Arquette as the mystery guest screams "drag queens will only watch this show", the stiffness of the production and the sad, sad commentary of the judges...gosh, darn it, it was so damn pedestrian. It What a horrible show. It's like Project Runway meets Top Chef meets "Hey, Judy, let's put on a show!" Not only is Todd Oldham a stiff board of a host, but the fact that Alexis Arquette as the mystery guest screams "drag queens will only watch this show", the stiffness of the production and the sad, sad commentary of the judges...gosh, darn it, it was so damn pedestrian. It should have been titled "Top Design Window Display" because that's all the talent this show showed. Really, really dreadful. Sorry, but I think I'll not watch from now on. Cough cough. I think I just spit up mothballs. Expand
  2. kenj
    Mar 20, 2007
    2
    i agree with Will A's assessments.
  3. AH
    Feb 18, 2007
    4
    Not only does Todd Oldham have the entertaining quotient of a teleprompted robot, Jonathan Adler is just as bad if not worse. His facial expressions and unnaturalness or so distracting, it takes away from what could be an entertaining view into the creative process for interior design. NEW judges/host, please!!!
  4. DeborahV
    Mar 1, 2007
    3
    I thought this show would get me through my project runway withdrals. Thankfully I tivo last season. This show is booorrrinng the host and the judges definatly need to be replaced. I think if they spent more time on the designers creating the rooms, that would get my juices flowing.
  5. sarahm
    Mar 19, 2007
    2
    I loathe this show, and I wanted to really love it. The judges are the worst-and what IS with that Adler dude's faces? He creeps me out.
  6. margaretb
    Mar 23, 2007
    3
    Your judges have no involvement, I love project runway and top chef, please bring them back.i hate the line ,see you later decorators, the show has no interaction between contestents,and it all seems unnatural.i watch it because it is on bravo, but am not looking forward to the hairdresser show.
  7. ThomasR
    Mar 8, 2007
    3
    What to say? I thought HGTV's top designer was bad, this is worse. Todd is stiffer than cardboard, and I don't fully believe he can design. Tim Gunn gave practical advice and was at times a bit caddy. The judges, ugh! Johnathan has no personality. Margaret comes off as high maintenance. No opinion for Kelly except for her questionable taste in hair and clothes. What was with the What to say? I thought HGTV's top designer was bad, this is worse. Todd is stiffer than cardboard, and I don't fully believe he can design. Tim Gunn gave practical advice and was at times a bit caddy. The judges, ugh! Johnathan has no personality. Margaret comes off as high maintenance. No opinion for Kelly except for her questionable taste in hair and clothes. What was with the Tina Turner burned hair look a few weeks ago? As for the celebrity judges...since when is Alexis Arquette Hollywood royalty? The contestants aren't much better. Only a handful can design their way out of a paper bag. I don't even think half are actual interior designers. There's no real drama between any of them. We have yet to have a Santino or Jeffrey type on the show. Granted, the tasks are quite difficult at times, and maybe designing in a 9x9 cubicle is rather uninspiring, or it's the poor editing which makes the whole design process seem distant and cold on the show. We want drama! Expand
  8. SandraD
    Jul 13, 2007
    1
    I give it a 1 only for the cringe factor involved which drew me to watch it each week. This show was horrible. "See ya later, Decorator"??? I mean, get me a stretcher!! Absolutely the worst send-away every. Todd O. was a horrible host or whatever he was (Tim Gunn character). Mild, meek, lame, sad "love me please" expression and tone of voice. Plus, horrible advice and critiques from him. I give it a 1 only for the cringe factor involved which drew me to watch it each week. This show was horrible. "See ya later, Decorator"??? I mean, get me a stretcher!! Absolutely the worst send-away every. Todd O. was a horrible host or whatever he was (Tim Gunn character). Mild, meek, lame, sad "love me please" expression and tone of voice. Plus, horrible advice and critiques from him. Judges: all horrible and no personality. Contestants: same-- horrible and lacking personality and interaction. They also lacked decorating skills. I couldn't believe the level of design they were turning out. I could have done it better and I'm not kidding. My kid could have done it better. Each week I'd watch and alternately cringe and crack up at how horrible the rooms were they'd set up. Hideous. Boring, lacking interest, color, style, etc. It just inspired me to create my own show Expand
  9. Michael
    Feb 15, 2007
    4
    Contestants do a great job-wish I could say the same for the miserable judges. I find it really hard to stomach their awful attitudes and poor critiques. Somebody needs to tell Kelly Wearstler to go back being a Playmate, something she can handle.
  10. PhilK
    Feb 15, 2007
    4
    I am surprised that following the successful formula of Project Runway and Top Chef, Bravo was unable to make Top Design work. But they failed miserably. While it is too early to tell if the contestants will show any endearing qualities, it is clear that the host and the judges have none. Apparently Todd Oldham got the job based on his name, and did not have to do a reading. Or, the I am surprised that following the successful formula of Project Runway and Top Chef, Bravo was unable to make Top Design work. But they failed miserably. While it is too early to tell if the contestants will show any endearing qualities, it is clear that the host and the judges have none. Apparently Todd Oldham got the job based on his name, and did not have to do a reading. Or, the producers were asleep at the wheel. He is so stiff as to be painful to watch. Expand
  11. WillA
    Feb 26, 2007
    4
    Top Design's problems: You never become intimate with the contestant's design process and work. It's very distant. The show lacks emotion, from the absence of competition between designers to Todd Oldham's lackluster-ness. (Todd is no Tim Gunn.) There's also no design authority. Todd doesn't carry weight. . .he's a fashion designer turned product Top Design's problems: You never become intimate with the contestant's design process and work. It's very distant. The show lacks emotion, from the absence of competition between designers to Todd Oldham's lackluster-ness. (Todd is no Tim Gunn.) There's also no design authority. Todd doesn't carry weight. . .he's a fashion designer turned product merchandiser. . . . The highlights? Definitely Margaret Russell and Kelly Wearstler. Jonny Adler is good but forced. And where are the special guest stars? Who are these people? Expand
  12. [Anonymous]
    Apr 6, 2007
    2
    Come on, top design! I keep watching, though interspersed with other activity b/c it is far too anooying to just sit and watch. This show is sad. I'm sorry. But the designs are sad, the designers are sad, their judges are sad, and todd tiptoeing around in the background just makes it more sad. I'm nto into nasty criticism, but unlike the other bravo shows, todd seems to be more Come on, top design! I keep watching, though interspersed with other activity b/c it is far too anooying to just sit and watch. This show is sad. I'm sorry. But the designs are sad, the designers are sad, their judges are sad, and todd tiptoeing around in the background just makes it more sad. I'm nto into nasty criticism, but unlike the other bravo shows, todd seems to be more of a lurker than an afficanado. And no offense, sorry, to the contestants, but they seem like cautious students rather than professionals, even beginner mavericks which is waht they should be. Come on, with all the minimalist, white background, clean lines, it is mundane!!!! Expand
  13. JasonS
    Mar 27, 2007
    3
    Interior design was the next obvious step for Bravo's competition reality series; in fact, as a joke I told my friends who watch Top Chef that next would be a show like this. On paper, it seems like a good idea, but the reality is interior design does not lend itself well to competition as does fashion and even food, which the viewers can't even taste and therefore truly judge. Interior design was the next obvious step for Bravo's competition reality series; in fact, as a joke I told my friends who watch Top Chef that next would be a show like this. On paper, it seems like a good idea, but the reality is interior design does not lend itself well to competition as does fashion and even food, which the viewers can't even taste and therefore truly judge. The host is dry and talks like he's reading cue cards, the judges are bland (and one looks like Cruella DeVil) and the send-off phrase is a simple and dumb "goodbye" (as opposed to the much more interesting "you're out" or "pack your knives"). All in all, the show isn't worth the time and will most likely not see another season. Plus, two words: later decorator??? Expand
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Jessica Shaw
    91
    The contestants are highly entertaining. [2 Feb 2007, p.116]
  2. [It] is a bit too slavish in its imitation of the "Runway'' formula, but in its opening episode, it shows signs of real promise.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    90
    Nobody said the creative process was pretty, but rarely has it made such electrifying TV.