Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Dec 9, 2010
    80
    So, during the course of three episodes, there's not much sucking up, enough dissing to keep the whole thing honest, tons of magnificent cars, fast driving and enough goofiness to make this Top Gear get off the line without any mishaps.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Dec 9, 2010
    100
    Who knew beautiful, obscenely expensive cars could be so much fun? These three guys do, and they effortlessly convey their knowledge and nutty passion.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Dec 9, 2010
    60
    The result--for the person with a casual interest in cars, anyway--is a show that at this point lacks the character of the British original but is, particularly in its second and third episodes, reasonably entertaining by American reality-TV standards.
  4. Reviewed by: John Young
    Dec 10, 2010
    83
    The automobile-enthusiast program may lack the British wit of the original series, but it's beautifully shot, just as silly, and nearly as much fun. [26 Nov 2010, p.68]
  5. Reviewed by: Tricia Olszewski
    Dec 9, 2010
    40
    It doesn't help that the vehicles reviewed thus far aren't surprising (Lamborghinis, Mustangs, Aston Martins), but the shenanigans the hosts set up for themselves can be thrilling.
User Score
4.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 33
  2. Negative: 15 out of 33
  1. Nov 22, 2010
    2
    I've watched nearly 14 full seasons of Top Gear UK, hour long episodes mind you, and in comparison, this show is almost unwatchable. The knowledge and wit of Jeremy Clarkson is gone, the banter of Hammond and May is missing, and for some reason this US Top Gear feels so staged. It's a dumbed-down exposition on "new cars" you've seen already. Full Review »
  2. Nov 22, 2010
    1
    Utter garbage! The show is a terrible mess of everything that was great about the original. The hosts aren't funny, the cars weren't new, the challenges are uninspired and even their Stig has nothing mysterious or amazing about him/her. I cant believe there are another 9 weeks of this drivel!

    This incarnation should be scrapped. If you want to watch Top Gear, watch the original. There are already 14 seasons of it already.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 21, 2010
    4
    As a Top Gear UK enthusiast, I was greatly disappointed by the American adaptation of the show. Not only are the show hosts all extremely annoying, but the show itself is an insult to the original Top Gear. The cameras are in all the wrong places, the editing is just god awful, and the show fails to grasp my attention like the original. Don't get me wrong, I am a car enthusiast and have seen every episode of the original show. So I was expecting the hosts to be funny, witty, and knowledgeable gentleman. Instead, what I got was a bunch of blabbering idiots who seemed to do nothing but copy everything Top Gear UK did, including using the same phrases. This annoyed me to no end. Maybe my expectations were too high, and maybe not. All I know is that this is a series that I cannot bring myself to watch, and quite frankly I am insulted to be a citizen of a country that would even dare to produce this series. To the BBC, I apologize for this atrocity. Full Review »