Top Gear (US) Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 67 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The popular British car-enthusiast show gets remade in the US with comedian Adam Ferrara, X-Games rally-car winner Tanner Foust, and Speed Channel's NASCAR analyst Rutledge Wood as hosts. There is a Stig, but some segments were renamed; for example, the "Star in a Reasonably Priced Car" is the "Big Star, Small Car" segment. Expand
  • Genre(s): Documentary, Educational
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Dec 9, 2010
    100
    Who knew beautiful, obscenely expensive cars could be so much fun? These three guys do, and they effortlessly convey their knowledge and nutty passion.
  2. Reviewed by: John Young
    Dec 10, 2010
    83
    The automobile-enthusiast program may lack the British wit of the original series, but it's beautifully shot, just as silly, and nearly as much fun. [26 Nov 2010, p.68]
  3. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Dec 9, 2010
    80
    So, during the course of three episodes, there's not much sucking up, enough dissing to keep the whole thing honest, tons of magnificent cars, fast driving and enough goofiness to make this Top Gear get off the line without any mishaps.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Dec 9, 2010
    60
    The result--for the person with a casual interest in cars, anyway--is a show that at this point lacks the character of the British original but is, particularly in its second and third episodes, reasonably entertaining by American reality-TV standards.
  5. Reviewed by: Tricia Olszewski
    Dec 9, 2010
    40
    It doesn't help that the vehicles reviewed thus far aren't surprising (Lamborghinis, Mustangs, Aston Martins), but the shenanigans the hosts set up for themselves can be thrilling.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 33
  2. Negative: 15 out of 33
  1. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    Most people gave this show a bad review simply because of they're loyalty (For whatever reason) to the UK version of Top Gear.

    I was
    skeptical at first when watching the previews for the show, but after the first few episodes I have become a fan.

    The show is actually very good. Especially considering all the pressure and negative feedback the show received before it even aired. Top Gear USA gives attention to many cars that would not have a chance to make the UK show and also gives great insight on the newest toys available.

    I've enjoyed all of the challenges they've done for both seasons and I hope they make a season 3.
    Expand
  2. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    Let me start off by saying that I never watched the UK version of this show, I see a lot of people who watch the UK version of the show not necessarily like the US version. I have to say I love this show. I find the 3 hosts are a great ensemble group and a great thing to watch. I will also let you know that while I love and am interested in cars I know very little about them, So when they talk about the cars I don't mind that they go into to much detail. The next thing I love about the show is the trips and the challenges I find them interesting and very fun to watch.

    Overall I would say if you have not seen the UK version of the show and you are not a super car enthusiast but interested in cars and what a few laughs while you watch I would recommend this show, I have to say I love it.
    Expand
  3. Dec 17, 2010
    7
    All the Fanboys of the UK Top Gear totally loose their credibility as soon as they compare the US and UK Top Gears. Yes the UK version is amazing, and I love ever bit of it, except the Celebrity in the crap car. But do you remember the first season of UK Top Gear, it was just as cheap and mediocre. Saying that, I for one like the US Top Gear, sure it isn't as good, but what else do we have in America, Car and Driver tv/ Motor Trend, lol. Wait one or two more seasons and this show will turn into exactly what you miss about UK Top Gear. Expand
  4. Dec 19, 2010
    4
    The show has potential and can certainly pull itself out of the funk with a few key changes. For one they should get rid of their Stig, and change up the star in a reasonably priced car contest to some degree. We have Top Gear UK for that you know. The second big issue - the bigger of the two - is how staged and fake some of the stunts/events seem. Like the helicopter vs. Viper race... 15 minutes of staged, boring BS. Now I know Top Gear UK stages their stuff too, and a lot of the jokes are pre-conceived too... but it's different how they do it. They will try to climb the highest drivable mountain in an off-road vehicle. Sure some of the the things that happen a long the way are staged. But when push comes to shove they are still driving up that mountain; the main part of the challenge is REAL. Ditto when they drove through a jungle in supercars; a lot of choreographed non-sense, but the main part (having driven through the jungle) was VERY REAL. Top Gear US does not follow suit. Everything about their events are fake. And unlike Top Gear UK, the fake parts aren't entertaining enough to laugh at and not take seriously. A feeling I got off Top Gear UK is that they wanted you to know there stunts/events were somewhat staged, and made it super humorous to make up for it in a sense. I get the feeling that the US show is actually trying to convince their audience that the staged events aren't staged at all... similar to how pro wrestling used to market their product. As of right now this show is a bit of a pathetic mess, but it has potential. The car review parts are well done. Collapse
  5. Nov 24, 2010
    2
    Watched this for the first time yesterday as I missed the premier on Sunday. Let me tell you I am one of the biggest fans of the original Top Gear and going in I didn't think I would be impressed. I didn't know though that it would be so bad. Most of the problems stem from the hosts. The as rigid as wood and about as interesting. Overall not very good. All the wit and charm of the UK show is gone. They dumb everything down so much that it is an assault to your intelligence. (This being done because it is aimed at southern NASCAR fans.) Also they think 145 MPH is fast. Ehh not very. Plus it is impossible to replace Jeremy Clarkson.

    (Also if your going to write a negative review make sure you remember to lower the score. Supergrand wrote a negative review, but gave it a 10. Messes up the rating system.)
    Expand
  6. Nov 28, 2010
    1
    So completely awful. Top Gear UK infinitely superior. The worst part might be perhaps that they should have realized that their carbon copy of the UK show is a complete sham. At that point perhaps they could have taken the show in a different direction and made it their own unique beast, something that stands on it's own. They ignore the UK show completely while at the same time mimic every centimeter of the UK show and even try to throw in some really lame jokes about the "Brits" - I'm well aware Clarkson makes jokes about Americans on the show, but it's so tongue in cheek it's charming, when the US hosts make a joke about it, it falls flat on it's face and then explodes. Expand
  7. Oct 25, 2011
    0
    It's lacks the passion and chemistry that the original even the Australian one has we tried this once before and on prime time and it failed but I guess giving it a second shot might make it better.... I've seen the full first season now and adding cameras and money to the production wont make it better!! Poor choice on the hosts. Expand

See all 33 User Reviews