Torchwood (UK) : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 101 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 101
  2. Negative: 9 out of 101

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. SindreF.
    Sep 11, 2007
    8
    Not as good as Doctor Who but still awsome!
  2. Jan 4, 2015
    10
    I'm just gunna pretend that Miracle day, didn't happen. However I guess that wouldn't be eas if Torchwood was real. Sorry need extra characters, hope you found this interesting.
  3. Jan 7, 2011
    10
    Terrible show. Torchwood is supposedly a top-secret organization given unlimited resources and authority by UK government, and charged with defending Earth and being custodian of powerful alien artifacts. Yet: none of the personnel know anything about each other or have had background checks; none of the personnel have formal military training; all of the personnel are emotionalTerrible show. Torchwood is supposedly a top-secret organization given unlimited resources and authority by UK government, and charged with defending Earth and being custodian of powerful alien artifacts. Yet: none of the personnel know anything about each other or have had background checks; none of the personnel have formal military training; all of the personnel are emotional trainwrecks. Seriously: it seems like each episode, someone breaks down and cries as a result of the normal day-to-day duties of their job. The Earth is defended by incompetent crybabies. On the plus side, Captain Jack is an interesting character portrayed by a skilled actor. They should fire everyone else on the team, and start over. Expand
  4. Jul 16, 2011
    8
    "Torchwood: Miracle Day" doesn't have the old (british) feel to it. I'm enjoying the new season nonetheless. Mekhi Phifer is doing a great job. Can't wait to see what happens next.
  5. suzie
    Sep 10, 2007
    10
    Brilliant show, not every episode is a 10 out of 10, but even the bad ones get an 8+ - How many shows can you say that about? It's a breath of TV fresh air, thank goodness. I'm so sick of reality television and mindless soap opera, it's nice to find a program that makes me want to turn on the television (why oh why did they cancel Angel after the excellent season 5??) Go Brilliant show, not every episode is a 10 out of 10, but even the bad ones get an 8+ - How many shows can you say that about? It's a breath of TV fresh air, thank goodness. I'm so sick of reality television and mindless soap opera, it's nice to find a program that makes me want to turn on the television (why oh why did they cancel Angel after the excellent season 5??) Go Torchwood, I'm looking forward to season 2. Expand
  6. JoshF
    Sep 10, 2007
    8
    This show is great - one of my favorite shows right now. It's equally humorous, intense, campy, insightful and action-packed. I was never a Doctor Who fan, and I think most TV Sci-Fi is pretty lame. There's just something about this show, though, and I love the setting (Wales). Can't wait for Season 2 - there better be one!
  7. GilesE.
    Sep 6, 2007
    9
    Excellent series, saw it in the UK. Can't wait for season 2 over here! The last couple of episodes are epic btw :)
  8. MikeM.
    Oct 25, 2007
    9
    In the shadow of Doctor Who it suffers, but on it's own, it's a fun show which is the best parts of other genre favorites (like The X Files and Alias). I have a feeling Season 2 will be even better as the show finds it's own voice.
  9. SheliaS.
    Sep 11, 2007
    9
    So far, so good, I have heard that this show just keep getting better. Captain Jack harkness is something we haven
  10. clairew.
    Sep 6, 2007
    9
    Some fantiastic episodes, John Barrowman as Captain Jack is fantastic but watch out for Ianto Jones who is just excellent, and looks damn cute in a suit too!
  11. BrandonA
    Mar 4, 2008
    9
    While set in the Dr. Who universe, it is not constrained by Dr. Who's unflinching optimism. The characters are much stronger and the plots are darker. It is the best parts of the X-files combined with flair of Dr. Who.
  12. DonaldD.
    Sep 5, 2008
    10
    The best show to come to america, well one of the best, have to include Dr.Who, and Skins.
  13. LelandK.
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    A great companion piece to Doctor Who. Its X-Files meets NCIS. I digged the "Pan's Labyrinth" episode "Small Worlds". It was the sadness episode of the season.
  14. RachelK.
    Oct 8, 2007
    9
    This new show on BBC is a fantastic veiw! The acting in the series is granted a two thumbs up, As for the romantic sections, the actors/actresses did a phenomenal job making the mood feel right. The special effects lack that of big blockbuster films, but this is still a Television show and there are more financial difficulties. My favorite actor plays the role of Owen Harper, a cunning This new show on BBC is a fantastic veiw! The acting in the series is granted a two thumbs up, As for the romantic sections, the actors/actresses did a phenomenal job making the mood feel right. The special effects lack that of big blockbuster films, but this is still a Television show and there are more financial difficulties. My favorite actor plays the role of Owen Harper, a cunning and sly chap! But I'll let you decide for yourself. Expand
  15. CaitlinK.
    Sep 10, 2007
    9
    Full of wit, sex, and darkness,
  16. KorenB.
    Sep 10, 2007
    9
    Anyone that is a fan of Doctor Who (old or new series) will love Torchwood. It brings back fan-favorite Captain Jack from the 2005 series. Jack finds himself back in Cardiff, a town on the Welsh border that has been emphasized in the new DW series. How and why he's there is left a mystery. Just because it's a Doctor Who spin of doesn't mean it's for kids. This series Anyone that is a fan of Doctor Who (old or new series) will love Torchwood. It brings back fan-favorite Captain Jack from the 2005 series. Jack finds himself back in Cardiff, a town on the Welsh border that has been emphasized in the new DW series. How and why he's there is left a mystery. Just because it's a Doctor Who spin of doesn't mean it's for kids. This series is darker and more adult, but has the same tones of campiness that older DW fans can love. The seriousness allows for deeper exploration of the characters. Expand
  17. jim
    Sep 12, 2007
    9
    Great show, great cast, best new show in years!
  18. PeterBellamy
    Sep 21, 2007
    8
    I watched the first series in the UK and was dubious on a number of levels... I'm watching it again in the US with glee.. the second time around seems less burdoned by the whole Dr Who spinoff syndrome. And knowing the story arc means I can enjoy the wickedness even more.
  19. MirandaP.
    Sep 23, 2007
    7
    No, it's not a classic, and it's not as good as the current incarnation of "Doctor Who," but it's still a heck of a lot better than (for example) "Flash Gordon." Definitely watchable.
  20. JosephL.
    Sep 6, 2007
    10
    A show that starts of good, quirky and sexy but ends up by the final episode romantic, tearjerking, actionpacked and even sexier.
  21. DrewF
    Sep 6, 2007
    8
    I also caught this series in the UK. It starts off a bit slow, and the main character is a bit of a twit, but at around Episode 4 it REALLY kicks into high gear and is fantastic the rest of the way. Definitely worth checking out for any Doctor Who fan! Though be warned, it IS meant for adults. Don't let the kiddies watch this one....
  22. LynnL.
    Sep 7, 2007
    9
    Fantastic show -- different than anything we get here in the US. Can't wait for series 2.
  23. [Anonymous]
    Mar 28, 2008
    10
    Great show, with the thrills and spills of doctor who with added kick.
  24. RebeccaP
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    I love this show and hope they don't take it off the air. It's raw, dark, sexy and completely origional, as are the characters.
  25. R
    May 21, 2009
    10
    Love it . It's raw, dark, sexy and original, as are the characters.
  26. Stephanie
    Aug 1, 2009
    10
    Torchwood is a great show. In my opinion its better than doctor who. I wish there were more shows like Torchwood in America.
  27. JaneK.
    Dec 7, 2007
    9
    An entertaining show... though mainly carried by Captain Jack and wondering who in the world he's going to smooch next.
  28. GwionJ.
    Sep 12, 2007
    9
    The writing in series 1 was a bit patchy, leaving plenty of room for improvement in series 2, but that was easily outweighed by the sheer brilliance of the concept and execution. Edgy storylines, well-rounded and believable characters and stunning locations make this a show not to be missed. Leaves other "safe" sci-fi shows standing.
  29. Chef
    Sep 24, 2007
    10
    Very good, not at doctor who level yet, but i saw some more episodes and there are some brilliants, a good cast and very good scripts and story lines. I'll give it a 10 because it's between the better series in exhibition
  30. PeterJ.
    Nov 13, 2007
    8
    Watching this on HDNet and I give it an 8 because the cinematography is awesome. A solid 6 show premise wise, which isnt bad at all. Acting is solid as well.
  31. KarenA.
    Dec 22, 2007
    9
    I like the variety in styles between the episodes. Although I enjoy Dr. Who, this seems less cartoony. I'm hooked.
  32. Jul 13, 2011
    9
    A thrill ride that actually makes you think.

    Torchwood is a British show that has lived a charmed life over the years but remains to be as resilient as its immortal lead character. After the hit and (largely) miss first two seasons the show exploded onto a much bigger, and critically acclaimed, scene with the five-part mini-series 'Children of Earth' in which the British government
    A thrill ride that actually makes you think.

    Torchwood is a British show that has lived a charmed life over the years but remains to be as resilient as its immortal lead character. After the hit and (largely) miss first two seasons the show exploded onto a much bigger, and critically acclaimed, scene with the five-part mini-series 'Children of Earth' in which the British government conspired to surrender 10% of its children to an alien species. Captain Jack Harkness (the immortal hero played by John Barrowman, star of Desperate Housewives among others) was forced to sacrifice his grandson in order to defeat the invaders in a shocking twist in the final episode. Torchwood had finally found its feet and discovered how to create shocking, thrilling, chilling and thoughtful drama and it hasn't looked back since.

    'Miracle Day' starts with Oswald Danes (played by the thoroughly magnificent Independence Day star, Bill Pullman) being dosed with a lethal injection as punishment for the sexual assault and murder of a twelve year old girl but something goes horribly wrong. After a few minutes of writhing agony it becomes clear; he won't die. Mekhi Phifer's CIA character Rex Matheson suffers a similar fate when his is impaled after a freak car accident as it becomes clear that this issue has become a global one. Dark themes are explored here with solders, of whom are blown to bits, remain alive (even after being beheaded by a surgeon in a chilling/funny scene halfway through the premiere). Danes, the now immortal murderer, argues that he has been punished for his crimes and that now should be released; a wish that is granted by a local governor threatened by legal action. The Torchwood team, in ruins after the events of 'Children of Earth' come back into the fold to unravel the mystery in explosive fashion as Captain Jack leaps from a suicide bomber out the top floor of a tower block and Gwen Cooper (Welsh actress Eve Myles) blows up a helicopter with a bazooka, obviously. Torchwood is a mix of fascinating intrigue, sound acting, mind-blowing action sequences, chilling themes and impressive writing (from the likes of Doctor Who's Russell T Davies, House's Doris Egan and Buffy's Jane Espenson). Despite a few questionable moments, Torchwood is unashamedly magnificent madness which you'd be a fool to miss.
    Expand
  33. Aug 12, 2014
    7
    Great series to start off with, hooked by episode 2. Series 3 was brilliant, but series 4 let it down and took 3 off my score. Series 1 had great characters, great story, and intriguing. Series 2 was, again, great. Sad death of Owen and Tosh, quite emotional to be fair. Series 4 was too long to say it was one story arch, it was also irrelevant to Torchwood, without aliens, it's not Torchwood
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. There are a fair number of leaps of logic in the light-hearted Torchwood and mysteries abound. The special effects are generally decent and the writing and characterizations leaps and bounds better than in "Flash Gordon," "Eureka" or "The Dresden Files," to name just a few pathetic contemporary sci-fi shows.
  2. Torchwood is grand fun and great adult entertainment.
  3. It at times seems like a pornographic parody of "The X-Files."