Torchwood (UK) Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 96 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: This spin-off from the producers of the new Doctor Who has Captain Jack Harkness in charge of a secret government organization with the mission to protect the world from alien threats.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. There are a fair number of leaps of logic in the light-hearted Torchwood and mysteries abound. The special effects are generally decent and the writing and characterizations leaps and bounds better than in "Flash Gordon," "Eureka" or "The Dresden Files," to name just a few pathetic contemporary sci-fi shows.
  2. Reviewed by: Ari Karpel
    83
    After a riveting pilot, this third episode is more of a run-of-the-mill procedural, but thanks to the charismatic Tom Cruise-y Barrowman, this Captain Jack will get you bi tonight. [21 Sep 2007, p.76]
  3. 80
    The adult show supplies shocking twists. The tone ranges from passionate to campy to scary.
  4. Torchwood is so much more tricked-out with talent and visual wizardry, moves at such breakneck speed and makes such demands on its viewers that it leaves most American TV shows in its dust.
  5. A dark and splendid "Dr. Who" spinoff with overtones of "Men in Black" and "Buffy the Vampire Slayer."
  6. Torchwood is grand fun and great adult entertainment.
  7. Torchwood is a world I wouldn’t mind seeing erased.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 47
  2. Negative: 9 out of 47
  1. JosephL.
    Sep 6, 2007
    10
    A show that starts of good, quirky and sexy but ends up by the final episode romantic, tearjerking, actionpacked and even sexier.
  2. RebeccaP
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    I love this show and hope they don't take it off the air. It's raw, dark, sexy and completely origional, as are the characters.
  3. Jan 4, 2015
    10
    I'm just gunna pretend that Miracle day, didn't happen. However I guess that wouldn't be eas if Torchwood was real. Sorry need extraI'm just gunna pretend that Miracle day, didn't happen. However I guess that wouldn't be eas if Torchwood was real. Sorry need extra characters, hope you found this interesting. Expand
  4. clairew.
    Sep 6, 2007
    9
    Some fantiastic episodes, John Barrowman as Captain Jack is fantastic but watch out for Ianto Jones who is just excellent, and looks damn Some fantiastic episodes, John Barrowman as Captain Jack is fantastic but watch out for Ianto Jones who is just excellent, and looks damn cute in a suit too! Expand
  5. PeterBellamy
    Sep 21, 2007
    8
    I watched the first series in the UK and was dubious on a number of levels... I'm watching it again in the US with glee.. the second I watched the first series in the UK and was dubious on a number of levels... I'm watching it again in the US with glee.. the second time around seems less burdoned by the whole Dr Who spinoff syndrome. And knowing the story arc means I can enjoy the wickedness even more. Expand
  6. Oct 11, 2014
    6
    This season was up and down, watching it for the first time I felt like owen as a dickhead, Toshiko was really one note, Ianto does jack ****This season was up and down, watching it for the first time I felt like owen as a dickhead, Toshiko was really one note, Ianto does jack **** and the only characters I some what cared about were jack and gwen, that was until gwen cheated on Reice with Owen. however putting that part aside I enjoyed the season for it's runtime, I just hope Owen, Ianto and Tosh get more expansion next season. some of the episodes were quite plain and dull but there were a few standouts. but quite a lot sucked. Expand
  7. DuncanL
    Sep 11, 2007
    0
    I watched this when it first came out in the UK, and was bitterly, bitterly disappointed. The characters are appalling and unpleasant, the I watched this when it first came out in the UK, and was bitterly, bitterly disappointed. The characters are appalling and unpleasant, the stories are dreadfull and the acting is abysmal. I gave up entirely after the cyberwoman episode, which was one of the worst hours of TV I've ever witnessed. Expand

See all 47 User Reviews