Torchwood (UK) : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Torchwood (UK) Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 104 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: This spin-off from the producers of the new Doctor Who has Captain Jack Harkness in charge of a secret government organization with the mission to protect the world from alien threats.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. There are a fair number of leaps of logic in the light-hearted Torchwood and mysteries abound. The special effects are generally decent and the writing and characterizations leaps and bounds better than in "Flash Gordon," "Eureka" or "The Dresden Files," to name just a few pathetic contemporary sci-fi shows.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Ari Karpel
    83
    After a riveting pilot, this third episode is more of a run-of-the-mill procedural, but thanks to the charismatic Tom Cruise-y Barrowman, this Captain Jack will get you bi tonight. [21 Sep 2007, p.76]
  3. 80
    The adult show supplies shocking twists. The tone ranges from passionate to campy to scary.
  4. Torchwood is so much more tricked-out with talent and visual wizardry, moves at such breakneck speed and makes such demands on its viewers that it leaves most American TV shows in its dust.
  5. A dark and splendid "Dr. Who" spinoff with overtones of "Men in Black" and "Buffy the Vampire Slayer."
  6. Torchwood is grand fun and great adult entertainment.
  7. Torchwood is a world I wouldn’t mind seeing erased.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 48
  2. Negative: 9 out of 48
  1. [Anonymous]
    Mar 28, 2008
    10
    Great show, with the thrills and spills of doctor who with added kick.
  2. Jan 4, 2015
    10
    I'm just gunna pretend that Miracle day, didn't happen. However I guess that wouldn't be eas if Torchwood was real. Sorry need extraI'm just gunna pretend that Miracle day, didn't happen. However I guess that wouldn't be eas if Torchwood was real. Sorry need extra characters, hope you found this interesting. Expand
  3. GilesE.
    Sep 6, 2007
    9
    Excellent series, saw it in the UK. Can't wait for season 2 over here! The last couple of episodes are epic btw :)
  4. BrandonA
    Mar 4, 2008
    9
    While set in the Dr. Who universe, it is not constrained by Dr. Who's unflinching optimism. The characters are much stronger and the While set in the Dr. Who universe, it is not constrained by Dr. Who's unflinching optimism. The characters are much stronger and the plots are darker. It is the best parts of the X-files combined with flair of Dr. Who. Expand
  5. JoshF
    Sep 10, 2007
    8
    This show is great - one of my favorite shows right now. It's equally humorous, intense, campy, insightful and action-packed. I was This show is great - one of my favorite shows right now. It's equally humorous, intense, campy, insightful and action-packed. I was never a Doctor Who fan, and I think most TV Sci-Fi is pretty lame. There's just something about this show, though, and I love the setting (Wales). Can't wait for Season 2 - there better be one! Expand
  6. Jul 24, 2011
    6
    Torchwood is original, clever, inventive, exciting and all around great sci-fi. Unfortunately, in the first season at least, the tone isTorchwood is original, clever, inventive, exciting and all around great sci-fi. Unfortunately, in the first season at least, the tone is completely inconsistent, most of the characters are unconvincing and underdeveloped and some of the dialogue is gut-wrenchingly awful. Good news then that these problems are (almost) entirely fixed by the second series, where the show becomes one of the best around. I would recommend this (occasionally excellent but mostly mediocre) first series simply because of how good it gets in the next. Expand
  7. DuncanL
    Sep 11, 2007
    0
    I watched this when it first came out in the UK, and was bitterly, bitterly disappointed. The characters are appalling and unpleasant, the I watched this when it first came out in the UK, and was bitterly, bitterly disappointed. The characters are appalling and unpleasant, the stories are dreadfull and the acting is abysmal. I gave up entirely after the cyberwoman episode, which was one of the worst hours of TV I've ever witnessed. Expand

See all 48 User Reviews