• Network: ,
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 9, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Totally Biased with W. Kamau Bell Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Commentary, and sketch comedy are elements of San Francisco comedian W. Kamau Bell's comedy series executive produced by Chris Rock.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Reality, Game Show
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Aug 13, 2012
    75
    Bell is likely to smooth over the minor bumps in coming shows, but make no mistake: Totally Biased isn't likely to look much like "The Colbert Report" or "The Daily Show."
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Aug 13, 2012
    70
    The premiere felt a little tense; the host is still learning how to relate to the camera, how to occupy television. Nevertheless, he proves a friendly presence.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Aug 9, 2012
    67
    Will a cheerfully biased newcomer with a few amusing, well-crafted one-liners be enough to get FX on the boards in late night? To paraphrase Yoda, difficult to say--always in motion is the future--but Rock may want to light a fire under this act sooner than later.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 6 out of 7
  1. Sep 20, 2012
    7
    Bell is definitely still figuring it out - he looks awkward on camera, has a tendency to laugh at his own jokes, and his interviews (while getting better) are SUPER stilted. Still, the commentary is well written (the problem in my mind is the delivery, not the material) and he has some very funny bits - I especially like the on-the-streets segments. For example, quizzing New Yorkers on who they will gay marry when Obama forces the marriage equality act through? Hilarious. It's not great yet, but it has potential. Expand
  2. Aug 16, 2012
    3
    No comedic delivery, presentation, or talent. It's the type of show that presents things that one would already find funny at face value (or not), with no attempt at creativity or wit. I don't even think weed would make it funny, just useful for comfortable group-think. A hackneyed version of hackneyed Bill Maher. Expand
  3. Nov 3, 2013
    1
    This is probably the worst show I have ever seen on FX, which is really sad considering it is being bombarded in my face during commercials. I gave it a chance and it failed, unless you like seeing several black people saying we are black and they are white and we are attempting a joke har har. This is crap and I will not be watching ever again. Collapse
  4. Aug 28, 2012
    1
    Horrible delivery, not appealing to the eyes at all. Good writing, sort of. Show would have been funny if they got somebody who is funny. Yes, it is the only black late night tv show, but it is still not worth it. Expand
  5. Feb 9, 2013
    0
    This show feels really forced. W. Kamau Bell, really? Why not just make viewership
    Call him "Dr." Because we are obviously so uncultivated,
    said no one ever. The show adds no value to FX. The guy is not funny, and his "biased" is so, we'll 2003 Expand
  6. Sep 18, 2012
    0
    It appears as though Mr. Bell is TRYING to be funny, but the material is just terrible. I watched for about 10 minutes until I couldn't take it anymore and had to change the channel. Lolasaurus' post was right on about even weed couldn't make it funny....I know from first hand experience. Expand
  7. Oct 2, 2013
    0
    Well, what to say that hasn't already been said...Not in the least bit funny, the TV was left on and I randomly watched this show. It took about two segments before i changed the channel, honestly felt like I was at an open mic night at the local comedy club with first timers... Expand