Touch : Season 1

  • Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 25, 2012
Season #: 1, 2
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 23, 2012
    50
    Touch has its "We Are the World" heart in the right place. But like another song says, we don't need another "Heroes."
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 24, 2012
    50
    Touch feels like yet another series--last week it was Alcatraz--that seemed like a better idea for a one-shot movie than a weekly TV series.
  3. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jan 24, 2012
    60
    Nothing about these connections feels particularly earned and many of the twists and turns of the pilot feel contrived and obvious, especially toward the end.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jan 24, 2012
    50
    It's not clear from one episode whether the show's warm and fuzzy message can successfully counterbalance implausibility.
  5. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 24, 2012
    58
    Its spirit is willing, but the construction has foundation problems.
  6. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jan 25, 2012
    40
    For all its numbers wizardry, the overmanipulative Touch doesn't yet add up.
  7. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jan 24, 2012
    40
    Ironically, given a show that so clearly wants to touch its audience--from that weighty one-word title on down--we have met, apart from Martin, hardly a single character who incorporates more than the hint of an actual person.
  8. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Mar 22, 2012
    50
    In some parts, Touch is pleasantly moving and even tightly woven, until it becomes too blunt in its purposeful yanking of heartstrings.
  9. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jan 25, 2012
    50
    It still remains to be seen what it looks like as a series; with some stronger writing and deeper character work, it could build on its math-superpower idea to make something intriguing and emotional.
  10. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jan 24, 2012
    60
    The 11-year-old boy at the center of the story has never spoken and is also the show's narrator. It's a perfectly acceptable device, if not a particularly interesting one in this case.
  11. 50
    What's on the screen is a likable but dumb TV version of what the film scholar David Bordwell calls a "network narrative."
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 89 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 26
  2. Negative: 7 out of 26
  1. Apr 6, 2012
    4
    Jake! Jake! Jake! Jake! Jeez, if I hear "Jake!" one more time, I'm going to go mad. I've even caught myself counting the number of times theJake! Jake! Jake! Jake! Jeez, if I hear "Jake!" one more time, I'm going to go mad. I've even caught myself counting the number of times the Sutherland character utters it, a very bad sign. Can't the writers come up with something less repetitive and maybe a few synonyms for "wait!" as well? And what about his autistic son's intolerance for physical touch? Yeah, I realize that's tied in to the theme of the series, but are we ever going to get beyond the threat of his going ballistic whenever it happens? Again, writers please come up with some alternatives to this gutteral screaming scenario, will you, puhleeeze? Full Review »
  2. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    From what I have seen so far , this is utterly brilliant.The story is intelligent and engaging.One of the best things I have watched in a longFrom what I have seen so far , this is utterly brilliant.The story is intelligent and engaging.One of the best things I have watched in a long time.How the story links together is good and the acting is pretty good. Full Review »
  3. Mar 25, 2012
    8
    This is a brilliant show. The way everything comes together at the end of the "first" episode is amazing. The acting could use a boost, its aThis is a brilliant show. The way everything comes together at the end of the "first" episode is amazing. The acting could use a boost, its a bit sub-par, but man is Jake an absolute genius. The way everything comes together, and all of the storylines clash is just like the movie Crash. Its absolutely brilliant. This show really shows us that anything is possible. This show definitely makes me look forward to thursdays. 8.5/10 Full Review »