• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 22, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Touch Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Season two finds Martin and his son Jake in Los Angeles as they meet new allies.
  • Genre(s): Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Feb 7, 2013
    83
    You have plain old smashmouth elemental TV story devices--good guys, bad guys, evil corporations, a family unit, and a headlong rush toward the Truth, whatever that may be. Plus this special bonus: Intimations of Jack Bauer.
  2. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Feb 7, 2013
    70
    The intricacies may make it harder for new viewers to crack the show without doing some catch-up watching, but they also make it far more absorbing.
  3. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Feb 1, 2013
    67
    Touch could add up to something if it balanced its own crazy equation. [8 Feb 2013, p.71]
  4. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Feb 7, 2013
    50
    Sutherland's very moving as a father fighting to hold on to a son who was slipping away from him even before the authorities came calling, but the show still feels at times like a mashup of "24" and "Touched by an Angel."
  5. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Feb 7, 2013
    40
    The show still has some interesting things happening, and there are worse things on TV than a fast-paced action drama. But making it into “Son of 24” doesn’t feel like the right touch.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Feb 8, 2013
    40
    Now comes this unnecessary makeover, starting with Friday's two-hour premiere, which transforms Touch into a tiresomely ordinary chase/conspiracy non-thriller.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. Feb 10, 2013
    10
    Beautiful, just be beautiful. No show on TV matches the awe and amazement that Touch brings every single episode. I give it five stars for it's amazing story and plot, which is unrivaled, even by The Walking Dead. Collapse
  2. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    I think Touch is an amazing tv show. It is unique, well crafted and gripping and I here never been more hooked into anything. I will be very disappointed if it doesn't get renewed without giving it a chance. Too many decent tv shows have been cancelled and this one shouldn't be because it is amazing. Expand
  3. Feb 13, 2013
    8
    I really hope this program makes it to another season. It has everything I want from a show, which is mainly an interesting concept. I am so tired of all the same old recycled shows being produced. The acting is superb and I truly buy into the whole plot. Some people might find it a slow burner but I think if you gave it a chance you will become absorbed. Expand
  4. Apr 27, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What a wild concept, Southland plays an awesome father; who helps the son connect the dots.
    Keeps you on your toes because nothing is for certain.
    My only complaint I have for this show is that they killed off the mother of the daughter. Before they rekindle there relationship.
    Expand
  5. Feb 26, 2013
    3
    Touch, Season 2 A group of people with extraordinary abilities gradually become aware of each others' existence whilst being pursued by a serial killer and hindered by a powerful organization with shady motives. Instead of talking to each other the 'plot' is propelled by the protagonists throwing the idiot ball up in the air which is then caught firmly by somebody else who they have 'coincidentally' brushed against.

    Heroes, Season 1 As above.

    Tim Kring needs some help.
    Expand
  6. May 15, 2013
    2
    Touch was one of those shows that gripped me with the pilot. It gave a sense of amazement and wonder about the connections we have to other people. The smallest things we do can have huge consequences, dire or beautiful.

    The first season was tremendously powerful as we see the cause and effects of what brings people together and makes them human.

    I'm not sure what they thought the show is, or what it should be, but let me tell you, the Second Season is nothing short of a steaming pile of turd. It figuratively undoes what the First Season started. Not only do you not give a single fancy to any of the characters, you could actually care less about what any of them do. The characters some how seem to have LOST character, including Martin and Jake.

    The Second Season was rushed and overall, it killed what otherwise was a pretty fascinating show.
    Expand
  7. Mar 10, 2013
    0
    I'm with Matt Roush (TV Guide). The original concept was truly amazing, inspiring, and moving. The show has been remade (definitely NOT transformed) into the same old same old and I'm no longer engaged. Good guys, bad guys... how sadly boring. I wouldn't bother writing a review about any other show. This one used to matter. Now it doesn't. Expand

Related Articles

  1. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: April 12, 2012
    With one month left before the networks announce their fall schedules, we look at which TV shows have already been renewed or canceled, and which remain on the bubble.