• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 25, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 84 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 84
  2. Negative: 12 out of 84

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 8, 2013
    3
    This show tries to be sentimental and tear-jerking and fails miserably. I am personally familiar with autism as a disorder and the way the show portrays it is both unrealistic and mildly insulting. Sutherland is over the top with his performance, but not in a good way. There are many better shows for me to continue wasting my time on this series.
  2. Oct 2, 2012
    3
    A bit melodramatic for my tastes.

    Also, the shows intro has Jake narrating how it's his job to keep track of the "numbers" and connect people who need to be connected. I felt part of the intro was awkward as there is no reason (clear or implied) why Jake decided its his job to make these connections for people. My first impressions are the show is a mix of pseudo-science, high school
    A bit melodramatic for my tastes.

    Also, the shows intro has Jake narrating how it's his job to keep track of the "numbers" and connect people who need to be connected. I felt part of the intro was awkward as there is no reason (clear or implied) why Jake decided its his job to make these connections for people. My first impressions are the show is a mix of pseudo-science, high school geometry, and the new age spirituality movement.

    Anybody who enjoys the show Fringe will probably enjoy Touch as they both have the same feel / vibe to me.
    Expand
  3. Jul 1, 2012
    1
    The events in every week of this show are so incredulous that you cant help but "switch off" to having any reaction to the suspense it tries to instill. Every week the father races against time and ridiculously improbable sets of events ... and he always gets there in the nick of time ... it always ends of some sappy note which is so sugary that i feel like throwing up.
  4. Apr 13, 2012
    2
    interesting premise but doesn't follow through. Terrible pseudoscience shoved down the viewers throats. Terrible actiing especially with Kiefer Sutherland being like a TV Nick Cage.
  5. Apr 6, 2012
    2
    I cannot feel for these characters...when Jake was dangling from the tower I did not care if he fell or not. The father is a little over the top with high anxiety. I will give this show one more try. There is just too much good tv out there to waste my time on this show
  6. Apr 6, 2012
    4
    Jake! Jake! Jake! Jake! Jeez, if I hear "Jake!" one more time, I'm going to go mad. I've even caught myself counting the number of times the Sutherland character utters it, a very bad sign. Can't the writers come up with something less repetitive and maybe a few synonyms for "wait!" as well? And what about his autistic son's intolerance for physical touch? Yeah, I realize that's tied in toJake! Jake! Jake! Jake! Jeez, if I hear "Jake!" one more time, I'm going to go mad. I've even caught myself counting the number of times the Sutherland character utters it, a very bad sign. Can't the writers come up with something less repetitive and maybe a few synonyms for "wait!" as well? And what about his autistic son's intolerance for physical touch? Yeah, I realize that's tied in to the theme of the series, but are we ever going to get beyond the threat of his going ballistic whenever it happens? Again, writers please come up with some alternatives to this gutteral screaming scenario, will you, puhleeeze? Expand
  7. Mar 31, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My mom had this on when I was visiting a week or so ago, and unwittingly ended up watching it. It is basically different stories that have happy endings because a silent autistic boy runs around and his father tries to follow him and figure out what his son wants him to do. I saw the ridiculous amount of commercials beforehand, and thought it would be an interesting concept, but the actual product was horrible. None of the stories were interesting or thought provoking, they are just overly sentimental. Like a child who gets upset that his father is a gangster, and at the request of his son the gangster stops hurting people. The connections between the stories are loose at best, and the story does nothing to really draw you in. It was like lassie, if lassie was an autistic boy, and instead of saving Tommy's life he runs around and gets his dad to do things like move baseball bats, and call phone numbers. It would maybe be more interesting if they went more in depth with why the boy has this ability. But honestly, even if I do this I would have no interest in watching it. Very disappointing. Expand
  8. Mar 27, 2012
    3
    I found it difficult to take seriously, right from the intro where the kid claims "most people don't realize there's a pattern in plants and seashells". Really? Well most people clearly are idiots, then. There doesn't seem to be any direct connection between the plot points other than the fact they're tied together by Jake's powers, so if (like me) you like it when things actually makeI found it difficult to take seriously, right from the intro where the kid claims "most people don't realize there's a pattern in plants and seashells". Really? Well most people clearly are idiots, then. There doesn't seem to be any direct connection between the plot points other than the fact they're tied together by Jake's powers, so if (like me) you like it when things actually make sense and get resolved - you might be disappointed. Other negative points for me were the obligatory 911 reference, and the poor European acting (so people living in Dublin refer to their city as "Dublin, Ireland" do they?). I didn't even finish watching the first episode, which either disqualifies me from reviewing it, or forms the lynch-pin of my review. You decide! Expand
  9. Mar 26, 2012
    4
    This show is a high-tech Mr. Magoo. It's ridicolous. I love science fiction and difficult or mind-stretching idead. Thirteenth Floor, Matrix, Dark City. All of which had original and mind-blowing concepts
    This is just a show that correlates a bunch of random actions into a story.
    There is a BIG DIFFERENCE. And people who are calling this a brilliant show, are either youg, don't
    This show is a high-tech Mr. Magoo. It's ridicolous. I love science fiction and difficult or mind-stretching idead. Thirteenth Floor, Matrix, Dark City. All of which had original and mind-blowing concepts
    This is just a show that correlates a bunch of random actions into a story.
    There is a BIG DIFFERENCE. And people who are calling this a brilliant show, are either youg, don't watch a lot of science-fiction or not very smart. WIth all that said, it is still entertaining, and not a horrible, boring can't stand to watch it show. It's just 'meh'.
    Expand
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Mar 22, 2012
    63
    Unfortunately, [Sutherland's] disciplined performance is done in by an undisciplined show that moves too slowly to put limits on Jake's powers.
  2. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Mar 22, 2012
    50
    In some parts, Touch is pleasantly moving and even tightly woven, until it becomes too blunt in its purposeful yanking of heartstrings.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Mar 16, 2012
    75
    The one great redemptive asset--and it's significant--is Kiefer Sutherland. [26 Mar 2012, p.41]