• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 25, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Touch Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 83 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Maria Bello, Kiefer Sutherland, Greg Ellis
  • Summary: Kiefer Sutherland is Martin Bohm, a single father who discovers his mute son can see things nobody else can see.
  • Genre(s): Science Fiction
  • Creator: Tim Kring
  • Show Type: Ended
  • Season 1 premiere date: Jan 25, 2012
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 09:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jan 24, 2012
    91
    A bit melodramatic, a bit manipulative, Touch is still one of the best pilots of the 2011-12 season to date.
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jan 20, 2012
    75
    There's heavy-handed imagery, and the show will rise or fall depending on the different weekly encounters with Jake. [27 Jan 2012, p.68]
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Mar 16, 2012
    75
    The one great redemptive asset--and it's significant--is Kiefer Sutherland. [26 Mar 2012, p.41]
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jan 24, 2012
    67
    It's an interesting, emotionally manipulative but still effective hour of television.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jan 24, 2012
    60
    The 11-year-old boy at the center of the story has never spoken and is also the show's narrator. It's a perfectly acceptable device, if not a particularly interesting one in this case.
  6. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Mar 22, 2012
    50
    In some parts, Touch is pleasantly moving and even tightly woven, until it becomes too blunt in its purposeful yanking of heartstrings.
  7. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jan 24, 2012
    40
    Ironically, given a show that so clearly wants to touch its audience--from that weighty one-word title on down--we have met, apart from Martin, hardly a single character who incorporates more than the hint of an actual person.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 25
  2. Negative: 7 out of 25
  1. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    A very good programme based around something quite interesting. One of the main actors is one of my favourite actors Kiether Sutherland seenA very good programme based around something quite interesting. One of the main actors is one of my favourite actors Kiether Sutherland seen as he was in 24. Expand
  2. May 28, 2012
    10
    I am surprised at these scores! Thankfully, this series has been renewed. I love this show.. I love the originality and the mystery... keepsI am surprised at these scores! Thankfully, this series has been renewed. I love this show.. I love the originality and the mystery... keeps me coming back every week. This show deserves a TEN, Expand
  3. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    So far from what i have seen so far is an excellent mind bending masterpiece, if the rest of the show resembles the first three episodes thenSo far from what i have seen so far is an excellent mind bending masterpiece, if the rest of the show resembles the first three episodes then i would say this story has the potential to be the best show i have ever seen, and i watch alot of shows. Expand
  4. Mar 29, 2012
    7
    No one listen to ajlondon he's just butthurt about knowing that this is better than 24. But seriously it's worth a watch even if you justNo one listen to ajlondon he's just butthurt about knowing that this is better than 24. But seriously it's worth a watch even if you just watch it as a time passer every week it's still worth a watch. Expand
  5. May 3, 2012
    5
    JAKE!!!!!! JAKE!!!!!!!! JAKE!!!!!!! Show is okay, but I can't take Kiefer's character screaming for his son that we all know will notJAKE!!!!!! JAKE!!!!!!!! JAKE!!!!!!! Show is okay, but I can't take Kiefer's character screaming for his son that we all know will not respond in any way. It is crazy, but this is my main reason for not wanting to watch it anymore. Expand
  6. Mar 27, 2012
    3
    I found it difficult to take seriously, right from the intro where the kid claims "most people don't realize there's a pattern in plants andI found it difficult to take seriously, right from the intro where the kid claims "most people don't realize there's a pattern in plants and seashells". Really? Well most people clearly are idiots, then. There doesn't seem to be any direct connection between the plot points other than the fact they're tied together by Jake's powers, so if (like me) you like it when things actually make sense and get resolved - you might be disappointed. Other negative points for me were the obligatory 911 reference, and the poor European acting (so people living in Dublin refer to their city as "Dublin, Ireland" do they?). I didn't even finish watching the first episode, which either disqualifies me from reviewing it, or forms the lynch-pin of my review. You decide! Expand
  7. Mar 31, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My mom had this on when I was visiting a week or so ago, and unwittingly ended up watching it. It is basically different stories that have happy endings because a silent autistic boy runs around and his father tries to follow him and figure out what his son wants him to do. I saw the ridiculous amount of commercials beforehand, and thought it would be an interesting concept, but the actual product was horrible. None of the stories were interesting or thought provoking, they are just overly sentimental. Like a child who gets upset that his father is a gangster, and at the request of his son the gangster stops hurting people. The connections between the stories are loose at best, and the story does nothing to really draw you in. It was like lassie, if lassie was an autistic boy, and instead of saving Tommy's life he runs around and gets his dad to do things like move baseball bats, and call phone numbers. It would maybe be more interesting if they went more in depth with why the boy has this ability. But honestly, even if I do this I would have no interest in watching it. Very disappointing. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: April 12, 2012
    With one month left before the networks announce their fall schedules, we look at which TV shows have already been renewed or canceled, and which remain on the bubble.