• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 25, 2012
Season #: 1, 2
Touch Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 96 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Touch
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jan 24, 2012
    91
    A bit melodramatic, a bit manipulative, Touch is still one of the best pilots of the 2011-12 season to date.
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jan 20, 2012
    75
    There's heavy-handed imagery, and the show will rise or fall depending on the different weekly encounters with Jake. [27 Jan 2012, p.68]
  3. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Mar 16, 2012
    75
    The one great redemptive asset--and it's significant--is Kiefer Sutherland. [26 Mar 2012, p.41]
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jan 24, 2012
    67
    It's an interesting, emotionally manipulative but still effective hour of television.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jan 24, 2012
    60
    The 11-year-old boy at the center of the story has never spoken and is also the show's narrator. It's a perfectly acceptable device, if not a particularly interesting one in this case.
  6. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Mar 22, 2012
    50
    In some parts, Touch is pleasantly moving and even tightly woven, until it becomes too blunt in its purposeful yanking of heartstrings.
  7. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jan 24, 2012
    40
    Ironically, given a show that so clearly wants to touch its audience--from that weighty one-word title on down--we have met, apart from Martin, hardly a single character who incorporates more than the hint of an actual person.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 27
  2. Negative: 8 out of 27
  1. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    A very good programme based around something quite interesting. One of the main actors is one of my favourite actors Kiether Sutherland seenA very good programme based around something quite interesting. One of the main actors is one of my favourite actors Kiether Sutherland seen as he was in 24. Expand
  2. May 28, 2012
    10
    I am surprised at these scores! Thankfully, this series has been renewed. I love this show.. I love the originality and the mystery... keepsI am surprised at these scores! Thankfully, this series has been renewed. I love this show.. I love the originality and the mystery... keeps me coming back every week. This show deserves a TEN, Expand
  3. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    So far from what i have seen so far is an excellent mind bending masterpiece, if the rest of the show resembles the first three episodes thenSo far from what i have seen so far is an excellent mind bending masterpiece, if the rest of the show resembles the first three episodes then i would say this story has the potential to be the best show i have ever seen, and i watch alot of shows. Expand
  4. Mar 23, 2012
    6
    The main point of view of the show is definitely amazing but it should have been more thrilling and fast . Touch is maybe the most "BrilliantThe main point of view of the show is definitely amazing but it should have been more thrilling and fast . Touch is maybe the most "Brilliant Boring" show i have ever seen . I think its too childish and slow to enjoy every minute . Tim's Heroes was amazing but this wont be like that ! Expand
  5. Apr 6, 2012
    4
    Jake! Jake! Jake! Jake! Jeez, if I hear "Jake!" one more time, I'm going to go mad. I've even caught myself counting the number of times theJake! Jake! Jake! Jake! Jeez, if I hear "Jake!" one more time, I'm going to go mad. I've even caught myself counting the number of times the Sutherland character utters it, a very bad sign. Can't the writers come up with something less repetitive and maybe a few synonyms for "wait!" as well? And what about his autistic son's intolerance for physical touch? Yeah, I realize that's tied in to the theme of the series, but are we ever going to get beyond the threat of his going ballistic whenever it happens? Again, writers please come up with some alternatives to this gutteral screaming scenario, will you, puhleeeze? Expand
  6. Jan 8, 2013
    3
    This show tries to be sentimental and tear-jerking and fails miserably. I am personally familiar with autism as a disorder and the way theThis show tries to be sentimental and tear-jerking and fails miserably. I am personally familiar with autism as a disorder and the way the show portrays it is both unrealistic and mildly insulting. Sutherland is over the top with his performance, but not in a good way. There are many better shows for me to continue wasting my time on this series. Expand
  7. Sep 20, 2016
    0
    Writers throwing together a lot of scientific and technical jargon that they clearly don't understand and mixing it with new age psychobabbleWriters throwing together a lot of scientific and technical jargon that they clearly don't understand and mixing it with new age psychobabble - then wrapping all of that around a plot riddled with holes and inconsistencies. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: April 12, 2012
    With one month left before the networks announce their fall schedules, we look at which TV shows have already been renewed or canceled, and which remain on the bubble.