• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 16, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Toy Story of Terror Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 56 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Buzz, Woody and the other toys must locate a lost toy at a motel during a trip with their new owner, Bonnie.
  • Genre(s): Animation, Movie/Mini-Series, Kids
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 16, 2013
    90
    ABC's Toy Story of Terror! is a delightful half-hour vignette of gags, action and self-empowerment, couching its never-give-up message in terrific non-stop entertainment.
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 14, 2013
    80
    Toy Story of Terror! is about a quarter the length of the average animated feature, but everything else here could easily be mistaken for the bigscreen version, from the pacing and humor to Michael Giacchino’s score.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 15, 2013
    80
    It’s a small adventure befitting the 30-minute running time but it’s also clever in the way it ultimately puts the “Toy Story” characters in a recognizable situation, which is similar to the big-screen movies.
  4. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Oct 15, 2013
    80
    Once the annual avalanche of Halloween-themed episodes, specials and movies overtakes TV, you probably don't expect to be using the word "charming" very often. But charming perfectly describes one such entry, Toy Story of Terror!
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Oct 16, 2013
    80
    It’s a fun, holiday diversion that gives Pixar fans characters they miss, probably even more so given the films that followed their final adventure.
  6. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Oct 15, 2013
    75
    The Toy Story franchise has always operated best with a note of existential panic, and there’s some of that here, but it feels like the special leans awfully hard on the films that gave rise to it.
  7. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Oct 16, 2013
    70
    Themes from earlier Toy Story movies are also recycled, which should bother no one. Although Woody and Buzz get their screen time--with Jessie, they are the "Jules et Jim" of computer-animated cartoons about sentient playthings--it is the plucky cowgirl, facing her fears, whose story this is.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    Toy Story of Terror is great, it reunites everything you learned from the first three Toy Stories, team work, friendship, plans, it has real soul. The animation is riveting and the overall the TV Special thing is an unexpected surprise. Although it is twenty minutes long, it is so entertaining, lovely and really funny. Toy Story of Terror proves that Disney Pixar still knows how to deliver the best for the families. Absolutely loved it. Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    Excellent video. just the style of Pixar studios: enjoyable, funny and entertaining.
    Gathers the essence of the movies.When I saw this short
    film, I want to see the movies again.
    I'm anxious awaiting more material from Pixar studios.
    Expand
  3. Nov 27, 2013
    9
    When this starts out exactly Identity. Or if you are older 10 Little Indians. The animation is spot on. The plot is good and keeps you interested and engaged. The kids will love it the only two problems I saw was it was too short and will only come on for Halloween. Otherwise it is a complete winner. Expand
  4. Nov 15, 2013
    8
    Toy Story of Terror might recycled some of its ingenuity from its previous predecessors, it is still fun and enjoyable for PIxar's first Halloween animated TV special.

    The TV special includes our complete characters including Woody, Jessie, and Buzz Lightyear resembling as a follow up to the Toy Story franchise. It has compact strong emotions, new characters, and gags to make you well comfy enough for family entertainment.

    I also like about the film where Jessie introduced her fear which was last seen from Toy Story 2 and managed to overcome it with the help of a new character, Combat Carl and not to mentioned the clever Mr. Pricklepants who predicts the following arrangement of the film itself including the credits role.

    Aside from the elements. Toy Story is an elegant film and has brought it the tasty substance which was the reason why it's predecessors where critically acclaimed films. It also boosts it's talented voices from Woody and Jessie.

    Rating: 8 10
    Expand
  5. Oct 17, 2013
    8
    Love the story plot, lots of references in the special. Even if it's twenty minutes long, it still had a story from beginning, to end, and some scary moments too. Looks like Pixar still knows what Toy Story is all about. I'm rating this a 8.9, or a B+ Expand
  6. Jan 16, 2014
    8
    Toy Story of Terror is a spin-off TV special, made for Halloween, that takes all the negatives normally related to TV spin-offs and shows what can truly be done. The animation and story is right up there with the standards set by the Toy Story series. It has a positive message and lot of cute character moments that kept me smiling the whole way through. Full of charm and perfect for the season I know I'll be making this an annual Halloween watch! Expand
  7. Oct 29, 2013
    4
    I thought Toy Story 3 was the end of the Toy Story franchise! Of course not. Now, they've regressed to being the replacement for charming and original short films at the beginning of Pixar films, and their lovableness is gone, replaced by bad jokes and lame new characters. Disney ruined my childhood. Collapse

See all 10 User Reviews