Traveler : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: May 10, 2007
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 119

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. RichardSurface
    Jul 12, 2007
    10
    Absolutely gripping!
  2. MattJ.
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    Great tv show. Wish it were on again.
  3. StuartD.
    Jun 20, 2007
    8
    Lively, action-opacked and falls just the right side of ludicrously implausibly plotted.
  4. jeffw
    Jun 5, 2007
    0
    This show is terrible. The characters have been idiots from the start of this predictable and very unbelievable plot against them by unknown forces of evil. How unimaginative can the creators of these shows be? Does anyone writing for tv have an original idea anymore?
  5. Landon
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    Great show... definitely a summer hit.
  6. RyanD
    Jun 7, 2007
    10
    The best show i think i have ever seen. i do not really watch that many shows because i often forget to watch but it is so captivating. it intices much coversation about america and corruption
  7. TonyL
    Jun 9, 2007
    4
    The pilot, was intriguing, the second episode seemd kind of boring and predictable, but the third episode was absolutely horrible. I mean in the beginning you think you should give the scriptwriters a chance to draw you the picture, the setting. But when in return you get a scrupt that bases its existence on a lousy (sub)story about some photos that get stolen the moment they are The pilot, was intriguing, the second episode seemd kind of boring and predictable, but the third episode was absolutely horrible. I mean in the beginning you think you should give the scriptwriters a chance to draw you the picture, the setting. But when in return you get a scrupt that bases its existence on a lousy (sub)story about some photos that get stolen the moment they are developed (...) then you know that there is something very wrong with this. Expand
  8. GaryS
    Jul 19, 2007
    10
    One of the best shows I have ever watched. I look forward to watching it every week.
  9. KBall
    May 12, 2007
    1
    I have just a few words to describe this show--boring, unoriginal, and lacking in depth.
  10. RS
    May 10, 2007
    8
    Very good show - the action and drama were great!
  11. JasonD
    May 12, 2007
    1
    I was bored at work and thought watching this on the ABC website would help me pass the time... wrong! It was boring and unoriginal and the characters were dull and predictable. Foolish, immature frat boys using poor judgment that gets them into really big trouble? Boy, we haven't seen that before... But the problem is, it doesn't fit in this show. It is like taking the cast of I was bored at work and thought watching this on the ABC website would help me pass the time... wrong! It was boring and unoriginal and the characters were dull and predictable. Foolish, immature frat boys using poor judgment that gets them into really big trouble? Boy, we haven't seen that before... But the problem is, it doesn't fit in this show. It is like taking the cast of Road Trip and trying to put them in a serious drama. In a comedy you are meant to laugh at their immaturity and their idiocy--in a "fugitives from justice" TV show, it just makes them unlikable and stupid. After about fifteen minutes I started thinking, man, maybe I should get back to work, that might actually be more interesting and engaging than this show... Expand
  12. veeb
    May 18, 2007
    2
    I found NO reason to care about these boys. Not compelling.
  13. M.Pomerleau
    May 31, 2007
    10
    Kind of crazy, but held my attention. Lots of twists and turns. Good cast. Great TV thriller.
  14. rustys
    May 30, 2007
    8
    Very good premise. I like the way the writers are trying to expose a real American problem with dangerous secret societies. The Yale (New Haven CT) is a very good plot establishing location for that problem. Try to remember what Sen. Inouye (D-HW) said about such things during the 1980's Iran Contra hearings... This show is just the tip of the iceberg in exposeé style Very good premise. I like the way the writers are trying to expose a real American problem with dangerous secret societies. The Yale (New Haven CT) is a very good plot establishing location for that problem. Try to remember what Sen. Inouye (D-HW) said about such things during the 1980's Iran Contra hearings... This show is just the tip of the iceberg in exposeé style "fictional" screenplay... Expand
  15. EdA.
    Jun 1, 2007
    10
    Great Show.
  16. Gregg
    Jun 28, 2007
    10
    It is the only show, other than the Daily Show with Jon Stewart, that I make plans to watch during the week. The conspiracy theories, the scenes, the acting: everything works for me. I have seen four episodes and still have not idea "who done it". I find all three main characters compelling. Yeah, the two are a bit dense when it comes to fleeing the FBI. Who wouldn't be?!! My only It is the only show, other than the Daily Show with Jon Stewart, that I make plans to watch during the week. The conspiracy theories, the scenes, the acting: everything works for me. I have seen four episodes and still have not idea "who done it". I find all three main characters compelling. Yeah, the two are a bit dense when it comes to fleeing the FBI. Who wouldn't be?!! My only fear, after last night's episode, is that it will morph into an alien plot. There is enough paranoia in the country with Bush/Cheney in charge, that the show doesn't need to add the deus ex machina plot device of evil aliens. Expand
  17. DanielA
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    This show, to me, is the next 24. It seems to have all of the intensity, as well as a good plot (judging from the first two shows. I look forward to the rest of the season.
  18. ChristineK
    Jun 7, 2007
    10
    High energy drama. Off the charts!
  19. lynnl
    Jun 8, 2007
    9
    awesome....suspenseful
  20. KristiC
    Jun 9, 2007
    10
    I LOVE this show. It contains elements from "The Fugitive," but yet is nothing like a copycat of it. The circumstances are very different. I came across this show by accident. I was getting ready to turn the channel because I wasn't really in the mood for a drama, but this one caught my attention within the first few minutes and I haven't missed an episode since. Each episode I LOVE this show. It contains elements from "The Fugitive," but yet is nothing like a copycat of it. The circumstances are very different. I came across this show by accident. I was getting ready to turn the channel because I wasn't really in the mood for a drama, but this one caught my attention within the first few minutes and I haven't missed an episode since. Each episode gets better and better with more twists and turns and unexpected new evidence. This is definitely a must-see show! Expand
  21. NicholeT
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    The best series I've seen in a long time. The only show I watched religiously this summer. We've got to keep the series alive!!!
  22. JoeB.
    Jul 18, 2007
    3
    Technically speaking, the show was very professional. ON the creative end, however, it fell flat. Neat premise -- just wholly unbelievable. Cool setup -- but so was "The Fugitive", which it resembles... badly. It tries so desperately to be clever and hip and as conspiracy-driven as, well, every other action show on tv that it forgot a few things, like sympathetic characters and Technically speaking, the show was very professional. ON the creative end, however, it fell flat. Neat premise -- just wholly unbelievable. Cool setup -- but so was "The Fugitive", which it resembles... badly. It tries so desperately to be clever and hip and as conspiracy-driven as, well, every other action show on tv that it forgot a few things, like sympathetic characters and semi-believable events. Expand
  23. JQQ
    Jul 19, 2007
    10
    Great show!!! Great hanging finale! I just wish they would make this a fall show.
  24. MelissaG.
    Jul 21, 2007
    10
    This show is Awesome!!! Best show on tv!!
  25. akirayeahright
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    best show since 24
  26. EdA.
    Sep 22, 2007
    10
    Great Show.
  27. SilkeP.
    Sep 5, 2007
    10
    Best show on TV!!!!!!
  28. [Anonymous]
    May 11, 2007
    10
    I liked it! I need something to replace Grey's since I hate it recently.
  29. MichaelR
    May 14, 2007
    10
    excellent action, suspense, and drama
  30. EdA.
    May 14, 2007
    9
    Great Show.
  31. Allyson
    May 18, 2007
    10
    Traveler had a wonderful pilot episode and I'm greatly looking forward to watch how this season plays out!
  32. RheaA
    May 20, 2007
    9
    I liked it very much and am anxious for the next episode.
  33. NicholasP
    May 31, 2007
    10
    Great action. Great plot.
  34. TiffanyR.
    May 31, 2007
    9
    I hadn't really planned on watching this show, but after my nephew told me that he thought it was "pretty good", I thought I'd give it a look-see. I really like the action and suspense and can't wait to see where all of the twists and turns lead us. It's absolutely captivating!
  35. GwennieE
    May 30, 2007
    9
    Edge of the seat "who-do-you-trust?" Farcical, farfetched and far better than other summer choices..Good fun !!.
  36. MarianaA.
    Jun 12, 2007
    10
    SIMPLELY...FABULOUS
  37. CalebJ
    Jun 15, 2007
    10
    Amazing story. It is fresh, and new, and the anxiety from watching it as you sit on the edge of your seat waiting for your heroes to find a way to free themselves from a conspiracy is riveting. I would love more character development, not just character history, but just eccentricities that give them more spark. Nevertheless, an amazing show
  38. Johnf.
    Jun 15, 2007
    10
    I am a child of "The Fugitive" TV show and loved it. This is perhaps the only show (Alias notwithstanding) that makes me long for the days of Dr. Richard Kimble. Great show! No doubt it will get cancelled in favor of some absurd reality show.
  39. IsabellaM.
    Jun 18, 2007
    10
    I think this show is one of the best on ABC. It not only is exciting, but unpredictable. Keeps me on my toes and I look forward to each new coming epsiode.
  40. JasmineP.
    Jun 20, 2007
    10
    I stumbled upon this show by complete accident and i'm glad I did. This is by far the BEST SHOW EVER!!! I wait all week to see what will happen next. My husband and I are on the edge of our seats the entire hour. Each episode gets better and better and there is never a dull moment. I LOVE IT!!!
  41. SamN.
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    So happy this is on the air this summer otherwise I would have nothing to watch on tv. I love the show, the characters, and the story lines. The casting of Jay and Tyler is Perfect! I wish there were more shows like this on tv. plotline is Believable! and this is nothing like 24 or Prisonbrake ---thank goodness
  42. RossL.
    Jun 27, 2007
    10
    Show is amazing, it's the first show I can remember in a long time that makes me hate the time in between, worth watching for sure. Best show on TV right now in my mind.
  43. jamesT.
    Jul 12, 2007
    10
    Much better than Lost or even Heroes. excellent show
  44. RachelA.
    Jul 12, 2007
    10
    This is a great show! Its the onlyl show I watch during the summer. The actors are great and the plot is nothing like i've seen before. Will the show start up again in the Fall?? I hope so!
  45. JohnF.
    Jul 12, 2007
    10
    Best new show on television this year!
  46. Carlos
    Jul 17, 2007
    10
    The critics above are wrong, this show is great -- fast paced, entertaining, and with two very sympathetic (if sometimes dense) main characters. The plot twists are fantastic an dthe action is great. It is a travesty that ABC finally gets another show that is good (I love Grey's, though it is on the decline as of late) and then CANCELS it. This should be renamed travesty, because The critics above are wrong, this show is great -- fast paced, entertaining, and with two very sympathetic (if sometimes dense) main characters. The plot twists are fantastic an dthe action is great. It is a travesty that ABC finally gets another show that is good (I love Grey's, though it is on the decline as of late) and then CANCELS it. This should be renamed travesty, because that is what is happening to this very good show. Expand
  47. NicoleD
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    One of the most exciting shows on tv! Well written, gripping, and not a reality show for once! A show with depth, imagine that!
  48. EM
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    This is my all-time favorite show. I have never been so interested in any plot line. I am anticipating another season. Yeah! I love Traveler!
  49. NicoleM
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    I'm addicted! Season finale was great! I can not wait till season 2!
  50. SandraC
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    Great show Hope to see this for years to come ts more shows like this
  51. SandraE
    Jul 19, 2007
    9
    I thought this show was as entertaining as "24" if not more so and more realistic, I hope it will continue this fall.
  52. JennyB
    Jul 19, 2007
    10
    Loved it!!
  53. BreeS
    Jul 24, 2007
    10
    my new favorite show!!
  54. LB
    Jul 25, 2007
    10
    The best show ABC has had in years!
  55. Ally
    Jul 26, 2007
    10
    Great show! My favorite this year!
  56. SilkeP.
    Jul 26, 2007
    10
    Best show on TV!!!!!!
  57. lilianw.
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    I love this show , its the only show that i look forward to
  58. JewelM.
    Aug 13, 2007
    10
    Great show. Has lots of action!!!
  59. KayaV.
    Aug 6, 2007
    10
    This is the only intelligent show on summer television! I can't understand why ABC wouldn't back such a great show as 'Traveler', but they have no problem backing such a lame idea as 'Cavemen'!
  60. HaleyR.
    Sep 2, 2007
    10
    You have to either loathe or absolutely adore this show. I chose the latter.
  61. RajuC.
    Apr 10, 2008
    10
    Great show. Public like it but critics don's. How surprising!
  62. Brenda
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    Love the show! The end of last season is a great start for season 2!!!! Hope ABC has enough common sense to bring it back for a second season.
  63. HeidiS
    May 11, 2007
    10
    This is the first show on TV in a very long time through which I've actually sat through the commercials and finished watching. Right from the get-go I liked the characters and the direction in which the story was headed. This show may have gotten some poor reviews, but I loved it I will actually set aside some time to watch it next week (something I never do because much of This is the first show on TV in a very long time through which I've actually sat through the commercials and finished watching. Right from the get-go I liked the characters and the direction in which the story was headed. This show may have gotten some poor reviews, but I loved it I will actually set aside some time to watch it next week (something I never do because much of primetime is a waste of my time). Thanks ABC. Expand
  64. jimc
    May 11, 2007
    10
    I loved it! Great story idea and good characters. I'm looking forward to the next show to see what happens.
  65. MarkC.
    May 11, 2007
    10
    I thought october road was going to come on , and then I was like oh damn another one of those bore NY cop shows where you know whats gonna hapen next....I was blown away even my friend was, who doesnt watch much tv drama shows. Its like a movie with the right kind of action . Abc i really pumping out some good shows . greys is ok now (was better). I really like october road though-love I thought october road was going to come on , and then I was like oh damn another one of those bore NY cop shows where you know whats gonna hapen next....I was blown away even my friend was, who doesnt watch much tv drama shows. Its like a movie with the right kind of action . Abc i really pumping out some good shows . greys is ok now (was better). I really like october road though-love the characters. this is really all I need now. traveler and October road Expand
  66. ArleneH
    May 15, 2007
    9
    very exciting, scary to see my favorite museum blow up. looking forward to more episodes.
  67. RamyD
    May 31, 2007
    10
    I was totally drawn in from the beginning.
  68. smacm
    Jun 17, 2007
    9
    I'm totally sucked in... great twists and fast pace, lots of cliffhangers. I hope we get to be in on the "joke" as things move on, its hard to remain as clueless as the two lead characters are. I'll keep watching for now
  69. LiamC.
    Jun 25, 2007
    8
    Love it! A very engaging show with a plot full of twists that keep me guessing--I hope it is renewed!
  70. JonE
    Jul 19, 2007
    9
    One of the best shows on TV. Not being a slave to its success like 24, it is much fresher and in some ways more believable - but still fun.
  71. MelissaR
    Jul 19, 2007
    10
    My husband and I LOVE this show! We hate when it ends each week because we just want to see MORE of it! It's riveting and thrilling and keeps you on the edge of your seat. The actors are great as well. I hope this show continues on...it's definitely the best show out there right now. Every Wednesday we get so excited to see what is going to happen next!
  72. KyleR
    Jul 19, 2007
    10
    Awesome show. Can't get enough of it.
  73. MoneyB
    Jul 26, 2007
    9
    How this show got canceled is simply beyond me.
  74. MargaretB.
    Aug 12, 2007
    10
    Love the show!!
  75. Craig
    Sep 13, 2007
    8
    The show is pretty good. Only the fact that I wish one of the two protagonists would get killed is keeping me from giving it a 10.
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 4 out of 17
  1. 60
    Another workmanlike, reasonably decent thriller.
  2. You have to suspend an awful lot of disbelief to buy into this premise, and even at that the protagonists aren't nearly compelling enough to care a lot about.
  3. It's all very tense and fun, underscored by sirens and ominous techno music, shot in that popular, over-caffeinated jumpiness that here at least makes sense.