• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 11, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Treme Image
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 112 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: John Goodman, Melissa Leo, Jon Seda
  • Summary: The newest series from the producers of The Wire is set in New Orleans three months after Hurricane Katrina as the people and the area try to rebuild.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Music
  • Creator: David Simon, Eric Overmyer
  • Show Type: Ended
  • Season 1 premiere date: Apr 11, 2010
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 09:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    100
    This is a spectacular new series, with some stunning performances--Pierce, Peters, Zahn, in particular--and gorgeous music.
  2. The best parts of Treme are breathtaking. And then it exceeds that.
  3. 100
    Treme is like Cajun food--it's spicy, it's weird and it's good, but it takes a while to appreciate.
  4. Treme may lack the obvious narrative engine that the cops vs. drug dealers narrative gave "The Wire," but it's already a smart, engaging, moving and funny series, one that in many ways is more accessible than its predecessor.
  5. Treme, created by "Wire" mastermind David Simon, may not ultimately get to the level of those others, because it's going to take a while to sort out the characters and lay down the themes. It also looks to have a deliberate pace, and it doesn't seem to be setting up for a lot of blood-and-guts action, so it may end up attracting a more cerebral crowd.
  6. It's all done so masterfully that by the third installment, Treme has the old-shoe feeling of a series that has been on for years, not weeks. Still, those first three episodes do move slowly, and if there's a sour note to be sounded it's that it takes awhile for the series to find its centerpoint.
  7. Unlike "The Wire," the pacing is lazy. Many of the moments seem authentic, but to paraphrase director Alfred Hitchcock: A good show is life minus the boring parts.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 6 out of 24
  1. AlexanderL.
    Apr 18, 2010
    10
    Viewing only the first episode so far, I can say that I am more excited about this show than any other right now. I have a feeling this could be just as good as 'The Wire" if not better. Expand
  2. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    I love this show. It talks about real people, real music and real life. It teaches about New Orleans. It shows the mingle of art and life in New Orleans. Well done. Expand
  3. DavidN.
    Apr 21, 2010
    10
    Treme gets New Orleans right. Simon's wise and novelistic approach is perfectly suited to this most blessed and cursed city. Instinct, deep research and beaucoup talent bode well for the show's future. Expand
  4. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    David Simon creates the best tv shows. The Wire and Generation Kill were awesome. Treme does not disappoint. It is very true to New-Orleans. It's a form of real tv if real tv was real and was about interesting people. Khandi Alexander is amazing. Steve Zahn is awesome. Things are quite crazy in New-Orleans but you see why people love it. Expand
  5. Jul 15, 2011
    6
    As always with HBO shows, my expectations were very high. The setting was exiting, so was the cast; with a lot of familiar faces from "The Wire", possibly the best TV series ever.

    The pace of the show is very slow, which is always a high risk. It requires not only patience from the viewer, but also very high quality acting, writing and aesthetics. You cannot hide behind thrill and suspense, to cover other weaknesses. But on the other hand, the ones that have succeeded with this formula, are the best of TV history, in my opinion ("The Wire", "Sopranos", "Six Feet Under").

    I was willing to give it some time, as I needed to get into "The Wire" or "Six Feet Under". And I did watch the entire first season, still undecided on whether I liked it or not. Because the show has great, believable portraits of the city of New Orleans, it's unique culture, and how it's people struggle to get their city back on it's feet; but there seemed to something not quite right.

    Four episodes into the second season, I've finally had it. Half of the show now, is pretty much live concerts. We got it, New Orleans has a vibrant flair and a great music scene. Give us the stories! You got a show with great actors, and good writers too. The characters have the complexity I'm looking for in a show like this, the stories seem authentic and believable. So why are you wasting our time with never-ending music sessions? As it is now, one might as well watch a travel channel special on New Orleans. I don't need to see endless scenes from bar-room concerts, or marching bands. Give me stories, and the development of them! It's really a pity, because there is enough potential here to make a great series. Maybe the episodes should be cut down to 30-40 minutes?
    Expand
  6. P-Gunna
    Apr 20, 2010
    3
    New Orleans needs more attention than it is getting and I appreciate that critics feel obliged to give this show a pity thumbs-up. Unfortunately this show is boring as hell, I cant believe how dull it is. Expand
  7. Aaron
    Apr 18, 2010
    0
    This show is so boring, acting is horrible, hbo needs to give me a reason why i want to pay for a network like this.

See all 24 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2010
    "Modern Family" is among the 2009-10 season's best new TV shows. Find out which other shows made the cut, and which ones were the biggest failures.
  2. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.