• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 11, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 114 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The newest series from the producers of The Wire is set in New Orleans three months after Hurricane Katrina as the people and the area try to rebuild.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Music
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    100
    A feast for the senses and a gritty tribute to the soul and irresistible culture of a mighty city, this series is a pungent slice of New Orleans life, set in the aftermath of Katrina. This show sings, and it cooks with all creative burners firing on high.
  2. Reviewed by: Aaron Riccio
    100
    Treme puts everything into every scene. The camerawork is rich and the direction squeezes every nuance from the actors. The city's history has been painstakingly researched and effortlessly inserted into the writing. As a result, the moments-or notes-that make up this show are all that much richer, that much livelier.
  3. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    100
    The artistic achievement of Treme is that it blends bluntness with the nuances of gorgeous music.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    90
    If you're not enamored of jazz, Treme's extended musical interludes will play like something of a slog, and keeping track of the disparate stories is nettlesome at first. Fortunately, the talent on display--particularly Goodman, Alexander, and "Wire" alums Pierce (a New Orleans native) and Peters--is such that watching them read the phone book would be superior to much of what's on TV.
  5. Through three episodes, there are enough funny, frustrating, sad and beautiful moments to make me hope Treme sticks around for a while.
  6. Certainly there's nothing fussy about the almost instantly endearing Treme, which matches some of the best actors working today with characters worth the hustle you'll need to catch up with their interwoven stories.
  7. Unlike "The Wire," the pacing is lazy. Many of the moments seem authentic, but to paraphrase director Alfred Hitchcock: A good show is life minus the boring parts.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 6 out of 24
  1. AlexanderL.
    Apr 18, 2010
    10
    Viewing only the first episode so far, I can say that I am more excited about this show than any other right now. I have a feeling this could Viewing only the first episode so far, I can say that I am more excited about this show than any other right now. I have a feeling this could be just as good as 'The Wire" if not better. Expand
  2. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    I love this show. It talks about real people, real music and real life. It teaches about New Orleans. It shows the mingle of art and life inI love this show. It talks about real people, real music and real life. It teaches about New Orleans. It shows the mingle of art and life in New Orleans. Well done. Expand
  3. DavidN.
    Apr 21, 2010
    10
    Treme gets New Orleans right. Simon's wise and novelistic approach is perfectly suited to this most blessed and cursed city. Instinct, Treme gets New Orleans right. Simon's wise and novelistic approach is perfectly suited to this most blessed and cursed city. Instinct, deep research and beaucoup talent bode well for the show's future. Expand
  4. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    David Simon creates the best tv shows. The Wire and Generation Kill were awesome. Treme does not disappoint. It is very true to New-Orleans.David Simon creates the best tv shows. The Wire and Generation Kill were awesome. Treme does not disappoint. It is very true to New-Orleans. It's a form of real tv if real tv was real and was about interesting people. Khandi Alexander is amazing. Steve Zahn is awesome. Things are quite crazy in New-Orleans but you see why people love it. Expand
  5. Jul 15, 2011
    6
    As always with HBO shows, my expectations were very high. The setting was exiting, so was the cast; with a lot of familiar faces from "TheAs always with HBO shows, my expectations were very high. The setting was exiting, so was the cast; with a lot of familiar faces from "The Wire", possibly the best TV series ever.

    The pace of the show is very slow, which is always a high risk. It requires not only patience from the viewer, but also very high quality acting, writing and aesthetics. You cannot hide behind thrill and suspense, to cover other weaknesses. But on the other hand, the ones that have succeeded with this formula, are the best of TV history, in my opinion ("The Wire", "Sopranos", "Six Feet Under").

    I was willing to give it some time, as I needed to get into "The Wire" or "Six Feet Under". And I did watch the entire first season, still undecided on whether I liked it or not. Because the show has great, believable portraits of the city of New Orleans, it's unique culture, and how it's people struggle to get their city back on it's feet; but there seemed to something not quite right.

    Four episodes into the second season, I've finally had it. Half of the show now, is pretty much live concerts. We got it, New Orleans has a vibrant flair and a great music scene. Give us the stories! You got a show with great actors, and good writers too. The characters have the complexity I'm looking for in a show like this, the stories seem authentic and believable. So why are you wasting our time with never-ending music sessions? As it is now, one might as well watch a travel channel special on New Orleans. I don't need to see endless scenes from bar-room concerts, or marching bands. Give me stories, and the development of them! It's really a pity, because there is enough potential here to make a great series. Maybe the episodes should be cut down to 30-40 minutes?
    Expand
  6. P-Gunna
    Apr 20, 2010
    3
    New Orleans needs more attention than it is getting and I appreciate that critics feel obliged to give this show a pity thumbs-up. New Orleans needs more attention than it is getting and I appreciate that critics feel obliged to give this show a pity thumbs-up. Unfortunately this show is boring as hell, I cant believe how dull it is. Expand
  7. Aaron
    Apr 18, 2010
    0
    This show is so boring, acting is horrible, hbo needs to give me a reason why i want to pay for a network like this.

See all 24 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2010
    "Modern Family" is among the 2009-10 season's best new TV shows. Find out which other shows made the cut, and which ones were the biggest failures.
  2. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.