Trophy Wife : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 24, 2013
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Lily Moayeri
    Sep 26, 2013
    60
    The Trophy Wife characters are well developed and the actors very natural in their roles. The kids are brilliant--particularly Tsai.
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 24, 2013
    60
    The pilot is solid but 22 minutes with this kind of cast and concept barely leaves any room to decipher whether or not you want to spend one night a week with these people.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Sep 23, 2013
    60
    With its title and premise, Trophy Wife is not an immediately likable show but some of the jokes land well and the kid characters are fun.
  4. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 24, 2013
    50
    The problem isn’t the characters, though they can feel a little stilted. The problem is that we don’t believe the whole situation.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 17, 2013
    50
    Despite promising elements, there simply isn’t a lot in this premise that demands a second date, much less a longterm commitment.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 24, 2013
    42
    Akerman and Whitford have zero chemistry, and it doesn’t help that she looks young enough to be his daughter.
  7. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Sep 24, 2013
    40
    Even if you swallow all of Trophy Wife's absurd contrivances, you won't be laughing very much.
  8. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 22, 2013
    40
    The show obviously has a great cast, but they’re badly used.... These are not people you want to spend 22 minutes with every Tuesday night.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Jun 3, 2014
    10
    Easily the funniest new comedy on TV this season, which explains how bummed I was when ABC opted not to renew it. Malin Akerman is such anEasily the funniest new comedy on TV this season, which explains how bummed I was when ABC opted not to renew it. Malin Akerman is such an adorable actress and the whole cast just works really well. I think the show works so well for me because it kind of resonates with Modern Family and the senior show has not been as funny as it used to be in earlier seasons. I hope ABC or other networks or if necessary Netflix/Hulu come to their senses and revive this stunning work! Full Review »
  2. Jan 2, 2014
    9
    Trophy Wife truly deserves a trophy. People compare this show with Modern Family a lot, but I think this show has a better and stronger startTrophy Wife truly deserves a trophy. People compare this show with Modern Family a lot, but I think this show has a better and stronger start than Modern Family. It shows a whole new concept of what families can be in this modern day and the jokes are not that bad. Classic humor with a modern twist. Full Review »
  3. Oct 27, 2013
    6
    Not particularly impressed so far. The show is slowly getting better with each passing episode, but I can't help but feel like there areNot particularly impressed so far. The show is slowly getting better with each passing episode, but I can't help but feel like there are better shows out there to watch. It's got some decent jokes and the younger actors are nice, but the a lot of the adult characters are just cliches that have been done to death in other sitcoms. Overall there are a lot of worse shows out there right now, but there are also of better shows out there right now. "Trophy Wife" is watchable, but not great. Full Review »