• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 7, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 24, 2011
    83
    HBO's True Blood rises from the grave of last year's uneven season, smarter, spookier and sexier than before.
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jun 29, 2011
    83
    Blood creator Alan Ball knows how to juggle multiple pretty people and knotty, danger-stuffed story lines for the maximum amount of breathless romance and over-the-top action.
  3. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Jun 27, 2011
    42
    True Blood returns on Sunday (June 26) night with too many new characters, not enough time with the characters I like, a general evasion of the most prickly parts of last season's finale, some plodding hints at a lumbering dramatic direction for this season and some breasts.
  4. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 24, 2011
    60
    True Blood also sometimes seems to have a cast of thousands, despite being set in a small town, so all sorts of subplots have been simmering. The show evolves, as it has before, by starting the new season with a few more. It's a little wearing sometimes, to be honest, though it has enough narrative strength to keep hard-core fans happy.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 23, 2011
    88
    Luckily Blood is still buoyed by its weird, Gothic zest and the performers all operate with the same vibe of ripe sexuality and restrained camp. [4 Jul 2011, p.37]
  6. Reviewed by: Renee Scolaro Mora
    Jun 27, 2011
    60
    This season, as before, True Blood employs its supernatural others to signify cultural anxieties about race and sexuality. Now these anxieties are foregrounded in some of the human protagonists. It's a necessary shift: while the show has always portrayed elements of the vampire community as corrupt, we have been assured that Bill, and maybe a few others, were merely misunderstood. As this story has lost credibility, the vampires as a plausible metaphor for "accepting difference" is falling apart.
  7. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Aug 1, 2011
    100
    True Blood works best when its freak flag flies--as long as its core characters are along for the ride.
  8. Reviewed by: Phillip Maciak
    Jun 27, 2011
    75
    Shaw and her adherents are poised to bring some critical leavening to a series that maybe could use it. Season four still might end with the introduction of a band of lusty minotaurs or cokehead sasquatches, but, as it begins, we should be encouraged-and thanks to Shaw's boffo performance, delighted-to see True Blood thinking, even for a moment, about controlling itself.
  9. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jun 24, 2011
    60
    The witches are an intriguing presence, but other parts of the show aren't casting the same spell as the magnificent Shaw. If you're addicted to True Blood's brand of smoldering melodrama, well, there's a lot of it this season. And it looks as though about half of it might actually be worth watching.
  10. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jun 24, 2011
    80
    True Blood is a much guiltier, trashier pleasure than the monumental Thrones, but I wouldn't miss it for all the hush puppies in Louisiana.
  11. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 22, 2011
    83
    The thrill of discovery is long gone for True Blood. But the thrill of a new season is still very much in play. The first three episode of Season 4 had just enough pulling power to keep me in the fold.
  12. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jun 23, 2011
    100
    Every line, every reaction is perfectly pitched, every shift from humor to menace to seduction perfectly played.
  13. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jun 24, 2011
    60
    The new episodes push the saga in a few initially intriguing directions, but the cast keeps expanding into an overpopulated mishmash of disparate story threads that no longer weave together as a whole.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 168 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 27
  2. Negative: 5 out of 27
  1. Nov 23, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. What the hell happened?? This show WAS one of my favorites. Lame, boring, disappoints me! Crystal and her "group" just disappeared, for instance (can they explain that?). Season finale was terrible! Full Review »
  2. Aug 21, 2011
    0
    I saw erics bum on trueblood tonight time to tweet about it or facebook it or tell all my girlfriends to come over so we can watch it in slowI saw erics bum on trueblood tonight time to tweet about it or facebook it or tell all my girlfriends to come over so we can watch it in slow motion i hate what the writers did to this show sookies a stuck up sweaty **** and just lost all my respect for this show !!!! I hate that theres no good story lines yinz f'd up big time but managed to make millions and millions of girls wet f*ck off get ur minds right and start making better sh*t u f*gg*ots Full Review »
  3. Jul 4, 2011
    0
    I cried because I had no shoes....until I met a man who had to sit and watch this ridiculous crap. "If you sit here and watch this show I'llI cried because I had no shoes....until I met a man who had to sit and watch this ridiculous crap. "If you sit here and watch this show I'll give you my shoes", said the man.

    "No", I replied.

    "But you have no shoes!" he exclaimed.

    "That is correct", I said. "And I really wish I had shoes. But not like this, man. Not like this."

    Then my best friend AL wheeled up in his wheelchair. "What's this?", asked AL.

    "This guy has to sit here and watch True Blood", I said.

    "Oh my God!", said AL, clearly horrified. "WHY???"

    "I don't know", said the man. "I just started watching it a few years ago"

    "Did you ever like it?", asked AL

    "What?"

    "The show. Did you like it. Did you ever enjoy watching True Blood"

    "I....well....I..."

    A look of realization, then shock, then pain crossed the man's face. The agony and betrayal burned into his features. AL and I had seen this type of thing before and it never got any easier to watch.

    "It will get better, won't it?" pleaded the man. "I mean, it's HBO right? It will all be ok, won't it?"

    I put my arm around the man. "No, my friend", I said in a Spanish accent. "Never will it improve. It saddens me to see this happen to you, a good man. But I fear your fate is sealed".

    "Why are you talking in a Spanish accent?", asked AL.

    "I dunno! Hahahaha. Hey it's dollar Chalupa night , does Sharon have yoga?"

    "Yeah!", said AL. "She isn't back until nine and I sure am hungry!"

    "Let's go then!"

    And so it came to pass that me and AL ate like, four Chalupas each and were completely stuffed and went back to my place and played Call of Duty until he had to get back to Sharon.
    Full Review »