• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 7, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 172 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Season four introduces Sookie's grandfather (Gary Cole) and a coven of witches led by the mysterious Marnie (Fiona Shaw).
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy, Horror
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Aug 1, 2011
    100
    True Blood works best when its freak flag flies--as long as its core characters are along for the ride.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jun 23, 2011
    100
    Every line, every reaction is perfectly pitched, every shift from humor to menace to seduction perfectly played.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 23, 2011
    88
    Luckily Blood is still buoyed by its weird, Gothic zest and the performers all operate with the same vibe of ripe sexuality and restrained camp. [4 Jul 2011, p.37]
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jun 24, 2011
    80
    True Blood is a much guiltier, trashier pleasure than the monumental Thrones, but I wouldn't miss it for all the hush puppies in Louisiana.
  5. Reviewed by: Phillip Maciak
    Jun 27, 2011
    75
    Shaw and her adherents are poised to bring some critical leavening to a series that maybe could use it. Season four still might end with the introduction of a band of lusty minotaurs or cokehead sasquatches, but, as it begins, we should be encouraged-and thanks to Shaw's boffo performance, delighted-to see True Blood thinking, even for a moment, about controlling itself.
  6. Reviewed by: Renee Scolaro Mora
    Jun 27, 2011
    60
    This season, as before, True Blood employs its supernatural others to signify cultural anxieties about race and sexuality. Now these anxieties are foregrounded in some of the human protagonists. It's a necessary shift: while the show has always portrayed elements of the vampire community as corrupt, we have been assured that Bill, and maybe a few others, were merely misunderstood. As this story has lost credibility, the vampires as a plausible metaphor for "accepting difference" is falling apart.
  7. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Jun 27, 2011
    42
    True Blood returns on Sunday (June 26) night with too many new characters, not enough time with the characters I like, a general evasion of the most prickly parts of last season's finale, some plodding hints at a lumbering dramatic direction for this season and some breasts.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 28
  2. Negative: 6 out of 28
  1. Jul 1, 2011
    10
    It was a very even start to what could have been a series of rocky conclucions to the messy cliffhangers of season 3 (which was easily theIt was a very even start to what could have been a series of rocky conclucions to the messy cliffhangers of season 3 (which was easily the weakest season of the series thus far). All the characters were given sufficient screentime, showcasing brilliant editing. And thankfully the perpetual love triangle was simmered down in this episode. I have high hopes for this season, and looking forword for whats to come and hoping that Ball doesn't clutter his allready character-cluttered world more plots and sub-plots and sub-sub-plots. Expand
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    This show is such a fun show to watch! Its nice to watch a show that you never know whats coming next. Too many shows these days are soThis show is such a fun show to watch! Its nice to watch a show that you never know whats coming next. Too many shows these days are so predictable. True Blood is a breath of freash air!! Expand
  3. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    Absolutely Fun series to watch! The show's creators developed a great the mix of mythologies; and, the writers have given us great characterAbsolutely Fun series to watch! The show's creators developed a great the mix of mythologies; and, the writers have given us great character development. I highly recommend this series to everyone!!! Expand
  4. May 11, 2012
    8
    I loved season 4 until Sookie had to make a choice. It's understandable to misread feelings for an ex lover because that happens in real lifeI loved season 4 until Sookie had to make a choice. It's understandable to misread feelings for an ex lover because that happens in real life I that Sookie let's Bill manipulate her life and she falls for the pity party every season. Expand
  5. Dec 20, 2013
    7
    The beginning of season four is a quagmire. It starts off with a ridiculous and rather frustrating premise. But after the season premiere,The beginning of season four is a quagmire. It starts off with a ridiculous and rather frustrating premise. But after the season premiere, things largely improve. We are brought back to the Bon Temps we left behind in season three, though that season ended in disappointment and season four had to clean up its mess with its first episode. As the season progresses, the story still manages to provide enough solid development to work. That being said, the season finale, And When I Die, is absolutely brilliant. Everything falls apart and it leaves us with an unhealthy desire to begin season five. Expand
  6. Aug 2, 2011
    5
    The first 3 seasons were good, if not great. This season kind of disappoints me. You start with vampires, awesome, then werewolves....OKThe first 3 seasons were good, if not great. This season kind of disappoints me. You start with vampires, awesome, then werewolves....OK fine. Now fairies? Come on are you serious? Oh that's not all, witches now? Give me a break. If they keep this up I def won't be watching next season. I'll finish this b/c I've already started it but I'm really getting disappointed. Expand
  7. Jun 27, 2011
    0
    Twilight with T&A, too many monsters and too many characters overpopulate this supposedly small southern town. Seems like everyone has aTwilight with T&A, too many monsters and too many characters overpopulate this supposedly small southern town. Seems like everyone has a power now, so much that the humans are an endangered species on this show. The plots go in circles (see the increasingly tedious SookieBillEric triangle; anything involving an angry Tara getting brainwashed or tortured or getting drunk or feeling sorry for herself) and some just come out of nowhere (Sam is now an angry drunk?). Expand

See all 28 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series

    Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series Image
    Published: May 3, 2012
    Summer will bring some of TV's best shows (including "Breaking Bad" and "Louie," and--possibly--new shows like "The Newsroom"). Inside, we look at the 20 most noteworthy series, specials, and miniseries coming this summer. You'll also find a full calendar of premiere dates from now through August.
  2. Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer

    Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer Image
    Published: May 12, 2011
    Who says there's no good TV in the summer? Learn about the season's most interesting new and returning shows, from "Curb Your Enthusiasm" and "Louie" to "Falling Skies" and "Wilfred." We also have a full calendar of premiere dates for all summer shows.
  3. Ranked: Vampire TV Shows

    Ranked: Vampire TV Shows Image
    Published: June 9, 2010
    HBO's "True Blood" returns for a third season this weekend, but it's far from the only vampire show on television. We rank 10 of the most vampire-centric shows in TV history, from the best to, well, the suckiest.
  4. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.