True Blood : Season 5

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 7, 2008
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 175 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 175

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    best supernatural tv show ive ever seen...!
    so far 3 epi have been aired.... and it feels like ive seen soo much every thing is in perfect order the fight ,the kidnapping, the arrows, the creature, the suspense...
    everything is brilliant...!
  2. Aug 27, 2012
    8
    Season 5 is far better than season 4 and is one of my favourite seasons yet. Though their were too much story lines to follow, this season was jaw-dropping, action packed and contained some of the best episodes in the series! I can't wait for Season 6
  3. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    Great first episode, opening new story lines and solving past ones, this could be one the best seasons yet love the new characters and I cant wait for the rest of the season
  4. Jun 10, 2012
    8
    A very enjoyable first episode, a lot of story arcs were set up for this season and I can't wait to see them fleshed out. Some story arcs were a bit weaker (Steve Newlin, what the hell?) than others, but I'm sure they will be explained and unfold nicely.
  5. Jul 15, 2012
    8
    The fifth season of True Blood is a mixed bag. While new character Roman is a clearly bad dude, the story focuses more on previous series villain Russel. Without the format the series is known for (seasonal villains and all), it's hard to really compare this season with the rest. Lafayette's brujo magic and the Vampire Authority are probably the weakest stories the series has seen yet,The fifth season of True Blood is a mixed bag. While new character Roman is a clearly bad dude, the story focuses more on previous series villain Russel. Without the format the series is known for (seasonal villains and all), it's hard to really compare this season with the rest. Lafayette's brujo magic and the Vampire Authority are probably the weakest stories the series has seen yet, though. It seems like this season's quality lies with Sam and Luna's story, where shifters are hunted down by Obama mask clad rednecks. The only way Blood can bring back quality is by letting a couple of the supporting characters finally die. Too much time is wasted by letting characters stand around. I still have hope in the future of this show. Expand
  6. Aug 26, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love this show. The characters remain relatable (despite their supernatural nature) and the main storylines are still very exciting. I would, however, get rid of half of the plots (eg. The whole Iraq story was silly, completely devoid - I couldn't care less about Terry's future). It was poorly developed and solved. So Terry killed a guy that we only knew for 4 eps - so what?

    I'm glad Tara is fun now and not a pain-in-the-ass victim.

    Regarding Bill, at first I was a little skeptical about his religious fanatism. The whole authority thing was weird. It was a bit unexpected, but it turned out to be surprisingly good. I love that the show isn't that predictable.

    All in all, this year's round of eps was close to perfect.
    Expand
  7. Sep 8, 2012
    9
    True Blood has gotten better and better with each season. While Season 4 was not my favorite, I think Season 5 was great. Not only focused on the vampire aspect but also new plots. This show is not your typical "vampire" show. I am not interested in any of the others, like Twilight, but have loved True Blood from the very start. Season 5 did get a little confusing at times but overall wasTrue Blood has gotten better and better with each season. While Season 4 was not my favorite, I think Season 5 was great. Not only focused on the vampire aspect but also new plots. This show is not your typical "vampire" show. I am not interested in any of the others, like Twilight, but have loved True Blood from the very start. Season 5 did get a little confusing at times but overall was the best so far. Another HBO hit! Expand
  8. Sep 10, 2012
    7
    If they killed off some main characters, this show really needs to that not only because some of those storylines that i dont care about, but we need to know if the producers are brave enuff to do that. Loved if they had killed off bill at the end of this season. Overall, the storyline was slow, the finale was good but i expected more for a true blood season finale. will watch season 6 butIf they killed off some main characters, this show really needs to that not only because some of those storylines that i dont care about, but we need to know if the producers are brave enuff to do that. Loved if they had killed off bill at the end of this season. Overall, the storyline was slow, the finale was good but i expected more for a true blood season finale. will watch season 6 but if they dont right it on a good path quickly, i will not watch it. Expand
  9. Oct 10, 2013
    7
    Mediocre and messy. Season five was such a let down for two thirds of the season. It felt like it deviated from the actual story it was trying to tell. Too many characters and too many plot lines. I ALMOST gave up on True Blood but having been a fan of it since 2008 I couldn't. It definitely improves in the last three episodes!
  10. Aug 19, 2014
    7
    Season five works. The story is too far-fetched and even the musical score, that is overplayed throughout, makes the entire thing seem laughable, but this fifth season is able to pass the test in that it's such a guilty pleasure to watch. Everything is flawed here, but it's worth it because we want to see what happens to the characters we know and love, which isn't necessarily a bad thingSeason five works. The story is too far-fetched and even the musical score, that is overplayed throughout, makes the entire thing seem laughable, but this fifth season is able to pass the test in that it's such a guilty pleasure to watch. Everything is flawed here, but it's worth it because we want to see what happens to the characters we know and love, which isn't necessarily a bad thing when you're talking about a show like True Blood. The final minute or two of the season finale is worth sticking around for as well. Expand
  11. Mar 30, 2015
    7
    Season five works. The story is too far-fetched and even the musical score, that is overplayed throughout, makes the entire thing seem laughable, but this fifth season is able to pass the test in that it's such a guilty pleasure to watch. Everything is flawed here, but it's worth it because we want to see what happens to the characters we know and love, which isn't necessarily a bad thingSeason five works. The story is too far-fetched and even the musical score, that is overplayed throughout, makes the entire thing seem laughable, but this fifth season is able to pass the test in that it's such a guilty pleasure to watch. Everything is flawed here, but it's worth it because we want to see what happens to the characters we know and love, which isn't necessarily a bad thing when you're talking about a show like True Blood. The final minute or two of the season finale is worth sticking around for as well. Expand
  12. Aug 17, 2015
    7
    Season five works. The story is too far-fetched and even the musical score, that is overplayed throughout, makes the entire thing seem laughable, but this fifth season is able to pass the test in that it's such a guilty pleasure to watch. Everything is flawed here, but it's worth it because we want to see what happens to the characters we know and love, which isn't necessarily a bad thingSeason five works. The story is too far-fetched and even the musical score, that is overplayed throughout, makes the entire thing seem laughable, but this fifth season is able to pass the test in that it's such a guilty pleasure to watch. Everything is flawed here, but it's worth it because we want to see what happens to the characters we know and love, which isn't necessarily a bad thing when you're talking about a show like True Blood. The final minute or two of the season finale is worth sticking around for as well. Expand
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jun 14, 2012
    83
    What starts out lean and mean can grow flabby and sentimental, and flaws can turn into handsome plot twists. Which is one reason to just bite down hard and go with the show.
  2. Reviewed by: Phillip Maciak
    Jun 11, 2012
    50
    True Blood has never been a show with a conscience, so it's awkward watching it try to get one in a hurry.
  3. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Jun 11, 2012
    25
    The first four episodes of Season 5 find True Blood at its most directionless and meandering.