• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 7, 2008
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 165 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The return of presumed dead vampire leads the Vampire Authority to pay a visit to Bill and Eric.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy, Horror
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jun 8, 2012
    100
    They've added a new element that makes it something I can finally (I'm sorry) sink my teeth into. They've added politics as blood sport.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jun 6, 2012
    100
    A densely packed, well-paced gothic horror soap with surprisingly funny twists placed at the worst.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jun 7, 2012
    100
    Summer TV at its witty, riveting best.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 5, 2012
    75
    The show is still crazily entertaining. [11 Jun 2012, p.41]
  5. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Jun 8, 2012
    75
    While politics come into play later, it is human emotions such as grief, regret and loss that fans can look forward to sinking their teeth into at the start of the season.
  6. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Jun 8, 2012
    70
    It's with much appreciation that I report that Season 5 of True Blood is not about the introduction of any new magical creatures (though the fairies are up to some B-story shenanigans), but the long-discussed Authority, the seven-member governing body of all vampires everywhere.
  7. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Jun 11, 2012
    25
    The first four episodes of Season 5 find True Blood at its most directionless and meandering.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 33
  2. Negative: 14 out of 33
  1. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    Great first episode, opening new story lines and solving past ones, this could be one the best seasons yet love the new characters and I cantGreat first episode, opening new story lines and solving past ones, this could be one the best seasons yet love the new characters and I cant wait for the rest of the season Expand
  2. Jul 15, 2012
    8
    The fifth season of True Blood is a mixed bag. While new character Roman is a clearly bad dude, the story focuses more on previous seriesThe fifth season of True Blood is a mixed bag. While new character Roman is a clearly bad dude, the story focuses more on previous series villain Russel. Without the format the series is known for (seasonal villains and all), it's hard to really compare this season with the rest. Lafayette's brujo magic and the Vampire Authority are probably the weakest stories the series has seen yet, though. It seems like this season's quality lies with Sam and Luna's story, where shifters are hunted down by Obama mask clad rednecks. The only way Blood can bring back quality is by letting a couple of the supporting characters finally die. Too much time is wasted by letting characters stand around. I still have hope in the future of this show. Expand
  3. Aug 19, 2014
    7
    Season five works. The story is too far-fetched and even the musical score, that is overplayed throughout, makes the entire thing seemSeason five works. The story is too far-fetched and even the musical score, that is overplayed throughout, makes the entire thing seem laughable, but this fifth season is able to pass the test in that it's such a guilty pleasure to watch. Everything is flawed here, but it's worth it because we want to see what happens to the characters we know and love, which isn't necessarily a bad thing when you're talking about a show like True Blood. The final minute or two of the season finale is worth sticking around for as well. Expand
  4. Jul 10, 2012
    4
    True blood was funny and entertaining , but now all of this things are gone . It's boring and way too serious . Moreover the acting never beTrue blood was funny and entertaining , but now all of this things are gone . It's boring and way too serious . Moreover the acting never be so bad .Oh yeah i almost forget it ,am i the only one who wants to see sookie die in a horrible way ? :) Expand
  5. Aug 28, 2012
    3
    After watching this whole season disappointedly, I kind of regret spending my time on it. I enjoy the books and this storyline is getting wayAfter watching this whole season disappointedly, I kind of regret spending my time on it. I enjoy the books and this storyline is getting way away from the books. There are too many irrelevant characters creating too many different stories that don't make much sense at all. Religion and politics? No thanks, lets enjoy the guilty pleasure for what it is - a vampire romance. Haha. Expand
  6. Aug 18, 2012
    2
    I had such high hopes for this series. The books were good, although a little "light" on storyline.
    The first season of Trueblood was pretty
    I had such high hopes for this series. The books were good, although a little "light" on storyline.
    The first season of Trueblood was pretty good. I could even handle when they made Tara black and working in the bar, Lafayette didn't get killed, and other deviations from the story line---to some extent.
    Then things got a little over the top with the sick goriness of the Maynaad. Then a little more with last seasons witch, really what the heck was that. Now this season----this is disgusting. The writers seem to have no imagination with this Lilith and only want to shock with blood and disgusting behavior.
    This series is sinking FAST.

    If you want to save it, return somewhat to the story line. We want the STORY !!!!!
    Throw a little romance back in. Possibly bring in the were tiger. Bring back some of Sookie's family relational issues. Focus on the things that made the books so popular.

    This is disgusting. I can't believe the author ""sold out" like this.
    Collapse
  7. Aug 6, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am so tired of all those story lines that is never connected in anyway and that dam lock-down is driving my nuts. I love the books and the fact that the characters stays in the same storyline and that it actually follows true to a great ending but this series it has become one of the most annoying one I have ever seen. HBO easily create beautiful thing but this is just pitiful Expand

See all 33 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series

    Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series Image
    Published: May 3, 2012
    Summer will bring some of TV's best shows (including "Breaking Bad" and "Louie," and--possibly--new shows like "The Newsroom"). Inside, we look at the 20 most noteworthy series, specials, and miniseries coming this summer. You'll also find a full calendar of premiere dates from now through August.
  2. Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer

    Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer Image
    Published: May 12, 2011
    Who says there's no good TV in the summer? Learn about the season's most interesting new and returning shows, from "Curb Your Enthusiasm" and "Louie" to "Falling Skies" and "Wilfred." We also have a full calendar of premiere dates for all summer shows.
  3. Ranked: Vampire TV Shows

    Ranked: Vampire TV Shows Image
    Published: June 9, 2010
    HBO's "True Blood" returns for a third season this weekend, but it's far from the only vampire show on television. We rank 10 of the most vampire-centric shows in TV history, from the best to, well, the suckiest.
  4. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.