• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 7, 2008
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 108 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 108
  2. Negative: 24 out of 108

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    Based on the premiere alone, True Blood is beginning to correct some of the mistakes it made last season. Sure it's not as good as season one or two, but it's a marked improvement over last year. Less obnoxious allegory and more character and relationship driven plot is always a good thing.
  2. Sep 10, 2013
    7
    This season of True Blood was very interesting. It is an huge improvement over season 5. The plot was kinda interesting and the new characters in the show are great.
  3. Jul 3, 2013
    8
    The sixth season is starting strong with the introduction of the series' most powerful and perhaps most frightening villain yet. I'll admit the whole "apocalypse" theme continued from last season does feel a little forced, but thankfully it is subtle enough. There are fewer sex scenes, which may be disappointing to some, but honestly I thought there were too many of them anyway. TheThe sixth season is starting strong with the introduction of the series' most powerful and perhaps most frightening villain yet. I'll admit the whole "apocalypse" theme continued from last season does feel a little forced, but thankfully it is subtle enough. There are fewer sex scenes, which may be disappointing to some, but honestly I thought there were too many of them anyway. The acting is still strong as some actors now have a slightly different character to play, as in the case of Bill. There's still gore and general creepiness that made a me a fan in the first place, but sadly there seems to be less of that too. But with the human/vampire war starting and the release of Warlow, it certainly promises to be one of the most exciting stories yet. Expand
  4. Oct 3, 2013
    7
    This season was a disappointment; it started off rocky and quite messy but it improved itself as it was having a strong and intense build up to its finale, but sadly, fans were ripped off in the end as it ended very poorly; twas quite underwhelming. If it weren't for its lacklustre beginning and ending and Stephen Moyer's horrible acting this season could have been one of the better onesThis season was a disappointment; it started off rocky and quite messy but it improved itself as it was having a strong and intense build up to its finale, but sadly, fans were ripped off in the end as it ended very poorly; twas quite underwhelming. If it weren't for its lacklustre beginning and ending and Stephen Moyer's horrible acting this season could have been one of the better ones in the series. Expand
  5. Oct 10, 2013
    9
    A little messy, again, like season five but it was such an improvement from the previous season. Werewolves story line is such a secondary plot now and it felt like it wasn't supposed to be there! It was nice to see Sarah return and I think most of the plot lines were good. The finale has set up an interesting new path and I am excited for season seven, which will be the final season (IA little messy, again, like season five but it was such an improvement from the previous season. Werewolves story line is such a secondary plot now and it felt like it wasn't supposed to be there! It was nice to see Sarah return and I think most of the plot lines were good. The finale has set up an interesting new path and I am excited for season seven, which will be the final season (I think it is time we say goodbye to True Blood, so hopefully they make it good and do the series justice) Expand
  6. Aug 22, 2014
    9
    Although I had noticed the similarities in the structure of seasons 6 to season 2 it was still very entertaining to watch... Hey, whatever formula works - an over-done and typical hero's journey that people still fall for. It always ends with good fun, chaos & bliss - almost orgy-like. I docked two points for the last episode. It felt like it was written by some elementary child and filmedAlthough I had noticed the similarities in the structure of seasons 6 to season 2 it was still very entertaining to watch... Hey, whatever formula works - an over-done and typical hero's journey that people still fall for. It always ends with good fun, chaos & bliss - almost orgy-like. I docked two points for the last episode. It felt like it was written by some elementary child and filmed by film students with messy edits, cheesy FCP title slates "7 years later" or something, unnecessary dialogue, rushed beats, last-minute rewrites, abrupt character changes and dull story developments to fuel next season. Season 7, episode 9 should of been the series finale since season 7 is excessive. Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Jun 14, 2013
    40
    The show could use a return to what made it great in the first place: [Sookie and friends] battling monsters with the help of benevolent, attractive bloodsuckers.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 14, 2013
    50
    True Blood is neglecting the potent subtext of vampire myth--forbidden sex and romance--in favor of political allegory. [24 Jun 2013, p.39]
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jun 14, 2013
    50
    As to whether the show will get back on track, the early signals are mixed.