• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 7, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 96 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 96
  2. Negative: 22 out of 96

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 24, 2013
    4
    True Blood USED to be amazing, everything started going downhill really fast with season 5 I'm guessing with Alan Ball leaving. Now there's too many groups of characters. The werewolves are beyond pointless, and all the new characters coming in except for the governor, cause the show needs a central foe- are also pretty bad. The dialogue has become cheesy, and everything is all over the place and all at once. It has never happened before, but ep 2 got me irritated and very bored. The show either needs to be cancelled or get back to basics, but I fear it will never be as good as the first 4 seasons. Expand
  2. Jul 1, 2013
    0
    True Blood use to be a great show but not anymore. It's such a terribly written show with nothing good going on until the 1st and last episode of every season. Not a fan anymore. Wish they could turn it around but honestly they lost me around the 3rd season.
  3. Jul 2, 2013
    1
    I used to really enjoy this show; now it seems as though it is written by five year olds. Truly cringeworthy dialogue and weak plot devices, True Blood has become a tasteless, mind-numbing soap opera.
  4. Jun 24, 2013
    1
    True blood has gone from being something wonderful, witty, sexy and intriguing to being a bland, cheesy yawn fest. Sample of the brilliant writing "there is no god...other than god" ~rolling my eyes~
    Lost a fan here. Actually, have been losing me since end of season 4. I just keep watching hoping it will get better again.
  5. Aug 20, 2013
    0
    I agree with Soulshock below I only watched season 6 hoping it would improve but was totally disappointed. Warlow and the sunlight was the first interesting plot in years, and instead they opted to continue their spiral into soft-porn sprinkled lightly- with boring, recycled plots. It was actual writing and actual storyline, along with Eric, Lafayette, Pam, Bill, Jessica, Jason, Hoyt (even his cranky Mom), Sam, and (original only) Tara that kept me watching over the years (notice Sookie is Not on that list). And with the "is Eric dead" feeble attempt to get viewers to tune in next season well, frankly, I don't give a damn. Collapse
  6. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    Based on the premiere alone, True Blood is beginning to correct some of the mistakes it made last season. Sure it's not as good as season one or two, but it's a marked improvement over last year. Less obnoxious allegory and more character and relationship driven plot is always a good thing.
  7. Jul 22, 2013
    4
    i am beyond disappointed. Season 5 was the worst season and the guys-in-charge seem to have not learnt their mistake. The dialogue is terrible and some characters are just annoying with silly acting. The show just isn't as good and spell-binding as earlier seasons. I am deeply disappointed.
  8. Dec 20, 2013
    3
    I'm not entirely sure about what went wrong here. At times, I feel that it's mainly because the shocking finale of season five didn't play out here nearly as well as I'd hoped it would. At other times, I've felt it's solely because some of the best characters in True Blood met cheap and meaningless endings. However, I truly believe creator Alan Ball's absence in season six, albeit the show had been going downhill for quite a while with him at the helm, did something to the show's ability to stay just above mediocrity for several seasons. But when Ball left, the show finally dipped down, and soaked itself with unintentional self-awareness and formed a ridiculously bad ability to tell its own decent story. It seemed the main antagonist in this season would become a great threat to the vampire world, but his story ends with nothing but disappointment. While I'll admit the episode At Last is one of the most beautifully shot episodes of the entire series, that still doesn't make up for this season's unreasonably poor quality. Another thing that bothered me was how the season seemed to conclude with the episode before the finale. Radioactive, the season finale, is perhaps the worst episode of True Blood that I have ever seen. It wanders around in circles until it ends on a careless note that does not excite a soul for season seven. Expand
  9. Oct 19, 2013
    2
    brilliantly this was the worst season of true blood today without any doubt, all you imagine what happened this season was terribly terrible from villains to protagonists (after finishing the season I'm just praying everyday for sookie stackhouse die).
  10. Aug 27, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Plenty of people have their criticisms of Alan Ball (I happen to love his work, but that is just my opinion, not fact) but this show has taken a nose dive into terrible with his leaving as showrunner. I thought that the potential was there for some interesting storytelling with Bill becoming a "villain" instead? He gets to play "god" or whatever. The last four or five episodes of the season were at balancing act between boring and outright obnoxious. I kept watching because I thought maybe, just maybe, there was one more trick up the sleeve? Six seasons is a heavy investment into show. I wanted to believe that this was a temporary lull but I knew I had reached my limit when I groaned that we could not even get closure as to whether Eric is actually dead or not. The potential missed is the most aggravating. Sad to see the show go out this way, dragging things on well beyond their capability of being entertaining. Expand
  11. Aug 18, 2013
    1
    Totally agree with the criticism below. The first 3 seasons were great and season 4 was OK. Season 5 and 6 are horrible. Who writes these episodes? Why are all the vampires acting like uncontrollable babies all of a sudden? This is Bogus!!!
  12. Sep 10, 2013
    7
    This season of True Blood was very interesting. It is an huge improvement over season 5. The plot was kinda interesting and the new characters in the show are great.
  13. Jul 3, 2013
    8
    The sixth season is starting strong with the introduction of the series' most powerful and perhaps most frightening villain yet. I'll admit the whole "apocalypse" theme continued from last season does feel a little forced, but thankfully it is subtle enough. There are fewer sex scenes, which may be disappointing to some, but honestly I thought there were too many of them anyway. The acting is still strong as some actors now have a slightly different character to play, as in the case of Bill. There's still gore and general creepiness that made a me a fan in the first place, but sadly there seems to be less of that too. But with the human/vampire war starting and the release of Warlow, it certainly promises to be one of the most exciting stories yet. Expand
  14. Oct 3, 2013
    7
    This season was a disappointment; it started off rocky and quite messy but it improved itself as it was having a strong and intense build up to its finale, but sadly, fans were ripped off in the end as it ended very poorly; twas quite underwhelming. If it weren't for its lacklustre beginning and ending and Stephen Moyer's horrible acting this season could have been one of the better ones in the series. Expand
  15. Oct 10, 2013
    9
    A little messy, again, like season five but it was such an improvement from the previous season. Werewolves story line is such a secondary plot now and it felt like it wasn't supposed to be there! It was nice to see Sarah return and I think most of the plot lines were good. The finale has set up an interesting new path and I am excited for season seven, which will be the final season (I think it is time we say goodbye to True Blood, so hopefully they make it good and do the series justice) Expand
  16. Oct 31, 2013
    5
    True Blood certainly went down hill from season three, I feel like every season starts off strong and peaks halfway through... then dwindles and putts along to a lackluster ending usually just being too ridiculous for ridiculousness' sake. Overall they consistently build too many story lines and consistently reach for that shock factor in seeing just how ridiculous they can get. I did enjoy season six more than five though and four for that matter. the Warlo character was just sort of thrown in there it felt and they kinda flopped that, but like I said they crowd the show with so much stuff going on and they end up not being able to really do much with it all; making it far too unbelievable to the point where I much prefer The Vampire Diaries to this because it knows what type of show it is and doesn't feed off of your awe but simply presents compelling storylines that are believable and truly intense. I will say this much the badass vamps in Diaries are way more badass and threatening than the badass vamps in True Blood. I mean Russel Edgington acts like a ten year old on crack, hard to believe for a personality that old he never felt threatening, somewhat amusing at times but ultimately annoying especially when they brought him back. I still give it a five out of ten for what it was. But yeah I'll take the first three seasons to go please. Expand
  17. Jul 20, 2014
    3
    Lo, how the mighty have fallen. This last season of True Blood is surely going out with the wimpiest of whimpers, and the least provocative of bangs. The writers are clearly so "written out" that there can be no suspension of disbelief, willing or otherwise. The so-called plot lines are disorganized, the actors seem burned out, their characters are made to speak lines so insipid it's hard to correlate who these once engaging fictionalized people are now with whom they were in seasons past. As a die-hard loyal fan of the books and the series I feel insulted, unappreciated and ripped off.

    In a word, I'm done. I'm not going to watch any more of this drivel. Why should I waste my time on this product when it's obvious the True Blood writers and producers haven't bothered to spend any of their time or creativity making a last season designed to leave the viewers wishing the show would never end, and instead have managed to present us with the opposite--a last season which will leave us saying, "Thank God this tripe is over?"

    This last season fiasco represents the degree of contempt in which we loyal viewers are held, and it's a truly disappointing example of the lack of creative integrity that permeates Hollywood and its attitude towards a viewing audience who have lowered its expectation for quality to such a depressing degree that, by our continuing agreement to watch this garbage, makes it abundantly clear that, to shamelessly paraphrase one of our founding fathers, shows that viewers get pretty much the television content they deserve.
    Expand
  18. Jul 30, 2014
    3
    Up until season 2 or 3, I really enjoyed this series. Then the writers started throwing in all sorts of monsters and witches to the point that my suspension of disbelief was tested and tried ad nauseam. With season 5, the writers began concentrating again on the vampires (especially good ol' divalicious Pam armed with her venomous tongue), and therefore I thought that the writers were back on track. However, this sixth season is just plain boring, and nearly all of the characters the series has collected over the years are present without advancing the storyline (pesky actor contracts?). A good example is the werewolf subplot where nothing happens (which honestly isn't much different from the fifth season when you think about it; why are the werewolves still there?).

    Speaking of bad, I would say that the 9th episode is the worst of the bunch and epitomizes the entire season. Interwoven among gripping action sequences are yawn-inducing funeral speeches, which I nearly fast forwarded. I should have, since they killed the action for me. During this episode there are also flashbacks of a shell-shocked, dirt-covered Terry, who hobbles around a clearing in the woods, all bug-eyed. I couldn't help laughing, but apparently this scene was supposed to be serious. In conclusion, this season of True Blood has become a parody of itself. And don't get me started with the finale. A horde of vampires at the end? Neither frightening nor inventive.
    Expand
  19. Aug 19, 2014
    4
    I'm not entirely sure about what went wrong here. At times, I feel that it's mainly because the shocking finale of season five didn't play out here nearly as well as I'd hoped it would. At other times, I've felt it's solely because some of the best characters in True Blood met cheap and meaningless endings. However, I truly believe creator Alan Ball's absence in season six, albeit the show had been going slightly - though only slightly - downhill for quite a while with him at the helm, did something to the show's ability to strive above mediocrity for several seasons. But when Ball left, the show finally dipped down, and soaked itself with unintentional self-awareness and formed a ridiculously bad ability to tell its own decent story. It seemed the main antagonist in this season would become a great threat to the vampire world, but his story ends with nothing but disappointment. While I'll admit the episode At Last is one of the most beautifully shot episodes of the entire series, that still doesn't make up for this season's unreasonably poor quality. Another thing that bothered me was how the season seemed to conclude with the episode before the finale. Radioactive, the season finale, is perhaps the worst episode of True Blood that I have ever seen. It wanders around in circles until it ends on a careless note that does not excite a soul for season seven. Expand
  20. Aug 22, 2014
    9
    Although I had noticed the similarities in the structure of seasons 6 to season 2 it was still very entertaining to watch... Hey, whatever formula works - an over-done and typical hero's journey that people still fall for. It always ends with good fun, chaos & bliss - almost orgy-like. I docked two points for the last episode. It felt like it was written by some elementary child and filmed by film students with messy edits, cheesy FCP title slates "7 years later" or something, unnecessary dialogue, rushed beats, last-minute rewrites, abrupt character changes and dull story developments to fuel next season. Season 7, episode 9 should of been the series finale since season 7 is excessive. Expand
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Jun 14, 2013
    40
    The show could use a return to what made it great in the first place: [Sookie and friends] battling monsters with the help of benevolent, attractive bloodsuckers.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 14, 2013
    50
    True Blood is neglecting the potent subtext of vampire myth--forbidden sex and romance--in favor of political allegory. [24 Jun 2013, p.39]
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jun 14, 2013
    50
    As to whether the show will get back on track, the early signals are mixed.