• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 7, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 98 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Things are changing for vampires, werewolves, and fairies alike after the incident at the end of last season.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy, Horror
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 13, 2013
    83
    Suspense, surprises 
and crackling dialogue: True Blood is pumping strong again.
  2. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jun 11, 2013
    75
    The writing is still good.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 10, 2013
    70
    After a couple of seasons where the show and its mythology have grown increasingly crazy and outlandish, True Blood returns on somewhat surer footing, with a couple of key cast additions and driving storylines to bolster the serialized drama.
  4. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Jun 14, 2013
    50
    True Blood still entertains with crackling dialogue and about half its plotlines, but it's starting to feel a little long in the fang.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jun 14, 2013
    50
    As to whether the show will get back on track, the early signals are mixed.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 14, 2013
    50
    True Blood is neglecting the potent subtext of vampire myth--forbidden sex and romance--in favor of political allegory. [24 Jun 2013, p.39]
  7. Reviewed by: Aaron Riccio
    Jun 12, 2013
    38
    Unwilling to really shake things up, the writers have instead drained the life out of their own series, and what's left is merely a desiccated reminder of something that was once entertaining.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 20
  2. Negative: 10 out of 20
  1. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    Based on the premiere alone, True Blood is beginning to correct some of the mistakes it made last season. Sure it's not as good as season oneBased on the premiere alone, True Blood is beginning to correct some of the mistakes it made last season. Sure it's not as good as season one or two, but it's a marked improvement over last year. Less obnoxious allegory and more character and relationship driven plot is always a good thing. Expand
  2. Oct 10, 2013
    9
    A little messy, again, like season five but it was such an improvement from the previous season. Werewolves story line is such a secondaryA little messy, again, like season five but it was such an improvement from the previous season. Werewolves story line is such a secondary plot now and it felt like it wasn't supposed to be there! It was nice to see Sarah return and I think most of the plot lines were good. The finale has set up an interesting new path and I am excited for season seven, which will be the final season (I think it is time we say goodbye to True Blood, so hopefully they make it good and do the series justice) Expand
  3. Oct 3, 2013
    7
    This season was a disappointment; it started off rocky and quite messy but it improved itself as it was having a strong and intense build upThis season was a disappointment; it started off rocky and quite messy but it improved itself as it was having a strong and intense build up to its finale, but sadly, fans were ripped off in the end as it ended very poorly; twas quite underwhelming. If it weren't for its lacklustre beginning and ending and Stephen Moyer's horrible acting this season could have been one of the better ones in the series. Expand
  4. Aug 27, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Plenty of people have their criticisms of Alan Ball (I happen to love his work, but that is just my opinion, not fact) but this show has taken a nose dive into terrible with his leaving as showrunner. I thought that the potential was there for some interesting storytelling with Bill becoming a "villain" instead? He gets to play "god" or whatever. The last four or five episodes of the season were at balancing act between boring and outright obnoxious. I kept watching because I thought maybe, just maybe, there was one more trick up the sleeve? Six seasons is a heavy investment into show. I wanted to believe that this was a temporary lull but I knew I had reached my limit when I groaned that we could not even get closure as to whether Eric is actually dead or not. The potential missed is the most aggravating. Sad to see the show go out this way, dragging things on well beyond their capability of being entertaining. Expand
  5. Dec 20, 2013
    3
    I'm not entirely sure about what went wrong here. At times, I feel that it's mainly because the shocking finale of season five didn't play outI'm not entirely sure about what went wrong here. At times, I feel that it's mainly because the shocking finale of season five didn't play out here nearly as well as I'd hoped it would. At other times, I've felt it's solely because some of the best characters in True Blood met cheap and meaningless endings. However, I truly believe creator Alan Ball's absence in season six, albeit the show had been going downhill for quite a while with him at the helm, did something to the show's ability to stay just above mediocrity for several seasons. But when Ball left, the show finally dipped down, and soaked itself with unintentional self-awareness and formed a ridiculously bad ability to tell its own decent story. It seemed the main antagonist in this season would become a great threat to the vampire world, but his story ends with nothing but disappointment. While I'll admit the episode At Last is one of the most beautifully shot episodes of the entire series, that still doesn't make up for this season's unreasonably poor quality. Another thing that bothered me was how the season seemed to conclude with the episode before the finale. Radioactive, the season finale, is perhaps the worst episode of True Blood that I have ever seen. It wanders around in circles until it ends on a careless note that does not excite a soul for season seven. Expand
  6. Oct 19, 2013
    2
    brilliantly this was the worst season of true blood today without any doubt, all you imagine what happened this season was terribly terriblebrilliantly this was the worst season of true blood today without any doubt, all you imagine what happened this season was terribly terrible from villains to protagonists (after finishing the season I'm just praying everyday for sookie stackhouse die). Expand
  7. Aug 20, 2013
    0
    I agree with Soulshock below I only watched season 6 hoping it would improve but was totally disappointed. Warlow and the sunlight was theI agree with Soulshock below I only watched season 6 hoping it would improve but was totally disappointed. Warlow and the sunlight was the first interesting plot in years, and instead they opted to continue their spiral into soft-porn sprinkled lightly- with boring, recycled plots. It was actual writing and actual storyline, along with Eric, Lafayette, Pam, Bill, Jessica, Jason, Hoyt (even his cranky Mom), Sam, and (original only) Tara that kept me watching over the years (notice Sookie is Not on that list). And with the "is Eric dead" feeble attempt to get viewers to tune in next season well, frankly, I don't give a damn. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series

    Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series Image
    Published: May 3, 2012
    Summer will bring some of TV's best shows (including "Breaking Bad" and "Louie," and--possibly--new shows like "The Newsroom"). Inside, we look at the 20 most noteworthy series, specials, and miniseries coming this summer. You'll also find a full calendar of premiere dates from now through August.
  2. Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer

    Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer Image
    Published: May 12, 2011
    Who says there's no good TV in the summer? Learn about the season's most interesting new and returning shows, from "Curb Your Enthusiasm" and "Louie" to "Falling Skies" and "Wilfred." We also have a full calendar of premiere dates for all summer shows.
  3. Ranked: Vampire TV Shows

    Ranked: Vampire TV Shows Image
    Published: June 9, 2010
    HBO's "True Blood" returns for a third season this weekend, but it's far from the only vampire show on television. We rank 10 of the most vampire-centric shows in TV history, from the best to, well, the suckiest.
  4. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.