• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 7, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7
True Blood Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 92 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Things are changing for vampires, werewolves, and fairies alike after the incident at the end of last season.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy, Horror
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 13, 2013
    83
    Suspense, surprises 
and crackling dialogue: True Blood is pumping strong again.
  2. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jun 11, 2013
    75
    The writing is still good.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 10, 2013
    70
    After a couple of seasons where the show and its mythology have grown increasingly crazy and outlandish, True Blood returns on somewhat surer footing, with a couple of key cast additions and driving storylines to bolster the serialized drama.
  4. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Jun 14, 2013
    50
    True Blood still entertains with crackling dialogue and about half its plotlines, but it's starting to feel a little long in the fang.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jun 14, 2013
    50
    As to whether the show will get back on track, the early signals are mixed.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 14, 2013
    50
    True Blood is neglecting the potent subtext of vampire myth--forbidden sex and romance--in favor of political allegory. [24 Jun 2013, p.39]
  7. Reviewed by: Aaron Riccio
    Jun 12, 2013
    38
    Unwilling to really shake things up, the writers have instead drained the life out of their own series, and what's left is merely a desiccated reminder of something that was once entertaining.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 19
  2. Negative: 10 out of 19
  1. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    Based on the premiere alone, True Blood is beginning to correct some of the mistakes it made last season. Sure it's not as good as season one or two, but it's a marked improvement over last year. Less obnoxious allegory and more character and relationship driven plot is always a good thing. Expand
  2. Jul 3, 2013
    8
    The sixth season is starting strong with the introduction of the series' most powerful and perhaps most frightening villain yet. I'll admit the whole "apocalypse" theme continued from last season does feel a little forced, but thankfully it is subtle enough. There are fewer sex scenes, which may be disappointing to some, but honestly I thought there were too many of them anyway. The acting is still strong as some actors now have a slightly different character to play, as in the case of Bill. There's still gore and general creepiness that made a me a fan in the first place, but sadly there seems to be less of that too. But with the human/vampire war starting and the release of Warlow, it certainly promises to be one of the most exciting stories yet. Expand
  3. Sep 10, 2013
    7
    This season of True Blood was very interesting. It is an huge improvement over season 5. The plot was kinda interesting and the new characters in the show are great. Expand
  4. Jul 30, 2014
    3
    Up until season 2 or 3, I really enjoyed this series. Then the writers started throwing in all sorts of monsters and witches to the point that my suspension of disbelief was tested and tried ad nauseam. With season 5, the writers began concentrating again on the vampires (especially good ol' divalicious Pam armed with her venomous tongue), and therefore I thought that the writers were back on track. However, this sixth season is just plain boring, and nearly all of the characters the series has collected over the years are present without advancing the storyline (pesky actor contracts?). A good example is the werewolf subplot where nothing happens (which honestly isn't much different from the fifth season when you think about it; why are the werewolves still there?).

    Speaking of bad, I would say that the 9th episode is the worst of the bunch and epitomizes the entire season. Interwoven among gripping action sequences are yawn-inducing funeral speeches, which I nearly fast forwarded. I should have, since they killed the action for me. During this episode there are also flashbacks of a shell-shocked, dirt-covered Terry, who hobbles around a clearing in the woods, all bug-eyed. I couldn't help laughing, but apparently this scene was supposed to be serious. In conclusion, this season of True Blood has become a parody of itself. And don't get me started with the finale. A horde of vampires at the end? Neither frightening nor inventive.
    Expand
  5. Dec 20, 2013
    3
    I'm not entirely sure about what went wrong here. At times, I feel that it's mainly because the shocking finale of season five didn't play out here nearly as well as I'd hoped it would. At other times, I've felt it's solely because some of the best characters in True Blood met cheap and meaningless endings. However, I truly believe creator Alan Ball's absence in season six, albeit the show had been going downhill for quite a while with him at the helm, did something to the show's ability to stay just above mediocrity for several seasons. But when Ball left, the show finally dipped down, and soaked itself with unintentional self-awareness and formed a ridiculously bad ability to tell its own decent story. It seemed the main antagonist in this season would become a great threat to the vampire world, but his story ends with nothing but disappointment. While I'll admit the episode At Last is one of the most beautifully shot episodes of the entire series, that still doesn't make up for this season's unreasonably poor quality. Another thing that bothered me was how the season seemed to conclude with the episode before the finale. Radioactive, the season finale, is perhaps the worst episode of True Blood that I have ever seen. It wanders around in circles until it ends on a careless note that does not excite a soul for season seven. Expand
  6. Oct 19, 2013
    2
    brilliantly this was the worst season of true blood today without any doubt, all you imagine what happened this season was terribly terrible from villains to protagonists (after finishing the season I'm just praying everyday for sookie stackhouse die). Expand
  7. Aug 20, 2013
    0
    I agree with Soulshock below I only watched season 6 hoping it would improve but was totally disappointed. Warlow and the sunlight was the first interesting plot in years, and instead they opted to continue their spiral into soft-porn sprinkled lightly- with boring, recycled plots. It was actual writing and actual storyline, along with Eric, Lafayette, Pam, Bill, Jessica, Jason, Hoyt (even his cranky Mom), Sam, and (original only) Tara that kept me watching over the years (notice Sookie is Not on that list). And with the "is Eric dead" feeble attempt to get viewers to tune in next season well, frankly, I don't give a damn. Collapse

See all 19 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series

    Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series Image
    Published: May 3, 2012
    Summer will bring some of TV's best shows (including "Breaking Bad" and "Louie," and--possibly--new shows like "The Newsroom"). Inside, we look at the 20 most noteworthy series, specials, and miniseries coming this summer. You'll also find a full calendar of premiere dates from now through August.
  2. Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer

    Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer Image
    Published: May 12, 2011
    Who says there's no good TV in the summer? Learn about the season's most interesting new and returning shows, from "Curb Your Enthusiasm" and "Louie" to "Falling Skies" and "Wilfred." We also have a full calendar of premiere dates for all summer shows.
  3. Ranked: Vampire TV Shows

    Ranked: Vampire TV Shows Image
    Published: June 9, 2010
    HBO's "True Blood" returns for a third season this weekend, but it's far from the only vampire show on television. We rank 10 of the most vampire-centric shows in TV history, from the best to, well, the suckiest.
  4. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.