• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 7, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7
True Blood Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 90 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Things are changing for vampires, werewolves, and fairies alike after the incident at the end of last season.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy, Horror
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 13, 2013
    83
    Suspense, surprises 
and crackling dialogue: True Blood is pumping strong again.
  2. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jun 11, 2013
    75
    The writing is still good.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 10, 2013
    70
    After a couple of seasons where the show and its mythology have grown increasingly crazy and outlandish, True Blood returns on somewhat surer footing, with a couple of key cast additions and driving storylines to bolster the serialized drama.
  4. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Jun 14, 2013
    50
    True Blood still entertains with crackling dialogue and about half its plotlines, but it's starting to feel a little long in the fang.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jun 14, 2013
    50
    As to whether the show will get back on track, the early signals are mixed.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 14, 2013
    50
    True Blood is neglecting the potent subtext of vampire myth--forbidden sex and romance--in favor of political allegory. [24 Jun 2013, p.39]
  7. Reviewed by: Aaron Riccio
    Jun 12, 2013
    38
    Unwilling to really shake things up, the writers have instead drained the life out of their own series, and what's left is merely a desiccated reminder of something that was once entertaining.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 18
  2. Negative: 10 out of 18
  1. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    Based on the premiere alone, True Blood is beginning to correct some of the mistakes it made last season. Sure it's not as good as season one or two, but it's a marked improvement over last year. Less obnoxious allegory and more character and relationship driven plot is always a good thing. Expand
  2. Jul 3, 2013
    8
    The sixth season is starting strong with the introduction of the series' most powerful and perhaps most frightening villain yet. I'll admit the whole "apocalypse" theme continued from last season does feel a little forced, but thankfully it is subtle enough. There are fewer sex scenes, which may be disappointing to some, but honestly I thought there were too many of them anyway. The acting is still strong as some actors now have a slightly different character to play, as in the case of Bill. There's still gore and general creepiness that made a me a fan in the first place, but sadly there seems to be less of that too. But with the human/vampire war starting and the release of Warlow, it certainly promises to be one of the most exciting stories yet. Expand
  3. Sep 10, 2013
    7
    This season of True Blood was very interesting. It is an huge improvement over season 5. The plot was kinda interesting and the new characters in the show are great. Expand
  4. Jul 20, 2014
    3
    Lo, how the mighty have fallen. This last season of True Blood is surely going out with the wimpiest of whimpers, and the least provocative of bangs. The writers are clearly so "written out" that there can be no suspension of disbelief, willing or otherwise. The so-called plot lines are disorganized, the actors seem burned out, their characters are made to speak lines so insipid it's hard to correlate who these once engaging fictionalized people are now with whom they were in seasons past. As a die-hard loyal fan of the books and the series I feel insulted, unappreciated and ripped off.

    In a word, I'm done. I'm not going to watch any more of this drivel. Why should I waste my time on this product when it's obvious the True Blood writers and producers haven't bothered to spend any of their time or creativity making a last season designed to leave the viewers wishing the show would never end, and instead have managed to present us with the opposite--a last season which will leave us saying, "Thank God this tripe is over?"

    This last season fiasco represents the degree of contempt in which we loyal viewers are held, and it's a truly disappointing example of the lack of creative integrity that permeates Hollywood and its attitude towards a viewing audience who have lowered its expectation for quality to such a depressing degree that, by our continuing agreement to watch this garbage, makes it abundantly clear that, to shamelessly paraphrase one of our founding fathers, shows that viewers get pretty much the television content they deserve.
    Expand
  5. Aug 27, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Plenty of people have their criticisms of Alan Ball (I happen to love his work, but that is just my opinion, not fact) but this show has taken a nose dive into terrible with his leaving as showrunner. I thought that the potential was there for some interesting storytelling with Bill becoming a "villain" instead? He gets to play "god" or whatever. The last four or five episodes of the season were at balancing act between boring and outright obnoxious. I kept watching because I thought maybe, just maybe, there was one more trick up the sleeve? Six seasons is a heavy investment into show. I wanted to believe that this was a temporary lull but I knew I had reached my limit when I groaned that we could not even get closure as to whether Eric is actually dead or not. The potential missed is the most aggravating. Sad to see the show go out this way, dragging things on well beyond their capability of being entertaining. Expand
  6. Jul 2, 2013
    1
    I used to really enjoy this show; now it seems as though it is written by five year olds. Truly cringeworthy dialogue and weak plot devices, True Blood has become a tasteless, mind-numbing soap opera. Expand
  7. Aug 20, 2013
    0
    I agree with Soulshock below I only watched season 6 hoping it would improve but was totally disappointed. Warlow and the sunlight was the first interesting plot in years, and instead they opted to continue their spiral into soft-porn sprinkled lightly- with boring, recycled plots. It was actual writing and actual storyline, along with Eric, Lafayette, Pam, Bill, Jessica, Jason, Hoyt (even his cranky Mom), Sam, and (original only) Tara that kept me watching over the years (notice Sookie is Not on that list). And with the "is Eric dead" feeble attempt to get viewers to tune in next season well, frankly, I don't give a damn. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series

    Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series Image
    Published: May 3, 2012
    Summer will bring some of TV's best shows (including "Breaking Bad" and "Louie," and--possibly--new shows like "The Newsroom"). Inside, we look at the 20 most noteworthy series, specials, and miniseries coming this summer. You'll also find a full calendar of premiere dates from now through August.
  2. Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer

    Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer Image
    Published: May 12, 2011
    Who says there's no good TV in the summer? Learn about the season's most interesting new and returning shows, from "Curb Your Enthusiasm" and "Louie" to "Falling Skies" and "Wilfred." We also have a full calendar of premiere dates for all summer shows.
  3. Ranked: Vampire TV Shows

    Ranked: Vampire TV Shows Image
    Published: June 9, 2010
    HBO's "True Blood" returns for a third season this weekend, but it's far from the only vampire show on television. We rank 10 of the most vampire-centric shows in TV history, from the best to, well, the suckiest.
  4. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.