• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 7, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 640 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 63 out of 640

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 3, 2011
    9
    True Blood is another series jumping on the vampire bandwagon and I have to say, the Vamps have never seemed cooler, sexier and crazy! Additionally, what TB offers that other series lack is a solid characterization of the human characters as well. Sookie Stackhouse differs from Bella Swan in that she is not nearly as self-deprecating and it's refreshing. But I have to say, Eric Northman steals the show. The hot blonde vamp is surely the object of many hot dreams. Kudos TB Expand
  2. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    The first few episodes are a rocky start, but stick with Alan Ball's True Blood. By episode seven, so many questions will be bubbling in your brain, you'll hardly be able to wait to watch the next one.
  3. Dec 20, 2013
    7
    It's addicting and entertaining. The writing isn't the best, and the acting isn't that solid, but the first season of True Blood is definitely worth your time.
  4. Aug 11, 2010
    7
    The show is decent at best as far as acting, but its the story and the world that makes true blood worth watching. Unlike shows such as Lost the plot is simple enough to keep viewers interested, but has enough characters and events that keep them guessing. The acting is the shows downfall due to either overacting, or underacting. Its easy to see why people are interested in the show, but hard to see what keeps the viewership so high, when its usually fighting, talking, sex, talking, sex, and then more sex, but then again thats TV these days. Expand
  5. Apr 24, 2011
    6
    I know the director of the show is gay, but he's let it affect the story and believability of the world he's creating. It seems every other person in the show is gay in some way, and Alan Ball likes to exploit that fact. Frequently I find myself wanting to know what's going to happen with the main plot, when I'm interrupted by an unnecessary sex scene that he could have done without. Other than that, the overall plot is good, mainly because of its originality, and the characters are well thought out, and well acted. Not the best show, but definitely entertaining. Expand
  6. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    Brilliant, imaginative, funny and at times very moving. The storyline is varies to that of the Sookie Stackhouse books, so should not be compared too closely by literary fans but it is a very good adaptation. I have been glued and after one episode become a fan. Would highly recommend.
  7. Oct 15, 2010
    8
    Twi-hards, look out! There's a fangbanger that's not afraid to bite: True Blood. Yes, the new vampire series is the very essence of the vampire culture that many is afraid to write. True Blood is surprisingly powerful and gory when it wants to be. The dramatic series includes many themes such as drug use, sexual relations with vampires and a serial killer on the loose killing women who've associated themselves with vampires. In her best since The Piano (a performance that earned her an coveted Oscar title), Anna Paquin is a breath of fresh air as Sookie Stackhouse, a waitress at bar and diner Merlotte's who can read minds. She soon falls for the dazzling Bill Compton (Moyer) -- a vampire -- who soon introduces her to the vampire world. It isn't long before trouble hits her way. There are so good story-lines that will grab your attention enough to keep on the edge of your seat, characters that you don't want to see go and characters that you will love (that's including Sam Merlotte (Sam Trammell), boss of Sookie who turns out to be -- not telling you!, Jason Stackhouse (Aussie Ryan Kwanten), brother of Sookie; Tara Thorton (Rutina Wesley in a breakout role); best friend but like sister of Sookie and Lafayette (Nelsan Ellis), Tara's fast-talking, tough-as-s&%# and openly gay cousin) Expand
  8. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    I didn't think this TV series would ever be my cup of tea, it doesn't hold back on the amount of blood and gore, sex scenes, or torture. Surprisingly, three seasons down the line, I'm well and truly hooked. It's nothing like your Edward and Bella romance; maybe it's just as intense and sloppy, but surrounding them is an increase in murders, kidnappings, and an ever growing variety of creatures appearing in little Louisiana.

    The series follows the story of Sookie Stackhouse (played none other than Anna Paquin - Rogue in X Men) who lives with her brother Jason and who works in your regular family restaurant owned by Sam Merlotte. The restaurant contains most of the main characters, what with it being a small town, but this makes it easy to keep up with all of them. Then there are the vampires, mainly Bill Compton, who Sookie falls in love with, but they're not all 'good'. You'll meet Eric Northman, and Lafayette Reynolds, who deals out vampire blood. Characters come and go, mostly the really naughty ones, and it usually takes a whole season to explain who or what one character is, making it that much more gripping. Some characters have their own powers, making the humans more likeable, however you won't find out what Sookie's is til season three!

    Season three has pleasantly introduced werewolves, and about time really. It's a lot darker, gorier, and you can begin to see the split between the vampires, as some take the humans' side and others such as Russell Edgington (The vamp king of Mississippi) who want to kill off the human race. So if your a Twilight fan but would appreciate a real fight between fang and fur, then get your teeth stuck into True Blood. What's not to like, especially when all the characters are appealing to look at!
    Expand
  9. Nov 11, 2011
    1
    This series is idiotic I can't believe i watched most of it. It's a waste of time.
    I realized people see it just because the actors are kind of hot but nothing else.
  10. Sep 9, 2010
    10
    definitely my cup of red zinger tea. Funny smart, sexy... I cant wait for summer to come back, and I will miss my true blood during the long winter ahead
  11. Sep 27, 2010
    9
    I love true blood!! its the best tv show ever created. The scences are so damn hot and sexy. I haven't missed any episodes. I love all the supernatural creatures that are shown and the show just keeps getting better and better. I have seen the episodes over and over, i just can't get enough of true blood.
  12. Nov 3, 2010
    8
    The first season of True Blood was definitely the best by far. The characters were still mysterious and the plot was still somewhat interesting. It was truly a promising show back then.
  13. Nov 28, 2010
    9
    Very nice show indeed. Most of all, the characters will keep you occupied. Its not a show that makes you laugh all the time, but it still somehow makes it all fun to watch.
  14. Dec 5, 2010
    10
    I absolutely hated the first three episodes but after getting passed that it's a decent show. I find the script to be somewhat cheesy at parts. And the characters can be somewhat annoying and unlikable.
  15. Dec 27, 2010
    7
    Good show for awhile, goes downhill after awhile. Every character is annoying in their own special way and the delivery of their lines is usually painful but in seasons one and two, it's entertaining enough to let it slide. Season 3 has turned this show into a teen drama that happens to involve miscellaneous mythical creatures. Stop at the end of the second season.
  16. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    Having just watched Season 1 and Season 2 feel let down. I am a big fan of the books and can't understand why the series homes in on lots of cheap 'out of work and can't act extras' who have only experience in porn. The stories are great and the series has potential because the main characters work well but the shows potential is brought down to tacky because of it's constant use of useless characters that aren't sexy but offensive. The directors must have their hands down their pants constantly because instead of focusing of the main events of the story; love, hate, deceit, greed and such an eventful imagination from Charlaine Harris they murder it literally. Are they secret Stephanie Meyer fans and want to see the show end? O.K. we know she's the other extreme and she ripped off Charlaine Harris's ideas but still. If you want to make porn, make porn. Don't mess around with great story lines and kill them. Expand
  17. Jan 13, 2011
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After hearing rave reviews from friends I decided to check the show out for myself. Now at the 8th episode and I'm quitting. I gave it a fair shot, but this show is hugely disappointing. The acting is very poor, there's an extreme reliance on sex/drugs to make the show seem "bad ass" and most of the plot/storyline seems to be pretty boring. There have been a few moments that gave me some hope and convinced me to continue watching but they ultimately fail in the face of all the other things that are wrong with this show. I've got nothing against a good Vamp film/novel, but when you start getting into Vampire blood being used as a drug ("V", really?) its a sure sign you need to come up with a new series... Expand
  18. Feb 7, 2013
    4
    Thanks to the invention of a synthetic blood, called Tru Blood, vampires no longer need to hide in the dark and are now able to live among humans. Of course not all humans are particularly keen to see vampires living among them and so they continue to have to deal with and confront the discrimination and misconceptions that have haunted their existence for centuries. As a premise True Blood certainly has potential, especially coming from someone who has dealt with death so expertly in the past namely American Beauty and Six Feet Under creator Alan Ball. Unfortunately that potential is largely squandered. Whereas Six Feet Under had a certain subtlety to the script and characters, despite its weirdness, True Blood seems determined to be as over the top as possible to the point where it is actually far less interesting. The show also goes out of its way to make sure you know the vampires' plight is a metaphor for real life civil rights movements such as gay marriage. Rather than leaving it too audiences to take from it what they will we are constantly told that vampires have 'come out of the coffin' for example. This in itself wouldn't be a problem but it all too often attempts to cover up a lack of interesting drama with unnecessarily graphic sex and violence, seemingly in the hope that audiences won't notice the story-lines aren't very interesting. There are glimpses throughout these thirteen episodes that True Blood could be something better but they are all too rare and I won't be tuning in for a second season. Expand
  19. May 7, 2011
    10
    I love this show ! An adult version of vampire show yummy ! very good story line and love the humor with the gore and the plot very well played hope to see more !
  20. May 23, 2011
    0
    A bunch of vampires now live in a small southern townâ
  21. Oct 21, 2012
    3
    True Blood is sexy in some parts but in all seriousness, this movie is such a wasteful act. It sexy in a way that it brings you into a world of more darker premises, a lot more darker than twilight. However, this show also lacked something that twilight had, genuine love between a human and an immortal. Twilight had love. True Blood has nudity, sex and lust. Unless If you are interested in watching the contents that I mentioned for about 45 minutes or so which is like porn. Its so degrading and so utterly disgusting that I stopped watching on the 3rd or 4th episode of this season. This show is so sick. Its like lying in a bed after a long night of sex and heading for the shower. Expand
  22. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    I love how even though the idea is the most used up of all ideas, this show remains entertaining and full of action and sex all of the time. They stayed close to the book which I really wanted them to do even though it is officially only "loosely based" on the books. The deaths are original and this show just has something special.
  23. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    I am really entertained with this show, I watched four episodes, and got hooked. I found to enjoy all of the characters and loved the drama/suspense!
  24. Jul 1, 2011
    10
    new episode of true blood


    watch here - http://new-tvseries.blogspot.com/search/label/True%20Blood
    watch here - http://new-tvseries.blogspot.com/search/label/True%20Blood
  25. Aug 16, 2012
    7
    The last time I reviewed True Blood, I was only two seasons in and I praised it. Now being all caught up, I can say this show has lost alot of its charm. Theres barely any sex anymore, barely any blood, and the plots are getting messy. It has to many thing happening at once and not one of them is truely compelling. Sookie seems like a side character now in season 5. Hopefully season 6 goes back to its roots. Expand
  26. Jul 18, 2011
    3
    Absolutely do not get the appeal of this show. Tried watching season 1 at many friends' insistence and found it to be extremely.....strange is really the only word I can come up with. This show is strange. In an after-viewing feeling of "what the hell just happened to the last hour of my life?" kinda way.
  27. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    True Blood gives that sense which other series lack (a solid characterization of the human characters). A plot that blows uo in the end, the conclusions leave you hanging until the next episode comes and it gives. Providing excitement and phenom that has become of this show. Promising, top quality effects, and offers a mixture of humour and uniqueness in a depression oriented theme.
  28. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    Sex, mayhem & violence.... what more could I want in escapism entertainment! With extreme violence in cop and hospital dramas as status quo - I am enjoying the surreal premise, and quirky character development.
  29. Sep 27, 2011
    9
    Dark, powerful, witty, funny, dramatic! One of the most captivating shows on TV. That has become a pop culture phenomenon for many. Who wants more S-O-O-K-I-E!!!!!!!
  30. Dor
    Sep 27, 2011
    0
    I can not believe how badly they mutilated a wonderful book series just for hollywood crap and ratings they change so much its not even close to brilliance the books are I wish that charliane Harris had gotten more control of how her books were going to be adapted to tv the only people who love this are people who do not read and have not read the books once you do you will see how sad the show is unfortunately since there are more tv watcher out there than readers you will find fans of this lame excuse of a show I hope this show ends soon Expand
  31. Aug 26, 2012
    9
    Fresh, witty, entertaining and suspenseful series that is fun to watch and is very, very addicting. Once you watch one episode, you have to watch the rest.
  32. Nov 1, 2011
    5
    This show would be fantastic, if it were not for some of the main characters that completely ruin the experience. Sookie's character is likable for the first few episodes, but develops very quickly into a person who speaks (whines) before she thinks, to the extent that it is simply not understandable why one character after the other falls in love with her. Tara is also a little on the obnoxiously stupid side. Other characters, particularly in the side cast, are some of the most likable I have ever seen in any TV series. Expand
  33. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    Well written, though they can leave off some of the nudity and sex scenes. I am definitely waiting for the next season of this show to pick up where they left off. A must see series with loads of exciting scenes and great characters!
  34. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    I'm almost 100% certain that you don't have a soul or just plain hate EVERYTHING if you don't like this show! It's mostly because of the fact that it's just so awesome the actors, the setting, the characters, the plot, the villains, the heroes EVERYTHING is just FANTASTIC!
  35. May 27, 2014
    5
    Good entertainment I guess? I mean it's not the best tv series nor is it the worst. I've always despised the stupid characters hollywood creates with an IQ of a 5 year old. I've always wondered if Hollywood hired kids to create some of the scripts they throw at us.
  36. Jan 22, 2012
    7
    The first two seasons of this show were awesome, but then came season 3. Season 3 created too many story lines, which lead into season 4. Even though season 4 was better, they need to kill a few more characters and have only one or two solid story lines. Other than that, the show never gets boring.
  37. Mar 5, 2012
    9
    Sexy, scary, and powerfully acted, True Blood is an emotional powerhouse. While watching, you are in the control of the show as they make you happy, scared, turned on, and grossed out. After watching season after season, I can conclude that this addicting show is what Twilight dreams to be...but never will.
  38. Nov 23, 2012
    0
    I like a lot of good US series like Breaking Bad, The Walking Dead, Mad Men....but for some reason I never liked True Blood. The characters are unlikable, the story starts out OK but quickly goes downhill and with every new episode I think "how many more clichés of the Vampire genre will they come up with now". If you compare it to The Walking Dead, then True Blood really becames very pale (just like those vampires I guess). Expand
  39. Apr 28, 2012
    8
    True Blood is a fresh, clever and witty vampire series that isn't just true to Vampire lore, but is suspenseful, entertaining, funny and well done and well performed as well. True Blood should be preferred over any vampire series any day.
  40. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    I never thought I would enjoy watching a vampire show. But this one is great! I am very impressed by this show. Brilliant story, wonderful soundtrack (especially the intro song), good actors and technically on a high level. It also contains a lot of violence and nudity. For me, this is perfect entertainment for adults. HBO really knows how to produce TV shows. The viewer is kept in suspense throughout the entire episodes. Expand
  41. Jul 3, 2012
    9
    Very entertaining show with interesting characters and plotlines. Setting aside the fact that it is a fictional work about vampires, the sheer number of supernatural creatures in and around this small town in Louisiana strains credulity at times.
  42. Jul 10, 2012
    6
    The first season of the supernatural drama True Blood is just OK. Slow is also an adjective I'd use. Bad? Not so much. Even though the plot is boring at times, and sometimes only serves as a way for the characters to get into each other's pants, the show does have an addictive quality about itself (however, not as dull and annoying an addiction as the vampire blood addiction some characters develop during the season). There is something to be said about the leads Anna Paquin and Stephen Moyer, who are just awful, boring, and dull, not to mention their terribly fake-sounding accents. But the acting in the show is saved by Alexander Skarsgard and Kristin Bauer van Straten, who are entertaining to watch as the dark, manipulative vampires Eric and Pam. I must add that the show does get much better, but new watchers might get put off by the season's meager offerings. Expand
  43. Sep 17, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The writers created too much chaos and too little for the audience to latch onto and care about. I don Expand
  44. Aug 6, 2012
    3
    Seriously aimed completely at women. It felt slow and as if ever happened it was just cutting from scene to scene with mediocre acting. Worst bits for me were the constant music telling you how you should be feeling and the story line where they could just make up ridiculous solutions to problems scenarios they had created in the plot. My girlfriend however loved it .
  45. Aug 28, 2012
    8
    The first season will always be a great season. And I know many people always say the same **** about the "first" part to any movie or TV franchise, but its first season was actually very good, albeit it wasn't my favorite. However, it managed to draw me into the series and 5 season later, I'm a diehard fan. So it must have done something right.
  46. Aug 25, 2012
    9
    True blood is awesome. I love the acting especially in the first season! Tara's character especially nails it out of the park!

    Andy

    www.funnyordie.com/andy_knuth
  47. Sep 6, 2012
    9
    True Blood has gotten better and better with each season. While I'm not a fan of other vampire shows/movies, True Blood does it so well. It has evolved a lot from the first season and doesn't only focus merely on the vampire aspect. Another HBO hit!
  48. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    This show has had its ups and downs with storylines but it has always ben a must see for my wife and me. This is not for people who don't mind a little gore. The storyline is a little hard to follow with all the supernatural beings.
  49. Apr 26, 2013
    4
    I've heard a lot about this show and i decided to go watch it And i got to say i was tremendly desapointed the show is very confuse and we can figure out the story in it Its a bit uninteresting and i got bored since the begining.
  50. May 23, 2013
    10
    I love this show every season has an epic storyline cliffhangers drama suspense supernatural its the whole package and there are many stories going on in one season
  51. Aug 4, 2013
    9
    One of the best shows ever on tv, but then i wouldn't expect anything less than brilliance from Mr Alan Ball. What i love about True Blood is it's ability to evolve and surprise the viewer just when they least expect it. Also it has an abundance of interesting and developed characters who are constantly evolving along with the show. This one is definitely on my A List of shows that are a 'must see' for genre fans. Expand
  52. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    I've watched this since 2008 so I've basically grown up with it! A mature television show about vampires. Once you get past the annoying pronunciation of Sookie's name by Bill, you'll enjoy it. Season two is better than the first.
  53. Oct 19, 2013
    6
    this series had a good start, is not that kind of series that you addictive to watch, but it's not that you hate that show, its season finale was good and I did not give up on the series.
  54. Jan 11, 2014
    5
    Thanks to True Blood, we now know what happens if vampire and human culture come into collision: a giant orgy ensues. The series barely touches upon what could happen when vampires and humans have to live together. In fact, the vampires mostly stick to their old lifestyle, barely drink True Blood, and treat the humans with utter contempt. The only area in which humans and vampires come to an understanding is in the bedroom. What follows is a big soap opera in which everybody sleeps around with everybody. This seems great fun at first but it gets old very quickly. I’m not saying this series is terrible, there contains good acting by the leads and excellent cinematography; however, everything else is blah....... Expand
  55. Apr 8, 2014
    0
    this is the worst tv show of all time in my opinion

    there is no sense in it
    it is probably the worst writing, the worst directing, and the worst everything!!!
  56. May 8, 2014
    10
    This SHOW is the best compared to Vampire Diaries(little kids show and of course virgin stupid girls) and the mos stupid show Twilight).This show posses the best character I could ever dreamed of : Eric,Godric,Bill, and Alcide...the best SHOW EVER
  57. Jul 22, 2014
    5
    i used to be in complete love with this show but as the seasons go on and esp this last season so far it has been unable to keep my attention. its becoming really boring and stupid. glad its gonna be over now on to the next!
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    42
    I'd say that the author is more vivid, subtle, and funny in her portrayal of Southern life; I'll be surprised if her fans aren't disappointed by this adaptation. The best thing about Ball's shows is their opening credits.
  2. Vampire fantasy, murder mystery, star-crossed love story, political satire, True Blood is all and none of the above. Not quite funny, not quite scary, not quite thought-provoking, the show's attempt to question the roots of prejudice is continually undermined by its own stereotyping.
  3. The core characters, including Sookie's best friend Tara (Rutina Wesley), Sookie's brother Jason (Ryan Kwanten) and bartender Sam (Sam Trammell), who has a thing for Sookie, all have interesting features and are well-played. The rest of the locals don't come off so well, mostly having few brains and a big shortage of couth.