• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 7, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 624 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 61 out of 624

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 11, 2011
    1
    This series is idiotic I can't believe i watched most of it. It's a waste of time.
    I realized people see it just because the actors are kind of hot but nothing else.
  2. Jan 13, 2011
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After hearing rave reviews from friends I decided to check the show out for myself. Now at the 8th episode and I'm quitting. I gave it a fair shot, but this show is hugely disappointing. The acting is very poor, there's an extreme reliance on sex/drugs to make the show seem "bad ass" and most of the plot/storyline seems to be pretty boring. There have been a few moments that gave me some hope and convinced me to continue watching but they ultimately fail in the face of all the other things that are wrong with this show. I've got nothing against a good Vamp film/novel, but when you start getting into Vampire blood being used as a drug ("V", really?) its a sure sign you need to come up with a new series... Expand
  3. Feb 7, 2013
    4
    Thanks to the invention of a synthetic blood, called Tru Blood, vampires no longer need to hide in the dark and are now able to live among humans. Of course not all humans are particularly keen to see vampires living among them and so they continue to have to deal with and confront the discrimination and misconceptions that have haunted their existence for centuries. As a premise True Blood certainly has potential, especially coming from someone who has dealt with death so expertly in the past namely American Beauty and Six Feet Under creator Alan Ball. Unfortunately that potential is largely squandered. Whereas Six Feet Under had a certain subtlety to the script and characters, despite its weirdness, True Blood seems determined to be as over the top as possible to the point where it is actually far less interesting. The show also goes out of its way to make sure you know the vampires' plight is a metaphor for real life civil rights movements such as gay marriage. Rather than leaving it too audiences to take from it what they will we are constantly told that vampires have 'come out of the coffin' for example. This in itself wouldn't be a problem but it all too often attempts to cover up a lack of interesting drama with unnecessarily graphic sex and violence, seemingly in the hope that audiences won't notice the story-lines aren't very interesting. There are glimpses throughout these thirteen episodes that True Blood could be something better but they are all too rare and I won't be tuning in for a second season. Expand
  4. May 23, 2011
    0
    A bunch of vampires now live in a small southern townâ
  5. Oct 21, 2012
    3
    True Blood is sexy in some parts but in all seriousness, this movie is such a wasteful act. It sexy in a way that it brings you into a world of more darker premises, a lot more darker than twilight. However, this show also lacked something that twilight had, genuine love between a human and an immortal. Twilight had love. True Blood has nudity, sex and lust. Unless If you are interested in watching the contents that I mentioned for about 45 minutes or so which is like porn. Its so degrading and so utterly disgusting that I stopped watching on the 3rd or 4th episode of this season. This show is so sick. Its like lying in a bed after a long night of sex and heading for the shower. Expand
  6. Jul 18, 2011
    3
    Absolutely do not get the appeal of this show. Tried watching season 1 at many friends' insistence and found it to be extremely.....strange is really the only word I can come up with. This show is strange. In an after-viewing feeling of "what the hell just happened to the last hour of my life?" kinda way.
  7. Dor
    Sep 27, 2011
    0
    I can not believe how badly they mutilated a wonderful book series just for hollywood crap and ratings they change so much its not even close to brilliance the books are I wish that charliane Harris had gotten more control of how her books were going to be adapted to tv the only people who love this are people who do not read and have not read the books once you do you will see how sad the show is unfortunately since there are more tv watcher out there than readers you will find fans of this lame excuse of a show I hope this show ends soon Expand
  8. Nov 23, 2012
    0
    I like a lot of good US series like Breaking Bad, The Walking Dead, Mad Men....but for some reason I never liked True Blood. The characters are unlikable, the story starts out OK but quickly goes downhill and with every new episode I think "how many more clichés of the Vampire genre will they come up with now". If you compare it to The Walking Dead, then True Blood really becames very pale (just like those vampires I guess). Expand
  9. Sep 17, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The writers created too much chaos and too little for the audience to latch onto and care about. I don Expand
  10. Aug 6, 2012
    3
    Seriously aimed completely at women. It felt slow and as if ever happened it was just cutting from scene to scene with mediocre acting. Worst bits for me were the constant music telling you how you should be feeling and the story line where they could just make up ridiculous solutions to problems scenarios they had created in the plot. My girlfriend however loved it .
  11. Apr 26, 2013
    4
    I've heard a lot about this show and i decided to go watch it And i got to say i was tremendly desapointed the show is very confuse and we can figure out the story in it Its a bit uninteresting and i got bored since the begining.
  12. Apr 8, 2014
    0
    this is the worst tv show of all time in my opinion

    there is no sense in it
    it is probably the worst writing, the worst directing, and the worst everything!!!
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    42
    I'd say that the author is more vivid, subtle, and funny in her portrayal of Southern life; I'll be surprised if her fans aren't disappointed by this adaptation. The best thing about Ball's shows is their opening credits.
  2. Vampire fantasy, murder mystery, star-crossed love story, political satire, True Blood is all and none of the above. Not quite funny, not quite scary, not quite thought-provoking, the show's attempt to question the roots of prejudice is continually undermined by its own stereotyping.
  3. The core characters, including Sookie's best friend Tara (Rutina Wesley), Sookie's brother Jason (Ryan Kwanten) and bartender Sam (Sam Trammell), who has a thing for Sookie, all have interesting features and are well-played. The rest of the locals don't come off so well, mostly having few brains and a big shortage of couth.