• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 7, 2008
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 666 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 65 out of 666

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 27, 2010
    7
    Good show for awhile, goes downhill after awhile. Every character is annoying in their own special way and the delivery of their lines is usually painful but in seasons one and two, it's entertaining enough to let it slide. Season 3 has turned this show into a teen drama that happens to involve miscellaneous mythical creatures. Stop at the end of the second season.
  2. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    Having just watched Season 1 and Season 2 feel let down. I am a big fan of the books and can't understand why the series homes in on lots of cheap 'out of work and can't act extras' who have only experience in porn. The stories are great and the series has potential because the main characters work well but the shows potential is brought down to tacky because of it's constant use ofHaving just watched Season 1 and Season 2 feel let down. I am a big fan of the books and can't understand why the series homes in on lots of cheap 'out of work and can't act extras' who have only experience in porn. The stories are great and the series has potential because the main characters work well but the shows potential is brought down to tacky because of it's constant use of useless characters that aren't sexy but offensive. The directors must have their hands down their pants constantly because instead of focusing of the main events of the story; love, hate, deceit, greed and such an eventful imagination from Charlaine Harris they murder it literally. Are they secret Stephanie Meyer fans and want to see the show end? O.K. we know she's the other extreme and she ripped off Charlaine Harris's ideas but still. If you want to make porn, make porn. Don't mess around with great story lines and kill them. Expand
  3. Feb 7, 2013
    4
    Thanks to the invention of a synthetic blood, called Tru Blood, vampires no longer need to hide in the dark and are now able to live among humans. Of course not all humans are particularly keen to see vampires living among them and so they continue to have to deal with and confront the discrimination and misconceptions that have haunted their existence for centuries. As a premise TrueThanks to the invention of a synthetic blood, called Tru Blood, vampires no longer need to hide in the dark and are now able to live among humans. Of course not all humans are particularly keen to see vampires living among them and so they continue to have to deal with and confront the discrimination and misconceptions that have haunted their existence for centuries. As a premise True Blood certainly has potential, especially coming from someone who has dealt with death so expertly in the past namely American Beauty and Six Feet Under creator Alan Ball. Unfortunately that potential is largely squandered. Whereas Six Feet Under had a certain subtlety to the script and characters, despite its weirdness, True Blood seems determined to be as over the top as possible to the point where it is actually far less interesting. The show also goes out of its way to make sure you know the vampires' plight is a metaphor for real life civil rights movements such as gay marriage. Rather than leaving it too audiences to take from it what they will we are constantly told that vampires have 'come out of the coffin' for example. This in itself wouldn't be a problem but it all too often attempts to cover up a lack of interesting drama with unnecessarily graphic sex and violence, seemingly in the hope that audiences won't notice the story-lines aren't very interesting. There are glimpses throughout these thirteen episodes that True Blood could be something better but they are all too rare and I won't be tuning in for a second season. Expand
  4. May 7, 2011
    10
    I love this show ! An adult version of vampire show yummy ! very good story line and love the humor with the gore and the plot very well played hope to see more !
  5. Mar 1, 2015
    9
    I'm reviewing the whole 7 seasons here. Before watching the show for the first time, I was skeptical about a TV series about vampires but I was wrong ! Not all seasons were as good. The first seasons were my best. I think the cast was really impressive. I will miss Eric, Sookie, Bill, Jason, Pam, etc !
  6. Oct 21, 2012
    3
    True Blood is sexy in some parts but in all seriousness, this movie is such a wasteful act. It sexy in a way that it brings you into a world of more darker premises, a lot more darker than twilight. However, this show also lacked something that twilight had, genuine love between a human and an immortal. Twilight had love. True Blood has nudity, sex and lust. Unless If you are interested inTrue Blood is sexy in some parts but in all seriousness, this movie is such a wasteful act. It sexy in a way that it brings you into a world of more darker premises, a lot more darker than twilight. However, this show also lacked something that twilight had, genuine love between a human and an immortal. Twilight had love. True Blood has nudity, sex and lust. Unless If you are interested in watching the contents that I mentioned for about 45 minutes or so which is like porn. Its so degrading and so utterly disgusting that I stopped watching on the 3rd or 4th episode of this season. This show is so sick. Its like lying in a bed after a long night of sex and heading for the shower. Expand
  7. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    I love how even though the idea is the most used up of all ideas, this show remains entertaining and full of action and sex all of the time. They stayed close to the book which I really wanted them to do even though it is officially only "loosely based" on the books. The deaths are original and this show just has something special.
  8. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    I am really entertained with this show, I watched four episodes, and got hooked. I found to enjoy all of the characters and loved the drama/suspense!
  9. Jul 1, 2011
    10
    new episode of true blood


    watch here - http://new-tvseries.blogspot.com/search/label/True%20Blood
    watch here - http://new-tvseries.blogspot.com/search/label/True%20Blood
  10. Aug 16, 2012
    7
    The last time I reviewed True Blood, I was only two seasons in and I praised it. Now being all caught up, I can say this show has lost alot of its charm. Theres barely any sex anymore, barely any blood, and the plots are getting messy. It has to many thing happening at once and not one of them is truely compelling. Sookie seems like a side character now in season 5. Hopefully season 6 goesThe last time I reviewed True Blood, I was only two seasons in and I praised it. Now being all caught up, I can say this show has lost alot of its charm. Theres barely any sex anymore, barely any blood, and the plots are getting messy. It has to many thing happening at once and not one of them is truely compelling. Sookie seems like a side character now in season 5. Hopefully season 6 goes back to its roots. Expand
  11. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    True Blood gives that sense which other series lack (a solid characterization of the human characters). A plot that blows uo in the end, the conclusions leave you hanging until the next episode comes and it gives. Providing excitement and phenom that has become of this show. Promising, top quality effects, and offers a mixture of humour and uniqueness in a depression oriented theme.
  12. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    Sex, mayhem & violence.... what more could I want in escapism entertainment! With extreme violence in cop and hospital dramas as status quo - I am enjoying the surreal premise, and quirky character development.
  13. Sep 27, 2011
    9
    Dark, powerful, witty, funny, dramatic! One of the most captivating shows on TV. That has become a pop culture phenomenon for many. Who wants more S-O-O-K-I-E!!!!!!!
  14. Dor
    Sep 27, 2011
    0
    I can not believe how badly they mutilated a wonderful book series just for hollywood crap and ratings they change so much its not even close to brilliance the books are I wish that charliane Harris had gotten more control of how her books were going to be adapted to tv the only people who love this are people who do not read and have not read the books once you do you will see how sadI can not believe how badly they mutilated a wonderful book series just for hollywood crap and ratings they change so much its not even close to brilliance the books are I wish that charliane Harris had gotten more control of how her books were going to be adapted to tv the only people who love this are people who do not read and have not read the books once you do you will see how sad the show is unfortunately since there are more tv watcher out there than readers you will find fans of this lame excuse of a show I hope this show ends soon Expand
  15. Aug 26, 2012
    9
    Fresh, witty, entertaining and suspenseful series that is fun to watch and is very, very addicting. Once you watch one episode, you have to watch the rest.
  16. Nov 1, 2011
    5
    This show would be fantastic, if it were not for some of the main characters that completely ruin the experience. Sookie's character is likable for the first few episodes, but develops very quickly into a person who speaks (whines) before she thinks, to the extent that it is simply not understandable why one character after the other falls in love with her. Tara is also a little on theThis show would be fantastic, if it were not for some of the main characters that completely ruin the experience. Sookie's character is likable for the first few episodes, but develops very quickly into a person who speaks (whines) before she thinks, to the extent that it is simply not understandable why one character after the other falls in love with her. Tara is also a little on the obnoxiously stupid side. Other characters, particularly in the side cast, are some of the most likable I have ever seen in any TV series. Expand
  17. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    Well written, though they can leave off some of the nudity and sex scenes. I am definitely waiting for the next season of this show to pick up where they left off. A must see series with loads of exciting scenes and great characters!
  18. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    I'm almost 100% certain that you don't have a soul or just plain hate EVERYTHING if you don't like this show! It's mostly because of the fact that it's just so awesome the actors, the setting, the characters, the plot, the villains, the heroes EVERYTHING is just FANTASTIC!
  19. May 27, 2014
    5
    Good entertainment I guess? I mean it's not the best tv series nor is it the worst. I've always despised the stupid characters hollywood creates with an IQ of a 5 year old. I've always wondered if Hollywood hired kids to create some of the scripts they throw at us.
  20. Jan 22, 2012
    7
    The first two seasons of this show were awesome, but then came season 3. Season 3 created too many story lines, which lead into season 4. Even though season 4 was better, they need to kill a few more characters and have only one or two solid story lines. Other than that, the show never gets boring.
  21. Mar 5, 2012
    9
    Sexy, scary, and powerfully acted, True Blood is an emotional powerhouse. While watching, you are in the control of the show as they make you happy, scared, turned on, and grossed out. After watching season after season, I can conclude that this addicting show is what Twilight dreams to be...but never will.
  22. Nov 23, 2012
    0
    I like a lot of good US series like Breaking Bad, The Walking Dead, Mad Men....but for some reason I never liked True Blood. The characters are unlikable, the story starts out OK but quickly goes downhill and with every new episode I think "how many more clichés of the Vampire genre will they come up with now". If you compare it to The Walking Dead, then True Blood really becamesI like a lot of good US series like Breaking Bad, The Walking Dead, Mad Men....but for some reason I never liked True Blood. The characters are unlikable, the story starts out OK but quickly goes downhill and with every new episode I think "how many more clichés of the Vampire genre will they come up with now". If you compare it to The Walking Dead, then True Blood really becames very pale (just like those vampires I guess). Expand
  23. Apr 28, 2012
    8
    True Blood is a fresh, clever and witty vampire series that isn't just true to Vampire lore, but is suspenseful, entertaining, funny and well done and well performed as well. True Blood should be preferred over any vampire series any day.
  24. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    I never thought I would enjoy watching a vampire show. But this one is great! I am very impressed by this show. Brilliant story, wonderful soundtrack (especially the intro song), good actors and technically on a high level. It also contains a lot of violence and nudity. For me, this is perfect entertainment for adults. HBO really knows how to produce TV shows. The viewer is kept inI never thought I would enjoy watching a vampire show. But this one is great! I am very impressed by this show. Brilliant story, wonderful soundtrack (especially the intro song), good actors and technically on a high level. It also contains a lot of violence and nudity. For me, this is perfect entertainment for adults. HBO really knows how to produce TV shows. The viewer is kept in suspense throughout the entire episodes. Expand
  25. Jul 3, 2012
    9
    Very entertaining show with interesting characters and plotlines. Setting aside the fact that it is a fictional work about vampires, the sheer number of supernatural creatures in and around this small town in Louisiana strains credulity at times.
  26. Jul 10, 2012
    6
    The first season of the supernatural drama True Blood is just OK. Slow is also an adjective I'd use. Bad? Not so much. Even though the plot is boring at times, and sometimes only serves as a way for the characters to get into each other's pants, the show does have an addictive quality about itself (however, not as dull and annoying an addiction as the vampire blood addiction someThe first season of the supernatural drama True Blood is just OK. Slow is also an adjective I'd use. Bad? Not so much. Even though the plot is boring at times, and sometimes only serves as a way for the characters to get into each other's pants, the show does have an addictive quality about itself (however, not as dull and annoying an addiction as the vampire blood addiction some characters develop during the season). There is something to be said about the leads Anna Paquin and Stephen Moyer, who are just awful, boring, and dull, not to mention their terribly fake-sounding accents. But the acting in the show is saved by Alexander Skarsgard and Kristin Bauer van Straten, who are entertaining to watch as the dark, manipulative vampires Eric and Pam. I must add that the show does get much better, but new watchers might get put off by the season's meager offerings. Expand
  27. Sep 17, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The writers created too much chaos and too little for the audience to latch onto and care about. I don Expand
  28. Aug 28, 2012
    8
    The first season will always be a great season. And I know many people always say the same **** about the "first" part to any movie or TV franchise, but its first season was actually very good, albeit it wasn't my favorite. However, it managed to draw me into the series and 5 season later, I'm a diehard fan. So it must have done something right.
  29. Aug 25, 2012
    9
    True blood is awesome. I love the acting especially in the first season! Tara's character especially nails it out of the park!

    Andy

    www.funnyordie.com/andy_knuth
  30. Sep 6, 2012
    9
    True Blood has gotten better and better with each season. While I'm not a fan of other vampire shows/movies, True Blood does it so well. It has evolved a lot from the first season and doesn't only focus merely on the vampire aspect. Another HBO hit!
  31. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    This show has had its ups and downs with storylines but it has always ben a must see for my wife and me. This is not for people who don't mind a little gore. The storyline is a little hard to follow with all the supernatural beings.
  32. Apr 26, 2013
    4
    I've heard a lot about this show and i decided to go watch it And i got to say i was tremendly desapointed the show is very confuse and we can figure out the story in it Its a bit uninteresting and i got bored since the begining.
  33. May 23, 2013
    10
    I love this show every season has an epic storyline cliffhangers drama suspense supernatural its the whole package and there are many stories going on in one season
  34. Aug 4, 2013
    9
    One of the best shows ever on tv, but then i wouldn't expect anything less than brilliance from Mr Alan Ball. What i love about True Blood is it's ability to evolve and surprise the viewer just when they least expect it. Also it has an abundance of interesting and developed characters who are constantly evolving along with the show. This one is definitely on my A List of shows that are aOne of the best shows ever on tv, but then i wouldn't expect anything less than brilliance from Mr Alan Ball. What i love about True Blood is it's ability to evolve and surprise the viewer just when they least expect it. Also it has an abundance of interesting and developed characters who are constantly evolving along with the show. This one is definitely on my A List of shows that are a 'must see' for genre fans. Expand
  35. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    I've watched this since 2008 so I've basically grown up with it! A mature television show about vampires. Once you get past the annoying pronunciation of Sookie's name by Bill, you'll enjoy it. Season two is better than the first.
  36. Oct 19, 2013
    6
    this series had a good start, is not that kind of series that you addictive to watch, but it's not that you hate that show, its season finale was good and I did not give up on the series.
  37. Jan 11, 2014
    5
    Thanks to True Blood, we now know what happens if vampire and human culture come into collision: a giant orgy ensues. The series barely touches upon what could happen when vampires and humans have to live together. In fact, the vampires mostly stick to their old lifestyle, barely drink True Blood, and treat the humans with utter contempt. The only area in which humans and vampires come toThanks to True Blood, we now know what happens if vampire and human culture come into collision: a giant orgy ensues. The series barely touches upon what could happen when vampires and humans have to live together. In fact, the vampires mostly stick to their old lifestyle, barely drink True Blood, and treat the humans with utter contempt. The only area in which humans and vampires come to an understanding is in the bedroom. What follows is a big soap opera in which everybody sleeps around with everybody. This seems great fun at first but it gets old very quickly. I’m not saying this series is terrible, there contains good acting by the leads and excellent cinematography; however, everything else is blah....... Expand
  38. Apr 8, 2014
    0
    this is the worst tv show of all time in my opinion

    there is no sense in it
    it is probably the worst writing, the worst directing, and the worst everything!!!
  39. Jul 22, 2014
    5
    i used to be in complete love with this show but as the seasons go on and esp this last season so far it has been unable to keep my attention. its becoming really boring and stupid. glad its gonna be over now on to the next!
  40. Aug 17, 2014
    8
    "True Blood" has never been the best show on television, but man, the first couple seasons were really enjoyable. All stories were connected, whether thematically or plot-wise. People's relationships actually mattered. There were some nice metaphors about religion and homosexuality. Anna Paquin gave one of the tv-s best performances.

    But above everything else, in its early days,
    "True Blood" has never been the best show on television, but man, the first couple seasons were really enjoyable. All stories were connected, whether thematically or plot-wise. People's relationships actually mattered. There were some nice metaphors about religion and homosexuality. Anna Paquin gave one of the tv-s best performances.

    But above everything else, in its early days, watching "True Blood" was fun and that made up all of its occasional silliness. I personally wish the show had stayed the way it was in its first seasons.
    Expand
  41. Aug 19, 2014
    7
    It's addicting and entertaining. The writing isn't the best, and the acting isn't that solid, but the first season of True Blood is definitely worth your time.
  42. Sep 30, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really enjoyed the series. The writing was really well done and fits our forward thinking and changes in society. Hope to see more programs like this in the near future. Expand
  43. Mar 30, 2015
    7
    It's addicting and entertaining. The writing isn't the best, and the acting isn't that solid, but the first season of True Blood is definitely worth your time.
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    42
    I'd say that the author is more vivid, subtle, and funny in her portrayal of Southern life; I'll be surprised if her fans aren't disappointed by this adaptation. The best thing about Ball's shows is their opening credits.
  2. Vampire fantasy, murder mystery, star-crossed love story, political satire, True Blood is all and none of the above. Not quite funny, not quite scary, not quite thought-provoking, the show's attempt to question the roots of prejudice is continually undermined by its own stereotyping.
  3. The core characters, including Sookie's best friend Tara (Rutina Wesley), Sookie's brother Jason (Ryan Kwanten) and bartender Sam (Sam Trammell), who has a thing for Sookie, all have interesting features and are well-played. The rest of the locals don't come off so well, mostly having few brains and a big shortage of couth.