True Blood : Season 1

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 7, 2008
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 694 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 69 out of 694

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. RonP.
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    Brilliant, lurid southern Gothic soap opera. in its own way, it's as groundbreaking and masterful as ball's "six feet under." the first show to have me completely hooked from the first episode since "sopranos."
  2. Jenny
    Sep 30, 2008
    7
    The first few episodes were a little difficult for me to watch...I've read the Sookie Stackhouse Series and I think they're great. True Blood started off a little on the cheesy side but the last episode (4th?) was a vast improvement. It was much more funny and you finally start to see what kind of person Sookie really is and the plot begins to thicken.
  3. StephanieS
    Jun 9, 2009
    2
    Quite possibly the worst adaptation of book to show I've ever seen. The story line is not even close and major changes are made to the lore Harris created in the book. About the only similarities are the overarching thread of season one to book one (murders of fangbangers and vampire enthusiasts) but other than that the only things that are the same are the characters and the Quite possibly the worst adaptation of book to show I've ever seen. The story line is not even close and major changes are made to the lore Harris created in the book. About the only similarities are the overarching thread of season one to book one (murders of fangbangers and vampire enthusiasts) but other than that the only things that are the same are the characters and the settings. Sookie is nothing as I imagined to her to be (and the acting is terrible) except for blond. The only accurate casting was possible Eric and Pam but acting still leaves something to be desired as does the special effects. C'mon people! Buffy didn't have great quality graphics but yet they were more believable than this show's. I am truly disappointed. Expand
  4. ML.
    Aug 20, 2009
    10
    The best vampire show I've ever seen. Wow, this show is totally addicting. Nice mix of drama and social/religious/political satire. Very funny at times, but also sad and moving sometimes. A little different from the books which are also great. The characters are a pretty believable, and many of them remind of me of people I know. It's not perfect, the accents are a little fake, The best vampire show I've ever seen. Wow, this show is totally addicting. Nice mix of drama and social/religious/political satire. Very funny at times, but also sad and moving sometimes. A little different from the books which are also great. The characters are a pretty believable, and many of them remind of me of people I know. It's not perfect, the accents are a little fake, and it's a mystery why Eric's hair doesn't grow back when he cut it(my girlfriend loves him but wishes they had left his hair long). They overdue the sex scenes sometimes too. Still, overall one of my favorite shows of all time. There's not many good Vampire movies or shows, so it's a refreshing change. Expand
  5. MikeG.
    Oct 4, 2008
    10
    Amazing show! I love that the char. are more fleshed out and feel real compared to the crap on nbc, etc. The sex scenes add to the dynamics of the char. backstory and are well done. I haven't wanted to pick up a novel in a while, but if the book series is this good, I've been missing out. this show is like heroes, law and order, and friends all in one.
  6. LeahB.
    Oct 6, 2008
    10
    I absolutely love this show.. Right when the show ends, I can't wait for next Sunday to watch what will happen next!!!
  7. CharlotteL.
    Oct 9, 2008
    10
    I've read the books and though the show is a bit different its not too bad. The reason that will make me stop watching is if they force sam to be the serial killer.
  8. AntonioM.
    Sep 13, 2008
    2
    Boring, lame. slow paced, terrible acting. PAris Hilton scary House of Wax was a masterpiece compared to this. we were 4 in a room and we all agreed, that it sucks... Very disappointing
  9. LouiseS.
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    Absolutely brilliant, I am hooked on this show. True Blood has a bit of everything for everybody. Very original, great choice of casting, believable storyline too , ( which I know sounds strange). All I can say is watch the show.
  10. Magicmann
    Jun 22, 2009
    10
    The best show on Hbo. Filled with suspense, great story line, action...this show has drama.
  11. JennyT.
    Jun 30, 2009
    0
    This show was really, really bad. The characters aren't interesting, and the dialogue is overplayed. The overdone stereotypes certainly don't help give credibility to th storyline, and the whole show feels like a failure.
  12. LaurenS
    Jan 28, 2010
    3
    I saw one episode, and didn't like it at all. But i understand that others do like it, i just couldn't get into it. I'm not blaming the actors, storyline, or the writer, but i just found that it was boring.
  13. SamanthaH
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    Absolutely love it.......... Anna Paquin is great.
  14. DavidA
    Nov 2, 2008
    8
    took a few episodes to find it's footing, but has become one of the most engaging shows on TV. it could stand to broaden it's view and show the effect of vampires coming out of their coffin outside of a small town in LA. but otherwise, great social commentary soap opera with sex, violence, and laughs.
  15. AndyP.
    Oct 13, 2008
    10
    This show is incredible. It's one of the few where I actually cannot wait until the next episode. It's one of the quickest hours of the week. If you haven't watched it yet, you need to.
  16. TrishaP.
    Oct 15, 2008
    10
    This show is amazing! I watched the first episode and i was hooked... some of the actors could do a better job some times it just seems so fake the way the do or say things just makes it seem that way but other times i am so compelled by what is happening!! I love that show!!
  17. AdrienneS.
    Oct 16, 2008
    10
    There was nothing like the Sopranos, until True Blood came along. Now it's on the top of my all time list of greatt shows. It's my obsession!!!!
  18. TinaM
    Dec 10, 2008
    9
    Flawed, but extremely entertaining. If you are not a fan of tongue-in-cheek exaggeration (a la Grindhouse, Black Dynamite, etc), you probably won't like this. The show tries to be a lot of things (comedy, pulp, ensemble drama, and fantasy) and sometimes comes off as uneven, but the overall quirkiness/weirdness of the show allows for it. I think the acting is quite good (accents... Flawed, but extremely entertaining. If you are not a fan of tongue-in-cheek exaggeration (a la Grindhouse, Black Dynamite, etc), you probably won't like this. The show tries to be a lot of things (comedy, pulp, ensemble drama, and fantasy) and sometimes comes off as uneven, but the overall quirkiness/weirdness of the show allows for it. I think the acting is quite good (accents... meh... I think it's funny that the best/most convincing Southern accents come from the two foreigners of the cast! Shame on Americans and Canadians!)... The Sookie-Gran's-pie scene made me tear up a bit (I NEVER cry during films or TV... exception: Ikiru). Basically the show goes between hilarious scenes (stereotyped some, yes... but they're usually not negative... they're badass stereotypes), really poignant, well acted dramatic scenes, some cheesy love scenes (white dress scene? lol) and some really sincere romantic scenes. Bit bumpy but worth it. And to quote a guy friend of mine: "You get to see Anna Paquin's cans!!" Expand
  19. DeniseF.
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    I am hooked. Can't wait until Sunday nights.
  20. MS
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    Finally took time to watch the show. Could tone down on the sex and bad language.Love Sookie's and Bill's relationship. The chemistry is great. I love the other characters as well and how they all relate to each other. I am hooked. Looking forward to the new episode and reading the books.
  21. AndreaS.
    Oct 26, 2008
    10
    This show is awesome. HBO really hyped it up in August and I all but died looking forward to the series. VAMPIRES RULE!
  22. SharkyT.
    Oct 30, 2008
    9
    This show is a huge hit and these same critics will be raving when they review it for its second season. It IS a show you will either love or hate as it has a mix of camp, horror, drama and a soap opera quality that combines for a tone that is utterly unique. Six Feet Under was a show that was undeniably good and I wouldn't understand somebody not liking it. True Blood is undeniably This show is a huge hit and these same critics will be raving when they review it for its second season. It IS a show you will either love or hate as it has a mix of camp, horror, drama and a soap opera quality that combines for a tone that is utterly unique. Six Feet Under was a show that was undeniably good and I wouldn't understand somebody not liking it. True Blood is undeniably good but I completely understand not liking it. Expand
  23. RionaD.
    Oct 3, 2008
    5
    This show has SO MUCH potential, but it gets lost in it's attempt to sell itself better by sticking in a ridiculous amount of sex and nudity. I honestly felt like I was watching a porno with a plot thrown in as an afterthought. It has it's good points, though. It got some laughs out of me with it's cheesy humor, and the characters are generally likable. As I said earlier, This show has SO MUCH potential, but it gets lost in it's attempt to sell itself better by sticking in a ridiculous amount of sex and nudity. I honestly felt like I was watching a porno with a plot thrown in as an afterthought. It has it's good points, though. It got some laughs out of me with it's cheesy humor, and the characters are generally likable. As I said earlier, it has the potential to be absolutely great. They just need to realize that people will still watch it if they don't include a sex scene every ten minutes. Expand
  24. LauraL.
    Oct 5, 2008
    9
    I find this series to be quite compelling: a great ensemble cast, good production, colorful characters (whom I hope will become more complex as the series continues), interesting inter-textuality with vampire legends and literature, a bit of an edge created by social commentary on small town culture, stereotyping, and racism. I tuned in on a whim, expecting trash. The graphic sex was I find this series to be quite compelling: a great ensemble cast, good production, colorful characters (whom I hope will become more complex as the series continues), interesting inter-textuality with vampire legends and literature, a bit of an edge created by social commentary on small town culture, stereotyping, and racism. I tuned in on a whim, expecting trash. The graphic sex was overdone and a turn off, though inecessary to some extent to establish the character of Sookie's brother Jason; too much time was spent dwelling on his sexual escapades that could have been better spent in almost any other way. This is on balance great fun and I'm going to be not only tuning in but also reading Harris' novels. The script is sticking closely to the first book in the Sookie Stackhouse series-- Tara's a new character and well used to reflect Sookie, making up for the first person narrative of the book that isn't used in the series. I'm interested to see how the script departs from Harris' book in other ways. Thanks to Harris, cast, crew, and director for entertainment worth watching. Expand
  25. VanessaM.
    Oct 6, 2008
    9
    The leads are great and I love the way the show has expanded on the book.
  26. EK
    Oct 8, 2008
    9
    Just keeps getting better. Episode 5 just aired and was great. Hilarious.
  27. HeatherC.
    Sep 10, 2008
    9
    The pilot was great! My only complaint is that Sookie has been dumbed down some from the books, but that may change as her character develops in the TV series.
  28. RolandB.
    Sep 10, 2008
    10
    Paquin is awesome...intriguing start.
  29. KathyB.
    Sep 12, 2008
    10
    I loved it!
  30. RichieV
    Sep 13, 2008
    0
    Probably the worst HBO show ever made! I was extremely disappointed with this show because I had high hopes. It played out like a really bad B horror movie...that wasn't scary. Horrible. Period!
  31. sherryk.
    Sep 15, 2008
    9
    Sensual, sexy, steamy - each episode has kept me mesmerized. Can't wait for episode 3.
  32. tthomas
    Sep 15, 2008
    9
    The best Vampire show ever created and one of the most interesting shows on HBO. I also have to mention the great acting, beautiful visuals and wonderful dialogue. This is a must see. Don't believe the critics. Don't let this be the next Firefly.
  33. FrederickS.
    Sep 10, 2008
    3
    I cannot believe this made it on HBO. Trying to sound cool by using terms like "fang-banger" and phrases like "out of the coffin" are just stupid. (Spoiler below) I understand they are trying to make it seem real, but I can't take a series very seriously if the opening scene is a girl feeling "bored" enough to give her boyfriend some ...assistance in the pleasure department in their I cannot believe this made it on HBO. Trying to sound cool by using terms like "fang-banger" and phrases like "out of the coffin" are just stupid. (Spoiler below) I understand they are trying to make it seem real, but I can't take a series very seriously if the opening scene is a girl feeling "bored" enough to give her boyfriend some ...assistance in the pleasure department in their car. I don't care for sex, but sometimes, HBO makes it decent. I was bored to tears with all the random sex in this show, and there were so many scenes of it. Is this seriously what HBO thinks will beat Dexter and Californication? GEEEEEZ. They are way off. Don't waste your time with this piffle. In the words of Niles Crane, it's "piffle light." Stay away if you want to leave your brain cells intact, and lose them not to vampires but just ignorant TV-making. One final thought: the acting is TERRIBLE. Characters going from pissed off to happy randomly annoys me constantly. I could do a better job! Expand
  34. [Anonymous]
    Sep 15, 2008
    9
    I've not read the Sookie Stackhouse books, but the first two shows have me riveted. The characters may start as caricatures of themselves, but the viewer quickly learns that there is more than meets the eye, and I expect that the series will take some very exciting twists and turns.
  35. BrittneyS.
    Sep 17, 2008
    10
    It has everything you need in a show. I bet it gets better and better!
  36. JessicaD.
    Sep 17, 2008
    10
    I love this show. I like that fact that is not you typical vampire show. Its, its almost like real life. Nothing stupid like turning in to a bat and wearing a cap. Its great
  37. MicheleB.
    Sep 17, 2008
    8
    I like the general principle behind the series. I like the Sookie and Bill characters. I do not like Jason or Tara, Jason is a horndog in the books, but not that stupid. Tara is just plain over the top mean.
  38. DebraR.
    Sep 19, 2008
    10
    I am a huge fan of Charlene Harris' series of books and this show was awesome. I can't wait to see what else you come up with over the course of the next 11 episodes.
  39. zaragh
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    Love it. i watched each episode 5 times and i can't wait to see more.it;s so far one of the best shows I've ever seen.
  40. HeatherW.
    Sep 22, 2008
    10
    I think some people are going into this show with there eyes closed. They are so use to the glamuor the Blade and Underworld have put on the vampire world... At least TrueBlood puts the dirty and not so pleasant views of what vampirisum. It should not always be so intriguing.. the bad side of it needs to shown and Trueblood does that...
  41. ChristinaM.
    Sep 24, 2008
    10
    I watched this show out of curiosity and fell in love. I watched the first 3 episodes back to back and I can't wait for the 4th. The show has that side of fantasy mixed with reality that I think really draws people in. Not all the characters are amazing, but the season just started so I'll give them time to develope more. The main characters, Sookie and Bill, are wonderful. The I watched this show out of curiosity and fell in love. I watched the first 3 episodes back to back and I can't wait for the 4th. The show has that side of fantasy mixed with reality that I think really draws people in. Not all the characters are amazing, but the season just started so I'll give them time to develope more. The main characters, Sookie and Bill, are wonderful. The strange attraction between the 2 really makes you want to watch more. I can't wait for the rest of this season and seasons after! Expand
  42. DonnaB.
    Sep 25, 2008
    10
    LOVE IT!! LOVE IT!! LOVE IT!!! Keep going, can't wait too watch every week! THANKS HBO!!! Was waiting for a good horror show like this!!!
  43. MArciaA.
    Sep 29, 2008
    10
    Great show. The tension between Anna and Stephen is just wonderful and that is what makes us watch. Great choice of actors. Keep up.
  44. ANance
    Sep 7, 2008
    8
    Good first show, not great but definitely good. I love the story line that this potential laden show has laid out.. Definitely looking forward to next weeks episode.
  45. JoelL.
    Sep 8, 2008
    2
    Not funny, not thrilling, not sexy, very hokey and very badly acted excepting Paquin.
  46. aimeer.
    Sep 9, 2008
    5
    The Southern accents are terrible and the acting so so. It held my attention but mostly because I was so excited about the series. Kind of let down but am hoping it will take a turn for the better.
  47. JoeT.
    Sep 9, 2008
    7
    It's too bad the show hides behind all the vampire mumbo jumbo (or made it more implied). The pilot at least would have been served if it tackled issues of prejudice and depicted its Southern setting straight on. Maybe future episodes will justify the paranormal premise of the show.
  48. StevenS.
    Sep 9, 2008
    7
    It was better than I expected.
  49. HarryH.
    Oct 4, 2009
    4
    If you
  50. EmmaW.
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    Great series, very sexy.
  51. MRoberts
    Mar 12, 2009
    10
    Love this show, I cant wait till the 2nd season comes out !
  52. EmilyS
    May 22, 2009
    2
    This show seemed like it might be good, but it just seems to have gone down hill with each episode. The writers apparently have no idea how to deal with problematic characters other than just killing them. It follows Jason for much of the show simply having hallucinogenic dreams and sex and being far too stupid to live. There was no foreshadowing as to who the murderer might be, even This show seemed like it might be good, but it just seems to have gone down hill with each episode. The writers apparently have no idea how to deal with problematic characters other than just killing them. It follows Jason for much of the show simply having hallucinogenic dreams and sex and being far too stupid to live. There was no foreshadowing as to who the murderer might be, even though the main character can read minds- it seemed like they just picked him as the killer in that episode and made it obvious in the first couple minutes of the episode. Now it seems for the next season Jason has joined an anti-vampire church and so will continue being more stupid than ever and taking up time where we could be doing so many better things, like throwing salt in our eyes. Expand
  53. AndrewN
    Jun 14, 2009
    3
    This show is painfully weak in character and dialogue, nothing close to the powerhouse that 6 Feet Under was. I watch because I have nothing better to do and it gives me confidence in my own writing abilities that something so poorly crafted as this can actually get produced.
  54. CaitiM.
    Jul 17, 2009
    10
    It has such a talented cast, and is brilliantly written.
  55. JudithI.
    Jul 20, 2009
    10
    Though I think the second season is focusing too much on the sex. The books are fabulous and I only hope True Blood continues in the same vein even though I can see they have really changed the storyline. I can always reread the books.
  56. DinaW.
    Jul 26, 2009
    0
    Totally sucks. I am from the south. not from louisiana, though. i am very disappointed at the quality of acting, script, and story line. i have a lot of "stories" for sale that are much more entertaining and more specifically written like someone with a brain. Sorry, hated it!!!!!
  57. TomT.
    Jul 28, 2009
    10
    9.8 actually. It amuses me how some can give it a zero, makes me question the validity of their opinion. Those that get the subtlety and genius will be hard pressed to find a better show.
  58. bradf.
    Aug 24, 2009
    10
    Most cridics dont know good viewing when they see it i love true blood.
  59. GregM
    Aug 7, 2009
    9
    Great Show.For anyone that doesn't care for it give it a chance it will grow on you.
  60. NickM
    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    Greatest show on Television since The Sopranos. Glad we had Entourage and Lost to get us through our time without Tony. Now we get to spend it with the badass viking of area 5.
  61. johnd
    Sep 20, 2009
    4
    The show that should've been great, but somehow isn't. The only reason to watch are the side characters: Eric, the vampire "sheriff" steals every scene with just his menacing presence; and the gay cook, Lafayette, is wonderfully played and often hilarious. Unfortunately the lead actors are not only sub par actors with zero chemistry, but also physically unattractive. It's The show that should've been great, but somehow isn't. The only reason to watch are the side characters: Eric, the vampire "sheriff" steals every scene with just his menacing presence; and the gay cook, Lafayette, is wonderfully played and often hilarious. Unfortunately the lead actors are not only sub par actors with zero chemistry, but also physically unattractive. It's really hard to watch ugly people make out. Expand
  62. DanielT
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    One of the best TV series of all time. The director took everything from the books and made it better. Season Two utilizes that greatness and give us a season to remember.
  63. Carmen
    Oct 10, 2008
    10
    Okay people. Lighten up! I can't tell you how many reviews I've read that complain about the sex...and the nudity...and how crude the language is... Have any of you ever read Laurell K Hamilton's books? This stuff is cotton candy compared to that. The point of this genre is to make us see the deepest darkest most terrifying aspects of both humanity and the supernatural and Okay people. Lighten up! I can't tell you how many reviews I've read that complain about the sex...and the nudity...and how crude the language is... Have any of you ever read Laurell K Hamilton's books? This stuff is cotton candy compared to that. The point of this genre is to make us see the deepest darkest most terrifying aspects of both humanity and the supernatural and Sookie's character is supposed to be the foil for all of that evil. If you're looking for cute bunnies and butterflies, perhaps you should sign up for a knitting class. Expand
  64. PaulS.
    Oct 12, 2008
    10
    Like some people said below, I am HOOKED! It provides a nice transition from mystical fantasy world of vampires to a contemporary political world of today. The characters are all likable. I hate how at the end of every episode it ends on a peak. It literally leaves me thirsty for more true blood.
  65. CG
    Nov 24, 2008
    10
    This is the most entertaining series I have seen in a while. Nothing better to watch right now. I find it insane they're gonna wait until summer 09 to start it up again.
  66. MariejoseeRoy
    Oct 13, 2008
    9
    Its just a great show that keeps me entertained. It is intense at times, hilarious on occasions, and down right hot, in every sense of the word. It is better than most of the shows out there, at least it's original!!!!!!
  67. DanielaT.
    Oct 13, 2008
    9
    I love it I'm addicted to it i cant wait until every Sunday to watch a new episode i think i mite have watch each episode over 10 times and everytime i watch it i get even better..i hope that theres a 2 season because i just cant get enough of true blood.
  68. NancyH.
    Nov 4, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best shows on television right now. Alan Ball is amazing, but Charliane Harris' imagination to create this world is unreal. Kudos to the all of the actors on this show, they all do a great job with restrained emotion to help not make this series meleodramatic, but intriguing, and exciting.
  69. JenniferR.
    Nov 5, 2008
    8
    Love the books and love the show, my only critique is with Jason and his storyline. Good actor, terrible storyline.
  70. JoA.
    Oct 18, 2008
    9
    See this one through. I look forward to Sunday evenings. Excellent ! Listen to the viewers not the critics.
  71. FirstLast
    Nov 9, 2008
    0
    This piece of garbage series is nothing but a low grade soap opera veneered with pop vampire lore. It's not funny, it's not scary, nor is it even thought provoking. The shallow, crass character development reduces its characters to boring stereotypes. A complete and utter waste of time.
  72. MikeM.
    Oct 21, 2008
    10
    Definitely has grown on me a lot from the 1st episode. It made me LOL several times tonight, mostly with Jason's antics. Nicely filmed, very gothic.
  73. KarlK
    Dec 16, 2008
    10
    Amazing series, I was hooked from start to finish, full of shocks, surprises, comedy it had everything. Thanks HBO for giving us another superb production to stand alongside the sopranos and rome etc.
  74. Ash
    Dec 1, 2008
    4
    R rated vampire story meant for the Lifetime network. More time spent on the unimportant side dramas than the vampire stories. If you are into watching an "angry daughter-drunk mother" relationship, an entire eisode devoted to a pointless funeral wake, or love triangles, this is a show for you.
  75. CarolL.
    Dec 25, 2008
    10
    Stephen Moyer is the sexiest man in the world. Without him the show would get a 6 from me. I love to love him. Dear God I hope sombody recognizes that he is the whole show and does nottry to write him out EVER EVER. Stephen...call me.
  76. EricW
    Dec 7, 2008
    10
    This show keep you wondering what will happen next. Who in the next episode with have some " Fucked up shit" happen to them. Where else can you watch in 5 monutes and watch 2 people ahving sex, someone die , and a vampires drining blood from a bottle. Come on thats some funny sh*t.
  77. DustinC.
    Oct 28, 2008
    0
    Terrible acting. Terrible production values. Simply TERIBLE!
  78. Kim
    Oct 7, 2008
    8
    There's something about True Blodd that bothers me, but at the same time I just can't stop watching. I really want the show to be better because it has SO MUCH potential. Six Feet Under was my favorite show of all time, but this series just doesn't quite stand up. Maybe it's that some of the dialog is cheesy and unbelievable? Maybe the actors just need a little more There's something about True Blodd that bothers me, but at the same time I just can't stop watching. I really want the show to be better because it has SO MUCH potential. Six Feet Under was my favorite show of all time, but this series just doesn't quite stand up. Maybe it's that some of the dialog is cheesy and unbelievable? Maybe the actors just need a little more time to get the chemistry going? While I love all of the main characters, the towns people and vampires are just overdone and too stereotypical. All in all, this series is not losing me as a viewer any time soon. My fascination with vampires will win out. I just hope it can stay on the air long enough for things to fall into place. And I'm sure they will. Expand
  79. KarmaGirl
    Sep 14, 2008
    9
    So far, so good.
  80. LouiseR.
    Sep 15, 2008
    10
    I love this show what can I say it is great. Good job.
  81. MitsuH.
    Sep 17, 2008
    10
    Fantastic acting, interesting idea of integrating vampires into the everyday lives of Americans, great combination of funny and threatening scenes. Anna Paquin is luminous and expressive, and the entire cast is doing a stupendous job. First-rate all around.
  82. EliseS.
    Sep 18, 2008
    8
    I love the series...I have already bought the Tshirt...I am a dreamer and I love Vamp movies...this is a great mix...its great and I love Anna P and Ryan is fresh...another HBO hit to me.
  83. TomC.
    Sep 19, 2008
    2
    This show is the most pretentious dribbling sappy excuse for drama on television. The premise is trite with casting that scrapes the bottom of the barrel. I'd give this a zero if I wasn't such a die hard fan of Six feet Under (well at least the first two seasons). I've never read the books and after watching two episodes I don't think I ever will. If I was from the This show is the most pretentious dribbling sappy excuse for drama on television. The premise is trite with casting that scrapes the bottom of the barrel. I'd give this a zero if I wasn't such a die hard fan of Six feet Under (well at least the first two seasons). I've never read the books and after watching two episodes I don't think I ever will. If I was from the South I would be offended by the portrayal of hedonistic, judgemental, one dimensional caricatures portrayed here. Also, absolutely no chemistry with any of the cast members. I really want to know who is blowing the reviewers that are giving this show scores above a 5 (LA Times seems to be the last bastion of sanity.) Expand
  84. JoshD.
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    I can't believe there are big name papers that aren't giving this show the full credit it deserves. I thought the show is a sexy, scary and modern view of the century old concept of the vampire. I look forward all week to find out what happens next. I love it!!
  85. AlianaB.
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    Fabulous show - each character interesting and so well played. Love Moyer in this role. I'm hooked.
  86. LINDAL.
    Sep 22, 2008
    10
    Love it. Really true to the books and great casting!!!!!
  87. JoeB.
    Sep 22, 2008
    1
    This show is absolutely terrible. It is beyond corny, the acting is terrible (especially the fake southern accents), the sad thing is is that there is enough funding to keep this show on the air. To see this show get good reviews baffles my mind and I hope people begin to realize how ridiculous of a show this is. I keep laughing when I see fangs! THIS SHOW IS A JOKE
  88. JenniferL.
    Sep 22, 2008
    8
    A lot of fun to watch, the stars are magnetic.
  89. WilliamN.
    Sep 22, 2008
    10
    Finally something to watch after Deadwood, Rome, Six Feet Under, etc. Great TV! And a very sensual fantasy world portrayed.
  90. DeborahJ.
    Sep 23, 2008
    10
    I love this show!! True escapism.
  91. R.DamienW.
    Sep 24, 2008
    9
    I Like the taste of this fresh HBO series, and I must have more(fangs pop out)...I feel like I am getting "glamored" because like Sookie I just can't turn away from it, and I feel real guilty because the show is so dang sinful and wicked, but it is just so interesting. Lord, forgive me, but I have set my DVR to record.
  92. JarvisM.
    Sep 24, 2008
    9
    REALLY A 10!! - I'm just leaving room for the series to surprise me!! - This is easily the BEST show on TV right now!! - The Vampires are mixed so realistically into the human world it'll almost make you start wondering about your real-life neighbors!!
  93. LisaN.
    Sep 25, 2008
    10
    I love this show. Bill is great I hope her really isn't leaving after 5 shows I can't wait until Sunday!!
  94. JasonP
    Sep 26, 2008
    8
    Great show, always left satisfied and wanting the next episode. Absolutely love the Southern Gothic vibe. I think the characters are fascination. I love the sex aspect of the show (we Americans are just so prude, I love that people with varying sexual appetites are being shown). And quite possibly the best title sequence/theme song for any show I have ever seen.
  95. LisaL.
    Sep 26, 2008
    7
    I'm a true southerner...born and raised and I can't help but think of Elvis every time "Bill" says "Sookie". "Tara's" accent is just way off....I don't know what she's trying for but it's not working! Writing....for the most part, I'm hooked. But when Moyer's Compton said it was "magic" keeping him alive....I just laughed. Couldn't he just of I'm a true southerner...born and raised and I can't help but think of Elvis every time "Bill" says "Sookie". "Tara's" accent is just way off....I don't know what she's trying for but it's not working! Writing....for the most part, I'm hooked. But when Moyer's Compton said it was "magic" keeping him alive....I just laughed. Couldn't he just of said something like "an unknown power"? I mean, how lame is "magic"? Not sure I would have cast Paquin...she's just not as attractive as I think she needs to be. I believe the attraction from Sookies standpoint, but what really does Bill see in Sookie? Sure, she's not affected by his "glamorizing" and she did save his life, but what else? Maybe she reminds him of his long lost wife? Can't wait to see what's up with that Dog! Expand
  96. CherylN.
    Sep 28, 2008
    10
    The acting ability and chemistry between Sookie and the Vampire Bill rate a 20 on a scale of 10. Absolutely great.
  97. JanaH.
    Sep 28, 2008
    10
    I really like the show, it not only has vampires but a who dunnit right along with it. its really keeping my interest.
  98. LisaH.
    Sep 28, 2008
    10
    Do not cancel this show. Finally a show with sexual chemistry, dark humor, unbelievable, sad, horrific: just like real life!
  99. FaithP.
    Sep 28, 2008
    9
    Sexy and Funny. What more could you want?
  100. AlexisB.
    Sep 28, 2008
    9
    Addicting show...the delicious blend of horror, sex, fantasy and humor keep me waiting for every Sunday so far. Some characters are better developed and more intriguing than others - Jason, Sookie (like Anna Paquin for this role, actually), Bill, Sam.
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. I'd say that the author is more vivid, subtle, and funny in her portrayal of Southern life; I'll be surprised if her fans aren't disappointed by this adaptation. The best thing about Ball's shows is their opening credits.
  2. Vampire fantasy, murder mystery, star-crossed love story, political satire, True Blood is all and none of the above. Not quite funny, not quite scary, not quite thought-provoking, the show's attempt to question the roots of prejudice is continually undermined by its own stereotyping.
  3. The core characters, including Sookie's best friend Tara (Rutina Wesley), Sookie's brother Jason (Ryan Kwanten) and bartender Sam (Sam Trammell), who has a thing for Sookie, all have interesting features and are well-played. The rest of the locals don't come off so well, mostly having few brains and a big shortage of couth.