True Blood : Season 1

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 7, 2008
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 680 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 69 out of 680

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. RhondaR
    Sep 25, 2008
    6
    I tend to like fantasy. And, I do like the story concept and interaction/chemistry between the lead characters. However, I feel that the amount of gratuitous sex is way over the top. I have already started to fast forward the DVR when they start. Still, I'll keep watching for a while to see if they can remedy this and the sometimes flat narrative.
  2. Apr 24, 2011
    6
    I know the director of the show is gay, but he's let it affect the story and believability of the world he's creating. It seems every other person in the show is gay in some way, and Alan Ball likes to exploit that fact. Frequently I find myself wanting to know what's going to happen with the main plot, when I'm interrupted by an unnecessary sex scene that he could have done without. OtherI know the director of the show is gay, but he's let it affect the story and believability of the world he's creating. It seems every other person in the show is gay in some way, and Alan Ball likes to exploit that fact. Frequently I find myself wanting to know what's going to happen with the main plot, when I'm interrupted by an unnecessary sex scene that he could have done without. Other than that, the overall plot is good, mainly because of its originality, and the characters are well thought out, and well acted. Not the best show, but definitely entertaining. Expand
  3. Jul 10, 2012
    6
    The first season of the supernatural drama True Blood is just OK. Slow is also an adjective I'd use. Bad? Not so much. Even though the plot is boring at times, and sometimes only serves as a way for the characters to get into each other's pants, the show does have an addictive quality about itself (however, not as dull and annoying an addiction as the vampire blood addiction someThe first season of the supernatural drama True Blood is just OK. Slow is also an adjective I'd use. Bad? Not so much. Even though the plot is boring at times, and sometimes only serves as a way for the characters to get into each other's pants, the show does have an addictive quality about itself (however, not as dull and annoying an addiction as the vampire blood addiction some characters develop during the season). There is something to be said about the leads Anna Paquin and Stephen Moyer, who are just awful, boring, and dull, not to mention their terribly fake-sounding accents. But the acting in the show is saved by Alexander Skarsgard and Kristin Bauer van Straten, who are entertaining to watch as the dark, manipulative vampires Eric and Pam. I must add that the show does get much better, but new watchers might get put off by the season's meager offerings. Expand
  4. Oct 19, 2013
    6
    this series had a good start, is not that kind of series that you addictive to watch, but it's not that you hate that show, its season finale was good and I did not give up on the series.
  5. RionaD.
    Oct 3, 2008
    5
    This show has SO MUCH potential, but it gets lost in it's attempt to sell itself better by sticking in a ridiculous amount of sex and nudity. I honestly felt like I was watching a porno with a plot thrown in as an afterthought. It has it's good points, though. It got some laughs out of me with it's cheesy humor, and the characters are generally likable. As I said earlier, This show has SO MUCH potential, but it gets lost in it's attempt to sell itself better by sticking in a ridiculous amount of sex and nudity. I honestly felt like I was watching a porno with a plot thrown in as an afterthought. It has it's good points, though. It got some laughs out of me with it's cheesy humor, and the characters are generally likable. As I said earlier, it has the potential to be absolutely great. They just need to realize that people will still watch it if they don't include a sex scene every ten minutes. Expand
  6. aimeer.
    Sep 9, 2008
    5
    The Southern accents are terrible and the acting so so. It held my attention but mostly because I was so excited about the series. Kind of let down but am hoping it will take a turn for the better.
  7. Nov 1, 2011
    5
    This show would be fantastic, if it were not for some of the main characters that completely ruin the experience. Sookie's character is likable for the first few episodes, but develops very quickly into a person who speaks (whines) before she thinks, to the extent that it is simply not understandable why one character after the other falls in love with her. Tara is also a little on theThis show would be fantastic, if it were not for some of the main characters that completely ruin the experience. Sookie's character is likable for the first few episodes, but develops very quickly into a person who speaks (whines) before she thinks, to the extent that it is simply not understandable why one character after the other falls in love with her. Tara is also a little on the obnoxiously stupid side. Other characters, particularly in the side cast, are some of the most likable I have ever seen in any TV series. Expand
  8. May 27, 2014
    5
    Good entertainment I guess? I mean it's not the best tv series nor is it the worst. I've always despised the stupid characters hollywood creates with an IQ of a 5 year old. I've always wondered if Hollywood hired kids to create some of the scripts they throw at us.
  9. Jan 11, 2014
    5
    Thanks to True Blood, we now know what happens if vampire and human culture come into collision: a giant orgy ensues. The series barely touches upon what could happen when vampires and humans have to live together. In fact, the vampires mostly stick to their old lifestyle, barely drink True Blood, and treat the humans with utter contempt. The only area in which humans and vampires come toThanks to True Blood, we now know what happens if vampire and human culture come into collision: a giant orgy ensues. The series barely touches upon what could happen when vampires and humans have to live together. In fact, the vampires mostly stick to their old lifestyle, barely drink True Blood, and treat the humans with utter contempt. The only area in which humans and vampires come to an understanding is in the bedroom. What follows is a big soap opera in which everybody sleeps around with everybody. This seems great fun at first but it gets old very quickly. I’m not saying this series is terrible, there contains good acting by the leads and excellent cinematography; however, everything else is blah....... Expand
  10. Jul 22, 2014
    5
    i used to be in complete love with this show but as the seasons go on and esp this last season so far it has been unable to keep my attention. its becoming really boring and stupid. glad its gonna be over now on to the next!
  11. Nov 4, 2014
    5
    I would say after season three the show starts to get rather stupid. I enjoyed watching it prior to the show becoming what it has become. I think they should of went a completely different route than what they did, but this is just my opinion. If you're just looking for a show to pass some time then this show will suffice, but I wouldn't put any time in if you're looking for a show toI would say after season three the show starts to get rather stupid. I enjoyed watching it prior to the show becoming what it has become. I think they should of went a completely different route than what they did, but this is just my opinion. If you're just looking for a show to pass some time then this show will suffice, but I wouldn't put any time in if you're looking for a show to actually get into. Expand
  12. HarryH.
    Oct 4, 2009
    4
    If you
  13. johnd
    Sep 20, 2009
    4
    The show that should've been great, but somehow isn't. The only reason to watch are the side characters: Eric, the vampire "sheriff" steals every scene with just his menacing presence; and the gay cook, Lafayette, is wonderfully played and often hilarious. Unfortunately the lead actors are not only sub par actors with zero chemistry, but also physically unattractive. It's The show that should've been great, but somehow isn't. The only reason to watch are the side characters: Eric, the vampire "sheriff" steals every scene with just his menacing presence; and the gay cook, Lafayette, is wonderfully played and often hilarious. Unfortunately the lead actors are not only sub par actors with zero chemistry, but also physically unattractive. It's really hard to watch ugly people make out. Expand
  14. Ash
    Dec 1, 2008
    4
    R rated vampire story meant for the Lifetime network. More time spent on the unimportant side dramas than the vampire stories. If you are into watching an "angry daughter-drunk mother" relationship, an entire eisode devoted to a pointless funeral wake, or love triangles, this is a show for you.
  15. LornoH
    Sep 6, 2009
    4
    I was very much looking forward to this show. Unfortunately I snored through most of it and constantly had my finger on the Ff button. The story is convoluted and unfocused; characters are cardboard and predictable; I felt like I've watched it before, only better. Oh well, HBO can't hit a homerun every time I guess.
  16. ChrisC
    Sep 12, 2008
    4
    Terrible. I've heard more believable dialog in a Spongebob cartoon. The characters are all trailer trash stereotypes, and there's a lot of random gratuitous sexuality that has nothing to do with the plot and only seems to be there because it knows it's on HBO. It makes no original take on vampire mythology only to make them into a political special interest group. Very Terrible. I've heard more believable dialog in a Spongebob cartoon. The characters are all trailer trash stereotypes, and there's a lot of random gratuitous sexuality that has nothing to do with the plot and only seems to be there because it knows it's on HBO. It makes no original take on vampire mythology only to make them into a political special interest group. Very disappointing. The only thing even remotely redeeming about the show is the main character. Expand
  17. TorcanC.
    Sep 28, 2008
    4
    Mix trailer trash and copious amounts of nudity and violence, and you get True Blood. The charecters are shallow, and are therefore very predictable. The dialog is straight out of an internet fan fic (either "I love", or "YOU BITCH", no middle ground). Shure there's a back story, but that seems to have been thrown to the wayside so main "plot" of moon struck virgin wanting scruffy Mix trailer trash and copious amounts of nudity and violence, and you get True Blood. The charecters are shallow, and are therefore very predictable. The dialog is straight out of an internet fan fic (either "I love", or "YOU BITCH", no middle ground). Shure there's a back story, but that seems to have been thrown to the wayside so main "plot" of moon struck virgin wanting scruffy new guy to plow here like a Calgery driveway. Expand
  18. AnkushD
    Nov 29, 2008
    4
    True Blood is part soap-opera, part thriller, and the way in which it jumps between the two prevents any real atmosphere developing. The vampire aspect of the show doesn't really serve to distinguish it, as the show chooses instead to focus on the emotional swings and relationship issues of the central characters - something which Six Feet Under did infinitely better.
  19. Feb 7, 2013
    4
    Thanks to the invention of a synthetic blood, called Tru Blood, vampires no longer need to hide in the dark and are now able to live among humans. Of course not all humans are particularly keen to see vampires living among them and so they continue to have to deal with and confront the discrimination and misconceptions that have haunted their existence for centuries. As a premise TrueThanks to the invention of a synthetic blood, called Tru Blood, vampires no longer need to hide in the dark and are now able to live among humans. Of course not all humans are particularly keen to see vampires living among them and so they continue to have to deal with and confront the discrimination and misconceptions that have haunted their existence for centuries. As a premise True Blood certainly has potential, especially coming from someone who has dealt with death so expertly in the past namely American Beauty and Six Feet Under creator Alan Ball. Unfortunately that potential is largely squandered. Whereas Six Feet Under had a certain subtlety to the script and characters, despite its weirdness, True Blood seems determined to be as over the top as possible to the point where it is actually far less interesting. The show also goes out of its way to make sure you know the vampires' plight is a metaphor for real life civil rights movements such as gay marriage. Rather than leaving it too audiences to take from it what they will we are constantly told that vampires have 'come out of the coffin' for example. This in itself wouldn't be a problem but it all too often attempts to cover up a lack of interesting drama with unnecessarily graphic sex and violence, seemingly in the hope that audiences won't notice the story-lines aren't very interesting. There are glimpses throughout these thirteen episodes that True Blood could be something better but they are all too rare and I won't be tuning in for a second season. Expand
  20. Apr 26, 2013
    4
    I've heard a lot about this show and i decided to go watch it And i got to say i was tremendly desapointed the show is very confuse and we can figure out the story in it Its a bit uninteresting and i got bored since the begining.
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. I'd say that the author is more vivid, subtle, and funny in her portrayal of Southern life; I'll be surprised if her fans aren't disappointed by this adaptation. The best thing about Ball's shows is their opening credits.
  2. Vampire fantasy, murder mystery, star-crossed love story, political satire, True Blood is all and none of the above. Not quite funny, not quite scary, not quite thought-provoking, the show's attempt to question the roots of prejudice is continually undermined by its own stereotyping.
  3. The core characters, including Sookie's best friend Tara (Rutina Wesley), Sookie's brother Jason (Ryan Kwanten) and bartender Sam (Sam Trammell), who has a thing for Sookie, all have interesting features and are well-played. The rest of the locals don't come off so well, mostly having few brains and a big shortage of couth.