• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 7, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 624 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 61 out of 624

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    Brilliant, imaginative, funny and at times very moving. The storyline is varies to that of the Sookie Stackhouse books, so should not be compared too closely by literary fans but it is a very good adaptation. I have been glued and after one episode become a fan. Would highly recommend.
  2. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    I didn't think this TV series would ever be my cup of tea, it doesn't hold back on the amount of blood and gore, sex scenes, or torture. Surprisingly, three seasons down the line, I'm well and truly hooked. It's nothing like your Edward and Bella romance; maybe it's just as intense and sloppy, but surrounding them is an increase in murders, kidnappings, and an ever growing variety of creatures appearing in little Louisiana.

    The series follows the story of Sookie Stackhouse (played none other than Anna Paquin - Rogue in X Men) who lives with her brother Jason and who works in your regular family restaurant owned by Sam Merlotte. The restaurant contains most of the main characters, what with it being a small town, but this makes it easy to keep up with all of them. Then there are the vampires, mainly Bill Compton, who Sookie falls in love with, but they're not all 'good'. You'll meet Eric Northman, and Lafayette Reynolds, who deals out vampire blood. Characters come and go, mostly the really naughty ones, and it usually takes a whole season to explain who or what one character is, making it that much more gripping. Some characters have their own powers, making the humans more likeable, however you won't find out what Sookie's is til season three!

    Season three has pleasantly introduced werewolves, and about time really. It's a lot darker, gorier, and you can begin to see the split between the vampires, as some take the humans' side and others such as Russell Edgington (The vamp king of Mississippi) who want to kill off the human race. So if your a Twilight fan but would appreciate a real fight between fang and fur, then get your teeth stuck into True Blood. What's not to like, especially when all the characters are appealing to look at!
    Expand
  3. Sep 9, 2010
    10
    definitely my cup of red zinger tea. Funny smart, sexy... I cant wait for summer to come back, and I will miss my true blood during the long winter ahead
  4. Dec 5, 2010
    10
    I absolutely hated the first three episodes but after getting passed that it's a decent show. I find the script to be somewhat cheesy at parts. And the characters can be somewhat annoying and unlikable.
  5. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    Having just watched Season 1 and Season 2 feel let down. I am a big fan of the books and can't understand why the series homes in on lots of cheap 'out of work and can't act extras' who have only experience in porn. The stories are great and the series has potential because the main characters work well but the shows potential is brought down to tacky because of it's constant use of useless characters that aren't sexy but offensive. The directors must have their hands down their pants constantly because instead of focusing of the main events of the story; love, hate, deceit, greed and such an eventful imagination from Charlaine Harris they murder it literally. Are they secret Stephanie Meyer fans and want to see the show end? O.K. we know she's the other extreme and she ripped off Charlaine Harris's ideas but still. If you want to make porn, make porn. Don't mess around with great story lines and kill them. Expand
  6. May 7, 2011
    10
    I love this show ! An adult version of vampire show yummy ! very good story line and love the humor with the gore and the plot very well played hope to see more !
  7. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    I am really entertained with this show, I watched four episodes, and got hooked. I found to enjoy all of the characters and loved the drama/suspense!
  8. Jul 1, 2011
    10
    new episode of true blood


    watch here - http://new-tvseries.blogspot.com/search/label/True%20Blood
    watch here - http://new-tvseries.blogspot.com/search/label/True%20Blood
  9. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    True Blood gives that sense which other series lack (a solid characterization of the human characters). A plot that blows uo in the end, the conclusions leave you hanging until the next episode comes and it gives. Providing excitement and phenom that has become of this show. Promising, top quality effects, and offers a mixture of humour and uniqueness in a depression oriented theme.
  10. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    Sex, mayhem & violence.... what more could I want in escapism entertainment! With extreme violence in cop and hospital dramas as status quo - I am enjoying the surreal premise, and quirky character development.
  11. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    Well written, though they can leave off some of the nudity and sex scenes. I am definitely waiting for the next season of this show to pick up where they left off. A must see series with loads of exciting scenes and great characters!
  12. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    I'm almost 100% certain that you don't have a soul or just plain hate EVERYTHING if you don't like this show! It's mostly because of the fact that it's just so awesome the actors, the setting, the characters, the plot, the villains, the heroes EVERYTHING is just FANTASTIC!
  13. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    I never thought I would enjoy watching a vampire show. But this one is great! I am very impressed by this show. Brilliant story, wonderful soundtrack (especially the intro song), good actors and technically on a high level. It also contains a lot of violence and nudity. For me, this is perfect entertainment for adults. HBO really knows how to produce TV shows. The viewer is kept in suspense throughout the entire episodes. Expand
  14. May 23, 2013
    10
    I love this show every season has an epic storyline cliffhangers drama suspense supernatural its the whole package and there are many stories going on in one season
  15. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    I've watched this since 2008 so I've basically grown up with it! A mature television show about vampires. Once you get past the annoying pronunciation of Sookie's name by Bill, you'll enjoy it. Season two is better than the first.
  16. Sep 27, 2010
    9
    I love true blood!! its the best tv show ever created. The scences are so damn hot and sexy. I haven't missed any episodes. I love all the supernatural creatures that are shown and the show just keeps getting better and better. I have seen the episodes over and over, i just can't get enough of true blood.
  17. Nov 28, 2010
    9
    Very nice show indeed. Most of all, the characters will keep you occupied. Its not a show that makes you laugh all the time, but it still somehow makes it all fun to watch.
  18. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    I love how even though the idea is the most used up of all ideas, this show remains entertaining and full of action and sex all of the time. They stayed close to the book which I really wanted them to do even though it is officially only "loosely based" on the books. The deaths are original and this show just has something special.
  19. Jul 3, 2011
    9
    True Blood is another series jumping on the vampire bandwagon and I have to say, the Vamps have never seemed cooler, sexier and crazy! Additionally, what TB offers that other series lack is a solid characterization of the human characters as well. Sookie Stackhouse differs from Bella Swan in that she is not nearly as self-deprecating and it's refreshing. But I have to say, Eric Northman steals the show. The hot blonde vamp is surely the object of many hot dreams. Kudos TB Expand
  20. Sep 27, 2011
    9
    Dark, powerful, witty, funny, dramatic! One of the most captivating shows on TV. That has become a pop culture phenomenon for many. Who wants more S-O-O-K-I-E!!!!!!!
  21. Aug 26, 2012
    9
    Fresh, witty, entertaining and suspenseful series that is fun to watch and is very, very addicting. Once you watch one episode, you have to watch the rest.
  22. Mar 5, 2012
    9
    Sexy, scary, and powerfully acted, True Blood is an emotional powerhouse. While watching, you are in the control of the show as they make you happy, scared, turned on, and grossed out. After watching season after season, I can conclude that this addicting show is what Twilight dreams to be...but never will.
  23. Jul 3, 2012
    9
    Very entertaining show with interesting characters and plotlines. Setting aside the fact that it is a fictional work about vampires, the sheer number of supernatural creatures in and around this small town in Louisiana strains credulity at times.
  24. Aug 25, 2012
    9
    True blood is awesome. I love the acting especially in the first season! Tara's character especially nails it out of the park!

    Andy

    www.funnyordie.com/andy_knuth
  25. Sep 6, 2012
    9
    True Blood has gotten better and better with each season. While I'm not a fan of other vampire shows/movies, True Blood does it so well. It has evolved a lot from the first season and doesn't only focus merely on the vampire aspect. Another HBO hit!
  26. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    The first few episodes are a rocky start, but stick with Alan Ball's True Blood. By episode seven, so many questions will be bubbling in your brain, you'll hardly be able to wait to watch the next one.
  27. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    This show has had its ups and downs with storylines but it has always ben a must see for my wife and me. This is not for people who don't mind a little gore. The storyline is a little hard to follow with all the supernatural beings.
  28. Aug 4, 2013
    9
    One of the best shows ever on tv, but then i wouldn't expect anything less than brilliance from Mr Alan Ball. What i love about True Blood is it's ability to evolve and surprise the viewer just when they least expect it. Also it has an abundance of interesting and developed characters who are constantly evolving along with the show. This one is definitely on my A List of shows that are a 'must see' for genre fans. Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    42
    I'd say that the author is more vivid, subtle, and funny in her portrayal of Southern life; I'll be surprised if her fans aren't disappointed by this adaptation. The best thing about Ball's shows is their opening credits.
  2. Vampire fantasy, murder mystery, star-crossed love story, political satire, True Blood is all and none of the above. Not quite funny, not quite scary, not quite thought-provoking, the show's attempt to question the roots of prejudice is continually undermined by its own stereotyping.
  3. The core characters, including Sookie's best friend Tara (Rutina Wesley), Sookie's brother Jason (Ryan Kwanten) and bartender Sam (Sam Trammell), who has a thing for Sookie, all have interesting features and are well-played. The rest of the locals don't come off so well, mostly having few brains and a big shortage of couth.