True Blood : Season 1

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 7, 2008
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 689 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 69 out of 689

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Apr 4, 2017
    10
    Terrific blend of supernatural horror, dark comedy, engaging romance, and socioeconomic satire, "True Blood" is truly one of the best television shows ever produced. Paquin and Skarasgaard shine among a rich, eclectic cast. Highly commendable!
  2. Jun 5, 2016
    9
    Right now finished the first season of True Blood. Puhh.. it was better as I thought, after I saw the critics, I can´t understand why this has such a bad score?

    It´s dirty´n hot, the atmosphere of the southern is captured great. The main characters looks damn good, some of them funny, others creepy.. The story is well paced with a lot of turns and highlights. The first 12 episodes from
    Right now finished the first season of True Blood. Puhh.. it was better as I thought, after I saw the critics, I can´t understand why this has such a bad score?

    It´s dirty´n hot, the atmosphere of the southern is captured great. The main characters looks damn good, some of them funny, others creepy.. The story is well paced with a lot of turns and highlights. The first 12 episodes from season one shows sex, drugs and Vampires.. The Vampires shown so far are great, like Bill with his passion for Sookie or his cool "Boss" Eric. Other "mythical creatures" showing up promises a great 2nd season with tricky climax!
    Expand
  3. Mar 8, 2016
    9
    Fresh, witty, entertaining and suspenseful series that is fun to watch and is very, very addicting. Once you watch one episode, you have to watch the rest.
  4. Nov 13, 2015
    9
    So I am not going to lie: when the vampire mania after Twilight came out I was not at all into it. I really wouldn't have predicted I would like this show so much.

    I think the appreciation for this show has to be understood through a lens that everything in the show, no matter how gory, campy, or riddiculous, is intentional. This isn't supposed to be a gritty drama, it is a carosel of
    So I am not going to lie: when the vampire mania after Twilight came out I was not at all into it. I really wouldn't have predicted I would like this show so much.

    I think the appreciation for this show has to be understood through a lens that everything in the show, no matter how gory, campy, or riddiculous, is intentional. This isn't supposed to be a gritty drama, it is a carosel of violence and vice, and you just have to enjoy the ride that stretches credulity.

    One thing I think this show doesn't nearly get enough credit for is being laugh out loud hilarious. In season 2 when Hoyt's (sp?) mom is possessed by Maryann I littlerally die laughing every time as she plays Wii and cusses up a storm. Jason has some pretty hilarious one liners too that are delivered reliably throughout the shows seasons. Andy Belfluere (also sp-never read the books so I'm not sure about spelling) is also consistently hilarious.

    I don't know why, but season 2 is my hands down favorite. I think that in the horror or fantasy genre Maryann is a really unique character/mythology to explore.

    The only critique I have is that the last few seasons weren't as good, but I think that happens to a lot of series. I definitely recommend this show to just about anyone.
    Expand
  5. Aug 17, 2015
    7
    It's addicting and entertaining. The writing isn't the best, and the acting isn't that solid, but the first season of True Blood is definitely worth your time.
  6. Mar 30, 2015
    7
    It's addicting and entertaining. The writing isn't the best, and the acting isn't that solid, but the first season of True Blood is definitely worth your time.
  7. Mar 1, 2015
    9
    I'm reviewing the whole 7 seasons here. Before watching the show for the first time, I was skeptical about a TV series about vampires but I was wrong ! Not all seasons were as good. The first seasons were my best. I think the cast was really impressive. I will miss Eric, Sookie, Bill, Jason, Pam, etc !
  8. Nov 4, 2014
    5
    I would say after season three the show starts to get rather stupid. I enjoyed watching it prior to the show becoming what it has become. I think they should of went a completely different route than what they did, but this is just my opinion. If you're just looking for a show to pass some time then this show will suffice, but I wouldn't put any time in if you're looking for a show toI would say after season three the show starts to get rather stupid. I enjoyed watching it prior to the show becoming what it has become. I think they should of went a completely different route than what they did, but this is just my opinion. If you're just looking for a show to pass some time then this show will suffice, but I wouldn't put any time in if you're looking for a show to actually get into. Expand
  9. Sep 30, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really enjoyed the series. The writing was really well done and fits our forward thinking and changes in society. Hope to see more programs like this in the near future. Expand
  10. Aug 19, 2014
    7
    It's addicting and entertaining. The writing isn't the best, and the acting isn't that solid, but the first season of True Blood is definitely worth your time.
  11. Aug 17, 2014
    8
    "True Blood" has never been the best show on television, but man, the first couple seasons were really enjoyable. All stories were connected, whether thematically or plot-wise. People's relationships actually mattered. There were some nice metaphors about religion and homosexuality. Anna Paquin gave one of the tv-s best performances.

    But above everything else, in its early days,
    "True Blood" has never been the best show on television, but man, the first couple seasons were really enjoyable. All stories were connected, whether thematically or plot-wise. People's relationships actually mattered. There were some nice metaphors about religion and homosexuality. Anna Paquin gave one of the tv-s best performances.

    But above everything else, in its early days, watching "True Blood" was fun and that made up all of its occasional silliness. I personally wish the show had stayed the way it was in its first seasons.
    Expand
  12. Jul 22, 2014
    5
    i used to be in complete love with this show but as the seasons go on and esp this last season so far it has been unable to keep my attention. its becoming really boring and stupid. glad its gonna be over now on to the next!
  13. May 27, 2014
    5
    Good entertainment I guess? I mean it's not the best tv series nor is it the worst. I've always despised the stupid characters hollywood creates with an IQ of a 5 year old. I've always wondered if Hollywood hired kids to create some of the scripts they throw at us.
  14. May 8, 2014
    10
    This SHOW is the best compared to Vampire Diaries(little kids show and of course virgin stupid girls) and the mos stupid show Twilight).This show posses the best character I could ever dreamed of : Eric,Godric,Bill, and Alcide...the best SHOW EVER
  15. Apr 8, 2014
    0
    this is the worst tv show of all time in my opinion

    there is no sense in it
    it is probably the worst writing, the worst directing, and the worst everything!!!
  16. Jan 11, 2014
    5
    Thanks to True Blood, we now know what happens if vampire and human culture come into collision: a giant orgy ensues. The series barely touches upon what could happen when vampires and humans have to live together. In fact, the vampires mostly stick to their old lifestyle, barely drink True Blood, and treat the humans with utter contempt. The only area in which humans and vampires come toThanks to True Blood, we now know what happens if vampire and human culture come into collision: a giant orgy ensues. The series barely touches upon what could happen when vampires and humans have to live together. In fact, the vampires mostly stick to their old lifestyle, barely drink True Blood, and treat the humans with utter contempt. The only area in which humans and vampires come to an understanding is in the bedroom. What follows is a big soap opera in which everybody sleeps around with everybody. This seems great fun at first but it gets old very quickly. I’m not saying this series is terrible, there contains good acting by the leads and excellent cinematography; however, everything else is blah....... Expand
  17. Dec 20, 2013
    7
    It's addicting and entertaining. The writing isn't the best, and the acting isn't that solid, but the first season of True Blood is definitely worth your time.
  18. Oct 19, 2013
    6
    this series had a good start, is not that kind of series that you addictive to watch, but it's not that you hate that show, its season finale was good and I did not give up on the series.
  19. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    I've watched this since 2008 so I've basically grown up with it! A mature television show about vampires. Once you get past the annoying pronunciation of Sookie's name by Bill, you'll enjoy it. Season two is better than the first.
  20. Aug 4, 2013
    9
    One of the best shows ever on tv, but then i wouldn't expect anything less than brilliance from Mr Alan Ball. What i love about True Blood is it's ability to evolve and surprise the viewer just when they least expect it. Also it has an abundance of interesting and developed characters who are constantly evolving along with the show. This one is definitely on my A List of shows that are aOne of the best shows ever on tv, but then i wouldn't expect anything less than brilliance from Mr Alan Ball. What i love about True Blood is it's ability to evolve and surprise the viewer just when they least expect it. Also it has an abundance of interesting and developed characters who are constantly evolving along with the show. This one is definitely on my A List of shows that are a 'must see' for genre fans. Expand
  21. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    This show has had its ups and downs with storylines but it has always ben a must see for my wife and me. This is not for people who don't mind a little gore. The storyline is a little hard to follow with all the supernatural beings.
  22. May 23, 2013
    10
    I love this show every season has an epic storyline cliffhangers drama suspense supernatural its the whole package and there are many stories going on in one season
  23. Apr 26, 2013
    4
    I've heard a lot about this show and i decided to go watch it And i got to say i was tremendly desapointed the show is very confuse and we can figure out the story in it Its a bit uninteresting and i got bored since the begining.
  24. Feb 7, 2013
    4
    Thanks to the invention of a synthetic blood, called Tru Blood, vampires no longer need to hide in the dark and are now able to live among humans. Of course not all humans are particularly keen to see vampires living among them and so they continue to have to deal with and confront the discrimination and misconceptions that have haunted their existence for centuries. As a premise TrueThanks to the invention of a synthetic blood, called Tru Blood, vampires no longer need to hide in the dark and are now able to live among humans. Of course not all humans are particularly keen to see vampires living among them and so they continue to have to deal with and confront the discrimination and misconceptions that have haunted their existence for centuries. As a premise True Blood certainly has potential, especially coming from someone who has dealt with death so expertly in the past namely American Beauty and Six Feet Under creator Alan Ball. Unfortunately that potential is largely squandered. Whereas Six Feet Under had a certain subtlety to the script and characters, despite its weirdness, True Blood seems determined to be as over the top as possible to the point where it is actually far less interesting. The show also goes out of its way to make sure you know the vampires' plight is a metaphor for real life civil rights movements such as gay marriage. Rather than leaving it too audiences to take from it what they will we are constantly told that vampires have 'come out of the coffin' for example. This in itself wouldn't be a problem but it all too often attempts to cover up a lack of interesting drama with unnecessarily graphic sex and violence, seemingly in the hope that audiences won't notice the story-lines aren't very interesting. There are glimpses throughout these thirteen episodes that True Blood could be something better but they are all too rare and I won't be tuning in for a second season. Expand
  25. Nov 23, 2012
    0
    I like a lot of good US series like Breaking Bad, The Walking Dead, Mad Men....but for some reason I never liked True Blood. The characters are unlikable, the story starts out OK but quickly goes downhill and with every new episode I think "how many more clichés of the Vampire genre will they come up with now". If you compare it to The Walking Dead, then True Blood really becamesI like a lot of good US series like Breaking Bad, The Walking Dead, Mad Men....but for some reason I never liked True Blood. The characters are unlikable, the story starts out OK but quickly goes downhill and with every new episode I think "how many more clichés of the Vampire genre will they come up with now". If you compare it to The Walking Dead, then True Blood really becames very pale (just like those vampires I guess). Expand
  26. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    The first few episodes are a rocky start, but stick with Alan Ball's True Blood. By episode seven, so many questions will be bubbling in your brain, you'll hardly be able to wait to watch the next one.
  27. Oct 21, 2012
    3
    True Blood is sexy in some parts but in all seriousness, this movie is such a wasteful act. It sexy in a way that it brings you into a world of more darker premises, a lot more darker than twilight. However, this show also lacked something that twilight had, genuine love between a human and an immortal. Twilight had love. True Blood has nudity, sex and lust. Unless If you are interested inTrue Blood is sexy in some parts but in all seriousness, this movie is such a wasteful act. It sexy in a way that it brings you into a world of more darker premises, a lot more darker than twilight. However, this show also lacked something that twilight had, genuine love between a human and an immortal. Twilight had love. True Blood has nudity, sex and lust. Unless If you are interested in watching the contents that I mentioned for about 45 minutes or so which is like porn. Its so degrading and so utterly disgusting that I stopped watching on the 3rd or 4th episode of this season. This show is so sick. Its like lying in a bed after a long night of sex and heading for the shower. Expand
  28. Sep 17, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The writers created too much chaos and too little for the audience to latch onto and care about. I don Expand
  29. Sep 6, 2012
    9
    True Blood has gotten better and better with each season. While I'm not a fan of other vampire shows/movies, True Blood does it so well. It has evolved a lot from the first season and doesn't only focus merely on the vampire aspect. Another HBO hit!
  30. Aug 28, 2012
    8
    The first season will always be a great season. And I know many people always say the same **** about the "first" part to any movie or TV franchise, but its first season was actually very good, albeit it wasn't my favorite. However, it managed to draw me into the series and 5 season later, I'm a diehard fan. So it must have done something right.
  31. Aug 26, 2012
    9
    Fresh, witty, entertaining and suspenseful series that is fun to watch and is very, very addicting. Once you watch one episode, you have to watch the rest.
  32. Aug 25, 2012
    9
    True blood is awesome. I love the acting especially in the first season! Tara's character especially nails it out of the park!

    Andy

    www.funnyordie.com/andy_knuth
  33. Aug 16, 2012
    7
    The last time I reviewed True Blood, I was only two seasons in and I praised it. Now being all caught up, I can say this show has lost alot of its charm. Theres barely any sex anymore, barely any blood, and the plots are getting messy. It has to many thing happening at once and not one of them is truely compelling. Sookie seems like a side character now in season 5. Hopefully season 6 goesThe last time I reviewed True Blood, I was only two seasons in and I praised it. Now being all caught up, I can say this show has lost alot of its charm. Theres barely any sex anymore, barely any blood, and the plots are getting messy. It has to many thing happening at once and not one of them is truely compelling. Sookie seems like a side character now in season 5. Hopefully season 6 goes back to its roots. Expand
  34. Aug 6, 2012
    3
    Seriously aimed completely at women. It felt slow and as if ever happened it was just cutting from scene to scene with mediocre acting. Worst bits for me were the constant music telling you how you should be feeling and the story line where they could just make up ridiculous solutions to problems scenarios they had created in the plot. My girlfriend however loved it .
  35. Jul 10, 2012
    6
    The first season of the supernatural drama True Blood is just OK. Slow is also an adjective I'd use. Bad? Not so much. Even though the plot is boring at times, and sometimes only serves as a way for the characters to get into each other's pants, the show does have an addictive quality about itself (however, not as dull and annoying an addiction as the vampire blood addiction someThe first season of the supernatural drama True Blood is just OK. Slow is also an adjective I'd use. Bad? Not so much. Even though the plot is boring at times, and sometimes only serves as a way for the characters to get into each other's pants, the show does have an addictive quality about itself (however, not as dull and annoying an addiction as the vampire blood addiction some characters develop during the season). There is something to be said about the leads Anna Paquin and Stephen Moyer, who are just awful, boring, and dull, not to mention their terribly fake-sounding accents. But the acting in the show is saved by Alexander Skarsgard and Kristin Bauer van Straten, who are entertaining to watch as the dark, manipulative vampires Eric and Pam. I must add that the show does get much better, but new watchers might get put off by the season's meager offerings. Expand
  36. Jul 3, 2012
    9
    Very entertaining show with interesting characters and plotlines. Setting aside the fact that it is a fictional work about vampires, the sheer number of supernatural creatures in and around this small town in Louisiana strains credulity at times.
  37. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    I'm almost 100% certain that you don't have a soul or just plain hate EVERYTHING if you don't like this show! It's mostly because of the fact that it's just so awesome the actors, the setting, the characters, the plot, the villains, the heroes EVERYTHING is just FANTASTIC!
  38. Mar 5, 2012
    9
    Sexy, scary, and powerfully acted, True Blood is an emotional powerhouse. While watching, you are in the control of the show as they make you happy, scared, turned on, and grossed out. After watching season after season, I can conclude that this addicting show is what Twilight dreams to be...but never will.
  39. Jan 22, 2012
    7
    The first two seasons of this show were awesome, but then came season 3. Season 3 created too many story lines, which lead into season 4. Even though season 4 was better, they need to kill a few more characters and have only one or two solid story lines. Other than that, the show never gets boring.
  40. Nov 11, 2011
    1
    This series is idiotic I can't believe i watched most of it. It's a waste of time.
    I realized people see it just because the actors are kind of hot but nothing else.
  41. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    Well written, though they can leave off some of the nudity and sex scenes. I am definitely waiting for the next season of this show to pick up where they left off. A must see series with loads of exciting scenes and great characters!
  42. Nov 1, 2011
    5
    This show would be fantastic, if it were not for some of the main characters that completely ruin the experience. Sookie's character is likable for the first few episodes, but develops very quickly into a person who speaks (whines) before she thinks, to the extent that it is simply not understandable why one character after the other falls in love with her. Tara is also a little on theThis show would be fantastic, if it were not for some of the main characters that completely ruin the experience. Sookie's character is likable for the first few episodes, but develops very quickly into a person who speaks (whines) before she thinks, to the extent that it is simply not understandable why one character after the other falls in love with her. Tara is also a little on the obnoxiously stupid side. Other characters, particularly in the side cast, are some of the most likable I have ever seen in any TV series. Expand
  43. Dor
    Sep 27, 2011
    0
    I can not believe how badly they mutilated a wonderful book series just for hollywood crap and ratings they change so much its not even close to brilliance the books are I wish that charliane Harris had gotten more control of how her books were going to be adapted to tv the only people who love this are people who do not read and have not read the books once you do you will see how sadI can not believe how badly they mutilated a wonderful book series just for hollywood crap and ratings they change so much its not even close to brilliance the books are I wish that charliane Harris had gotten more control of how her books were going to be adapted to tv the only people who love this are people who do not read and have not read the books once you do you will see how sad the show is unfortunately since there are more tv watcher out there than readers you will find fans of this lame excuse of a show I hope this show ends soon Expand
  44. Sep 27, 2011
    9
    Dark, powerful, witty, funny, dramatic! One of the most captivating shows on TV. That has become a pop culture phenomenon for many. Who wants more S-O-O-K-I-E!!!!!!!
  45. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    Sex, mayhem & violence.... what more could I want in escapism entertainment! With extreme violence in cop and hospital dramas as status quo - I am enjoying the surreal premise, and quirky character development.
  46. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    True Blood gives that sense which other series lack (a solid characterization of the human characters). A plot that blows uo in the end, the conclusions leave you hanging until the next episode comes and it gives. Providing excitement and phenom that has become of this show. Promising, top quality effects, and offers a mixture of humour and uniqueness in a depression oriented theme.
  47. Jul 18, 2011
    3
    Absolutely do not get the appeal of this show. Tried watching season 1 at many friends' insistence and found it to be extremely.....strange is really the only word I can come up with. This show is strange. In an after-viewing feeling of "what the hell just happened to the last hour of my life?" kinda way.
  48. Jul 3, 2011
    9
    True Blood is another series jumping on the vampire bandwagon and I have to say, the Vamps have never seemed cooler, sexier and crazy! Additionally, what TB offers that other series lack is a solid characterization of the human characters as well. Sookie Stackhouse differs from Bella Swan in that she is not nearly as self-deprecating and it's refreshing. But I have to say, Eric NorthmanTrue Blood is another series jumping on the vampire bandwagon and I have to say, the Vamps have never seemed cooler, sexier and crazy! Additionally, what TB offers that other series lack is a solid characterization of the human characters as well. Sookie Stackhouse differs from Bella Swan in that she is not nearly as self-deprecating and it's refreshing. But I have to say, Eric Northman steals the show. The hot blonde vamp is surely the object of many hot dreams. Kudos TB Expand
  49. Jul 1, 2011
    10
    new episode of true blood


    watch here - http://new-tvseries.blogspot.com/search/label/True%20Blood
    watch here - http://new-tvseries.blogspot.com/search/label/True%20Blood
  50. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    I am really entertained with this show, I watched four episodes, and got hooked. I found to enjoy all of the characters and loved the drama/suspense!
  51. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    I love how even though the idea is the most used up of all ideas, this show remains entertaining and full of action and sex all of the time. They stayed close to the book which I really wanted them to do even though it is officially only "loosely based" on the books. The deaths are original and this show just has something special.
  52. May 23, 2011
    0
    A bunch of vampires now live in a small southern townâ
  53. May 7, 2011
    10
    I love this show ! An adult version of vampire show yummy ! very good story line and love the humor with the gore and the plot very well played hope to see more !
  54. Apr 24, 2011
    6
    I know the director of the show is gay, but he's let it affect the story and believability of the world he's creating. It seems every other person in the show is gay in some way, and Alan Ball likes to exploit that fact. Frequently I find myself wanting to know what's going to happen with the main plot, when I'm interrupted by an unnecessary sex scene that he could have done without. OtherI know the director of the show is gay, but he's let it affect the story and believability of the world he's creating. It seems every other person in the show is gay in some way, and Alan Ball likes to exploit that fact. Frequently I find myself wanting to know what's going to happen with the main plot, when I'm interrupted by an unnecessary sex scene that he could have done without. Other than that, the overall plot is good, mainly because of its originality, and the characters are well thought out, and well acted. Not the best show, but definitely entertaining. Expand
  55. Jan 13, 2011
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After hearing rave reviews from friends I decided to check the show out for myself. Now at the 8th episode and I'm quitting. I gave it a fair shot, but this show is hugely disappointing. The acting is very poor, there's an extreme reliance on sex/drugs to make the show seem "bad ass" and most of the plot/storyline seems to be pretty boring. There have been a few moments that gave me some hope and convinced me to continue watching but they ultimately fail in the face of all the other things that are wrong with this show. I've got nothing against a good Vamp film/novel, but when you start getting into Vampire blood being used as a drug ("V", really?) its a sure sign you need to come up with a new series... Expand
  56. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    Having just watched Season 1 and Season 2 feel let down. I am a big fan of the books and can't understand why the series homes in on lots of cheap 'out of work and can't act extras' who have only experience in porn. The stories are great and the series has potential because the main characters work well but the shows potential is brought down to tacky because of it's constant use ofHaving just watched Season 1 and Season 2 feel let down. I am a big fan of the books and can't understand why the series homes in on lots of cheap 'out of work and can't act extras' who have only experience in porn. The stories are great and the series has potential because the main characters work well but the shows potential is brought down to tacky because of it's constant use of useless characters that aren't sexy but offensive. The directors must have their hands down their pants constantly because instead of focusing of the main events of the story; love, hate, deceit, greed and such an eventful imagination from Charlaine Harris they murder it literally. Are they secret Stephanie Meyer fans and want to see the show end? O.K. we know she's the other extreme and she ripped off Charlaine Harris's ideas but still. If you want to make porn, make porn. Don't mess around with great story lines and kill them. Expand
  57. Dec 27, 2010
    7
    Good show for awhile, goes downhill after awhile. Every character is annoying in their own special way and the delivery of their lines is usually painful but in seasons one and two, it's entertaining enough to let it slide. Season 3 has turned this show into a teen drama that happens to involve miscellaneous mythical creatures. Stop at the end of the second season.
  58. Dec 5, 2010
    10
    I absolutely hated the first three episodes but after getting passed that it's a decent show. I find the script to be somewhat cheesy at parts. And the characters can be somewhat annoying and unlikable.
  59. Nov 28, 2010
    9
    Very nice show indeed. Most of all, the characters will keep you occupied. Its not a show that makes you laugh all the time, but it still somehow makes it all fun to watch.
  60. Nov 3, 2010
    8
    The first season of True Blood was definitely the best by far. The characters were still mysterious and the plot was still somewhat interesting. It was truly a promising show back then.
  61. Oct 15, 2010
    8
    Twi-hards, look out! There's a fangbanger that's not afraid to bite: True Blood. Yes, the new vampire series is the very essence of the vampire culture that many is afraid to write. True Blood is surprisingly powerful and gory when it wants to be. The dramatic series includes many themes such as drug use, sexual relations with vampires and a serial killer on the loose killing women who'veTwi-hards, look out! There's a fangbanger that's not afraid to bite: True Blood. Yes, the new vampire series is the very essence of the vampire culture that many is afraid to write. True Blood is surprisingly powerful and gory when it wants to be. The dramatic series includes many themes such as drug use, sexual relations with vampires and a serial killer on the loose killing women who've associated themselves with vampires. In her best since The Piano (a performance that earned her an coveted Oscar title), Anna Paquin is a breath of fresh air as Sookie Stackhouse, a waitress at bar and diner Merlotte's who can read minds. She soon falls for the dazzling Bill Compton (Moyer) -- a vampire -- who soon introduces her to the vampire world. It isn't long before trouble hits her way. There are so good story-lines that will grab your attention enough to keep on the edge of your seat, characters that you don't want to see go and characters that you will love (that's including Sam Merlotte (Sam Trammell), boss of Sookie who turns out to be -- not telling you!, Jason Stackhouse (Aussie Ryan Kwanten), brother of Sookie; Tara Thorton (Rutina Wesley in a breakout role); best friend but like sister of Sookie and Lafayette (Nelsan Ellis), Tara's fast-talking, tough-as-s&%# and openly gay cousin) Expand
  62. Sep 27, 2010
    9
    I love true blood!! its the best tv show ever created. The scences are so damn hot and sexy. I haven't missed any episodes. I love all the supernatural creatures that are shown and the show just keeps getting better and better. I have seen the episodes over and over, i just can't get enough of true blood.
  63. Sep 9, 2010
    10
    definitely my cup of red zinger tea. Funny smart, sexy... I cant wait for summer to come back, and I will miss my true blood during the long winter ahead
  64. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    I didn't think this TV series would ever be my cup of tea, it doesn't hold back on the amount of blood and gore, sex scenes, or torture. Surprisingly, three seasons down the line, I'm well and truly hooked. It's nothing like your Edward and Bella romance; maybe it's just as intense and sloppy, but surrounding them is an increase in murders, kidnappings, and an ever growing variety ofI didn't think this TV series would ever be my cup of tea, it doesn't hold back on the amount of blood and gore, sex scenes, or torture. Surprisingly, three seasons down the line, I'm well and truly hooked. It's nothing like your Edward and Bella romance; maybe it's just as intense and sloppy, but surrounding them is an increase in murders, kidnappings, and an ever growing variety of creatures appearing in little Louisiana.

    The series follows the story of Sookie Stackhouse (played none other than Anna Paquin - Rogue in X Men) who lives with her brother Jason and who works in your regular family restaurant owned by Sam Merlotte. The restaurant contains most of the main characters, what with it being a small town, but this makes it easy to keep up with all of them. Then there are the vampires, mainly Bill Compton, who Sookie falls in love with, but they're not all 'good'. You'll meet Eric Northman, and Lafayette Reynolds, who deals out vampire blood. Characters come and go, mostly the really naughty ones, and it usually takes a whole season to explain who or what one character is, making it that much more gripping. Some characters have their own powers, making the humans more likeable, however you won't find out what Sookie's is til season three!

    Season three has pleasantly introduced werewolves, and about time really. It's a lot darker, gorier, and you can begin to see the split between the vampires, as some take the humans' side and others such as Russell Edgington (The vamp king of Mississippi) who want to kill off the human race. So if your a Twilight fan but would appreciate a real fight between fang and fur, then get your teeth stuck into True Blood. What's not to like, especially when all the characters are appealing to look at!
    Expand
  65. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    Brilliant, imaginative, funny and at times very moving. The storyline is varies to that of the Sookie Stackhouse books, so should not be compared too closely by literary fans but it is a very good adaptation. I have been glued and after one episode become a fan. Would highly recommend.
  66. Aug 11, 2010
    7
    The show is decent at best as far as acting, but its the story and the world that makes true blood worth watching. Unlike shows such as Lost the plot is simple enough to keep viewers interested, but has enough characters and events that keep them guessing. The acting is the shows downfall due to either overacting, or underacting. Its easy to see why people are interested in the show, butThe show is decent at best as far as acting, but its the story and the world that makes true blood worth watching. Unlike shows such as Lost the plot is simple enough to keep viewers interested, but has enough characters and events that keep them guessing. The acting is the shows downfall due to either overacting, or underacting. Its easy to see why people are interested in the show, but hard to see what keeps the viewership so high, when its usually fighting, talking, sex, talking, sex, and then more sex, but then again thats TV these days. Expand
  67. DanielT
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    One of the best TV series of all time. The director took everything from the books and made it better. Season Two utilizes that greatness and give us a season to remember.
  68. SamanthaH
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    Absolutely love it.......... Anna Paquin is great.
  69. LaurenS
    Jan 28, 2010
    3
    I saw one episode, and didn't like it at all. But i understand that others do like it, i just couldn't get into it. I'm not blaming the actors, storyline, or the writer, but i just found that it was boring.
  70. kokobeware
    Dec 16, 2009
    9
    Cool storyline, well developed (crazy!) characters, political and religious satire, some sex, some violence, what more can you ask for? works for me!
  71. anonymous
    Dec 13, 2009
    10
    Couldn't be anything other than a solid 10, it's as perfect as TV ever gets. The actors are all perfectly cast, each episode is brilliant, season 2 is a masterpiece from start to finish. It's the best thing that's appeared on TV since the channel 4 series dead set, in fact it's much better.
  72. L
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    I really do not understand people who do not like this program!! I do not watch a lot of TV mainly because I am highly critical and find most TV shows are boring. True Blood has a superb plot (if the critics among you bother to see series 1 and 2 through), a great cast, and a killer cliffhanger at nearly every episode. Alan Ball has done a great job in 'sucking' the viewer in to I really do not understand people who do not like this program!! I do not watch a lot of TV mainly because I am highly critical and find most TV shows are boring. True Blood has a superb plot (if the critics among you bother to see series 1 and 2 through), a great cast, and a killer cliffhanger at nearly every episode. Alan Ball has done a great job in 'sucking' the viewer in to this one. Expand
  73. EmmaW.
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    Great series, very sexy.
  74. LouiseS.
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    Absolutely brilliant, I am hooked on this show. True Blood has a bit of everything for everybody. Very original, great choice of casting, believable storyline too , ( which I know sounds strange). All I can say is watch the show.
  75. HarryH.
    Oct 4, 2009
    4
    If you
  76. AliG.
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    If you want to watch something that you can really hear what you want, then true blood is for your ears. Not mentioning the ultimate performance of the cast, it's one of the unique-obsessed tv shows i've ever watched. It is promising with top quality effects that the show offers and also ironic with what it offers by a mixture of humour and uniqueness in a depression oriented theme.
  77. johnd
    Sep 20, 2009
    4
    The show that should've been great, but somehow isn't. The only reason to watch are the side characters: Eric, the vampire "sheriff" steals every scene with just his menacing presence; and the gay cook, Lafayette, is wonderfully played and often hilarious. Unfortunately the lead actors are not only sub par actors with zero chemistry, but also physically unattractive. It's The show that should've been great, but somehow isn't. The only reason to watch are the side characters: Eric, the vampire "sheriff" steals every scene with just his menacing presence; and the gay cook, Lafayette, is wonderfully played and often hilarious. Unfortunately the lead actors are not only sub par actors with zero chemistry, but also physically unattractive. It's really hard to watch ugly people make out. Expand
  78. R.C.
    Sep 6, 2009
    10
    True Blood is the only show that I want to air like a soap opra. I love it. the show is great. keep them coming.
  79. LornoH
    Sep 6, 2009
    4
    I was very much looking forward to this show. Unfortunately I snored through most of it and constantly had my finger on the Ff button. The story is convoluted and unfocused; characters are cardboard and predictable; I felt like I've watched it before, only better. Oh well, HBO can't hit a homerun every time I guess.
  80. debbiep
    Sep 2, 2009
    0
    Not at all impressed with this show, it's sort of weird. The acting is not that great either. Won't watch again!
  81. NickM
    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    Greatest show on Television since The Sopranos. Glad we had Entourage and Lost to get us through our time without Tony. Now we get to spend it with the badass viking of area 5.
  82. bradf.
    Aug 24, 2009
    10
    Most cridics dont know good viewing when they see it i love true blood.
  83. ML.
    Aug 20, 2009
    10
    The best vampire show I've ever seen. Wow, this show is totally addicting. Nice mix of drama and social/religious/political satire. Very funny at times, but also sad and moving sometimes. A little different from the books which are also great. The characters are a pretty believable, and many of them remind of me of people I know. It's not perfect, the accents are a little fake, The best vampire show I've ever seen. Wow, this show is totally addicting. Nice mix of drama and social/religious/political satire. Very funny at times, but also sad and moving sometimes. A little different from the books which are also great. The characters are a pretty believable, and many of them remind of me of people I know. It's not perfect, the accents are a little fake, and it's a mystery why Eric's hair doesn't grow back when he cut it(my girlfriend loves him but wishes they had left his hair long). They overdue the sex scenes sometimes too. Still, overall one of my favorite shows of all time. There's not many good Vampire movies or shows, so it's a refreshing change. Expand
  84. TalessenO
    Aug 17, 2009
    7
    I'm definitely watching - but I'm seeing a few flaws.. most recently - how come Jessica's hymen grows back but not Eric's hair? We know he likes the salon, so is he cutting it daily? Also, the murder investigations are a bit lightweight. I miss the potential for investigative quality circa XFiles, Numbers, CSI - and a peek into who and what Maryann really is - that is I'm definitely watching - but I'm seeing a few flaws.. most recently - how come Jessica's hymen grows back but not Eric's hair? We know he likes the salon, so is he cutting it daily? Also, the murder investigations are a bit lightweight. I miss the potential for investigative quality circa XFiles, Numbers, CSI - and a peek into who and what Maryann really is - that is due now. Sam is the most interesting character of all - though Eric is irresistable. I'm glad to see everyone grow and each is such a believable unique character - Tara, Arlene, Terry, Lafayette, Jessica, Hoyt, Jason.... Even Pam ... though love to dislike a few of the others... Have to agree with Tom Shales - it sure is a romp and a wallow--and a bloody good one. Expand
  85. DianaM.
    Aug 7, 2009
    10
    Unbelievably addicting and HBO deserves a whole lot of credit for putting out one great show after another.
  86. GregM
    Aug 7, 2009
    9
    Great Show.For anyone that doesn't care for it give it a chance it will grow on you.
  87. WillyB
    Aug 6, 2009
    9
    It is very nice to see someone try a different take on Vampires. I am a huge fan! The idea of a vampire/human love story is great, reminds me of Underworld. If you are looking for a good vampire series, WATCH THIS! IF you want to watch a guy with a "V", and no story line, please watch/read Twilight. This is not your sissy teen series.
  88. CryseC
    Jul 31, 2009
    3
    I'm so disappointed with this. Being a big fan of a lot of vampire books and movies, I was really looking forward to this and there was so muc hype before the series started. I'm not sure how they could even compare it to the likes of such great shows as Dexter or the Sopranos. The acting is cringe-worthy to watch, the accents are terrible, the characters are generally comical I'm so disappointed with this. Being a big fan of a lot of vampire books and movies, I was really looking forward to this and there was so muc hype before the series started. I'm not sure how they could even compare it to the likes of such great shows as Dexter or the Sopranos. The acting is cringe-worthy to watch, the accents are terrible, the characters are generally comical even though I don't think they should be.I've heard the books are really good, which I can believe; I think this is just a very badly made show. I laugh every time the fangs pop out. They make this weird mechanical sound and the fangs look so fake, I don't know how the vampires can possibly appear scary. I'm hoping it'll get better so am still watching. It can't possibly get any worse. Expand
  89. TomT.
    Jul 28, 2009
    10
    9.8 actually. It amuses me how some can give it a zero, makes me question the validity of their opinion. Those that get the subtlety and genius will be hard pressed to find a better show.
  90. RyanE.
    Jul 27, 2009
    10
    Best show out right now.
  91. DinaW.
    Jul 26, 2009
    0
    Totally sucks. I am from the south. not from louisiana, though. i am very disappointed at the quality of acting, script, and story line. i have a lot of "stories" for sale that are much more entertaining and more specifically written like someone with a brain. Sorry, hated it!!!!!
  92. JudithI.
    Jul 20, 2009
    10
    Though I think the second season is focusing too much on the sex. The books are fabulous and I only hope True Blood continues in the same vein even though I can see they have really changed the storyline. I can always reread the books.
  93. thammonds
    Jul 18, 2009
    10
    One of the best shows I have seen in awhile!
  94. Martit
    Jul 17, 2009
    0
    Worst thing i've ever seen , accents are terrible , storyline is very poor , i watched first 4 eps to see if it got any better but will never watch anymore , chop it before it gets any more embarrassing.
  95. CaitiM.
    Jul 17, 2009
    10
    It has such a talented cast, and is brilliantly written.
  96. RasmusJ
    Jul 3, 2009
    10
    One of the best shows I´ve ever seen, it benefits immensely from very strong actors/actresses and excellent production values, and seamlessly combines multiple genres into a True Bloodstone (a Gem, that is). Highly entertaining.
  97. JennyT.
    Jun 30, 2009
    0
    This show was really, really bad. The characters aren't interesting, and the dialogue is overplayed. The overdone stereotypes certainly don't help give credibility to th storyline, and the whole show feels like a failure.
  98. BartH.
    Jun 23, 2009
    0
    I'm all for suspending my disbelief to enjoy a good story, but I honestly felt like the plot was starting to make me stupid. Time after time the I was forced to push the "I believe" button to overcome some scenario which defies any common sense logic.
  99. CocoBunny
    Jun 23, 2009
    7
    Oh, "southerners" on TV. How thy fake accents disappoint me. And let's not forget the not-so-subtle political message of the show, which at times can beat you over the head a bit. But aside from that, it's a fantastic show. The bad accents aren't as bad as they are on several other shows--as the show progresses, they seem to be nailing the rhythm and pace a bit better. Oh, "southerners" on TV. How thy fake accents disappoint me. And let's not forget the not-so-subtle political message of the show, which at times can beat you over the head a bit. But aside from that, it's a fantastic show. The bad accents aren't as bad as they are on several other shows--as the show progresses, they seem to be nailing the rhythm and pace a bit better. Visually, it's a delight. Gorgeous settings. Well-written characters with plenty of ups and downs to explore. When Ball keeps his political allusions on the subtle side, this show is a riotous satire of small town life, the religious right, and the culture war over homosexuality. It started firing up towards the end--more cliffhangers, more action, more fangs--which has given Season 2 a fantastic place to start. Expand
  100. Magicmann
    Jun 22, 2009
    10
    The best show on Hbo. Filled with suspense, great story line, action...this show has drama.
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. I'd say that the author is more vivid, subtle, and funny in her portrayal of Southern life; I'll be surprised if her fans aren't disappointed by this adaptation. The best thing about Ball's shows is their opening credits.
  2. Vampire fantasy, murder mystery, star-crossed love story, political satire, True Blood is all and none of the above. Not quite funny, not quite scary, not quite thought-provoking, the show's attempt to question the roots of prejudice is continually undermined by its own stereotyping.
  3. The core characters, including Sookie's best friend Tara (Rutina Wesley), Sookie's brother Jason (Ryan Kwanten) and bartender Sam (Sam Trammell), who has a thing for Sookie, all have interesting features and are well-played. The rest of the locals don't come off so well, mostly having few brains and a big shortage of couth.