True Blood : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 7, 2008
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 671 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Sookie Stackhouse comes to television in the Alan Ball adaptation of Charlaine Harris' Southern vampire series.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy, Horror
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    90
    Graphically sexy and scary, and often wildly funny, True Blood, from Six Feet Under’s Alan Ball, turns Charlaine Harris’ rollicking mystery novels into a broadly entertaining, deliciously twisted slice of modern Southern Gothic.
  2. Reviewed by: Misha Davenport
    88
    Bloody, sexy and violent, the show is also both occasionally funny and frightening.
  3. 80
    True Blood is an unlikely but irresistible mixture of pungent political satire, observant pop sociology and lurid drive-in thrills.
  4. My hope is that True Blood will get all of this tub-thumping out of the way in a few weeks and start its tremendous potential as an ensemble drama with hints of comedy.
  5. 60
    Even though the second episode of the season isn't structured very well, with lots of rambling talk about nothing, even though the show lacks the tightness and the natural momentum of "Six Feet Under" (and the weight and the intensity, for that matter), True Blood is still odd, unpredictable and off-kilter.
  6. It’s creepy, steamy and funny at times, and it’s also a muddle, a comic murder mystery that is a little too enthralled with its own exoticism.
  7. 38
    HBO's new series from death-obsessed Alan Ball, creator of the legendary "Six Feet Under," whose new show True Blood, won't so much make your blood run cold as it will leave you cold.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 244
  1. ML.
    Aug 20, 2009
    10
    The best vampire show I've ever seen. Wow, this show is totally addicting. Nice mix of drama and social/religious/political satire. Very The best vampire show I've ever seen. Wow, this show is totally addicting. Nice mix of drama and social/religious/political satire. Very funny at times, but also sad and moving sometimes. A little different from the books which are also great. The characters are a pretty believable, and many of them remind of me of people I know. It's not perfect, the accents are a little fake, and it's a mystery why Eric's hair doesn't grow back when he cut it(my girlfriend loves him but wishes they had left his hair long). They overdue the sex scenes sometimes too. Still, overall one of my favorite shows of all time. There's not many good Vampire movies or shows, so it's a refreshing change. Expand
  2. NancyH.
    Nov 4, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best shows on television right now. Alan Ball is amazing, but Charliane Harris' imagination to create this world is This is one of the best shows on television right now. Alan Ball is amazing, but Charliane Harris' imagination to create this world is unreal. Kudos to the all of the actors on this show, they all do a great job with restrained emotion to help not make this series meleodramatic, but intriguing, and exciting. Expand
  3. R.C.
    Sep 6, 2009
    10
    True Blood is the only show that I want to air like a soap opra. I love it. the show is great. keep them coming.
  4. RamonaW.
    Sep 11, 2008
    9
    Really enjoyed the first episode, and I am looking forward to seeing how the rest of the story unfolds as time goes on.
  5. Sep 27, 2010
    9
    I love true blood!! its the best tv show ever created. The scences are so damn hot and sexy. I haven't missed any episodes. I love all theI love true blood!! its the best tv show ever created. The scences are so damn hot and sexy. I haven't missed any episodes. I love all the supernatural creatures that are shown and the show just keeps getting better and better. I have seen the episodes over and over, i just can't get enough of true blood. Expand
  6. CocoBunny
    Jun 23, 2009
    7
    Oh, "southerners" on TV. How thy fake accents disappoint me. And let's not forget the not-so-subtle political message of the show, which Oh, "southerners" on TV. How thy fake accents disappoint me. And let's not forget the not-so-subtle political message of the show, which at times can beat you over the head a bit. But aside from that, it's a fantastic show. The bad accents aren't as bad as they are on several other shows--as the show progresses, they seem to be nailing the rhythm and pace a bit better. Visually, it's a delight. Gorgeous settings. Well-written characters with plenty of ups and downs to explore. When Ball keeps his political allusions on the subtle side, this show is a riotous satire of small town life, the religious right, and the culture war over homosexuality. It started firing up towards the end--more cliffhangers, more action, more fangs--which has given Season 2 a fantastic place to start. Expand
  7. KateS.
    Sep 22, 2008
    0
    High school drivel. Really terrible puns-they should be fined. Why do people put up with this crappy kind of tv?

See all 244 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series

    Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series Image
    Published: May 3, 2012
    Summer will bring some of TV's best shows (including "Breaking Bad" and "Louie," and--possibly--new shows like "The Newsroom"). Inside, we look at the 20 most noteworthy series, specials, and miniseries coming this summer. You'll also find a full calendar of premiere dates from now through August.
  2. Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer

    Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer Image
    Published: May 12, 2011
    Who says there's no good TV in the summer? Learn about the season's most interesting new and returning shows, from "Curb Your Enthusiasm" and "Louie" to "Falling Skies" and "Wilfred." We also have a full calendar of premiere dates for all summer shows.
  3. Ranked: Vampire TV Shows

    Ranked: Vampire TV Shows Image
    Published: June 9, 2010
    HBO's "True Blood" returns for a third season this weekend, but it's far from the only vampire show on television. We rank 10 of the most vampire-centric shows in TV history, from the best to, well, the suckiest.
  4. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.