• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 7, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6
True Blood Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 624 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sookie Stackhouse comes to television in the Alan Ball adaptation of Charlaine Harris' Southern vampire series.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy, Horror
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. 90
    After watching five episodes, I can say True Blood stands out as one of the strongest new series in an uncertain fall.
  2. 88
    Part mystery, part fantasy, part comedy, and all wildly imaginative exaggeration, Blood proves that there's still vibrant life--or death--left in the "star-crossed lovers" paradigm.
  3. 80
    True Blood is an unlikely but irresistible mixture of pungent political satire, observant pop sociology and lurid drive-in thrills.
  4. 60
    Even though the second episode of the season isn't structured very well, with lots of rambling talk about nothing, even though the show lacks the tightness and the natural momentum of "Six Feet Under" (and the weight and the intensity, for that matter), True Blood is still odd, unpredictable and off-kilter.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    60
    The supporting players aren’t nearly as interesting initially as the intense bond between Sookie and Bill, though they do keep the first few installments busy, including some nicely gratuitous sex, adventures in the Viagra-like effects of vampire blood and a tepid murder mystery.
  6. 50
    It’s not surprising that Ball gets the mixture wrong a fair amount of the time; what’s surprising is that it’s possible for such a strange gumbo to work at least some of the time.
  7. 38
    HBO's new series from death-obsessed Alan Ball, creator of the legendary "Six Feet Under," whose new show True Blood, won't so much make your blood run cold as it will leave you cold.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 234
  1. Sep 9, 2010
    10
    definitely my cup of red zinger tea. Funny smart, sexy... I cant wait for summer to come back, and I will miss my true blood during the long winter ahead Expand
  2. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    True Blood gives that sense which other series lack (a solid characterization of the human characters). A plot that blows uo in the end, the conclusions leave you hanging until the next episode comes and it gives. Providing excitement and phenom that has become of this show. Promising, top quality effects, and offers a mixture of humour and uniqueness in a depression oriented theme. Expand
  3. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    I've watched this since 2008 so I've basically grown up with it! A mature television show about vampires. Once you get past the annoying pronunciation of Sookie's name by Bill, you'll enjoy it. Season two is better than the first. Expand
  4. Sep 27, 2010
    9
    I love true blood!! its the best tv show ever created. The scences are so damn hot and sexy. I haven't missed any episodes. I love all the supernatural creatures that are shown and the show just keeps getting better and better. I have seen the episodes over and over, i just can't get enough of true blood. Expand
  5. Aug 16, 2012
    7
    The last time I reviewed True Blood, I was only two seasons in and I praised it. Now being all caught up, I can say this show has lost alot of its charm. Theres barely any sex anymore, barely any blood, and the plots are getting messy. It has to many thing happening at once and not one of them is truely compelling. Sookie seems like a side character now in season 5. Hopefully season 6 goes back to its roots. Expand
  6. Apr 24, 2011
    6
    I know the director of the show is gay, but he's let it affect the story and believability of the world he's creating. It seems every other person in the show is gay in some way, and Alan Ball likes to exploit that fact. Frequently I find myself wanting to know what's going to happen with the main plot, when I'm interrupted by an unnecessary sex scene that he could have done without. Other than that, the overall plot is good, mainly because of its originality, and the characters are well thought out, and well acted. Not the best show, but definitely entertaining. Expand
  7. May 23, 2011
    0
    A bunch of vampires now live in a small southern townâ

See all 234 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series

    Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series Image
    Published: May 3, 2012
    Summer will bring some of TV's best shows (including "Breaking Bad" and "Louie," and--possibly--new shows like "The Newsroom"). Inside, we look at the 20 most noteworthy series, specials, and miniseries coming this summer. You'll also find a full calendar of premiere dates from now through August.
  2. Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer

    Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer Image
    Published: May 12, 2011
    Who says there's no good TV in the summer? Learn about the season's most interesting new and returning shows, from "Curb Your Enthusiasm" and "Louie" to "Falling Skies" and "Wilfred." We also have a full calendar of premiere dates for all summer shows.
  3. Ranked: Vampire TV Shows

    Ranked: Vampire TV Shows Image
    Published: June 9, 2010
    HBO's "True Blood" returns for a third season this weekend, but it's far from the only vampire show on television. We rank 10 of the most vampire-centric shows in TV history, from the best to, well, the suckiest.
  4. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.