True Blood : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 7, 2008
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
True Blood Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 681 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Sookie Stackhouse comes to television in the Alan Ball adaptation of Charlaine Harris' Southern vampire series.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy, Horror

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. 90
    Graphically sexy and scary, and often wildly funny, True Blood, from Six Feet Under’s Alan Ball, turns Charlaine Harris’ rollicking mystery novels into a broadly entertaining, deliciously twisted slice of modern Southern Gothic.
  2. Bloody, sexy and violent, the show is also both occasionally funny and frightening.
  3. 80
    True Blood is an unlikely but irresistible mixture of pungent political satire, observant pop sociology and lurid drive-in thrills.
  4. My hope is that True Blood will get all of this tub-thumping out of the way in a few weeks and start its tremendous potential as an ensemble drama with hints of comedy.
  5. 60
    Even though the second episode of the season isn't structured very well, with lots of rambling talk about nothing, even though the show lacks the tightness and the natural momentum of "Six Feet Under" (and the weight and the intensity, for that matter), True Blood is still odd, unpredictable and off-kilter.
  6. It’s creepy, steamy and funny at times, and it’s also a muddle, a comic murder mystery that is a little too enthralled with its own exoticism.
  7. 38
    HBO's new series from death-obsessed Alan Ball, creator of the legendary "Six Feet Under," whose new show True Blood, won't so much make your blood run cold as it will leave you cold.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 245
  1. ML.
    Aug 20, 2009
    10
    The best vampire show I've ever seen. Wow, this show is totally addicting. Nice mix of drama and social/religious/political satire. Very The best vampire show I've ever seen. Wow, this show is totally addicting. Nice mix of drama and social/religious/political satire. Very funny at times, but also sad and moving sometimes. A little different from the books which are also great. The characters are a pretty believable, and many of them remind of me of people I know. It's not perfect, the accents are a little fake, and it's a mystery why Eric's hair doesn't grow back when he cut it(my girlfriend loves him but wishes they had left his hair long). They overdue the sex scenes sometimes too. Still, overall one of my favorite shows of all time. There's not many good Vampire movies or shows, so it's a refreshing change. Expand
  2. AnnS
    Nov 4, 2008
    10
    The genre is special - either it gets to you or not. I have always had this penchant for vampires and THIS show has it all! Romance, sex, The genre is special - either it gets to you or not. I have always had this penchant for vampires and THIS show has it all! Romance, sex, horror, true love and a great portion of humor. Expand
  3. NickM
    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    Greatest show on Television since The Sopranos. Glad we had Entourage and Lost to get us through our time without Tony. Now we get to spend Greatest show on Television since The Sopranos. Glad we had Entourage and Lost to get us through our time without Tony. Now we get to spend it with the badass viking of area 5. Collapse
  4. PaulG.
    Sep 14, 2008
    9
    The two leads were a superb choice! Bravo, casting! I have thoroughly enjoyed the first two episodes. I agree that it has a unique feel for The two leads were a superb choice! Bravo, casting! I have thoroughly enjoyed the first two episodes. I agree that it has a unique feel for an original HBO production. I have not quite figured out why that is. Perhaps it is simply a product of the genre and nothing more. Expand
  5. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    I love how even though the idea is the most used up of all ideas, this show remains entertaining and full of action and sex all of the time.I love how even though the idea is the most used up of all ideas, this show remains entertaining and full of action and sex all of the time. They stayed close to the book which I really wanted them to do even though it is officially only "loosely based" on the books. The deaths are original and this show just has something special. Expand
  6. TalessenO
    Aug 17, 2009
    7
    I'm definitely watching - but I'm seeing a few flaws.. most recently - how come Jessica's hymen grows back but not Eric's I'm definitely watching - but I'm seeing a few flaws.. most recently - how come Jessica's hymen grows back but not Eric's hair? We know he likes the salon, so is he cutting it daily? Also, the murder investigations are a bit lightweight. I miss the potential for investigative quality circa XFiles, Numbers, CSI - and a peek into who and what Maryann really is - that is due now. Sam is the most interesting character of all - though Eric is irresistable. I'm glad to see everyone grow and each is such a believable unique character - Tara, Arlene, Terry, Lafayette, Jessica, Hoyt, Jason.... Even Pam ... though love to dislike a few of the others... Have to agree with Tom Shales - it sure is a romp and a wallow--and a bloody good one. Expand
  7. KateS.
    Sep 22, 2008
    0
    High school drivel. Really terrible puns-they should be fined. Why do people put up with this crappy kind of tv?

See all 245 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series

    Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series Image
    Published: May 3, 2012
    Summer will bring some of TV's best shows (including "Breaking Bad" and "Louie," and--possibly--new shows like "The Newsroom"). Inside, we look at the 20 most noteworthy series, specials, and miniseries coming this summer. You'll also find a full calendar of premiere dates from now through August.
  2. Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer

    Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer Image
    Published: May 12, 2011
    Who says there's no good TV in the summer? Learn about the season's most interesting new and returning shows, from "Curb Your Enthusiasm" and "Louie" to "Falling Skies" and "Wilfred." We also have a full calendar of premiere dates for all summer shows.
  3. Ranked: Vampire TV Shows

    Ranked: Vampire TV Shows Image
    Published: June 9, 2010
    HBO's "True Blood" returns for a third season this weekend, but it's far from the only vampire show on television. We rank 10 of the most vampire-centric shows in TV history, from the best to, well, the suckiest.
  4. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.